DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 05/30/2024 claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 1 and 14 are independent.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “dielectric liquid pipelines” and “a muzzle sensor disposed in a charging connector holder of the charging device” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
To overcome this objection, the applicant should add more details to the drawings (e.g., clear symbols, text in boxes, arrows with text coming off, labeled charts, annotated waveforms, flowcharts, or a legend in the drawings). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Pre-adjusting a Temperature of a Charging Device and Charging System Thereof Before Charging Starts”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Löffler (USPN 12679238), and further in view of Gao et al. (Chinese Patent CN-110758147-A).
With respect to independent claims 1 and 14, Löffler teaches a charging device (Fig. 1; heatable charging point 102) connected to a charging connector (Fig. 1; heatable charging plug 108).
Löffler teaches a control module (Fig. 1; device 104) communicatively connected to a plurality of sensing units (Fig. 1; communicatively connected to radio mobile interface 110, camera 112, ambient temperature sensor 114, humidity sensor 116, and ground temperature sensor 118) for receiving at least one sensing signal from the sensing units (col. 3 lines 58-67; the control unit receives signals from the sensors for generating the heating process for preconditioning the heatable charging points of a charging station, see the abstract).
Löffler teaches before the charging device executing a charging procedure, the control module executes a temperature pre-adjustment procedure on the charging device and the charging connector to adjust the temperatures of the charging device and the charging connector (col. 3 lines 3-14; “when a user arrives at the charging station, the charging point should already be preconditioned” is understood to be a temperature pre-adjustment procedure is executed before the charging device executes a charging procedure and the preconditioning (i.e., temperature pre-adjustment) is performed on the charging station and the charging plug).
However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach generating a pre-action signal based on the at least one sensing signal; a temperature control module electrically connected to the control module for receiving the pre-action signal, and according to the pre-action signal the temperature control module executes a temperature pre-adjustment procedure; and through a dielectric liquid pipeline.
Gao teaches the control module generating a control signal based on the at least one sensing signal, a temperature control module electrically connected to the control module for receiving the control signal, and according to the control signal the temperature control module executes a temperature adjustment procedure (Fig. 2; the monitoring unit 30 generates a control signal based on the sensed signals from the level detection module 21, the flow rate detection module 22, and the temperature detecting module 23. A heat dissipation power control module 51 electrically connected to the monitoring unit 30 receives the control signal and according to the control signal the heat dissipation power control module 51 executes a temperature adjustment procedure).
Gao teaches through a dielectric liquid pipeline (Fig. 2; cooling is done through the liquid cooling system 10).
Thermally managing a charging station’s equipment prior to the arrival of a vehicle for charging ensures the hardware of the charging station can operate reliably without adverse effects from the temperature of the surrounding environment. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Gao’s temperature module controlled liquid cooling system to Löffler’s preconditioning charging system. The advantages of this being that by using a liquid cooled system the charging station could meet the heat dissipation requirements of high power in a safe and reliable manner (see ¶[06] of Gao).
With respect to claim 2, Löffler teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Löffler teaches wherein the control module is configured to execute the temperature pre-adjustment procedure on the charging device and the charging connector in a non-full load mode before the charging device executes the charging procedure (col. 3 lines 3-14; “when a user arrives at the charging station, the charging point should already be preconditioned” is understood to be a temperature pre-adjustment procedure is executed on the heatable charging points of the charging station in a non-full load mode before the charging device executes the charging procedure specifically because the vehicle has not arrived and thus the charging station does not have the vehicle as a load connected to it).
However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach the temperature control module.
Gao teaches the temperature control module (Fig. 2; heat dissipation control module 51).
Thermally managing a charging station’s equipment prior to the arrival of a vehicle for charging ensures the hardware of the charging station can operate reliably without adverse effects from the temperature of the surrounding environment. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Gao’s temperature module controlled liquid cooling system to Löffler’s preconditioning charging system. The advantages of this being that by using a liquid cooled system the charging station could meet the heat dissipation requirements of high power in a safe and reliable manner (see ¶[06] of Gao).
With regards to claim 13, Löffler teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach wherein the temperature pre-adjustment procedure comprises a cooling procedure and a heating procedure.
Gao teaches a cooling procedure and a heating procedure (¶[28]; “The temperature detection module 23 is used to detect the temperature of the coolant... some control measures are taken to cool or heat it” is understood to include a cooling procedure and a heating procedure).
Thermally managing a charging station’s equipment prior to the arrival of a vehicle for charging ensures the hardware of the charging station can operate reliably without adverse effects from the temperature of the surrounding environment. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Gao’s temperature module controlled liquid cooling system to Löffler’s preconditioning charging system. The advantages of this being that by using a liquid cooled system the charging station could meet the heat dissipation requirements of high power in a safe and reliable manner (see ¶[06] of Gao).
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Löffler in view of Gao, and further in view of Wang (USPGPN 20240336157).
With respect to dependent claims 3 and 15, Löffler teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 14, respectively. Further, Löffler teaches execute the temperature pre-adjustment procedure before the charging device executes the charging procedure (col. 3 lines 3-14; “when a user arrives at the charging station, the charging point should already be preconditioned”).
However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach wherein the control module is configured to transmit the pre-action signal to a power cabinet and to enable the power cabinet to execute the temperature pre-adjustment procedure on the power cabinet before the charging device executes the charging procedure.
Wang teaches wherein the control module is configured to transmit the control signal to a power cabinet and to enable the power cabinet to execute the temperature adjustment procedure on the power cabinet (Fig. 1a; ¶[33-34]; the charging control unit 103 sends a control signal to power connector 105 to enable the power connector 105 to execute a temperature adjustment procedure. The power connector 105 includes a transformer and other power delivery equipment which is understood to be connected to the utility power).
Enabling pre-adjusting thermal management of the power cabinet which supplies power to the charging station ensures the hardware of the power cabinet can operate reliably without adverse effects from the temperature of the surrounding environment. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Wang’s thermal management of the power connector to Löffler’s preconditioning charging system. The advantage being charging safety is improved and the cost of the wire cables may be reduced by temperature monitoring of the power connector (see ¶[18] of Wang).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Löffler in view of Gao, and further in view of Jeon et al. (USPGPN 20180354376).
With regards to claim 4, Löffler teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach wherein the sensing units comprise a muzzle sensor disposed in a charging connector holder of the charging device.
Jeon teaches a muzzle sensor disposed in a charging connector holder of the charging device (Fig. 1; a charging connector sensor 150 disposed in a charging connector holder of charging system 100).
A sensor inside the charging connector holder is used to detect the presence or absence of the charging connector. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have adapted Jeon’s charging connector sensor to Löffler preconditioning charging system. The advantage being it provides station availability by interpreting whether the charging connector is holstered or unholstered to make determinations thus improving user experience.
Claims 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Löffler in view of Gao and Jeon, and further in view of Kesler et al. (USPGPN 20120119576).
With regards to claim 5, Löffler teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 4. However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach wherein the sensing units comprise a near field sensor and a weight sensor.
Kesler teaches a near field sensor and a weight sensor (Fig. 139; sensor 13903 may be an infrared sensor and resonator 13901 includes a pressure sensor that monitors the weight, see ¶[1143-1144] and ¶[1156]. It is well-known that infrared sensors are near field sensors).
Near field sensors and weight sensors detect an approaching vehicle at a charging station which helps automate the station’s procedures. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kesler’s near field sensor and weight sensor to Löffler’s preconditioning charging system. The advantage being the efficiency of the system increases thus improving user experience (see ¶[255] of Kesler).
With regards to claim 6, Löffler teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. Löffler teaches the sensor is disposed in the charging device (Fig. 1; the sensors are disposed in the heatable charging point 102).
However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach the near field sensor.
Kesler teaches the near field sensor (Fig. 139; sensor 13903 may be an infrared sensor, see ¶[1143-1144]. It is well-known that infrared sensors are near field sensors).
Near field sensors detect an approaching vehicle at a charging station which helps automate the station’s procedures. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kesler’s near field sensor to Löffler’s preconditioning charging system. The advantage being the efficiency of the system increases thus improving user experience (see ¶[255] of Kesler).
With regards to claim 7, Löffler teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach wherein the weight sensor is disposed in a charging parking space corresponding to the charging device.
Kesler teaches the weight sensor is disposed in a charging parking space corresponding to the charging device (Fig. 139; resonator 13901 includes a pressure sensor that monitors the weight, see ¶[1156]).
Weight sensors detect an approaching vehicle at a charging station which helps automate the station’s procedures. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kesler’s weight sensor to Löffler’s preconditioning charging system. The advantage being the efficiency of the system increases thus improving user experience (see ¶[255] of Kesler).
With regards to claim 8, Löffler teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach wherein the near field sensor comprises an infrared sensor and an ultrasonic sensor.
Kesler teaches wherein the near field sensor comprises an infrared sensor and an ultrasonic sensor (¶[860]; the sensors are infrared and acoustic. ¶[640]; specifies ultrasonics).
Near field sensors detect an approaching vehicle at a charging station which helps automate the station’s procedures. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kesler’s near field sensor to Löffler’s preconditioning charging system. The advantage being the efficiency of the system increases thus improving user experience (see ¶[255] of Kesler).
With regards to claim 9, Löffler teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach wherein the weight sensor comprises a pressure sensor and a weighing sensor.
Kesler teaches wherein the weight sensor comprises a pressure sensor and a weighing sensor (Fig. 139; resonator 13901 includes a pressure sensor that monitors the weight, see ¶[1156]).
Combining the pressure sensor and weighing sensor has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to make plural parts unitary as a matter of engineering design choice. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kesler’s weight sensor to Löffler’s preconditioning charging system. The advantage being the efficiency of the system increases thus improving user experience (see ¶[255] of Kesler).
With regards to claim 10, Löffler teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach wherein the control module generates the pre-action signal based on sensing signals of the near field sensor and the weight sensor.
Gao teaches the control module generating a control signal based on the at least one sensing signal (Fig. 2; the monitoring unit 30 generates a control signal based on the sensed signals from the level detection module 21).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Gao’s control signal generation to Löffler’s preconditioning charging system. The advantages of this being that the system generates a signal in response to a sensed value thus automating the system and increasing efficiency.
However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach the near field sensor and the weight sensor.
Kesler teaches a near field sensor and a weight sensor (Fig. 139; sensor 13903 may be an infrared sensor and resonator 13901 includes a pressure sensor that monitors the weight, see ¶[1143-1144] and ¶[1156]. It is well-known that infrared sensors are near field sensors).
Near field sensors and weight sensors detect an approaching vehicle at a charging station which helps automate the station’s procedures. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kesler’s near field sensor and weight sensor to Löffler’s preconditioning charging system. The advantage being the efficiency of the system increases thus improving user experience (see ¶[255] of Kesler).
With regards to claim 11, Löffler teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach wherein the control module generates the pre-action signal based on sensing signals from a plurality of weight sensors.
Gao teaches the control module generating a control signal based on the at least one sensing signal (Fig. 2; the monitoring unit 30 generates a control signal based on the sensed signals from the level detection module 21).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Gao’s control signal generation to Löffler’s preconditioning charging system. The advantages of this being that the system generates a signal in response to a sensed value thus automating the system and increasing efficiency.
However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach a plurality of weight sensors.
Kesler teaches wherein the weight sensor (Fig. 139; resonator 13901 includes a pressure sensor that monitors the weight, see ¶[1156]).
Additional weight sensors have been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Kesler’s weight sensor to Löffler’s preconditioning charging system. The advantage being the efficiency of the system increases thus improving user experience (see ¶[255] of Kesler).
With regards to claim 12, Löffler teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach wherein the control module generates the pre-action signal based on a sensing signal of the muzzle sensor.
Gao teaches the control module generating a control signal based on the at least one sensing signal (Fig. 2; the monitoring unit 30 generates a control signal based on the sensed signals from the level detection module 21).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Gao’s control signal generation to Löffler’s preconditioning charging system. The advantages of this being that the system generates a signal in response to a sensed value thus automating the system and increasing efficiency.
However, Löffler fails to explicitly teach the muzzle sensor.
Jeon teaches the muzzle sensor (Fig. 1; a charging connector sensor 150).
A sensor inside the charging connector holder is used to detect the presence or absence of the charging connector. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have adapted Jeon’s charging connector sensor to Löffler preconditioning charging system. The advantage being it provides station availability by interpreting whether the charging connector is holstered or unholstered to make determinations thus improving user experience.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yan et al. (USPGPN 20210339640) is about charging an electric vehicle without overheating the charging connector. It measures the temperature at the connection point where the charger meets the car or the power supply.
Conclusion
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859