Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Stemmler fails to disclose that the drive cable is wound around the drive drum and is driven by the drive drum.
Examiner respectfully disagree. As shown in fig. 1, cable 541 extends around and is wrapped about the circumference of pulley/drive drum 542, such that rotation of the pulley engages the cable and causes the cable to be displaced. Pulley 542 functions as the claimed drive drum. The claim does not require any minimum number of windings. A cable that is wrapped around a portion of the circumference of a rotating drive drum sufficiently to transmit motion is reasonably considered to be “wound around” the drive drum under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Thus, cable 541 is wound around the drive drum and is driven by the drive drum.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Stemmler’s drum is a passive element and that the spoiler is actually driven by a separate cable 6 that is not wound about a drive drum.
Examiner respectfully disagree. the claim does not require that the drive drum be the original power source or an actively powered component. Rather, the claim only requires that the drive cable be wound around the drive drum and be driven by the drive drum. As shown in figs. 1 and 2, cable 541 is wrapped around the drive drum (pulley) 542 by virtue of their engagement. Thus, cable 541 is driven by drive drum 542, regardless of whether drive drum 542 itself receives motion from another component, such as cable 6. Examiner also notes that “driven by” describes the kinematic relationship, not necessarily the ultimate source of power. A component may be “driven by” another component even where the latter is itself driven by an upstream element. The claim language does not exclude intermediate transmission members or require the drive drum to be directly motor-driven.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urs Stemmler (FR 2816906), in view of Kishima (U.S. 2016/0318560A1).
Regarding claim 1, Urs Stemmler discloses a lateral rear region of a motor vehicle (refer to page 2, lines 2-5) comprising:
a rear body member (21, 22; see figs. 1-2 and refer to page 2, lines 40-41) extending at least behind a rear of the motor vehicle (refer to page 2, lines 40-41); and
an air directing device including an air guidance element (1, 50) that is displaceable relative to the rear body member (21, 22) between a rest position retracted into the rear body member (21, 22; as shown in fig. 1) and an operating position extended out of the rear body member (21, 22; as shown in fig. 2),
wherein, in the rest position, a flow guide surface (outer surface of holding 50 and including spoiler 1) of the air guidance element (1, 50) is covered by the rear body member (21, 22; see fig. 1) and, in the operating position, the flow guide surface (outer surface of holding 50 and including spoiler 1) of the air guidance element (50) is displaced rearward relative to the rear body member (21, 22), at least in a longitudinal direction of the motor vehicle (see fig. 2),
wherein the air directing device (1, 50) comprises a guide and drive unit (4, 6, 7, 8, 11) which guides and drives the air guidance element (1, 50) during the displacement relative to the rear body member (21, 22),
wherein a drive (4, 6) of the guide and drive unit (4, 6, 7, 8, 11, 541, 542) comprises a cable pull drive (541, 542) including a drive cable (541), which is wound around a drive drum (542) of the cable pull drive (541, 542) and is driven by the drive drum (452; refer to page 4, lines 1-17. As shown in fig. 1, cable 541 extends around and is wrapped about the circumference of pulley (drive drum) 542, such that rotation of the pulley engages the cable and causes the cable to be displaced).
However, while Urs Stemmler teaches that the air directing device is on the rear of the motor vehicle, Urs Stemmler is silent to the full structure of the vehicle and the exact location on the rear side, thus fails to teach that the air directing device is located on a rear wheel housing of the motor vehicle.
Kishima teaches the use of an air directive device (42, see figs. 1-4 and 4) on a rear wheel housing (14, 15) of a motor vehicle (10, see fig. 1) comprising two lateral rear regions (as shown in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Urs Stemmler to include air directing device located on a rear wheel housing of the motor vehicle, as taught by Kishima, for the purpose of regulating air flow and improve visibility of a light-emitting portion of the motor vehicle (refer to para 0007).
Also, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention in a manner which does not alter its operation involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Urs Stemmler and Kishima teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; Urs Stemmler further disclose wherein the guide and drive unit (4, 6, 7, 8, 11, 541, 542) comprises at least one fixed guide rail (groove section shown in annotated fig. 2 below) and at least one sliding block (see annotated fig. 2 below) displaceable relative to the fixed guide rail (see figs. 1-2), wherein the drive drum of the cable pull drive (541, 542) displaces the at at least one sliding block relative to the at least one fixed guide rail and displaces the air guidance element via the at least one sliding block relative to the rear body member (as shown in figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Urs Stemmler and Kishima teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 3 above; Urs Stemmler further disclose wherein the drive cable (541) engages into the at least one sliding block (engages the sliding block at drum 542) and displaces the at least one sliding block relative to the at least one fixed guide rail (as shown in figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Urs Stemmler and Kishima teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; Urs Stemmler further disclose wherein the flow guide surface (outer surface of holding 50 and including spoiler 1) of the air guidance element (1, 50) is displaced rearward in the operating position from the rest position when viewed on the one hand in the longitudinal direction of the motor vehicle and, on the other hand, outwardly when viewed in a transverse direction of the motor vehicle (as shown in figs. 1-2; also see figs. 1 and 6 of Kishima), such that in the operating position, the flow guide surface of the air guidance element is flush with an outer surface of the rear body member (as shown in figs. 1-2; also see figs. 1 and 6 of Kishima).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Urs Stemmler and Kishima teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; Urs Stemmler, as modified by Kishima further teaches a motor vehicle (10, fig. 1) comprising two lateral rear regions (see fig. 1) according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6 and 8-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YANICK A AKARAGWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672