DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings with 15 Sheets of Figs. 1-6 received on 4/11/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,7-9,12-13,20,21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al (US 2018/0107091 A1) in view of Zhou et al (US 6,690,325 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hosseini teaches (fig 7A) an apparatus (“optical phased array arrangement”, para 15) comprising:
an electronically steerable optical source (optical source, para 43) comprising a photonic array comprising a plurality of optical antennas arranged along a line (line along which antenna are arranged, “a phased array is an array of antennae grouped together to form a single antenna. A beam produced by the phased array antenna may be steered—without physically moving the antenna—by adjusting phase(s) of signals applied to the individual antennae”, para 28), and circuitry (“the size of the groupings is a function of: 1) the number I/O connections and/or lines employed to or from a particular phased array (or chip or photonic integrated circuit)”, para 47) configured to control steering of a beam transmitted from or received by one or more of the optical antennas about a first axis (“the emitter elements are separated from neighboring elements by less than half a wavelength, emit electromagnetic radiation (optical, microwave, etc.), and are controllably phased such that the emitted radiation combines constructively in a desired direction”, para 33),
where (1) the first axis is substantially perpendicular to the line, and (2) a steering range over which the steering of the beam is limited is characterized by a first vector at one extremum of the steering range and a second vector at another extremum of the steering range (“an optical phased array is steered across a field”, para 40, the extremums on each side of the field are characterized by two vectors);
However, Hosseini does not teach
a base structure;
a mounting structure rotatably attached to the base structure, with the electronically steerable optical source rigidly mounted to the mounting structure; and
a rotation controller configured to rotate the mounting structure with respect to the base structure about a second axis by at least 180 degrees,
where the electronically steerable optical source is oriented on the mounting structure such that (1) the second axis is not parallel to the line, and (2) the first vector is substantially parallel to the second axis.
Hosseini and Zhou are related as optical phased arrays
Zhou teaches (fig 4,5)
a base structure (substrate which has antennas as in fig 4);
a mounting structure (rotating disk 52, col 4 lines 1-10) rotatably attached to the base structure (substrate which has antennas as in fig 4), with the electronically steerable optical source (2-dimensional phased array antenna 50, col 3, lines 64-67) rigidly mounted to the mounting structure (rotating disk 52, col 4, lines 1-10); and
a rotation controller (rotating disk 52 inherently has a controller for controlling the rotation) configured to rotate the mounting structure (rotating disk 52) with respect to the base structure (substrate which has antennas as in fig 4) about a second axis by at least 180 degrees (“the antenna panel to rotate around a central axis along the row direction for an alternative way of 2D steering”, col 4, lines 1-10),
where the electronically steerable optical source (2-dimensional phased array antenna 50, col 3, lines 64-67) is oriented on the mounting structure (rotating disk 52) such that (1) the second axis (“central axis along the row direction”, col 4, lines 1-10) is not parallel to the line (line along which antenna are arranged row wise), and (2) the first vector is substantially parallel to the second axis (“central axis along the row direction”, col 4, lines 1-10) (the field has a maximum starting along the row direction and hence the first vector is substantially parallel to the central axis along row direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phased array antenna of Hosseini to include a mounting structure rotatably attached to the base structure of Zhou for the purpose of generating two-dimensional steering (col 4, lines 1-10) using a simple system (col 1, lines 60-64).
Regarding Claim 7, Hosseini-Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the photonic array is an optical phased array (“phased array”, para 28).
Regarding Claim 8, Hosseini-Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 7,
wherein the circuitry (“the size of the groupings is a function of: 1) the number I/O connections and/or lines employed to or from a particular phased array (or chip or photonic integrated circuit)”, para 47) configured to control steering of the beam comprises one or more phase shifters (“phase shifter”, para 43).
Regarding Claim 9, Hosseini-Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 8,
wherein the one or more phase shifters (“phase shifter”, para 43) are voltage-controlled.
Regarding Claim 12, Hosseini-Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the optical antennas (“phased array is an array of antennae grouped together to form a single antenna”, comprise grating antennas (“emitters may include grating-based design(s)”, para 49) on a photonic integrated circuit (photonic integrated circuit, para 47).
Regarding Claim 13, Hosseini-Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the optical antennas comprise portions of at least one facet of a photonic integrated circuit (photonic integrated circuit, para 47), and each portion is coupled to a respective waveguide (“the illustrative distribution network is arranged as a binary tree (or tree of m-output splitters) exhibiting a 1×N topology and may advantageously constructed from Si (or SiN) waveguides on a suitable substrate”, para 33) in the photonic integrated circuit (photonic integrated circuit, para 47).
Regarding Claim 20, Hosseini-Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Hosseini does not teach
wherein the rotation controller is configured to rotate the mounting structure with respect to the base structure about the second axis by at least 360 degrees.
Hosseini and Zhou are related as optical phased arrays
Zhou teaches (fig 4,5)
wherein the rotation controller (rotating disk 52 inherently has a controller for controlling the rotation) is configured to rotate the mounting structure (rotating disk 52) with respect to the base structure (substrate which has antennas as in fig 4) about a second axis by at least 360 degrees (“the antenna panel to rotate around a central axis along the row direction for an alternative way of 2D steering”, col 4, lines 1-10),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phased array antenna of Hosseini to include rotation controller of Zhou for the purpose of generating two-dimensional steering (col 4, lines 1-10) using a simple system (col 1, lines 60-64).
Regarding Claim 21, Hosseini teaches (fig 7A) a method for steering a beam (beam from optical source, para 43) transmitted from or received by one or more optical antennas of a plurality of optical antennas, of at least one photonic array (“optical phased array arrangement”, para 15), arranged along a line (line along which antenna are arranged, “a phased array is an array of antennae grouped together to form a single antenna. A beam produced by the phased array antenna may be steered—without physically moving the antenna—by adjusting phase(s) of signals applied to the individual antennae”, para 28), the method comprising:
controlling steering of the beam about a first axis (“the emitter elements are separated from neighboring elements by less than half a wavelength, emit electromagnetic radiation (optical, microwave, etc.), and are controllably phased such that the emitted radiation combines constructively in a desired direction”, para 33) based on electronic control of the photonic array (“optical phased array arrangement”, para 15), wherein the first axis is substantially perpendicular to the line (as in fig 2), and a steering range over which the steering of the beam is limited is characterized by a first vector at one extremum of the steering range and a second vector at another extremum of the steering range (“an optical phased array is steered across a field”, para 40, the extremums on each side of the field are characterized by two vectors);
However, Hosseini does not teach
controlling steering of the beam about a second axis based on rotation of a mounting structure on which an electronically steerable optical source comprising the photonic array is rigidly attached,
wherein the mounting structure defines a second axis,
the electronically steerable optical source is oriented on the mounting structure such that (1) the second axis is not parallel to the line, and (2) the first vector is substantially parallel to the second axis, and the mounting structure is rotated with respect to a base on which the mounting structure is rotatably attached about the second axis by at least 180 degrees.
Hosseini and Zhou are related as optical phased arrays
Zhou teaches (fig 4,5)
controlling steering of the beam about a second axis (“the antenna panel to rotate around a central axis along the row direction for an alternative way of 2D steering”, col 4, lines 1-10) based on rotation of a mounting structure (rotating disk 52, col 4 lines 1-10) on which an electronically steerable optical source (2-dimensional phased array antenna 50, col 3, lines 64-67) comprising the photonic array is rigidly attached,
wherein the mounting structure (rotating disk 52, col 4 lines 1-10) defines a second axis,
where the electronically steerable optical source (2-dimensional phased array antenna 50, col 3, lines 64-67) is oriented on the mounting structure (rotating disk 52) such that (1) the second axis (“central axis along the row direction”, col 4, lines 1-10) is not parallel to the line (line along which antenna are arranged row wise), and (2) the first vector is substantially parallel to the second axis (“central axis along the row direction”, col 4, lines 1-10) (the field has a maximum starting along the row direction and hence the first vector is substantially parallel to the central axis along row direction), and
the mounting structure (rotating disk 52, col 4 lines 1-10) is rotated with respect to a base (substrate which has antennas as in fig 4) on which the mounting structure (rotating disk 52, col 4 lines 1-10) is rotatably attached about the second axis by at least 180 degrees (“the antenna panel to rotate around a central axis along the row direction for an alternative way of 2D steering”, col 4, lines 1-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hosseini to include the step of a mounting structure rotatably attached to the base structure of Zhou for the purpose of generating two-dimensional steering (col 4, lines 1-10) using a simple system (col 1, lines 60-64).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al (US 2018/0107091 A1) in view of Zhou et al (US 6,690,325 B1) and further in view of Skirlo et al (US 2017/0371227 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Hosseini-Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Hosseini-Zhou do not teach
further comprising an optical element configured to transfer the beam to or from one or more of the optical antennas and configured to at least partially collimate the beam.
Hosseini-Zhou and Skirlo are related as phased arrays.
Skirlo teaches (fig 1A),
further comprising an optical element (aplanatic lens 120, para 46) configured to transfer the beam to or from one or more of the optical antennas (waveguide feed output ports 114, para 43) and configured to at least partially collimate the beam (“The light 121 rapidly diffracts upon entering the slab waveguide 122 until being collimated by the aplanatic lens 120”, para 46)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phased array antenna of Hosseini-Zhou to include an optical element of Skirlo for the purpose of using a common technique in lidars, networks (para 14).
Claim(s) 10,11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al (US 2018/0107091 A1) in view of Zhou et al (US 6,690,325 B1) and further in view of Soltani et al (US 2023/0144501 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Hosseini-Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 7.
However, Hosseini-Zhou do not teach
wherein the electronically steerable optical source further comprises two or more modulators, each associated with a different subset of one or more of the optical antennas, configured to encode information in the beam based at least in part on one or more of: a wavelength of the beam, an aperture size associated with the optical phased array, or an angle of steering of the beam about the first axis.
Hosseini-Zhou and Soltani are related as phased arrays.
Soltani teaches (fig 1,5),
wherein the electronically steerable optical source further comprises two or more modulators (“the optical transmitter 106 can encode information onto the optical signal beams 108, such as by using suitable amplitude, phase, frequency, and/or other modulation(s) of light”, para 52, “One or more modulators 508”, para 70),
each associated with a different subset of one or more of the optical antennas (“The OPA can include a two-dimensional (2D) pseudo-random sparse array (RSA) of silicon nano-antenna elements or other antenna elements”, para 49, nanoantenna in different nodes 102, 104, fig 1, para 52), configured to encode information in the beam based at least in part on one or more of: a wavelength of the beam, an aperture size (“amplitude, phase, frequency, and/or other modulation(s)”, para 52) associated with the optical phased array (OPA, para 49), or an angle of steering of the beam about the first axis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phased array antenna of Hosseini-Zhou to include modulators of Soltani for the purpose of using a common technique for achieving desired phases (para 70).
Regarding Claim 11, Hosseini-Zhou-Soltani teach the apparatus of claim 10.
However, Hosseini-Zhou do not teach
wherein the two or more modulators are each configured to encode information in the beam by modifying at least one of a phase, frequency, amplitude, or polarization associated with the beam.
Hosseini-Zhou and Soltani are related as phased arrays.
Soltani teaches (fig 1,5),
wherein the two or more modulators (“the optical transmitter 106 can encode information onto the optical signal beams 108, such as by using suitable amplitude, phase, frequency, and/or other modulation(s) of light”, para 52, “One or more modulators 508”, para 70) are each configured to encode information in the beam by modifying at least one of a phase, frequency, amplitude, or polarization associated with the beam.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phased array antenna of Hosseini-Zhou to include modulators modifying at least one of a phase, frequency, amplitude, or polarization of Soltani for the purpose of using a common technique for achieving desired phases (para 70).
Claim(s) 14-17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al (US 2018/0107091 A1) in view of Zhou et al (US 6,690,325 B1) and further in view of Seok et al (US 12,140,676 B2).
Regarding Claim 14, Hosseini-Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Hosseini-Zhou do not teach
wherein the photonic array is a photonic switched array, and the circuitry configured to control steering of a beam transmitted from or received by one or more of the optical antennas comprises one or more optical switches.
Hosseini-Zhou and Seok are related as photonic arrays.
Seok teaches (fig 1-4),
wherein the photonic array is a photonic switched array (“programmable optical switch network”, col 5, lines 56-60), and the circuitry configured to control steering of a beam transmitted from or received by one or more of the optical antennas (“A photonic integrated circuit (PIC) 101 with a two-dimensional (2D) array 103 of optical antennas”, col 5, lines 25-28) comprises one or more optical switches.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photonic array of Hosseini-Zhou to include switched array of Seok for the purpose of using a common technique for LiDARs (col 1, lines 21-26)
Regarding Claim 15, Hosseini-Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 14.
However, Hosseini-Zhou do not teach
wherein the one or more optical switches are voltage-controlled.
Hosseini-Zhou and Seok are related as photonic arrays.
Seok teaches (fig 1-4),
wherein the one or more optical switches (“programmable optical switch network”, col 5, lines 56-60) are voltage-controlled.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photonic array of Hosseini-Zhou to include switched array of Seok for the purpose of using a common technique for LiDARs (col 1, lines 21-26).
Regarding Claim 16, Hosseini-Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 14.
However, Hosseini-Zhou do not teach
wherein the optical switches are configured to optically couple a subset of the optical antennas and an optical port of the photonic switched array.
Hosseini-Zhou and Seok are related as photonic arrays.
Seok teaches (fig 1-4),
wherein the optical switches (“programmable optical switch network”, col 5, lines 56-60) are configured to optically couple a subset of the optical antennas and an optical port of the photonic switched array (“An optical switch network in the PIC selectively activates one or more optical antennas 104 at a time. Each activated optical antenna transmits light to a certain direction (Tx) and the same antenna receives reflected light from target (Rx)”, col 5, lines 25-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photonic array of Hosseini-Zhou to include optical switches of Seok for the purpose of using a common technique for LiDARs (col 1, lines 21-26)
Regarding Claim 17, Hosseini-Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 14.
However, Hosseini-Zhou do not teach
further comprising an optical steering element configured to convert a lateral displacement between the beam and a center of the optical steering element into an angular displacement.
Hosseini-Zhou and Seok are related as photonic arrays.
Seok teaches (fig 1-4),
further comprising an optical steering element (microlens array 110, col 6, lines 60-63) configured to convert a lateral displacement between the beam and a center of the optical steering element (microlens array 110, col 6, lines 60-63) into an angular displacement (“An optical switch network in the PIC selectively activates one or more optical antennas 104 at a time. Each activated optical antenna transmits light to a certain direction (Tx) and the same antenna receives reflected light from target (Rx). This creates a one-to-one mapping between the lateral position of the optical antenna and the far-field angle, as illustrated by the optical beam paths from two separate optical antennas pointing to Target 1 and Target 2”, col 5, lines 25-35, “microlens array configured to transform the emission angles from one or more optical antennas to match the CRAs of the imaging lens”, col 6, lines 57-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photonic array of Hosseini-Zhou to include beam steering element of Seok for the purpose of using a common technique for LiDARs (col 1, lines 21-26).
Claim(s) 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al (US 2018/0107091 A1) in view of Zhou et al (US 6,690,325 B1) and further in view of Bagnell et al (US 2025/0167890 B2).
Regarding Claim 19, Hosseini-Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Hosseini-Zhou do not teach
further comprising a first optical element and a second optical element configured to expand the beam.
Hosseini-Zhou and Bagnell are related as photonic arrays.
Bagnell teaches (fig 1),
further comprising a first optical element and a second optical element configured to expand the beam (“an optical expansion element having multiple such emitter gratings”, para 38)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photonic array of Hosseini-Zhou to include beam expansion elements of Bagnell for the purpose of using a common technique for beam expansion (para 38).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 18, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 is allowable for at least the reason:
“wherein the optical element comprises one or more reflective curved surfaces configured to collimate the beam.”
Claim 18 is allowable for at least the reason:
“wherein the optical steering element is further configured to collimate the beam.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al (US 2017/0187109 A10 teaches a photonic array mounted on a rotating platform.
/JYOTSNA V DABBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 5/29/2026