DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 6/9/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive, the rejection has been updated to address the newly amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (USPGPub No. 2010/0195967, from hereinafter “Wang”), in view of Matsui et al. (USPGPub No. 2012/0025371, from hereinafter “Matsui”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a wiring substrate, comprising:
an insulating layer (Fig. 22, 112 and Paragraph 70);
a conductor pad (Fig. 22, 112b) formed on a surface of the insulating layer and configured to be connected to a component (Fig. 22, 501 and Paragraph 65) such that the insulating layer has a component region (Fig. 20A-20B) configured to be covered by the component connected to the conductor pad; and
a conductor portion (Fig. 22, 146) formed on the conductor pad such that the conductor post has an end surface configured to connect to the component and positioned on an opposite side with respect to the insulating layer; and
an optical waveguide (Fig. 22, 600 and Paragraph 65) comprising a core part (see Fig. 1, 600c and Paragraph 66) configured to transmit light and positioned on an outer side of the component region of the insulating layer such that the core part has an end surface exposed and facing a component region side,
wherein the optical waveguide is positioned such that the end surface of the core part (Fig. 22, 600c) is adjacent to the component region (Fig. 22, 501), and
the end surface of the core part in the optical waveguide is farther away from the surface of the insulating layer than the end surface of the conductor post on the opposite side with respect to the insulating layer (Fig. 22, i.e. the top surface of conductor 146 is lower in height than the core portion 600c).
Wang does not teach that the conductor portion is a conductor post comprising plating metal.
Matsui teaches a conductor portion that is formed as a conductor post (Fig. 1, 220 and Paragraph 34) comprising plating metal (Fig. 1, 216 and Paragraph 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the conductor portion of Wang as a conductor post comprising plating metal as taught by Matsui in order to enhance the adhesiveness of the connection (Paragraph 38 and 54, etc.).
Regarding claim 2, Wang and Matsui teach that the conductor post (Fig. 22, 146) is configured to connect the component (Fig. 22, 501) to the conductor pad (Fig. 22, 122b) such that the component is positioned face down in the component region and that the end surface of the core part (Fig. 22, 600c) is positioned to face a light receiving or light emitting surface of the component connected to the end surface of the conductor post (Paragraph 66 and 86, etc.).
Regarding claim 3, Wang and Matsui teach that the optical waveguide is positioned such that a distance between the end surface of the core part in the optical waveguide and the surface of the insulating layer (Fig. 22, height distance between 600c and 112) is larger than a thickness of the conductor pad (Fig. 22, thickness of 112b).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches a spacer (Fig. 22, 13) positioned on the surface of the insulating layer such that the optical waveguide is positioned on the surface of the insulating layer via the spacer.
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches a covering layer (Fig. 22, 142) formed such that the covering layer is partially covering the insulating layer and that the optical waveguide is positioned in a region of the surface of the insulating layer that is not covered by the covering layer.
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches a second conductor pad (Fig. 22, pad 112b under the component 503) formed on the surface of the insulating layer and configured to be connected to a second component (Fig. 22, 503); and
a wiring formed on the surface of the insulating layer such that the wiring is connecting the second conductor pad and the conductor pad, wherein the insulating layer has a second component region configured to be covered by the second component electrically connected to the second conductor pad (Paragraph 65 and 85, component 503 is a driver and is connected to component 501).
With respect to claim 7, Wang teaches a third conductor pad formed on the surface of the insulating layer and configured to be connected to a third component (Fig. 22, 502) such that the insulating layer has a third component region configured to be covered by the third component electrically connected to the third conductor pad,
wherein the optical waveguide (Fig. 22, 600) is formed such that a second end surface of the core part on an opposite side with respect to the end surface faces a third component region side (Fig. 22, 502) and is exposed from the optical waveguide.
Regarding 8, Wang teaches a second conductor pad (Fig. 22, pad 112b under the component 503) formed on the surface of the insulating layer and configured to be connected to a second component; and
a wiring formed on the surface of the insulating layer such that the wiring is connecting the second conductor pad and the conductor pad, wherein the insulating layer has a second component region configured to be covered by the second component electrically connected to the second conductor pad (Paragraph 65 and 85, component 503 is a driver and is connected to component 501).
Regarding claim 9, Wang does not teach that the conductor post is formed on the conductor pad such that the conductor post is integrally formed with a substantially constant width from a conductor pad side to an opposite side with respect to the conductor pad side.
Matsui teaches the conductor post (Fig. 12, 106) is formed on the conductor pad such that the conductor post is integrally formed with a substantially constant width from a conductor pad side (Fig. 12, i.e. top side surface of 105) to an opposite side with respect to the conductor pad side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the conductor portion of Wang as a conductor post as taught by Matsui in order to prevent cracking (Paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 10, Wang does not teach a connection layer formed on the end surface of the conductor post on the opposite side with respect to the insulating layer and comprising material having a lower melting point than the conductor post.
Matsui teaches a connection layer (Fig. 1, 222 and Paragraph 55) formed on the end surface of the conductor post on the opposite side with respect to the insulating layer and comprising material having a lower melting point than the conductor post.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a connection layer on a conductor post as taught by Matsui in order to provide a solderable connection point (Paragraph 55).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches that the spacer comprises material comprising at least one of a conductor, an insulator, and a semiconductor (Paragraph 71).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches a spacer (Fig. 22, 13) positioned on the surface of the insulating layer such that the optical waveguide is positioned on the surface of the insulating layer via the spacer.
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches a covering layer (Fig. 22, 142) formed such that the covering layer is partially covering the insulating layer and that the optical waveguide is positioned in a region of the surface of the insulating layer that is not covered by the covering layer.
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches a second conductor pad (Fig. 22, pad 112b under the component 503) formed on the surface of the insulating layer and configured to be connected to a second component (Fig. 22, 503); and
a wiring formed on the surface of the insulating layer such that the wiring is connecting the second conductor pad and the conductor pad, wherein the insulating layer has a second component region configured to be covered by the second component electrically connected to the second conductor pad (Paragraph 65 and 85, component 503 is a driver and is connected to component 501).
With respect to claim 18, Wang teaches a third conductor pad formed on the surface of the insulating layer and configured to be connected to a third component (Fig. 22, 502) such that the insulating layer has a third component region configured to be covered by the third component electrically connected to the third conductor pad,
wherein the optical waveguide (Fig. 22, 600) is formed such that a second end surface of the core part on an opposite side with respect to the end surface faces a third component region side (Fig. 22, 502) and is exposed from the optical waveguide.
Regarding 19, Wang teaches a second conductor pad (Fig. 22, pad 112b under the component 503) formed on the surface of the insulating layer and configured to be connected to a second component; and
a wiring formed on the surface of the insulating layer such that the wiring is connecting the second conductor pad and the conductor pad, wherein the insulating layer has a second component region configured to be covered by the second component electrically connected to the second conductor pad (Paragraph 65 and 85, component 503 is a driver and is connected to component 501).
Regarding claim 20, Wang does not teach that the conductor post is formed on the conductor pad such that the conductor post is integrally formed with a substantially constant width from a conductor pad side to an opposite side with respect to the conductor pad side.
Matsui teaches the conductor post (Fig. 12, 106) is formed on the conductor pad such that the conductor post is integrally formed with a substantially constant width from a conductor pad side (Fig. 12, i.e. top side surface of 105) to an opposite side with respect to the conductor pad side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the conductor portion of Wang as a conductor post as taught by Matsui in order to prevent cracking (Paragraph 7).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Matsui, and further in view of Tanisawa (US Patent No. 5,283,446).
Regarding claim 12, Wang and Matsui do not teach that the conductor post is formed on the conductor pad such that a thickness of the spacer is larger than a distance between the end surface of the conductor post on the opposite side with respect to the insulating layer and the surface of the insulating layer.
Tanisawa teaches that conductor portions (Fig. 4, 23) of an optical component (Fig. 4, chip 5) are formed such that a thickness of a spacing portion (Fig. 4, portion 1 supporting waveguide 8) for a waveguide (Fig. 4, 8) is larger than a distance between a conductor portion and an insulating layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the spacer and conductor post of Wang and Matsui such that a thickness of the spacer is larger than a distance between the top of the post and insulating layer as taught by Tanisawa in order to achieve the predictable result of alignment the output of the waveguide core to the optical input of the component (Fig. 4, 31 of Tanisawa).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Matsui, and further in view of Kodama et al. (USPGPub No. 2007/0297729, from hereinafter “Kodama”).
Regarding claim 13, Wang and Matsui do not teach a dummy post formed on the insulating layer.
Kodama teaches an optical element having dummy electrodes (Paragraph 397-398).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a dummy post of Wang and Matsui on the insulating layer of Wang as taught by Kodama in order to maintain the level of the optical component (Paragraph 397-398).
Regarding claim 14, Wang and Matsui do not teach a dummy post formed on the insulating layer and configured to support the component connected to the conductor pad, wherein the dummy post is configured to be in contact with a dummy electrode of the component.
Kodama teaches an optical element having dummy electrodes, wherein the dummy post is configured to be in contact with a dummy electrode of the component (Paragraph 397-398).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a dummy post of Wang and Matsui on the insulating layer of Wang as taught by Kodama in order to maintain the level of the optical component (Paragraph 397-398).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA M CAPUTO/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874