DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication dated 26 May 2026 concerning Application No. 18/632,557 filed on 11 April 2024.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 May 2026 regarding claims 1 and 16 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Independent claim 1 is not persuasive because applicant’s amendments to the claim recite simple changes in shape of the flexible distal tip that are a matter of choice for where segments of the pump outlet tube may overlap or comprise multiple sections that may overlap when assembled which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious, with an absence of persuasive evidence that such a particular configuration of the claimed pump outlet tube was significant (see MPEP 2144.04 IV(B) and In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)). Tuval describes a configuration of a pump outlet tube where sections are structurally reinforced to provide structural integrity (see [0227]: “For some applications (not shown), the tube is reinforced with a reinforcement structure, e.g., a braided reinforcement structure, such as a braided nitinol tube.”
Because applicant’s argument against prior rejection is not persuasive, examiner retains the rejection of independent claims 1 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tuval et al. (hereinafter ‘Tuval’, U.S. PGPub No. 2020/0237986).
In regards to claim 1, Tuval discloses n apparatus, comprising a left-ventricular assist device, comprising: a pump-outlet tube shaped to define one or more laterally-facing blood-outlet openings and comprising a first section and a second section that overlap one another between the laterally-facing blood-outlet openings, the pump-outlet tube being configured for insertion, through an aorta of a subject, into a left ventricle of a heart of the subject such that the pump-outlet tube traverses an aortic valve of the subject with the lateral blood-outlet openings being disposed within the aorta; and an impeller disposed within the first section of the pump-outlet tube and configured to pump blood of the subject, through the laterally-facing blood-outlet openings, from the left ventricle into the aorta ([0010]: "In accordance with some applications of the present invention, a ventricular assist device includes an impeller disposed upon an axial shaft, with a frame disposed around the impeller. The ventricular assist device typically includes a tube, which traverses the subject's aortic valve, such that a proximal end of the tube is disposed in the subject's aorta and a distal end of the tube is disposed within the subject's left ventricle.", [0011]: "For some applications, the ventricular assist device includes a distal-tip element configured to define a straight proximal portion that defines a longitudinal axis, and a curved distal portion shaped such as to curve in a first direction with respect to the longitudinal axis of the straight proximal portion before passing through an inflection point and curving in a second direction with respect to the longitudinal axis of the straight proximal portion, such that the curved distal portion defines a bulge on one side of the longitudinal axis of the straight proximal portion.", [0227]: “For some applications (not shown), the tube is reinforced with a reinforcement structure, e.g., a braided reinforcement structure, such as a braided nitinol tube. Typically, the proximal portion of the tube is configured to be placed such that it is at least partially disposed within the subject's ascending aorta.”).
In regards to claim 2, Tuval discloses that the first section and second section overlap one another by 0.25-1 mm ([0014]: "... the impeller is disposed within the cylindrical portion of the frame, such that a gap between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining is less than 1 mm (e.g., less than 0.4 mm).").
In regards to claim 3, Tuval discloses that the blood-outlet openings occupy 20-80% of a circumference of the pump-outlet tube ([0366]: "A distal portion of an elongate tube is placed around at least a portion of the frame, the tube including a proximal portion that defines at least one blood outlet opening. ").
In regards to claim 4, Tuval discloses that the pump-outlet tube is configured to curve proximally to the impeller ([0340]: "Typically, stator 260 defined by a portion of tube 24 that is disposed proximally with respect to frame 34 and impeller 50, and is configured to reduce rotational flow components from the blood flow prior to the blood flowing from outlet openings 109 of tube 24. For some applications, stator 260 is made up of one or more curved ribbons 262 that curve around outer tube 142 within tube 24, as shown in FIG. 15A.").
In regards to claim 5, Tuval discloses that the pump-outlet tube is configured to curve by virtue of being pre-shaped ([0391]: "For some applications, tube 24 is pre-shaped such that, during operation of the impeller, when the pressure of the blood flow through the tube maintains the proximal portion of the tube in an open state, the tube is curved.").
In regards to claims 6 and 7, Tuval discloses that the blood-outlet openings are arranged in a non-axisymmetric arrangement, and wherein the pump-outlet tube is configured to curve by virtue of the blood flowing through the blood-outlet openings and that the pump-outlet tube is further shaped to define one or more blood-inlet openings arranged in a non-axisymmetric arrangement, and wherein the pump-outlet tube is configured to curve by virtue of the blood flowing through the blood-inlet openings ([0395]: "For some applications, inlet openings 108 and/or outlet openings 109 are disposed in a non-axisymmetric configuration around tube 24. Typically, tube 24 defines the inlet openings and/or the outlet openings at locations that are such as to cause tube 24 to become curved and/or such as to maintain the curvature of tube 24 as described with reference to FIGS. 25A-C. ").
In regards to claim 8, Tuval discloses that the left-ventricular assist device further comprises one or more bands bonded to an outer wall of the pump-outlet tube, and wherein the pump-outlet tube is configured to curve by virtue of the bands being bonded to the outer wall ([0384]: "Typically, upon being deployed within the subject's left ventricle, the curvature of the curved portion of distal-tip element 107 is configured to provide an atraumatic tip to ventricular assist device 20. Further typically, the distal-tip element is configured to space the inlet openings 108 of the ventricular assist device from walls of the left ventricle.").
In regards to claim 9, Tuval discloses that the left-ventricular assist device further comprises: a delivery tube configured to extend, from outside a body of a subject, through the pump-outlet tube to the first section ([0120]: "...the impeller and frame defining non-radially-constrained configurations in which the impeller is configured to pump blood within the subject's body, and defining radially-constrained configurations in which the impeller and frame are inserted and removed from the subject's body using a delivery catheter,..."), a drive cable passing through the delivery tube and configured to rotate the impeller ([0424]: "As shown in FIG. 31, for some applications, first and second impellers are disposed series with each other, each of the impellers being driven by a single drive cable 130. Typically, a first one of the impellers 50 and its corresponding frame 34 are disposed distally of a second impeller one of the impellers 50 and its corresponding frame 34, such that the impellers and frames are not in overlapping configurations with one another when they are disposed in radially-constrained configurations within delivery catheter 143."), and an expandable element surrounding the delivery tube proximally to the blood-outlet openings, a length of the delivery tube between the expandable element and the blood-outlet openings being less than 30 mm ([0371]: "Along the distal portion of the cylindrical portion of the frame (over which the tube does not extend), the expansion of the frame is not limited by tube 24. Therefore, the distal portion of the cylindrical portion of the frame is widened with respect to the portion of the cylindrical portion of the frame that is proximal thereto (over which tube 24 does extend). For some applications, this results in blood inlet opening 108 being wider than it would be if tube 24 were to extend along the full length of the cylindrical portion of the frame. As described with reference to FIG. 19D, typically, the impeller is disposed in close proximity to the blood inlet opening throughout operation (and the axial back-and-forth motion) of the impeller, with the distal end of the impeller typically being disposed within 15 mm of the blood inlet opening throughout operation of the impeller. ").
In regards to claim 10, Tuval discloses that the expandable element is configured to center the delivery tube within the aorta ([0221]: "For some applications, in order to withdraw the left ventricular device from the subject's body at the end of the treatment, the delivery catheter is advanced over the distal end of the device, which causes the self-expandable components of the distal end of the device to assume radially-constrained configurations. Alternatively, or additionally, the distal end of the device is retracted into the delivery catheter which causes the self-expandable components of the distal end of the device to assume radially-constrained configurations.").
In regards to claim 11, Tuval discloses that the expandable element comprises an inflatable element ([0192]: "FIG. 13D is a schematic illustration of a ventricular assist device that includes an inflatable portion (e.g., a balloon) disposed around its distal-tip portion, the inflatable portion being configured to be inflated by a fluid that is used for purging the drive cable of the device, in accordance with some applications of the present invention;").
In regards to claims 12 and 13, Tuval discloses that the inflatable element, when inflated, is disposed at least partly within the pump-outlet tube and the inflatable element is disposed entirely within the pump-outlet tube ([0473]: "...an impeller configured to pump blood of the subject into the blood inlet opening, through the tube, and out of the blood outlet opening; [0474] a distal-tip portion disposed distally with respect to the blood inlet opening, the distal-tip portion defining a radially-converging shape, and being configured to be placed within a left ventricle of the subject while impeller pumps the subject's blood; [0475] an inflatable portion disposed around the distal-tip portion,...").
In regards to claim 14, Tuval discloses that the inflatable element is shaped to direct the blood through the blood-outlet openings ([0376]: "...the inflatable portion is shaped such as to direct blood flow from the left ventricle into the one or more blood inlet openings.").
In regards to claim 15, Tuval discloses that the expandable element is entirely proximal to the pump-outlet tube ([0241]: "The impeller housing is typically inserted into the left ventricle in a deflated state, and is inflated once disposed inside the left ventricle, such as to assume its deployed shape. Tube 24 typically extends proximally from the inflatable impeller housing.").
In regards to claim 16, Tuval discloses a method for assembling a left-ventricular assist device, the method comprising passing an impeller, which is configured to pump blood of a subject, through a proximal end of a first section of a pump-outlet tube, such that the impeller is disposed within the first section, the proximal end of the first section comprising multiple first-section tabs and being shaped to define respective first-section gaps between successive ones of the first-section tabs and bonding a second section of the pump-outlet tube, which comprises multiple second-section tabs and is shaped to define respective second-section gaps between successive ones of the second-section tabs, to the first section such that the second-section tabs overlap the first-section tabs and the second-section gaps are continuous with the first-section gaps so as to define one or more laterally-facing blood-outlet openings ([0010]: "In accordance with some applications of the present invention, a ventricular assist device includes an impeller disposed upon an axial shaft, with a frame disposed around the impeller. The ventricular assist device typically includes a tube, which traverses the subject's aortic valve, such that a proximal end of the tube is disposed in the subject's aorta and a distal end of the tube is disposed within the subject's left ventricle.", [0011]: "For some applications, the ventricular assist device includes a distal-tip element configured to define a straight proximal portion that defines a longitudinal axis, and a curved distal portion shaped such as to curve in a first direction with respect to the longitudinal axis of the straight proximal portion before passing through an inflection point and curving in a second direction with respect to the longitudinal axis of the straight proximal portion, such that the curved distal portion defines a bulge on one side of the longitudinal axis of the straight proximal portion.", [0227]: “For some applications (not shown), the tube is reinforced with a reinforcement structure, e.g., a braided reinforcement structure, such as a braided nitinol tube. Typically, the proximal portion of the tube is configured to be placed such that it is at least partially disposed within the subject's ascending aorta.”, [0367]: "Referring to FIG. 19C, for some applications, tube 24 does not overlap with inner lining 39, but tabs 322 extend through struts of frame 34 from tube 24 to inner lining 39, and are used to sealingly couple the tube to the inner lining (e.g., by being adhered to the inner lining). Alternatively or additionally (not shown), tabs 322 extend from the inner lining to tube 24 and are used to sealingly couple the tube to the inner material (e.g., by being adhered to the tube).").
In regards to claim 17, Tuval discloses bonding the second section to the first section comprises bonding the second section to the first section such that the first section and second section overlap one another by 0.25-1 mm ([0014]: "... the impeller is disposed within the cylindrical portion of the frame, such that a gap between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining is less than 1 mm (e.g., less than 0.4 mm).").
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/MICHAEL J LAU/Examiner, Art Unit 3796