Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2013/0273411) in view of Choi et al. (US 2022/0302533; hereinafter “Choi”) and Wang et al. (CN 115842212; IDS 1/22/26; hereinafter “Wang”).
In regard to claims 1-3, Kim discloses a secondary battery (“rechargeable battery”) comprising an electrode assembly (10) including a positive electrode (second electrode 12) and a negative electrode (first electrode 11) disposed in a jelly roll state; a housing (combination of case 20 and cap plate 30) that houses the electrode assembly; and a positive electrode terminal (42) and a negative electrode terminal (41) provided to the housing, wherein the housing includes a main body (case 20) with a first opening (support recess 23) and a second opening (support recess 24) respectively provided on opposite sides in a long-side direction (i.e. the width) of the housing, the long-side direction being orthogonal to a first direction (i.e. the thickness), a first sealing body (penetrating gasket 43) that closes the first opening, and a second sealing body (penetrating gasket 44) that closes the second opening, the negative electrode terminal is provided to the first sealing body, the positive electrode terminal is provided to the second sealing body, the housing includes a pair of long-side surfaces (i.e. the main face of the case 20) facing each other in the first direction, and a pair of short-side surfaces (i.e. the top comprised of the cap plate 30 and bottom of the case 20) facing each other in a short-side direction (i.e. the height) of the housing, the short-side direction being orthogonal to the first direction and the long-side direction, the electrode assembly includes a negative electrode current collecting portion (lead tab 51) located on a first end side in the long-side direction and electrically connected to the negative electrode terminal, and a positive electrode current collecting portion (lead tab 52) located on a second end side in the long-side direction and electrically connected to the positive electrode terminal, and one short-side surface of the pair of short-side surfaces is provided with a single vent hole 35 located in the central portion of the one short-side surface (i.e. top surface; see Figure 2). See Figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0036]-[0057].
Kim is silent in regard to an electrode assembly including a positive electrode and a negative electrode disposed side by side in a first direction, wherein the main body includes a pair of short-side surfaces, and wherein one of the short-side surfaces of the main housing is provided with a single pressure release valve as the vent hole 35 is not a valve.
Choi discloses a secondary battery wherein the electrode assembly 10 includes a positive electrode (cathode plate 13a) and a negative electrode (anode plate 11a) disposed side by side (the assembly is formed by “stacking” the plates; [0041]) in a first direction (i.e. the thickness direction of the case 30). The orientation of the electrodes is best depicted in Figures 3 and 4a which shows that the plates are oriented relative to the housing in the same manner as recited in the instant claims. Choi also discloses wherein the main body (case 30) of the housing includes two openings which are closed by a pair of cap assemblies (50,60), a pair of long-side surfaces (i.e. the main faces of the case 30) facing each other in the first direction and a pair of short-side surfaces (i.e. the top and bottom of the case 30) facing each other in a short-side direction (i.e. the height) of the housing. See [0040] and Figures 1-2.
Wang discloses a battery which includes a single pressure release valve (explosion-proof valve 3) in the top surface of the housing 1. It is noted that the valve 3 is depicted as being in the center of the top surface in Figure 1 which meets the limitations of claims 2 and 3. See Figure 1 and [n0037] of the translation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the electrode plate stacking design of Choi for the wound electrode of Kim without creating any new or unexpected results as a stacked electrode is functionally equivalent to a jelly roll orientation. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the main housing having two openings as taught by Choi for the main housing of Kim having an open top and to have combined and arranged the pressure release valve of Wang in the top surface of the main housing without creating any new or unexpected results as the mere rearrangement of parts is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
In regard to claim 4, Kim discloses a battery module comprised a plurality of batteries disposed side by side in the first direction (i.e. the thickness direction). See Figure 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the batteries of the above combined apparatus of claim 1 in the module of Kim for the purpose of providing the batteries in module of a desired form factor.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY C CLEVELAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774