DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 29 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to the applicants arguments regarding amended claim 1, the examiner respectfully disagrees. More specifically the applicant argues the amended features in claim 1 such as the security indications for the PDU session identified by the PDU session ID indicate: i) whether user plane (UP) confidentiality protection shall be activated or not for all data radio bearers (DRBs) belonging to the PDU session identified by the PDU session ID; and/or ii) whether user plane (UP) integrity protection shall be activated or not for all data radio bearers (DRBs) belonging to the PDU session identified by the PDU session ID which was previously presented in dependent claim 2, was not disclosed in the teachings of Lee (Of Record) which was used for dependent claim 2.
For example the applicant argues (Para [0125]) of Lee which was cited in the office action for disclosing the feature and states on (Pg. 8 of the remarks) that the security indication disclosed in (Para [0125]) of Lee is an Access Stratum (AS) security indication, not a security indication for a PDU session, as is required by claim 1. However the examiner respectfully disagrees. For example, Lee discloses in Para [0125] that the AS security indication received in the RRC connection reconfiguration message is for protecting data packets transmitted to and received from the UE 115-d (i.e., emphasis added)…The AS security indication may also indicate a type of AS security protection, in which the type of AS security protection may include ciphering (i.e., “user plane confidentiality protection”) for data packets, integrity protection for data packets, or a combination thereof. In some examples, the AS security indication could also indicate no AS security protection for data packets (Lee, i.e., Para [0125]). The protected data packets which are transmitted to and received from the UE 115-d are packets communicated during an established session (Lee, see Fig. 13 i.e., steps 1345 and 1350 i.e., create session & Para [0124]).
Lee further discloses in Para [0135] that the data packets refer to a protocol data unit (see Para [0135] i.e., each uplink data packet (e.g., each message protocol data unit (MPDU) transmitted by the UE 115-e…each MAC PDU header). Therefore the AS security protection applied for the data packets processed as PDUs which are communicated during the session suggest the security protection is applied for a PDU session. Since the packets are communicated on a data radio bearer (DRB) belonging to the session (Lee, see Para’s [0082] i.e., in the user plane, communications at the bearer…RRC connection between the UE 115 and a access network device 105 supporting radio bearers for user plane data, [0105] i.e., AS security protection for data packets (e.g., u-plane messages, & [0125]), the AS security protection (i.e., including ciphering, integrity protection) is activated and applied for all data radio bearers (DRBs) belonging to the PDU session.
In regards to the applicants argument that Lee is not at all concerned with PDU sessions and not once mentions any PDU session, Lee suggests in (Para [0135]) that the packets communicated during the established session are protocol data units (PDUs) which suggests a PDU session (Lee, see Para’s [0124-0125] & [0135]).
The examiner also notes that the claim feature in claim 1 of the security indications for the PDU session identified by the PDU session ID, is simply a statement of intended use and is therefore not considered limiting to the claim. However for the reasons explained above the teachings of Lee does disclose that the security protection applied to the data packets (i.e., PDUs) is for a PDU session, (Lee, see Para’s [0124-0125] & [0135]). That is Lee discloses at least features i) and ii) in claim 1 of the security indications for the PDU session indicate whether user plane confidentiality protection and/or whether UP integrity protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session (see Para’s [0082], [0105], & [0125] i.e., The AS security indication may also indicate a type of AS security protection, in which the type of AS security protection may include ciphering (i.e., “UP confidentiality”) for data packets, integrity protection for data packets, or a combination thereof. In some examples, the AS security indication could also indicate no AS security protection for data packets).
In regards to the claim feature of the PDU session identified by the PDU session ID, the combined teachings of of Pragada in view of Lee, and further in view of Jin discloses the claim feature. For example Jin discloses a PDU session is identified by the PDU session ID received in a RRC connection reconfiguration message (Jin, see Fig. 21 i.e., S650 & Para’s [0345] & [0363-0366]). Therefore the combined teachings of the references disclose the PDU session is identified by a PDU session ID.
For the reasons explained the combination of Pragada in view of Lee and further in view of Jin discloses the claim features of amended claim 1 including the security indications for the PDU session identified by the PDU session ID indicate: i) whether user plane (UP) confidentiality protection shall be activated or not for all data radio bearers (DRBs) belonging to the PDU session identified by the PDU session ID; and/or ii) whether user plane (UP) integrity protection shall be activated or not for all data radio bearers (DRBs) belonging to the PDU session identified by the PDU session ID. For the reasons explained the rejection of claim 1 is maintained under 35 USC 103 over the combination of Pragada in view of Lee and further in view of Jin. Independent claim 5 which recites features similar to amended claim 1 also remains rejected over the combination of Pragada in view of Lee and further in view of Jin for the same reasons as claim 1. The dependent claims 2-4 and 6-12 remain rejected over the prior art (Of Record) based on their dependence to the independent claims 1 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pragada et al. US (2013/0287012) in view of Lee et al. US (2017/0202033), and further in view of Jin et al. US (2021/0204349).
Regarding Claim 1, Pragada discloses a method comprising: a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 15 i.e., WTRU-1) transmitting, via a radio access network (RAN) node (see Fig. 15 i.e., eNB 1510), a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) Session Establishment Request message (see Fig. 15 i.e., PDN connection request) toward a Session Management Function (SMF), (see Fig. 15 i.e., MME (i.e., “session management function”)) (see Para’s [0153-0154] i.e., the WTRU sends a PDN connection request message 1325 to the MME 1315. This PDN connection request message may contain additional IEs which may assist the MME 1315 in establishing the WTRU-to WTRU PDN connection & [0171])
and after transmitting the PDU Session Establishment Request message (see Fig. 15 i.e., PDN connection request), the UE receiving from the RAN node a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Connection Reconfiguration message (see Fig. 15 i.e., RRC reconfiguration request sent from eNB 1510 to WTRU-1 1505) comprising: ii) a PDU Session Establishment Accept message responsive to the PDU session establishment request message (see Para’s [0154-0156] & [0178]), wherein the PDU session establishment accept message was generated by the SMF, (see Para’s [0156] i.e., The MME 1315 now may send WTRU 1305 a PDN connection accept message encapsulated in an S1-AP bearer setup request message 1350…NAS PDN connection accept message may be sent to the WTRU 1305 in the RRC reconfiguration request message 1355 & [0178])
and iii) security indications for the PDU session (see Fig. 15 i.e., session created in steps 1550 & 1555 based on PDN connection request & Para’s [0164] & [0171-0174]), wherein the security indications for the PDU session indicate: i) whether user plane (UP) confidentiality protection shall be activated or not for all data radio bearers (DRBs) belonging to the PDU session, (see Para’s [0107-0108] i.e., D2D bearers between the two D2D WTRUs, [0113], [0115] i.e., D2D bearers are established in the direct path between the WTRUs, [0171-0172] i.e., user plane setup, [0204], [0306] i.e., In order to provide security on the access stratum, the direct path bearer may be configured with its own ciphering keys (i.e., “user plane confidentiality protection”) as part of the RRC reconfiguration process…A new key add indicator for the D2D bearers instead of key change indicator may be added to the security config HO IE (“security indication”) within the RRC reconfiguration message, [0309] i.e., ciphering and security protocols supported over D2D link & [0311]).
While Pragada discloses the RRC reconfiguration message comprises security indications for the activation of ciphering (i.e., “UP confidentiality”) for each data radio bearer (DRB) belonging to the PDU session (see Fig. 15 i.e., RRC reconfiguration request & Para [0306] i.e., a new key add indicator for the D2D bearers instead of key change indicator may be added to the security config HO IE (“security policy”) within the RRC reconfiguration message), Pragada does not disclose the claim feature of the security indications in the RRC reconfiguration indicating whether UP confidentiality and/or UP integrity protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lee et al. US (2017/0202033).
Lee discloses the RRC reconfiguration message (see Fig. 13 i.e., RRC conn. Reconfig. 1370) comprises security indications for a PDU session indicating whether UP confidentiality and/or UP integrity protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session, (see Para’s [0025-0026], [0105] i.e., As security protection for data packets (e.g., u-plane messages), [0082] i.e., bearers for user plane data, [0125] i.e., As part of the AS security configuration (i.e., “security policy”), at 1365, the network access device controller 125-k may transmit an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the network access device 105-q. The RRC connection reconfiguration message transmitted to the network access device 105-q may include, for example, for the UE 115-d, an AS security indication indicating an AS protocol layer for protecting data packets transmitted to and received from the UE 115-d , and a UE-specific AS key. The AS security indication may also indicate a type of AS security protection, in which the type of AS security protection may include ciphering (i.e., “UP confidentiality”) for data packets, integrity protection for data packets, or a combination thereof. In some examples, the AS security indication could also indicate no AS security protection for data packets…Also as part of the AS security configuration, at 1370, the network access device 105-q may transmit an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE 115-d which may include the AS security indication)
(Lee suggests the AS security indication sent to the UE provides greater security protection including ciphering and integrity protection for data packets communicated between the UE and the network for securing the communication, (see Para’s [0085] & [0105], [0117-0118], & [0125])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the security protection according to the security policy provided for each data radio bearer (DRB) indicated in the RRC reconfiguration message as disclosed in Pragada to further indicate whether UP confidentiality and/or UP integrity protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session according to the security indication in the RRC connection reconfiguration message received by the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Lee who discloses an RRC reconfiguration message indicates an AS security indication to the UE indicating a type of security protection which may include ciphering and integrity protection for user plane data packets communicated on the data radio bearer of the PDU session, because the motivation lies in Lee that the AS security indication sent to the UE provides greater security protection including ciphering and integrity protection for data packets communicated between the UE and the network for securing the communication.
The combination of Pragada in view of Lee does not disclose the claim feature of the Radio Resource Control (RRC) Connection Reconfiguration message comprising: i) a PDU session identifier (ID) identifying a PDU session. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Jin et al. US (2021/0204349).
Jin discloses a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Connection Reconfiguration message comprising: i) a PDU session identifier (ID) identifying a PDU session (see Fig. 21 i.e., S650 RRC connection reconfiguration message & Para’s [0363-0364] i.e., The CP sends a downlink transport message to the MMF including a NAS container and RAN container. The NAS container includes a NAS message to be sent to the UE. The NAS message may be specifically a PDU session ID used to notify the UE of a PDU session, [0365-0366] i.e., The MMF sends an initial context setup request message to the AN including the NAS container and the RAN container received in S630 which may further carry the UE info and the PDU session ID & [0368-0369] i.e., S650: The AN sends an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE which includes the AS container received in S640 that is sent by the MMF…the UE performs RRC connection reconfiguration after receiving the RRC connection reconfiguration message…the UE records the PDU session ID corresponding to the PDU session…The UE determines, based on the AN container or the PDU session ID in the AN container, that the corresponding PDU session has been restored).
(Jin suggests the PDU session ID included in the RRC connection reconfiguration is used for indicating to the UE the PDU session association relationship between the UE and a data network in order for the UE to efficiently communicate data packets with the data network by using the PDU session ID, (see Para [0345] & [0364] & [0368-0369] & [0374])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the RRC connection reconfiguration message used to setup the security policy and the radio bearers for the PDU session as disclosed in Pragada in view of Lee to comprise a PDU session identifier (ID) identifying the PDU session included in the RRC connection reconfiguration message sent to the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Jin, because the motivation lies in Jin that the PDU session ID included in the RRC connection reconfiguration is used for indicating to the UE the PDU session association relationship between the UE and a data network in order for the UE to efficiently communicate data packets with the data network by using the PDU session ID.
Regarding Claims 2 and 6, While the combination of Pragada in view of Jin discloses the method and UE of claims 1 and 5 including the security indications for the PDU session identified by the PDU session ID indicate the activation of the security protection is used for all of the DRBs belonging to the PDU session (see Para [0306]), the combination of Pragada in view of Jin does not disclose the claim features of wherein the security indications indicate: i) whether UP confidentiality protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session; and ii) whether UP integrity protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Lee et al. US (2017/0202033).
Lee discloses the security indications for the PDU session indicate: whether UP confidentiality protection and UP integrity protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session (see Para [0125] i.e., the AS security indication may also indicate a type of AS security protection, in which the type of AS security protection may include ciphering (i.e., “UP confidentiality”) for data packets, integrity protection for data packets, or a combination thereof).
(Lee suggests the AS security indication could also indicate no AS security protection for data packets for providing configurable AS security policy for supporting configurable security protection in the network system, (see Para’s [0074], [0077], [0119-0120], & [0164])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the security indications for the activation of the security protection used for all of the DRBs belonging to the PDU session identified by the PDU session ID as disclosed in Pragada in view of Jin to indicate whether UP confidentiality protection and UP integrity protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session as disclosed in the teachings of Lee, because the motivation lies in Lee that the AS security indication could also indicate no AS security protection for data packets for providing configurable AS security policy for supporting configurable security protection in the network system.
Regarding Claims 3 and 7, the combination of Pragada in view of Jin discloses the method and UE of claims 1 and 5, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the method further comprises activating at least one of: confidentiality protection or integrity protection for the PDU Session. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Lee et al. US (2017/0202033).
Lee discloses activating at least one of: confidentiality protection or integrity protection for the PDU Session (see Para [0125] i.e., The AS security indication may also indicate a type of AS security protection, in which the type of AS security protection may include…integrity protection for data packets)
(Lee suggests the AS security indication sent to the UE provides greater security protection including ciphering and integrity protection for data packets communicated between the UE and the network for securing the communication, (see Para’s [0085] & [0105], [0117-0118], & [0125])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the security protection according to the security policy provided for each data radio bearer (DRB) indicated in the RRC reconfiguration message as disclosed in Pragada to further include an indication for activation of user plane (UP) integrity protection for the PDU session in addition to the ciphering for each data radio bearer (DRB) based on the security policy configured for the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Lee who discloses an RRC reconfiguration message indicates an AS security indication to the UE indicating a type of security protection which may include ciphering and integrity protection for user plane data packets communicated on the data radio bearer, because the motivation lies in Lee that the AS security indication sent to the UE provides greater security protection including ciphering and integrity protection for data packets communicated between the UE and the network for securing the communication.
Regarding Claim 5, Pragada discloses a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1B & Para [0051]), the UE comprising: a transmitter (see Fig. 1B i.e., transceiver 120 & [0055] i.e., the transceiver 120 transmits signals); and a receiver (see Fig. 1B i.e., transceiver 120 & [0055] i.e., the transceiver 120 receives signals), wherein the UE is configured to perform a process comprising: transmitting, via a radio access network (RAN) node (see Fig. 15 i.e., eNB 1510), a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) Session Establishment Request message (see Fig. 15 i.e., PDN connection request) toward a Session Management Function (SMF), (see Fig. 15 i.e., MME (i.e., “session management function”)) (see Para’s [0153-0154] i.e., the WTRU sends a PDN connection request message 1325 to the MME 1315. This PDN connection request message may contain additional IEs which may assist the MME 1315 in establishing the WTRU-to WTRU PDN connection & [0171])
and after transmitting the PDU Session Establishment Request message (see Fig. 15 i.e., PDN connection request), the UE receiving from the RAN node a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Connection Reconfiguration message (see Fig. 15 i.e., RRC reconfiguration request sent from eNB 1510 to WTRU-1 1505) comprising: ii) a PDU Session Establishment Accept message responsive to the PDU session establishment request message (see Para’s [0154-0156] & [0178]), wherein the PDU session establishment accept message was generated by the SMF, (see Para’s [0156] i.e., The MME 1315 now may send WTRU 1305 a PDN connection accept message encapsulated in an S1-AP bearer setup request message 1350…NAS PDN connection accept message may be sent to the WTRU 1305 in the RRC reconfiguration request message 1355 & [0178])
and iii) security indications for the PDU session (see Fig. 15 i.e., session created in steps 1550 & 1555 based on PDN connection request & Para’s [0164] & [0171-0174]), wherein the security indications for the PDU session indicate: i) whether user plane (UP) confidentiality protection shall be activated or not for all data radio bearers (DRBs) belonging to the PDU session, (see Para’s [0107-0108] i.e., D2D bearers between the two D2D WTRUs, [0113], [0115] i.e., D2D bearers are established in the direct path between the WTRUs, [0171-0172] i.e., user plane setup, [0204], [0306] i.e., In order to provide security on the access stratum, the direct path bearer may be configured with its own ciphering keys (i.e., “user plane confidentiality protection”) as part of the RRC reconfiguration process…A new key add indicator for the D2D bearers instead of key change indicator may be added to the security config HO IE (“security indication”) within the RRC reconfiguration message, [0309] i.e., ciphering and security protocols supported over D2D link & [0311]).
While Pragada discloses the RRC reconfiguration message comprises security indications for the activation of ciphering (i.e., “UP confidentiality”) for each data radio bearer (DRB) belonging to the PDU session (see Fig. 15 i.e., RRC reconfiguration request & Para [0306] i.e., a new key add indicator for the D2D bearers instead of key change indicator may be added to the security config HO IE (“security policy”) within the RRC reconfiguration message), Pragada does not disclose the claim feature of the security indications in the RRC reconfiguration indicating whether UP confidentiality and/or UP integrity protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lee et al. US (2017/0202033).
Lee discloses the RRC reconfiguration message (see Fig. 13 i.e., RRC conn. Reconfig. 1370) comprises security indications for a PDU session indicating whether UP confidentiality and/or UP integrity protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session, (see Para’s [0025-0026], [0105] i.e., As security protection for data packets (e.g., u-plane messages), [0082] i.e., bearers for user plane data, [0125] i.e., As part of the AS security configuration (i.e., “security policy”), at 1365, the network access device controller 125-k may transmit an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the network access device 105-q. The RRC connection reconfiguration message transmitted to the network access device 105-q may include, for example, for the UE 115-d, an AS security indication indicating an AS protocol layer for protecting data packets transmitted to and received from the UE 115-d , and a UE-specific AS key. The AS security indication may also indicate a type of AS security protection, in which the type of AS security protection may include ciphering (i.e., “UP confidentiality”) for data packets, integrity protection for data packets, or a combination thereof. In some examples, the AS security indication could also indicate no AS security protection for data packets…Also as part of the AS security configuration, at 1370, the network access device 105-q may transmit an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE 115-d which may include the AS security indication)
(Lee suggests the AS security indication sent to the UE provides greater security protection including ciphering and integrity protection for data packets communicated between the UE and the network for securing the communication, (see Para’s [0085] & [0105], [0117-0118], & [0125])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the security protection according to the security policy provided for each data radio bearer (DRB) indicated in the RRC reconfiguration message as disclosed in Pragada to further indicate whether UP confidentiality and/or UP integrity protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session according to the security indication in the RRC connection reconfiguration message received by the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Lee who discloses an RRC reconfiguration message indicates an AS security indication to the UE indicating a type of security protection which may include ciphering and integrity protection for user plane data packets communicated on the data radio bearer of the PDU session, because the motivation lies in Lee that the AS security indication sent to the UE provides greater security protection including ciphering and integrity protection for data packets communicated between the UE and the network for securing the communication.
The combination of Pragada in view of Lee does not disclose the claim feature of the Radio Resource Control (RRC) Connection Reconfiguration message comprising: i) a PDU session identifier (ID) identifying a PDU session. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Jin et al. US (2021/0204349).
Jin discloses a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Connection Reconfiguration message comprising: i) a PDU session identifier (ID) identifying a PDU session (see Fig. 21 i.e., S650 RRC connection reconfiguration message & Para’s [0363-0364] i.e., The CP sends a downlink transport message to the MMF including a NAS container and RAN container. The NAS container includes a NAS message to be sent to the UE. The NAS message may be specifically a PDU session ID used to notify the UE of a PDU session, [0365-0366] i.e., The MMF sends an initial context setup request message to the AN including the NAS container and the RAN container received in S630 which may further carry the UE info and the PDU session ID & [0368-0369] i.e., S650: The AN sends an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE which includes the AS container received in S640 that is sent by the MMF…the UE performs RRC connection reconfiguration after receiving the RRC connection reconfiguration message…the UE records the PDU session ID corresponding to the PDU session…The UE determines, based on the AN container or the PDU session ID in the AN container, that the corresponding PDU session has been restored).
(Jin suggests the PDU session ID included in the RRC connection reconfiguration is used for indicating to the UE the PDU session association relationship between the UE and a data network in order for the UE to efficiently communicate data packets with the data network by using the PDU session ID, (see Para [0345] & [0364] & [0368-0369] & [0374])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the RRC connection reconfiguration message used to setup the security policy and the radio bearers for the PDU session as disclosed in Pragada in view of Lee to comprise a PDU session identifier (ID) identifying the PDU session included in the RRC connection reconfiguration message sent to the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Jin, because the motivation lies in Jin that the PDU session ID included in the RRC connection reconfiguration is used for indicating to the UE the PDU session association relationship between the UE and a data network in order for the UE to efficiently communicate data packets with the data network by using the PDU session ID.
Regarding Claims 9 and 11, the combination of Pragada in view of Jin discloses the UE and method of claims 5 and 1, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the security indications for the PDU session identified by the PDU session ID indicate whether UP confidentiality protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lee et al. US (2017/0202033).
Lee discloses wherein the security indications for the PDU session indicate whether UP confidentiality protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session, (see Para’s [0025-0026], [0105] i.e., As security protection for data packets (e.g., u-plane messages), [0082] i.e., bearers for user plane data, [0125] i.e., As part of the AS security configuration (i.e., “security policy”), at 1365, the network access device controller 125-k may transmit an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the network access device 105-q. The RRC connection reconfiguration message transmitted to the network access device 105-q may include, for example, for the UE 115-d, an AS security indication indicating an AS protocol layer for protecting data packets transmitted to and received from the UE 115-d , and a UE-specific AS key. The AS security indication may also indicate a type of AS security protection, in which the type of AS security protection may include ciphering (i.e., “UP confidentiality”) for data packets, integrity protection for data packets, or a combination thereof).
(Lee suggests the AS security indication sent to the UE provides greater security protection including ciphering and integrity protection for data packets communicated between the UE and the network for securing the communication, (see Para’s [0085] & [0105], [0117-0118], & [0125])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the security indications for the PDU session identified by the PDU session ID as disclosed in Pragada in view of Jin to indicate whether UP confidentiality protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session according to the AS security indication in the RRC connection reconfiguration message received by the UE as disclosed in Lee, because the motivation lies in Lee that the AS security indication sent to the UE provides greater security protection including ciphering and integrity protection for data packets communicated between the UE and the network for securing the communication.
Regarding Claims 10 and 12, the combination of Pragada in view of Jin discloses the UE and method of claims 5 and 1, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the security indications for the PDU session identified by the PDU session ID indicate whether UP integrity protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lee et al. US (2017/0202033).
Lee discloses wherein the security indications for the PDU session indicate whether UP integrity protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session (see Para’s [0025-0026], [0105] i.e., As security protection for data packets (e.g., u-plane messages), [0082] i.e., bearers for user plane data, [0125] i.e., As part of the AS security configuration (i.e., “security policy”), at 1365, the network access device controller 125-k may transmit an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the network access device 105-q. The RRC connection reconfiguration message transmitted to the network access device 105-q may include, for example, for the UE 115-d, an AS security indication indicating an AS protocol layer for protecting data packets transmitted to and received from the UE 115-d , and a UE-specific AS key. The AS security indication may also indicate a type of AS security protection, in which the type of AS security protection may include ciphering for data packets, integrity protection for data packets, or a combination thereof).
(Lee suggests the AS security indication sent to the UE provides greater security protection including ciphering and integrity protection for data packets communicated between the UE and the network for securing the communication, (see Para’s [0085] & [0105], [0117-0118], & [0125])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the security indications for the PDU session identified by the PDU session ID as disclosed in Pragada in view of Jin to indicate whether UP integrity protection shall be activated or not for all the DRBs belonging to the PDU session according to the AS security indication in the RRC connection reconfiguration message received by the UE as disclosed in Lee, because the motivation lies in Lee that the AS security indication sent to the UE provides greater security protection including ciphering and integrity protection for data packets communicated between the UE and the network for securing the communication.
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pragada et al. US (2013/0287012) in view of Lee et al. US (2017/0202033), and further in view of Jin et al. US (2021/0204349) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Norrman US (2014/0369315).
Regarding Claims 4 and 8, the combination of Pragada in view of Jin discloses the method and UE of claims 1 and 5, but does not disclose the claim features of the method and process further comprising: receiving a decision from a home network that security protection of UP data terminating in the RAN is not to be used by the UE, and in response to the decision, precluding operational use by the UE of an algorithm to, at least one of, encrypt or integrity protect UP data sent on all radio bearers serving at least one of a Slice ID or a PDU Session ID between the UE and the RAN. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lee et al. US (2017/0202033).
Lee discloses receiving a decision from a home network (see Fig. 13 i.e., network access device 105 & Para’s [0078] i.e., network access devices 105 may be Home eNodeBs & [0080] i.e., A network access device may be a home network access device) that security protection of UP data terminating in the RAN is not to be used by the UE, (see Para [0125] i.e., the AS security protection may include integrity protection for data packets…The AS security indication could also indicate no AS security protection for data packets transmitted to and received from the UE 115-d).
and in response to the decision, precluding operational use by the UE of at least one of, encrypt or integrity protect UP data sent on all radio bearers serving a PDU Session between the UE and the RAN, (see Fig. 13 & see Para [0125] i.e., the AS security protection may include integrity protection for data packets…The AS security indication could also indicate no AS security protection for data packets transmitted to and received from the UE 115-d)
(Lee suggests the AS security indication could also indicate no AS security protection is to be used for data packets for providing configurable AS security policy for supporting configurable security protection in the network system, (see Para’s [0074], [0077], [0119-0120], & [0164])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the indications for the activation of the security protection used for all of the DRBs belonging to the PDU session as disclosed in Pragada in view of Jin to receive a decision from a home network that security protection of UP data terminating in the RAN is not to be used by the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Lee, because the motivation lies in Lee that the AS security indication could also indicate no AS security protection is to be used for data packets for providing configurable AS security policy for supporting configurable security protection in the network system.
The combination of Pragada in view of Lee, and further in view of Jin does not disclose the UE using an algorithm to, at least one of, encrypt or integrity protect UP data. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Norrman US (2014/0369315).
Norrman discloses a UE using an algorithm indicated from the network to, at least one of, encrypt or integrity protect data between the UE and the network (see Para’s [0004] i.e., the network and the terminal must use the same security algorithms to process the data i.e., ciphering and integrity protection algorithms, [0008] i.e., the UE and the source eNB can communicate securely using the selected security algorithms, & [0009])
(Norrman suggests the UE and the base station can communicate securely using the selected algorithms which offer confidentiality and integrity protection for data transmitted between the network and the UE, (see Para’s [0004] & [0008-0009])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the encryption or integrity protection of UP data sent on all DRBs according to the security policy configured for the UE which may be precluded as disclosed in Pragada in view of Lee, and further in view of Jin to be performed according to the security algorithm configured for the UE to at least one of, encrypt or integrity protect data between the UE and the network as disclosed in the teachings of Norrman which results in precluding operational use by the UE of the algorithm to encrypt or integrity protect the UP data sent on all radio bearers, because the motivation lies in Norrman that the UE and the base station can communicate securely using the selected algorithms which offer confidentiality and integrity protection for data transmitted between the network and the UE.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461