Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deb (US 9,748,616) in view of CN111276767B. Deb discloses a method for recovering a lithium precursor, comprising preparing a powder including lithium and a metal such as Co, Mn or Ni, followed by a reduction treatment. (See col. 7, lines 12-50.) Deb teaches in Example 1 that the cobalt oxides precipitated out and were dried and washed four times. The differences between the process disclosed by Deb, and that recited in applicant’s claims, are that Deb does not disclose at two solid-liquid separation steps, and that a calcium compound is added in one of the washing steps. It would have been obvious from CN111276767B to include the addition of a calcium compound to one of the washing steps in the process of Deb. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since CN111276767B teaches in Paragraphs [0013] and [0014] of the English translation that the addition of a calcium-containing powder such as calcium oxide or calcium carbonate will absorb waste gas generated during roasting of the anode, cathode and diaphragm of a battery. It would have been further obvious to provide a solid-liquid separation step for each of the washings in the process of Deb, since the process is directed to recovering cobalt oxide.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deb in view of WO 2021/182452. EP 4,119,245 A1 is considered to constitute an English translation of WO 2021/182452. Deb discloses a method for recovering a lithium precursor, comprising preparing a powder including lithium and a metal such as Co, Mn or Ni, followed by a reduction treatment. (See col. 7, lines 12-50.) Deb teaches in Example 1 that the cobalt oxides precipitated out and were dried and washed four times. The differences between the process disclosed by Deb, and that recited in applicant’s claims, are that Deb does not disclose at two solid-liquid separation steps, and that a calcium compound is added in one of the washing steps. It would have been obvious from EP 4,119,245 A1 to include the addition of a calcium compound during the washing step. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since EP 4,119,245 A1 discloses an analogous process for recovering lithium from secondary batteries and teaches ion Paragraphs [0143] through [0147] that the addition of calcium hydroxide allows impurities in a decrease in impurities in the lithium-containing solution. It would have been further obvious to include a solid-liquid separation step for each of the washing steps in the process of Deb, since Deb discloses a solid-liquid separation step in Paragraphs [0138] through [0142], and one would have appreciated that a solid-liquid separation step should be provided for each washing step to remove impurities.
Regarding claim 2, Deb discloses hydrogen as a reducing agent at col. 7, lines 20-26.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Deb discloses lithium hydroxide in Example 1.
Regarding claim 6, Deb discloses in Example 1 that the mixture of oxides was hydrated. It is conventional to carry out reactions in a fluidized state to increase contact between the reactants.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the washing steps in the process of Deb would presumable be carried out at ambient temperature, since there is no indication that an elevated temperature. Was used. It would have also been within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a suitable washing period.
Regarding claim 9, Deb discloses the recited components of the battery at col. 1, lines 18-27, and discloses a binder in the paragraph bridging columns 4 and 5.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, the calcium hydroxide of EP 4,119,245 A1would react with the components to no less extent than in the method recited in applicant’s claims.
Regarding claim 11, EP 4,119,245 A1 discloses in Paragraph [0178] that the components include a current collector coated with carbon, and suggests in Paragraph [0152] that the solution includes fluorine.
Regarding claim 13, EP 4,119,245 A1 discloses in Paragraph [0189] that the housing of the battery contains aluminum.
Regarding claim 14, EP 4,119,245 A1 discloses the addition of calcium hydroxide in Paragraphs [0148] and [0149].
Regarding claims 15 and 16, it would have been within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine suitable amounts of the calcium hydroxide and water for washing to be used.
Regarding claim 17, EP 4,119,245 A1 discloses a pulverization step in Paragraphs [0112] through [0118], and a heat-treating step-in Paragraphs [0109] and [0110].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/694416 in view of Deb. It would have been obvious from Deb to perform an additional washing and solid-liquid separation of the precipitate in the process recited in the claims of SN 18/632296.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Song (US 2019/0144295) is made of record for disclosing a method for producing high0purity lithium carbonate from lithium secondary batteries.
LEE et al (US 2023/0250507) is made of record for disclosing a method for recovering active metal of a lithium secondary battery.
WO 2011/103298 A2 is made of record for disclosing the production of highly pure lithium carbonate, and teaching in Paragraph [0051] that washing the lithium carbonate multiple times minimizes dissolution d lithium carbonate in the water.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736