DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1,3,4 and 7-9 are pending and claims 2,5,6 and 10-20 are withdrawn.
This action is in response to the amendment dated 6/26/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages filed 6/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Since applicant’s arguments and amendments necessitated the new grounds for rejection the action is made Non-Final.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species II in the reply filed on 7/14/2025 was previously acknowledged. Claims 2,5,6 and 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/14/2025.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the claim objection.
Claim 8 recites the limitation, “ “an” uphole” , this should be changed to - -the uphole - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,3,4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recite the limitations “therein” and “therebetween”, which are unclear as to what/where the intended structure that is linked with the limitations is to be located as claimed.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a first spring disposed in an upper spring chamber to enact force on a second ball”, which is unclear as to which ball is intended to be defined, since the specification discloses the first blocking member 30 abutting the 1st ball seat 26 (see para.0011), should the “second ball” be the - -first ball - -?
Claim 1 recites the limitations “a second spring disposed in a lower spring chamber that engages the sleeve to force the first ball into a first seat”, which is unclear as to how the second spring 50 that engages the sleeve 48 forces the ball into the first seat 26, as shown in applicants, Figure 1, the sleeve 48 forces the ball 64 into the second seat 42.
Claim 3 recites the limitation, “a first spring disposed in an upper spring chamber wherein the first spring forcing a second ball into a second seat”, which is unclear if these are additional structural features or the same features recited in claim 1, as, “a first spring disposed in an upper spring chamber to enact force on a second ball”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3,4,8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (WO2020/225525, the office is relying on the US 11933131 document for the rejection) in view of Jones (US 4049017). The claims being rejected as best understood based on the 112 rejections above.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an adjustable check valve (see Fig. 1-8), the adjustable check valve comprising:
a first open end (near right end at 42,4,8) and a second open end (near left end at 2,4) to permit fluid to flow through the adjustable check valve;
a housing (10-10c,8,14) with an inlet (the right opening at 42 within 8) and an outlet (the left opening at 2,4);
a sleeve (52) slidably disposed in the housing, the sleeve having a ball holder portion (at section of 62 ) with a first ball (60) disposed therein;
the ball holder portion having a first axial end opposite a ball seat (the surface of 62 that abuts the ball) disposed in a second axial end and a sidewall (the horizontal wall along the opening for 56, see Fig. 6) extending therebetween;
a radial directed port (at 56) disposed in the sidewall of the ball holder portion between the ball seat in the second axial end and the first axial end of the ball holder portion;
a first spring (right spring 58 within 8) disposed in an upper spring chamber (chamber within 8) to enact force on a second ball (46, see Fig. 7);
a second spring (left spring 58 within 10) disposed in a lower spring chamber (the chamber of 10 surrounding the spring 58 and ball 60, see Fig. 6) that engages the sleeve to force the first ball into a first seat (the un-numbered seat at the rightmost of the sleeve shown in Fig 6, where the ball 60 contacts as shown in Fig. 1) to prevent fluid from flowing in an uphole direction (upward through 10 towards 8) in the adjustable check valve;
a set screw (the un-numbered part below numeral 10 in Fig. 6 that abuts spring 58) disposed entirely within the housing and engaged with the housing to apply a desired amount of tension to the second spring; and
wherein the ball holder portion of the sleeve is disposed between the first and second spring (as shown in the figures below, the ball holder portion is arranged in this manner).
Lee is silent to having the set screw threadably disposed in the housing.
Jones discloses a valve that teaches a set screw (34) threadably (45) disposed entirely within the housing (16) and engaged (at 45 and 32) with the housing to apply a desired amount of tension to the second spring (35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ threads as taught by Jones into the device of Lee to have the set screw threadably disposed in the housing, and engaged with the housing, in order to have a means to set the tension on the spring (Jones, col.4,lns 16-26).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses a first spring (right spring 58 within 8) disposed in an upper spring chamber (chamber within 8 surrounding right spring 58) wherein the first spring forcing a second ball (46) into a second seat (the seat at 48 abutted by ball 46) in the upper spring chamber.
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses a passageway (the opening 18) that fluidically connects the upper spring chamber and lower spring chamber.
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the first ball (60) prevents fluid from flowing in “an” uphole direction through the passageway (as shown in Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the first spring and the second ball prevents fluid from flowing in the uphole direction and out of the adjustable check valve (the second ball and first spring prevent fluid from flowing upward and exiting the outlet, see fig.1 above).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee ‘525 in view of Gute (US 5107890).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses all of the features of the claimed invention, including a second spring, although are silent that the second spring has a conical shape.
Gute teaches the use of a spring that has a conical shape (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a conical spring as taught by Gute for the second spring in Lee to have the second spring being conical shaped, since it has been held, that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component (one spring for another) or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. Additionally, the well-known expected outcome of applying a force to the ball valve in order to keep the ball closed against a certain pressure, would result from the combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753