DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The references disclosed within the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 11, 2024, has been considered and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 112
3. Claims 25-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 25, the phrase, “generally positioned between adjacent layers of the particulate polymer” is indefinite. It is unclear if the absorber is positioned between the adjacent layers of particulate polymer or not.
Claims 26-39 are rejected as being dependent on instant claim 25.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 7, 21-22, 24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hopkinson et al. (U.S. 2014/0314613).
Hopkinson teaches a method of producing 3D molded parts, comprising, applying particulate construction material onto a construction field in a defined layer by means of a coater, see claim 1, Fig. 1, applying one or more absorbers, see claim 25, [0025], heating the layer by a first heating step to a basic temperature which is within the window of particulate sintering as defined, see claims 1 and 6 (and [0005]).
Hopkinson does not appear to explicitly teach a first and second region, where the first region has a strength greater than the second; however, substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the 3D moulded part is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the 3D moulded part discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed first and second region, where the first region has a strength greater than the second, as in claim 7, 21. In claim 7, the phrase, “joined by sintering” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having a 3D moulded part. The reference suggests such a product because Hopkinson teaches a method of producing 3D molded parts, comprising, applying particulate construction material onto a construction field in a defined layer by means of a coater, see claim 1, Fig. 1, applying one or more absorbers, see claim 25.
Concerning claim 22, Hopkinson discloses the article may further comprise a second print head for providing a second radiation absorbent material. [0038]
Concerning claim 24, Hopkinson discloses the particulate material may comprise at least one of a polymer [0040].
Concerning claim 26, although Hopkinson does not explicitly disclose the thickness of each of the layers, thickness modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04.
Claim Objection
6. Claims 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited 3D moulded part further including where different absorbers have different absorption maxima.
The prior art does not teach motivation or suggestion for modification to make the invention as instantly claimed.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781