DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following feature must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The present drawings do not show a mounting panel where the flange is fixed such that a first sealing ring arranged on the flange portion being axially compressed between the flange portion and the mounting panel.
The drawings are objected to because of the following problems.
the present drawings do not identify “an end face” of the gear part 30 with an assigned reference number and a line pointing at the end face.
It is not clear what the axial direction of the wheel axle part is since the present specification does not describe “a wheel axle part” with an assigned reference number and the drawings do not identify this wheel axle part with the assigned reference with a line pointing at the wheel axle part, and the drawings also do not show an axis of the wheel axle part such that the axial direction of the wheel axle part cannot be clearly identified.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0024], lines 2 and 4, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “a first teeth 301 and a second teeth 302” to -- a first tooth 301 and a second tooth 302 -- because other Paragraphs describe, “first tooth 301 and second tooth 302”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15, lines 1-2 recite, “a wheel axle part”, but the present specification does not describe, “a wheel axle part”. On the other hand, the present specification does describe, “a wheel shaft part 30a”. It is not clear whether the wheel axle part of claim 15 and the wheel shaft part of the specification are the same element or two different elements. If they are the same element, the examiner suggests the applicant to use the same terminology in both the specification and the claims for clear understanding.
Claim 16, line 2 recites, “an axial direction of the wheel axle part”. Because the drawings do not show an axis of the wheel axle part, it is not clear which direction is the axial direction of the wheel axle part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 11, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gundermann et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0031928 A1).
Gundermann discloses a connector housing 26, comprising: (claim 1) a peripheral wall 58, 60, 62, 64; and a rack part 78’ formed on an outer surface 58, 60 of the peripheral wall, the rack part 78’ has an inner side and an outer side (see Fig. 13) opposite the inner side in a width direction, the inner side of the rack part 78’ is connected to the peripheral wall, the rack part 78’ has a first tooth slot 166 and a second tooth slot 164 adjacent to the first tooth slot 166 in a length direction, the first tooth slot 166 meshes with a first tooth 168 on a gear part 96’(see Figs. 14-15) of a mating connector 22 and the second tooth slot 164 meshes with a second tooth 170 on the gear part 96’, a slot width 174 of the second tooth slot 164 in the width direction is smaller than a slot width 172 of the first tooth slot 166 and prevents the first tooth 168 with a tooth width 176 larger than the slot width 174 of the second tooth slot 164 from engaging in the second tooth slot 164;
(claim 2) wherein the peripheral wall 58, 60 has a blocking part 162 on the outer surface 58, 60, a portion of the blocking part 162 is in the second tooth slot 164 and makes the slot width 174 of the second tooth slot 164 smaller than the slot width 172 of the first tooth slot 166;
(claim 3) wherein the first tooth slot 166 extends from the outer side of the rack part 78’ to the outer surface 58, 60 of the peripheral wall 58, 60, 62, 64 in the width direction (see Fig. 13), the slot width 172 of the first tooth slot 166 is equal to a width of the rack part 78’;
(claim 4) wherein the blocking part 162 has an inner side and an outer side opposite the inner side in the width direction, the inner side of the blocking part 162 is connected to the peripheral wall 58, 60, 62, 64, the second tooth slot 164 extends from the outer side of the rack part 78’ to the outer side of the blocking part 162 in the width direction, the slot width 174 of the second tooth slot 164 is smaller than the width 172 of the rack part 78’ (see Fig. 13); and
(claim 5) wherein the peripheral wall 58, 60, 62, 64 has a pair of side walls 58, 60 opposite one another in the width direction, the rack part 78’ protrudes from one of the side walls 58, 60 of the peripheral wall 58, 60, 62, 64, the outer surface of the one of the side walls 58, 60, the outer surface of the rack part 78’, and the outer side of the blocking part 162 are parallel to each other (see Fig. 13).
[AltContent: textbox (outer side of 78’)][AltContent: textbox (inner side of 78’)][AltContent: textbox (side wall 58 of peripheral wall )][AltContent: textbox (outer side of 162)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (inner side of 162)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 11, Gundermann discloses a mating connector housing assembly, comprising: a mating connector housing 22 matable with a connector housing 26; and a locking rod 28’ rotatably installed on the mating connector housing 26 and rotatable between a pre-lock position (see Fig. 10) and a final lock position (see Fig. 11), the locking rod 28’ has a gear part 96’, the gear part 96’ has a first tooth 168 and a second tooth 170 adjacent to the first tooth 168 in a circumferential direction, a tooth width 176 of the first tooth 168 is equal to a slot width 172 of a first tooth slot 166 on a rack part 78, of the connector housing 26 and a tooth width 168 of the second tooth 170 is equal to a slot width 174 of a second tooth slot 164 on the rack part 78’, the first tooth 168 and the second tooth 170 are in positions corresponding to the first tooth slot 166 and the second tooth slot 164 when the locking rod 28’ is in the pre-lock position (see Fig. 10) to allow the first tooth 168 to mesh with the first tooth slot 166 and the second tooth 170 to mesh with the second tooth slot 164, the first tooth 168 engages with the first tooth slot 166 and the second tooth 170 engages with the second tooth slot 164 when the locking rod 78’ is rotated from the pre-lock position to the final lock position to lock the connector housing 26 and the mating connector housing 22 in a mating state.
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Gundermann discloses a connector assembly 20, comprising: a connector comprising a connector housing 26 and a terminal (not shown, see Paragraph [0041]) disposed in the connector housing 26, the connector housing 26 including a peripheral wall 58, 60, 62, 64 and a rack part 78’ formed on an outer surface 58, 60 of the peripheral wall 58, 60, 62, 64, the rack part 78’ has an inner side and an outer side (see Fig. 13 above) opposite the inner side in a width direction, the inner side of the rack part 78’ is connected to the peripheral wall 58, the rack part 78’ has a first tooth slot 166 and a second tooth slot 164 adjacent to the first tooth slot 166 in a length direction (see Fig. 13); and a mating connector comprising a mating connector housing assembly and a mating terminal (not shown, see Paragraph [0041]) disposed in the mating connector housing assembly and mated with the terminal, the mating connector housing assembly including a mating connector housing 22 matable with the connector housing 26 and a locking rod 28’ rotatably installed on the mating connector housing 22 and rotatable between a pre-lock position (see Fig. 10) and a final-lock position (see Fig. 11), the locking rod 28’ has a gear part, the gear part 96’ has a first tooth 168 and a second tooth 170 adjacent to the first tooth 168 in a circumferential direction, a tooth width 176 of the first tooth 168 is equal to a slot width 172 of the first tooth slot 166 and a tooth width 178 of the second tooth 170 is equal to a slot width 174 of the second tooth slot 164, the first tooth 168 and the second tooth 170 are in positions corresponding to the first tooth slot 166 and the second tooth slot 164 when the locking rod 28’ is in the pre-lock position to allow the first tooth 168 to mesh with the first tooth slot 166 and the second tooth 170 to mesh with the second tooth slot 164, the first tooth 168 engages with the first tooth slot 166 and the second tooth 170 engages with the second tooth slot 164 when the locking rod 28’ is rotated from the pre-lock position to the final lock position to lock the connector housing 26 and the mating connector housing 22 in a mating state, the slot width 174 of the second tooth slot 164 in the width direction is smaller than the slot width 172 of the first tooth slot 166 and prevents the first tooth 168 with the tooth width 176 larger than the slot width 174 of the second tooth slot 164 from engaging in the second tooth slot 164; (claim 19) wherein the mating connector housing 22 includes an outer peripheral wall 30, 32, 34, 36 and a terminal holder (not labeled, see Fig. 2 showing a plurality of terminal chambers in the center of the connector housing 22) connected to the outer peripheral wall 30, 32, 34, 36 that extends out of one end of the outer peripheral wall 30, 32, 34, 36, the terminal holder holds the mating terminal and is insertable into the connector housing 26.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schneider et al (US 11,228,142 B2).
Schneider discloses a mating connector housing assembly 4, comprising: a mating connector housing 5 matable with a connector housing 7; and a locking rod 2 rotatably installed on the mating connector housing 5 and rotatable between a pre-lock position (see Fig. 2A) and a final lock position (see Fig. 3), the locking rod 2 has a gear part (not labeled, see Figs. 1-3), the gear part has a first tooth 16 and a second tooth 16 adjacent to the first tooth 16 in a circumferential direction (see Figs. 1-3), a tooth width of the first tooth 16 is equal to a slot width 18 of a first tooth slot on a rack part (not labeled, see Figs. 1-3) of the connector housing 7 and a tooth width of the second tooth 16 is equal to a slot width of a second tooth slot 18 on the rack part, the first tooth 16 and the second tooth 16 are in positions corresponding to the first tooth slot 18 and the second tooth slot 18 when the locking rod 2 is in the pre-lock position (see Fig. 2A) to allow the first tooth 16 to mesh with the first tooth slot 18 and the second tooth 16 to mesh with the second tooth slot 18, the first tooth 16 engages with the first tooth slot 18 and the second tooth 16 engages with the second tooth slot 18 when the locking rod 2 is rotated from the pre-lock position (see Fig. 2A) to the final lock position (see Fig. 3) to lock the connector housing 7 and the mating connector housing 5 in a mating state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundermann et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0031928 A1) or Schneider et al (US 11,228,142 B2) in view of Gimbel et al (US 7,704,086 B2).
Regarding Gundermann in view of Schneider or Gimbel of claims 12 and 15, Gundermann discloses (claim 12) the locking rod 28’ of the mating connector housing 22 includes a lever portion 94 having a connecting end 102, and a pivot hole 40 is formed in the mating connector housing 22, the shaft part 104 is rotatably installed in the pivot hole 40; (claim 15) wherein the gear part 96’ has a wheel axle part 154 with the first tooth 168 and the second tooth 170 formed on an outer peripheral surface of the wheel axle part 154.
However, Schneider does not disclose the gear part 96’ and the wheel axle part 154 being connected to the connecting end. Therefore, a shaft part 104 of Schneider is also not axially connected between the connecting end 102 and the gear part 96’.
On the other hand, Gimbel discloses a locking rod 160 including a lever portion 11 with a connecting end (not labeled, see Fig. 4 showing an end adjacent to the reference number 162) a gear part 194 connected to the connecting end, and a shaft part 164/a wheel axle part axially connected between the connecting end and the gear part 194, wherein a pivot hole 168 is formed in the mating connector housing 2 such that the shaft part 164 is rotatably installed in the pivot hole 168.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the locking rod taught by Schneider such that it would have the gear part and the wheel axle part being connected at the connecting end as taught by Gimbel because the placement of the gear part with the shaft part or the wheel axle part only deals with rearrangement of part depending of the design of the mating connector housing and the locking rod. Whether the gear part is connected to the connecting end (as taught by Gimbel or by Schneider) or away from the connecting end (as taught by Gundermann), the main functions of the locking part and the gear part, moving the mating connector housing from the pre-lock position to the final lock position) remain same. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding Schneider in view of Gimbel of claim 12, although the drawings of Schneider do not show the whole structure of the locking rod 2 clearly, it is clear that the locking rod 2 of Schneider includes a lever portion having a connecting end, the gear part connected to the connecting end (not labeled, see Fig. 1).
However, the drawings of Schneider do not show the locking rod 2 including a shaft part axially connected between the connecting end and the gear part and a pivot hole formed in the mating connector housing where the shaft part is rotatably installed in the pivot hole.
On the other hand, Gimbel discloses a mating connector housing 2 having a locking rod 160 including a lever portion 11 having a connecting end (not labeled, see Fig. 4), a gear part 194 connected to the connecting end (see Fig. 4), and a shaft part 164 axially connected between the connecting end and the gear part 194, a pivot hole168 formed in the mating connector housing 2 wherein the shaft part 164 is rotatably installed in the pivot hole 168.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the locking rod taught by Schneider such that it would have a shaft part rotatably installed in a pivot hole formed in the mating connector housing as taught by Gimbel because the shaft part and the pivot hole allows the locking rod to be securely fix to the mating connector housing and to be rotatably movable on the mating connector housing.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundermann et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0031928 A1) in view of Francis (US 6,508,666 B1).
Gundermann discloses the connector housing 26 having a flange portion 66 (see Fig. 3) formed on the peripheral wall 58, 60, 62, 64 of the connector housing 26, the flange portion fixes a mounting panel to install the connector housing onto the mounting panel (see Paragraph [0045]).
However, Gundermann does not disclose the connector including a first sealing ring arranged on the flange portion 66 that is axially compressed between the flange portion and the mounting panel to achieve sealing between the flange portion 66 and the mounting panel.
On the other hand, Francis discloses a connector comprising a connector housing 18 having a flange portion 22 formed on a peripheral wall 44 of the connector housing 18, the flange 22 portion fixes a mounting panel 12 to install the connector housing 18 onto the mounting panel 12, and a first sealing ring 21 arranged on the flange portion 22 that is axially compressed between the flange portion 22 and the mounting panel 12 to achieve sealing between the flange portion 66 and the mounting panel 12 (see column 3, lines 9-13 and 29-32).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the connector housing taught by Gundermann such that it would have a first sealing ring arranged on the flange portion as taught by Francis because the first sealing ring will be axially compressed between the flange portion and a mounting panel to achieve sealing between the flange portion 66 and the mounting panel 12.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundermann et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0031928 A1) in view of Denlinger et al (US 4,676,575).
Gundermann discloses an annular groove (not labeled, see Figs. 10 and 11) being formed between the outer peripheral wall 30, 32, 34, 36 and the terminal holder of the mating connector housing 26.
However, Gundermann does not disclose the mating connector having a second scaling ring provided in the annular groove and axially compressed between the connector housing 26 and the mating connector housing 22 to achieve sealing between the connector housing 26 and the mating connector housing 22.
On the other hand, Denlinger discloses a mating connector housing 100 having a peripheral wall 108, a terminal holder 102 extending from the peripheral wall 108 and an annular groove 110 formed between the peripheral wall 108 and the terminal holder 102, wherein a second scaling ring 112 is provided in the annular groove 110 and axially compressed between a connector housing 80 and the mating connector housing 100 to achieve sealing between the connector housing 80 and the mating connector housing 100.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the mating connector housing taught by Gundermann such that it would have an annular groove with a sealing ring as taught by Denlinger because the sealing ring will provide an environmental seal between the connector housing 80 and the mating connector housing 100.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/hmh/
/Hae Moon Hyeon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831