DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “a bottom clamp coupled to said at least one bottom clamp head” and “a bottom folding apron coupled to said bottom clamp” in claims 1 and 5 and “said material working surface is a top surface of said at least one bottom clamp head” in claims 3 and 7 as described in the specification. In particular, the figures that are supposed to show these features, e.g., Figs. 1 and 11, do not have lines sharp enough to distinguish these features or show how these features are coupled to each other. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “lifting tray assembly” in claims 1 and 5.
Regarding the lift tray assembly, the claims recite a generic placeholder (“lifting tray assembly” in claim 1 or “lifting tray” in claim 5) modified by a function (“being reciprocally movable between a lower position and a raised position elevating the sheet material”) that is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure will be interpreted as lifting tray assemblies 44 which are described as including a base 52 and pneumatic cylinder 54 (Figs. 2-3; Para. [0026]) and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 11,541,442 B2 to Kern.
Regarding claim 8, Kern teaches a method of operating a folding machine for folding a plurality of sheet metal materials (Abstract) comprising the steps of:
(A) loading a first sheet metal material 5 into a folding machine (Figs. 12-14; Col. 9, Lns. 18-42);
(B) indexing the first sheet metal material into a position for folding operation (Figs. 13-16; Col. 10, Lns. 39-54);
(C) commencing the folding operation on the first sheet metal material (Figs. 17-20; Col. 11, Lns. 16-34);
(D) loading a second sheet metal 5 material into the folding machine while simultaneously continuing the folding operation of the first sheet metal material 5 (Figs. 21-22; Col. 11, Lns. 35-44);
(E) completing the folding operation of the first sheet metal material (Figs. 17-20; Col. 11, Lns. 16-34);
(F) indexing the second sheet metal material into a position for folding operation (Figs. 21-22; Col. 11, Lns. 35-44), and
(G) commencing the folding operation of the second sheet metal material (Figs. 21-22; Col. 11, Lns. 35-44; Figs. 13-20 show that the sheet is folded after it has been transferred by unit 70).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern in view of JP 2014217851 A to Sakamoto.
Regarding claim 1, Kern teaches a folding machine for folding sheet metal material (Abstract), the folding machine comprising,
a frame (Figs. 2-9 and 13-15 show the frame, i.e., the portion that parts 2 and 3 are attached to);
at least one bottom clamp head 2 coupled to said frame (Figs. 2-9);
at least one top clamp head 3 coupled to said at least one bottom clamp head 2 (Figs. 1 and 13-15; Figs. 13-15 show the pivotal movement of the upper clamp head 3, and the upper clamp head 3 is pivotally coupled to the bottom clamp head 2 via the frame to which they are both pivotally coupled);
a bottom clamp 21 coupled to said at least one bottom clamp head 2 (Figs. 1-9; Col. 6, Lns. 28-49);
a top clamp 23 coupled to said at least one top clamp head 3 (Figs. 1-9; Col. 6, Lns. 28-49);
a bottom folding apron 22 coupled to said bottom clamp 21 (Figs. 1-9; Col. 6, Lns. 28-49; the bottom apron 22 is coupled to the bottom clamp 21 via the clamp head 2 that both are coupled to);
a top folding apron 24 coupled to said top clamp 23 (Figs. 1-9; Col. 6, Lns. 28-49; the top apron 24 is coupled to the top clamp 23 via the clamp head 3 that both are coupled to);
a material working surface configured to support a sheet metal material 5 thereon, said material working surface being positioned adjacent said bottom clamp 21 (Fig. 2; the material working surface is interpreted as the top of clamp head 2 which supports the sheet metal material by supporting the components, e.g., table 10, that the sheet metal material is placed on); and
a side loader assembly 70 positioned between said bottom clamp head 2 and said top clamp head 3 (Figs. 13-16; Col. 6, Lns. 22-27 and Col. 10, Lns. 4-38), said side loader assembly 70 including an elongated transfer shuttle beam 72 and a transfer shuttle 73 movable along said transfer shuttle beam 72 between a loading position and an unloading position (Figs. 13-16; Col. 10, Lns. 4-38).
Kern fails to explicitly teach at least one back gauge reciprocally movable between a first position distal said bottom clamp and a second position adjacent said bottom clamp, wherein said at least one back gauge is configured to engage a trailing edge of the sheet metal material; at least one lifting tray assembly configured to support the sheet metal material thereon, said at least one lifting tray assembly being reciprocally movable between a lower position and a raised position elevating the sheet metal material to a position above said material working surface allowing for the passage of said at least one back gauge beneath the sheet metal material as the back gauge moves from said second position to said first position.
Sakamoto teaches a pressing machine configured to fold workpieces (Abstract) including a top clamp 7 with a top folding tool 11 coupled thereto and a bottom clamp 5 with a bottom folding tool 9 coupled thereto (Fig. 1) and a transfer shuttle 51 (Fig. 1; Para. [0028]);
at least one back gauge 29L,R reciprocally movable between a first position distal said bottom clamp 5 and a second position adjacent said bottom clamp 5, wherein said at least one back gauge 29L,R is configured to engage a trailing edge of the sheet metal material W (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0020]-[0021]); and
at least one lifting tray assembly 55 configured to support the sheet metal material W thereon (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0027]-[0028]), said at least one lifting tray assembly being reciprocally movable between a lower position and a raised position elevating the sheet metal material W to a position above said material working surface allowing for the passage of said at least one back gauge 29L,R beneath the sheet metal material W as the back gauge 29L,R moves from said second position to said first position (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0028]-[0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the folding machine of Kern to include at least one back gauge and at least one lifting tray assembly to position workpieces providing by a transfer shuttle as taught by Sakamoto so that the workpieces may be precisely positioned and then held in place by the gauges when performing folding operations, thus allowing for more accurate folds on the workpiece.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kern teaches the folding machine of claim 1 (Fig. 1) further comprising a controller for controlling a processing sequence with said top clamp head, said bottom folding apron, said top folding apron, said at least one back gauge, and said at least one lifting tray (Col. 3, Ln. 55 through Col. 4, Ln. 5; Kern includes a control unit for controlling the tools of the machine, and modified Kern includes at least one back gauge and at least one lifting tray as tools being controlled).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kern teaches the folding machine of claim 1 (Fig. 1) wherein said material working surface is a top surface of said at least one bottom clamp head (Fig. 2; the material working surface is interpreted as the top of clamp head 2 which supports the sheet metal material by supporting the components, e.g., table 10, that the sheet metal material is placed on).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kern teaches the folding machine of claim 1 (Fig. 1) wherein said at least one lifting tray assembly comprises a plurality of lifting trays 55 (Sakamoto, Para. [0027]; modified Kern includes the lifting tray assembly of Sakamoto, which teaches a plurality of lifting trays).
Regarding claim 5, Kern teaches a folding machine for folding sheet metal material (Fig. 1; Abstract), the folding machine comprising,
a plurality of bottom clamp heads 2 (Figs. 1-9; Fig. 1 shows there are a plurality of bottom clamp heads 2);
a plurality of top clamp heads 3 pivotally coupled to said plurality of bottom clamp heads 2 (Figs. 1-9 and 13-15; Fig. 1 shows there are a plurality of top clamp heads 3 coupled to the bottom clamp heads 2 via the frame that they are both pivotably coupled to, as shown in Figs. 13-15);
a bottom clamp 21 coupled to said plurality of bottom clamp heads 2 (Figs. 1-9; Col. 6, Lns. 28-49);
a top clamp 23 coupled to said plurality of top clamp heads 3 (Figs. 1-9; Col. 6, Lns. 28-49);
a bottom folding apron 22 coupled to said bottom clamp 21 (Figs. 1-9; Col. 6, Lns. 28-49; the bottom apron 22 is coupled to the bottom clamp 21 via the clamp heads 2 that both are coupled to);
a top folding apron 24 coupled to said top clamp 23 (Figs. 1-9; Col. 6, Lns. 28-49; the top apron 24 is coupled to the top clamp 23 via the clamp heads 3 that both are coupled to);
a material working surface 5 positioned adjacent said bottom clamp 21 (Fig. 2; the material working surface is interpreted as the top of clamp head 2 which supports the sheet metal material by supporting the components, e.g., table 10, that the sheet metal material is placed on);
an elongated transfer shuttle beam 72 positioned below said plurality of top clamp heads 3 (Figs. 13-16; Col. 10, Lns. 4-38), and a transfer shuttle 73 longitudinally movable along said transfer shuttle beam 72 between a loading position and an unloading position (Figs. 13-16; Col. 10, Lns. 4-38).
Kern fails to explicitly teach a plurality of back gauges reciprocally movable between a first position distal said bottom clamp and a second position adjacent said bottom clamp, wherein said plurality of back gauges are configured to engage the sheet metal material positioned upon said material working surface; a plurality of lifting trays, wherein each lifting tray is reciprocally movable between a lower position wherein the sheet metal material is at least partially supported upon said material working surface and a raised position wherein each said lifting tray is positioned above said material working surface to a height wherein said plurality of back gauges may pass beneath the sheet metal material being supported upon the plurality of lifting trays.
Sakamoto teaches a pressing machine configured to fold workpieces (Abstract) including a top clamp 7 with a top folding tool 11 coupled thereto and a bottom clamp 5 with a bottom folding tool 9 coupled thereto (Fig. 1) and a transfer shuttle 51 (Fig. 1; Para. [0028]);
at plurality of back gauges 29L,R reciprocally movable between a first position distal said bottom clamp 5 and a second position adjacent said bottom clamp 5, wherein said plurality of back gauges 29L,R is configured to engage the sheet metal material W positioned upon said material working surface (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0020]-[0021]); and
a plurality of lifting trays 55 configured to support the sheet metal material W thereon (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0027]-[0028]; the device includes a plurality of lifting trays), wherein each lifting tray 55 is reciprocally movable between a lower position wherein the sheet metal material is at least partially supported upon said material working surface 41 and a raised position wherein each said lifting tray is positioned above said material working surface 41 to a height wherein said plurality of back gauges 29L,R may pass beneath the sheet metal material W being supported by the plurality of lifting trays (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0028]-[0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the folding machine of Kern to include a plurality of back gauges and a plurality of lifting trays to position workpieces providing by a transfer shuttle as taught by Sakamoto so that the workpieces may be precisely positioned and then held in place by the gauges when performing folding operations, thus allowing for more accurate folds on the workpiece.
Regarding claim 6, modified Kern teaches the folding machine of claim 5 (Fig. 1) further comprising a controller for controlling a processing sequence with said plurality of top clamp heads, said bottom folding apron, said top folding apron, said plurality of back gauges, and said plurality of lifting trays (Col. 3, Ln. 55 through Col. 4, Ln. 5; Kern includes a control unit for controlling the tools of the machine, and modified Kern includes back gauges and lifting trays as tools being controlled).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kern teaches the folding machine of claim 5 (Fig. 1) wherein said material working surface is a top surface of said plurality of bottom clamp heads (Fig. 2; the material working surface is interpreted as the top of clamp head 2 which supports the sheet metal material by supporting the components, e.g., table 10, that the sheet metal material is placed on).
Regarding claim 9, Kern teaches the method of claim 8 (Figs. 2-9).
Kern fails to explicitly teach wherein in steps (D) and (E) lifting trays raise the second sheet metal material above a material working surface so that back gauges used to index the sheet metal material may pass beneath the raised second sheet metal material.
Sakamoto a method of folding sheets (Abstract) including lifting trays 55 raise the second sheet metal material W above a material working surface 41 so that back gauges 29L,R used to index the sheet metal material W may pass beneath the raised second sheet metal material W (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0028]-[0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the folding method of Kern to include lifting trays raising the sheet material so that back gauges may pass beneath it as taught by Sakamoto so that the workpieces may be precisely positioned and then held in place by the gauges when performing folding operations, thus allowing for more accurate folds on the workpiece. It is noted that modifying the method of Sakamoto to include these steps would result in that step being performed steps D and E as the lifting tray and back gauges are used to receive and position each new sheet being transported into the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2024/0131572 A1 teaches a folding machine (Abstract) including top and bottom clamps and clamp heads (Figs. 1-3 show the clamps and clamp heads of bending machine 1 with tools attached to each) and a side loader assembly 3 positioned between said bottom clamp head and said top clamp head (Fig. 3 shows the side loader is positioned between the clamp heads in the vertical plane), said side loader assembly 3 including an elongated transfer shuttle beam 11 and a transfer shuttle 7 movable along said transfer shuttle beam between a loading position and an unloading position (Figs. 1-12; Paras. [0046]-[0047]). US 2016/0107847 A1 (Fig. 2) teaches a loader assembly including a shuttle beam and a transfer shuttle.
/MATTHEW STEPHENS/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725