DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the filing of the application on 04/11/2024. Since the initial filing, no claims have been amended, added, or cancelled. Thus, claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to because:
Reference numeral “100” in figs. 1-8 is underlined indicating a surface or cross section, however, “100” is not place on a surface or cross section. It is recommended to replace “100” with –100—and provide a lead line with an arrow pointing to the device, see 37 CFR 1.84(q), (r).
Fig. 5 reference numerals “45” and “46” appear to be mislabeled. Reference numeral “45” is directed to a connecting rod which is pivotally connected to massaging arm 42 according to paragraph [0030], but is not represented as attached to arm 42 in the drawings.
Specification
4. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. The abstract recites “The application discloses” in line 1, it is recommended to remove this language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Zhao (CN-209019380), see the provided translated and numbered version for paragraph numbers.
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a core of massager (fig. 1), comprising:
a shell (fig. 1, 10), two sides of which are respectively provided with a first opening and a second opening (see annotated fig. 1 below);
a driving assembly, comprising a driving source arranged in the shell (fig. 3, motor 2 is provided in shell 10, see fig. 2) and a rotating shaft connected with an output end of the driving source (fig. 3, rotating shaft 22), and two ends of the rotating shaft being respectively exposed from the first opening and the second opening (see annotated fig. 1 below where the first and second openings expose the rotating shaft via the eccentric wheels on the rotating shaft);
two transmission assemblies, being respectively connected to the two ends of the rotating shaft (fig. 3, first eccentric wheel 4, second eccentric wheel 5, and stop wheel 9 are shown on both sides of the rotating shaft), wherein each of the transmission assemblies comprises a first eccentric wheel (fig. 3, 4), a second eccentric wheel (fig. 3, 5) and a positioning wheel (fig. 3, stop wheel 9) which are respectively sleeved on the rotating shaft (fig. 3, shows the wheels on rotating shaft 22), and an oblique space is formed between the positioning wheel and the first eccentric wheel ([0052] states that fig. 6a shows an inclined surface of the eccentric wheels and the inner surface of the stop wheel 9 also forms an inclined surface thereby making an oblique space); and
two massaging assemblies, respectively extending out of the first opening and the second opening (see annotated fig. 1 below where the openings show massaging assemblies protruding out from the assembly on both sides), wherein one of the massaging assemblies is connected to one of the transmission assemblies (fig. 3, first arm 6 and second arm 7 are attached to wheels 4 and 5 on both sides, therefore each massaging assembly is connected to one transmission assembly), and each of the massaging assemblies comprises:
a first massaging arm (fig. 3, second massage arm 7) sleeved on the first eccentric wheel ([0051] states that lower end of sleeve 70 is sleeved on annular boss 51 which is part of wheel 5, see fig. 3), the first massaging arm being arranged in the oblique space so that the first massaging arm has a deflection amplitude (see fig. 6a where massage arm 7 is in the oblique space and has a deflection amplitude);
a first massaging head connected to a tail end of the first massaging arm (fig. 3, second head 71 is attached to an end of arm 7);
a second massaging arm (fig. 3, first massage arm 6) sleeved on the second eccentric wheel ([0051] states that shaft sleeve 60 of arm 6 is sleeved on annular lug boss 41 of wheel 4);
a second massaging head connected to a tail end of the second massaging arm (Zhao fig. 3, first head 61 is attached to an end of arm 6); and
a connecting rod (fig. 3, connecting rod 8) pivotally connected to the second massaging arm ([0053] states that connecting rod 8 is pivotally attached to the outer end of the transverse arm 62 of arm 6) and movably connected to the shell (fig. 2, lower part of the connecting rod 8 is fitted into first limiting groove 11 of the shell) so that the second massaging arm has a deflection amplitude ([0053] states that the connecting rod 8 makes the first massage arm 6 swing non-linearly).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses the core of claim 1 and further discloses wherein first ends of the first eccentric wheel and the second eccentric wheel are respectively provided with a first annular boss (fig. 3, eccentric wheel 5 includes a annular boss 51) and a second annular boss (fig. 3, eccentric wheel 4 includes an annular boss 41), and the first massaging arm and the second massaging arm are respectively formed with a first shaft sleeve (fig. 3, shaft sleeve 60) and a second shaft sleeve (fig. 3, shaft sleeve 70) through which the first annular boss and the second annular boss pass ([0051] states that sleeves are fitted onto the corresponding annular bosses), so that the first massaging arm rotates with the first eccentric wheel and the second massaging arm rotates with the second eccentric wheel ([0051] describes the connection and figs. 6a-6b show how the arms rotate with the eccentric wheels).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses the core of claim 2 and further discloses wherein a second end of the first eccentric wheel is provided with a first limiting groove (fig. 4b, eccentric wheel 5 has rotating groove 53), the first end of the second eccentric wheel is provided with a boss matched with the first limiting groove (fig. 3, eccentric wheel 4 is fitted onto rotating shaft 22 where pins 221 and 222 are provided), the first limiting groove is configured to accommodate the boss ([0056] states that stop pin 222 is provided in groove 53), and the boss is arranged on the second annular boss (fig. 3, because eccentric wheels 4 and 5 are adjacent, the pin 222 arranged in fig. 4b groove 53 would be considered arranged on the second annular boss) so that the first eccentric wheel rotates together with the second eccentric wheel ([0059] states that when the stop pins are supported, the eccentric wheels move synchronously).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao discloses the core of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the transmission assembly comprises a stop pin (fig. 3, stop pins 221 and 222); the stop pin is arranged on the rotating shaft (fig. 3, shows the stop pins on the rotating shaft 22), a second end of the second eccentric wheel is provided with a second limiting groove (fig. 4a, eccentric wheel 4 includes groove 43), and the stop pin is accommodated within the second limiting groove so that the second eccentric wheel rotates together with the rotating shaft ([0056] states that stop pin 221 is provided in groove 43 to allow rotation).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao discloses the core of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the positioning wheel is fixed at the first end of the first eccentric wheel (fig. 3, stop wheel 9, [0052] states that stop wheel 9 is formed against eccentric wheel 5) so that the positioning wheel rotates together with the first eccentric wheel ([0052] states that stop wheel 9 is complementary to eccentric wheel 5 to keep the second massage arm in place while moving which inherently means the two rotate together due to the slanted surfaces accommodating the second massage arm).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses the core of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the driving assembly further comprises a worm (fig. 3, shows a ribbed shaft emerging from motor 2 which is considered a worm) and a gear set (fig. 3, gear set 21), one end of the worm is connected with the output end of the driving source (fig. 3, shows the worm emerging from motor 2), the other end of the worm is engaged with the gear set ([0050] states that motor 2 is connected to gear set 21), and at least one gear in the gear set is sleeved on the rotating shaft (fig. 3, gear set 21 is located on shaft 22).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao discloses the core of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the shell is provided with a third limiting groove (fig. 2, second limiting groove 13), and a limiting column (fig. 3, post 72) is arranged at the top of the first massaging arm and movably connected to the third limiting groove ([0053] states that post 72 is limited within second limiting groove 13).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao discloses the core of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the shell is provided with a fourth limiting groove (fig. 2, groove 11), and the connecting rod (fig. 3, connecting rod 8) is rotatably connected to the fourth limiting groove ([0053] states that 11 is a curved surface to allow rotation and holds ball head 81 of rod 8).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao discloses the core of claim 8 and further discloses wherein the bottom surface of the fourth limiting groove is an arc-shaped surface ([0053] states that groove 11 is a curved surface to allow rotation of ball 81).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao discloses the core of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the second massaging arm is provided with a fifth limiting groove (fig. 5, transverse arm 62 of massage arm 6 has a groove corresponding to an opening on connecting rod 8), and the connecting rod is pivotally connected to the fifth limiting groove ([0053] states that the upper end of connecting rod 8 is pivoted on the outer end of the transverse arm 62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 11-12 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Han (CN-215425936), see the provided translated and numbered version for paragraph numbers.
Regarding claim 11, Zhao discloses the core of claim 1, but does not disclose a position sensor or a main control board.
However, Han teaches of a neck massager that uses a Hall sensor fixed on the inner shell or shell and a magnet fixed on a cam member ([0036]) which represent a locating device that, when reaching a set position, the cam member can trigger the travel switch to close which makes the massage swing arms swing to a set position for placing on the neck of the user and trigger the sensor to generate a control signal to stop the massage arms from continuing to swing ([0034]). This is facilitated by a control circuit ([0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the core of Zhao with the control circuit and Hall sensor as taught by Han to control the massage swing arms to stop at a position that allows the user to easily use the device the next time they use the massager (Han [0038]).
The modified core of Zhao reads on a position sensor (Han [0034] locating device), comprising a first part arranged in the shell (Han [0036] has a hall sensor 131 fixed to the shell) and a second part arranged on the second eccentric wheel or the positioning wheel (Han [0036] has a magnet 13 fixed to the cam, which is represented in Zhao as the eccentric wheels), wherein the first part is configured to send a specific signal when the second part moves to a specific position (Han [0034] states that the touch piece and trigger piece are the Hall sensor and magnet which detect when the arms swing to a position which allows freely placing in the neck of the user); and a main control board, being electrically connected with the driving source and the position sensor respectively (Han [0038] states that a control circuit receives the locating signal from the locating device which is used to stop the arms from swinging, Zhao fig. 3, motor 2 powers the arms meaning the control circuit would stop the motor), and being configured to control the driving source to continue working in response to a trigger signal (Han [0034] states that once a trigger for closure is received, the arms continue to swing to a position for closing) and control the driving source to stop working after receiving the specific signal output by the position sensor (Han [0034] states that once the arms swing to a position that would allow closure of the device, as detected by the Hall sensor, the arms stop moving).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao discloses a massager comprising:
a shell (fig. 1, 10), two sides of which are respectively provided with a first opening and a second opening (see annotated fig. 1 above);
a driving assembly, comprising a driving source arranged in the shell (fig. 3, motor 2 is provided in shell 10, see fig. 2) and a rotating shaft connected with an output end of the driving source (fig. 3, rotating shaft 22), and two ends of the rotating shaft being respectively exposed from the first opening and the second opening (see annotated fig. 1 below where the first and second openings expose the rotating shaft via the eccentric wheels on the rotating shaft);
two transmission assemblies, being respectively connected to the two ends of the rotating shaft (fig. 3, first eccentric wheel 4, second eccentric wheel 5, and stop wheel 9 are shown on both sides of the rotating shaft);
two massaging assemblies, respectively extending out of the first opening and the second opening (see annotated fig. 1 below where the openings show massaging assemblies protruding out from the assembly on both sides), wherein one of the massaging assemblies is connected to one of the transmission assemblies (fig. 3, first arm 6 and second arm 7 are attached to wheels 4 and 5 on both sides, therefore each massaging assembly is connected to one transmission assembly), but does not expressly disclose a position sensor and a main control board.
However, Han teaches of a neck massager that uses a Hall sensor fixed on the inner shell or shell and a magnet fixed on a cam member ([0036]) which represent a locating device that, when reaching a set position, the cam member can trigger the travel switch to close which makes the massage swing arms swing to a set position for placing on the neck of the user and trigger the sensor to generate a control signal to stop the massage arms from continuing to swing ([0034]). This is facilitated by a control circuit ([0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the core of Zhao with the control circuit and Hall sensor as taught by Han to control the massage swing arms to stop at a position that allows the user to easily use the device the next time they use the massager (Han [0038]).
The modified core of Zhao reads on
a position sensor (Han [0034] locating device), comprising a first part arranged in the shell (Han [0036] has a hall sensor 131 fixed to the shell) and a second part arranged on the transmission assembly or the massaging assembly (Han [0036] has a magnet 13 fixed to the cam, which is represented in Zhao as the eccentric wheels which are part of the transmission assemblies), the first part being configured to send a specific signal when the second part moves to a specific position (Han [0034] states that the touch piece and trigger piece are the Hall sensor and magnet which detect when the arms swing to a position which allows freely placing in the neck of the user); and
a main control board, comprising a control unit which is electrically connected with the driving source and the position sensor respectively (Han [0038] states that a control circuit receives the locating signal from the locating device which is used to stop the arms from swinging, Zhao fig. 3, motor 2 powers the arms meaning the control circuit would stop the motor), wherein the control unit is configured to control the driving source to continue working in response to a trigger signal (Han [0034] states that once a trigger for closure is received, the arms continue to swing to a position for closing) and control the driving source to stop working after receiving the specific signal output by the position sensor (Han [0034] states that once the arms swing to a position that would allow closure of the device, as detected by the Hall sensor, the arms stop moving).
Regarding claim 15, the modified massager of Zhao reads on the limitations of claim 12 and further reads on wherein each of the massaging assemblies is controlled to perform a reciprocating motion (Zhao [0062] states the massage arms perform a reciprocating action) with deflection amplitude (Zhao [0062]-[0063] states that the arms can form a deflection with a certain amplitude) through a mechanical linkage of the rotating shaft and the transmission assemblies under the driving of the driving source (Zhao [0065] details the motor driving the rotating shaft which connects to massage arms via eccentric wheels).
Regarding claim 16, the modified massager of Zhao reads on the limitations of claim 15 and further reads on wherein the position sensor outputs the specific signal (Han [0034] states that the touch piece and trigger piece are the Hall sensor and magnet which detect when the arms swing to a position which allows freely placing in the neck of the user), but does not expressly disclose this occurs when the spacing distance between the two massaging assemblies is the largest along an axial direction of the rotating shaft.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific signal of the modified massager of Zhao to be at a largest axial spacing distance, for the purpose of providing the massager to easily accommodate the user (Han [0036]), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Furthermore, Applicant has not provided criticality that the spacing distance being the largest provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem beyond stating that the massage can be stopped at a largest or smallest spacing distance so excessive squeezing or failing to touch can be reduced, see the [0009] in the specification. Further it appears the massaging arms of the modified massager of Zhao would perform equally well with the recited largest axial spacing distance for accommodating the user prior to using the device (Han [0036]). See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 17, the modified massager of Zhao reads on the limitations of claim 16 and further reads on wherein the position sensor is a Hall sensor (Han [0034] states the locating device comprises a sensor and touch piece which are a Hall sensor and magnet), the second part is a magnetic piece (Han [0036] has a magnet 13 fixed to the cam, which is represented in Zhao as the eccentric wheels which are part of the transmission assemblies), the first part is a magnetic induction unit (Han [0036] has a hall sensor 131 fixed to the shell which senses magnetic induction when it is close enough to the place magnet), and the magnetic induction unit is electrically connected with the control unit (Han [0034] states the Hall sensor generates a control signal which is sent to the control circuit).
Regarding claim 18, the modified massager of Zhao reads on the limitations of claim 12 and further reads on wherein each of the transmission assemblies comprises a first eccentric wheel (Zhao fig. 3, 4) and a positioning wheel (Zhao fig. 3, stop wheel 9) which are respectively sleeved on the rotating shaft (Zhao fig. 3, shows the wheels on rotating shaft 22), and an oblique space is formed between the positioning wheel and the first eccentric wheel (Zhao [0052] states that fig. 6a shows an inclined surface of the eccentric wheels and the inner surface of the stop wheel 9 also forms an inclined surface thereby making an oblique space); each of the massaging assemblies comprises a first massaging arm (Zhao fig. 3, second massage arm 7) sleeved on the first eccentric wheel (Zhao [0051] states that lower end of sleeve 70 is sleeved on annular boss 51 which is part of wheel 5, see fig. 3) and a first massaging head connected to an tail end of the first massaging arm (Zhao fig. 3, second head 71 is attached to an end of arm 7), and the first massaging arm is arranged in the oblique space, so that each of first massaging arm is controlled to perform the reciprocating motion with a deflection amplitude (Zhao see fig. 6a where massage arm 7 is in the oblique space and has a deflection amplitude) through the mechanical linkage of the rotating shaft and the transmission assemblies under the driving of the driving source (Zhao [0065] details the motor driving the rotating shaft which connects to massage arms via eccentric wheels).
Regarding claim 19, the modified massager of Zhao reads on the limitations of claim 18 and further reads on wherein each of the transmission assemblies further comprises a second eccentric wheel (Zhao fig. 3, 5), each of the massaging assemblies further comprises a second massaging arm (Zhao fig. 3, first massage arm 6) sleeved on the second eccentric wheel (Zhao [0051] states that shaft sleeve 60 of arm 6 is sleeved on annular lug boss 41 of wheel 4), a second massaging head connected to a tail end of the second massaging arm (Zhao fig. 3 first head 61 is attached to an end of arm 6), and a connecting rod (Zhao fig. 3, connecting rod 8) pivotally connected to the second massaging arm (Zhao [0053] states that connecting rod 8 is pivotally attached to the outer end of the transverse arm 62 of arm 6) and movably connected to the shell (Zhao fig. 2, lower part of the connecting rod 8 is fitted into first limiting groove 11 of the shell), so that each of the second massaging arm is controlled to perform the reciprocating motion with the deflection amplitude (Zhao [0053] states that the connecting rod 8 makes the first massage arm 6 swing non-linearly) through the mechanical linkage of the rotating shaft and the transmission assemblies under the driving of the driving source (Zhao [0065] details the motor driving the rotating shaft which connects to massage arms via eccentric wheels).
Regarding claim 20, the modified massager of Zhao reads on the limitations of claim 19 and further reads on wherein each of the first massaging head comprises a lower massaging head and an upper massaging head (Zhao fig. 1, shows the first massaging head with a lower and upper massaging head, but does not expressly disclose the specific spacing between lower massaging heads, upper massaging heads, or between lower and upper massaging heads.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spacing between both lower, both upper, and the lower and upper massaging heads of the modified massager of Zhao to be along the axial direction of the rotating shaft, a minimum spacing distance between the lower massaging heads on both sides is any value between 79.9 mm and 83.9 mm, and a maximum spacing distance between the lower massaging heads on both sides is any value between 121.4 mm and 125.4 mm; along the axial direction of the rotating shaft, a minimum spacing distance between the upper massaging heads on both sides is any value between 52.2 mm and 56.2 mm, and a maximum spacing distance between the upper massaging heads on both sides is any value between 94.2 mm and 98.2 mm; a minimum spacing distance between each of the lower massaging head and the second massaging head on the same side is any value between 19.7 mm and 23.7 mm, and a maximum spacing distance between each of the lower massaging head and the second massaging head on the same side is any value between 41.5 mm and 45.5 mm, for the purpose of providing element capable of massaging, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Furthermore, Applicant has not provided criticality that the spacing between both lower, both upper, and between the lower and upper massaging heads provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem beyond stating the distances, see the [0091] in the specification. Further it appears the modified massager of Zhao would perform equally well with the recited spacing distances. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
10. Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Han as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Xiang (CN-213191000).
Regarding claim 13, the modified massager of Zhao reads on the limitations of claim 12, but does not expressly disclose wherein the massager further comprises a button electrically connected with the control unit, the button is arranged on the shell, and the button is triggered to generate the trigger signal.
However, Xiang teaches of a neck massage device (fig. 1) with a knob key (fig. 1, 3) that can be pressed to turn the device on or off ([0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified massager of Zhao with the knob key as taught by Xiang to allow the device to be controlled by the user (Xiang [0033]).
The modified massager of Zhao reads on a button electrically connected with the control unit (Xiang [0033] states knob key 3 communicates with a circuit board), the button is arranged on the shell (fig. 1, knob key 3 is on the outer shell), and the button is triggered to generate the trigger signal (Xiang [0033] states the knob can be used to turn the device off, this triggers the off sequence as described by Han [0034] and [0038]).
Regarding claim 14, the modified massager of Zhao reads on the limitations of claim 13 and further reads on wherein the button is a mechanical switch or a touch switch (Xiang [0033] states the knob key can be pressed to turn the device on or off thereby constituting a touch switch).
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pan et al. (US 2019/0053971) discloses similar transmission and massaging structures except the second head is on a separate shaft. Zou et al. (CN-107028740) discloses a clamp-knead massager that has both heads on the same shaft.
/THOMAS Z CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785