DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Anomaly Detection Based on Restoration Loss Between Input Image and Restoration Image Using Restoration Neural Network
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the preprocessing unit, restoration unit and determination unit of claims 1-4 which each utilize the nonce term unit, functionally define the invention and are not terms recognized by those of ordinary skill to denote structure. Corresponding structure and algorithms have been identified in the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ye {Ye, Fei, et al. "Attribute restoration framework for anomaly detection." IEEE Transactions on Multimedia 24 (2020): 116-127}.
Claim 1
In regards to claim 1, Ye discloses an anomaly detection apparatus comprising:
a preprocessing unit configured to generate a context image obtained by removing detailed information from an input image
{See IIIA, figs. 1, 2 copied below including Attribute Erasing Module (AEM) that erases/removed detailed information from an input image. See also IVA in which attribute erasing may include graying which erases color and averages pixel values to remove detailed information. It is also noted that this step is disclosed by the instant specification as being an optional step as per Figs. 3 and 6.};
a restoration unit configured to approximate the context image to the input image through an artificial neural network so as to convert the context image into a restoration image
{See IIIB, fig. 2, Attribute Restoration Network (ARNet). See also abstract and Introduction}; and
a determination unit configured to determine whether the input image is abnormal based on a loss between the input image and the restoration image converted from
the context image
{See IIIC, figs. 1, 2 Anomaly Measurement based on loss/restoration error. See also Table 1}.
Claims 2 and 3
Ye discloses (claim 2) a training unit configured to train the artificial neural network by restoring detailed information removed from a normal training image and (claim 3) wherein the training unit is configured to update a parameter of the artificial neural network so that a loss between the training image and a restoration image obtained by approximating a context image from which the detailed information is removed from the training image to the training image falls within a configuration value
{initially, it is noted that these claims refer to the normal/conventional training of a restoration network such that the loss converges
{See Abstract, Introduction, Section IIIA, IIIB including training dataset contains normal data and anomalous data is not used for training and training with normal training images to update parameters of the ARNet so that the loss function l2 converges. See also Section IIID and IV in which the training process is performed until convergence (loss within a configuration value)}.
Claims 5-7 and 9
The rejection of apparatus claims 1-3 and 1 above applies mutatis mutandis to the corresponding limitations of method claims 5-7 and computer readable medium claim 9 while noting that the rejection above cites to both device and method disclosures. For the computer readable storage medium storing program limitations of claim 9 see section IV including implementations using a GPU, memory, etc. for the ARNet clearly indicating a computer-implemented embodiment that may use a computer readable medium storing software for execution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye and Matsumoto (WO-2021161823-A1). A marked-up machine translation of Matsumoto has been provided with this office action, all cross-references are with respect to this translation and the mark-ups are hereby incorporated by reference to further demonstrate claim mapping.
Claims 4 and 8
In regards to claims 4 and 8, Ye discloses wherein the determination unit is configured to determine that the input image is abnormal when the loss between the input image and the restoration image converted from the context image is
Matsumoto is a highly relevant and analogous reference that teaches all of the elements of claim 1 except for the disclosed-as-optional preprocessing step. See abstract, pgs. 2-5 including applying a restoration model 20 trained with normal data to determine an anomaly in the input image data on the basis of the restoration error.
Matsumoto also teaches wherein the determination unit is configured to determine that the input image is abnormal when the loss between the input image and the restoration image converted from the context image is equal to or greater than a threshold value {see pgs. 2-6, 10, fig. 5, Step S13, comparison unit 32 that determines presence/absence of an anomaly by comparing the restoration error L with a threshold value T.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Ye which already discloses a determination unit that is configured to determine that the input image is abnormal based on the loss between the input image and the restoration image converted from the context image such that this determination is when the loss between the input image and the restoration image is equal to or greater than a threshold value as taught by Matsumoto because Matsumoto motivates using a threshold on pg. 10, fig. 11 which is to detect abnormalities without omission using a properly chosen threshold, because there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
L. Zhu, Q. Zhang and W. Wang, "Residual Attention Dual Autoencoder for Anomaly Detection and Localization in Cigarette Packaging," 2020 Chinese Automation Congress (CAC), Shanghai, China, 2020, pp. 475-480, doi: 10.1109/CAC51589.2020.9327200 discloses anomaly detection and localization using a residual attention autoencoder, attention map generator and reconstruction neural network. See fig. 3 copied below and related disclosure
Yang, Jie, et al. "Visual anomaly detection for images: A survey." arXiv preprint arXiv:2109.13157 (2021) surveys a variety of anomaly detection prior art that employs image reconstruction to detect defects based on the reconstruction error. See section IIIC.
/MICHAEL ROBERT CAMMARATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667