DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 4.11.24. In view of this communication, claims 1-12 are now pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claims below are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2-3 recite “a first individual rotor core lamination”, “a second individual rotor core lamination”, “a first mortise” and “a first integrally-formed tenon” . It is not clear if these are same as rotor core laminations, mortise and tenon recited in claim 1. Similar clarity issue applies to claims 8-9 which depend on claim 7. Examiner requests a thorough review to address similar issues.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Electric machine with core lamination structure having surface protrusions and recesses or similar .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9,11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogawa et al (JP63213433A English translation), hereinafter Ogawa.
Regarding Claim 1, Ogawa discloses (Fig 3) an electric machine [Abstract] comprising:
a stack of interlocked rotor core laminations (2), individual rotor core laminations of the interlocked (Fig 3) rotor core laminations including a mortise (7) extending therein and an integrally-formed tenon (8) extending therefrom, wherein the tenons interface (Fig 3) with the mortises to interlock adjacent rotor core laminations.
Regarding Claim 2, Ogawa discloses the electric machine of claim 1. Ogawa further discloses wherein a first individual rotor core lamination (21) has a first mortise (7 not shown but each sheet has hole 7 Abstract ) having a depth (t) extending into the first individual rotor core lamination (21) and a second individual rotor core lamination (22) has a first integrally-formed tenon (8) having a height (t) extending therefrom, wherein the height of the first integrally-formed tenon (t) corresponds to the depth of the first mortise (Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Ogawa discloses the electric machine of claim 2. Ogawa further discloses wherein the second individual rotor core lamination (22) has a second mortise (7) having the depth (t) extending into the second individual rotor core lamination (Fig 3) and a third individual rotor core lamination (23) has a second integrally-formed tenon (8 not shown but each sheet has protrusion 8 Abstract ) having the height (t) extending therefrom to engage with the second mortise (7) (Protrusions 8 interface with holes 7. Claim recitation does not clarify if Applicant intends first and second mortise or tenon to be different or same).
Regarding Claim 5, Ogawa discloses the electric machine of claim 3. Ogawa further discloses
wherein the first integrally-formed tenon (8) and the second mortise (7) are offset (Fig 3) on the second individual rotor core lamination (22).
Regarding Claim 6, Ogawa discloses the electric machine of claim 1. Ogawa further discloses
wherein the mortise (7) and the integrally-formed tenon (8) are in rectangular shape (Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Ogawa discloses (Fig 3) a rotor [Para 0001] of an electric machine [Abstract] comprising:
a stack of interlocked rotor core laminations (2), individual rotor core laminations of the interlocked (Fig 3) rotor core laminations including a mortise (7) extending therein and an integrally-formed tenon (8) extending therefrom.
Regarding Claim 8, Ogawa discloses the rotor of claim 7. Ogawa further discloses wherein a first individual rotor core lamination (21) has a first mortise (7 not shown but each sheet has hole 7 Abstract ) having a depth (t) extending into the first individual rotor core lamination (21) and a second individual rotor core lamination (22) has a first integrally-formed tenon (8) having a height (t) extending therefrom, wherein the height of the first integrally-formed tenon (t) corresponds to the depth of the first mortise (Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Ogawa discloses the rotor of claim 8. Ogawa further discloses wherein the second individual rotor core lamination (22) has a second mortise (7) having the depth (t) extending into the second individual rotor core lamination (Fig 3) and a third individual rotor core lamination (23) has a second integrally-formed tenon (8 not shown but each sheet has protrusion 8 Abstract ) having the height (t) extending therefrom to engage with the second mortise (7) (Protrusions 8 interface with holes 7. Claim recitation does not clarify if Applicant intends first and second mortise or tenon to be different or same).
Regarding Claim 11, Ogawa discloses the rotor of claim 9. Ogawa further discloses wherein the first integrally-formed tenon (8) and the second mortise (7) are offset (Fig 3) on the second individual rotor core lamination (22).
Regarding Claim 12, Ogawa discloses the rotor of claim 9. Ogawa further discloses
wherein the mortise (7) and the integrally-formed tenon (8) are in rectangular shape (Fig 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4,10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 recites “The electric machine of claim 3, wherein the first integrally-formed tenon and the second mortise are on opposite surfaces of the second individual rotor core lamination”. In Ogawa, the mortise and tenon structure are not on structures on opposite surfaces similar to Instant invention. They occupy the entire thickness of the rotor lamination as a hole and bend is being created on the lamination sheet. Therefore claim 4 is allowable. For similar reasons, claim 10 is also allowable as limitations are same.
Conclusion
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834