DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15, line 2, recites “a shell segment” which appears that it should be changed to --the shell segment-- because it appears that the Applicant is referring to the shell segment from claim 13, line 16.
Claim 16, lines 2-3, recites “a shell segment” which appears that it should be changed to --the shell segment-- because it appears that the Applicant is referring to the shell segment from claim 13, line 16.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14, line 2, recites “an engagement portion of a first shell segment” which is indefinite because it is unclear how the engagement portion in line 2 is related to or different from the engagement portion for a shell segment from claim 13, lines 15-16. Is the Applicant referring to the same engagement portion in both limitations?
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the engagement portion" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. An engagement portion for a shell segment is claimed in claim 13, lines 15-16, but it is unclear from claim 13 if the engagement portion in lines 15-16 is the same engagement portion in line 3 of claim 14.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 1 has been amended to disclose a feature that facilitates axial alignment of a shell section of the set of shell sections on the frame which encompasses the entirety claim 4. Thus, it appears that claim 4 does not further define claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-21, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eybl (DE 202006014964 U1; see previously provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Eybl discloses a component for a vehicle interior comprising a steering wheel (11) comprising:
a frame (1);
a composite structure (2, 3) comprising a set of segments (2, 3); wherein the set of segments comprises a set of shell segments (see the plurality of 2 in Figure 1) configured to be assembled in axial alignment (2 is the only part of the composite structure visible in Figure 1 thus 3 is axially behind the steering wheel) on the frame;
wherein the composite structure is configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments on the frame (see Figure 2);
wherein fit of the shell segments on the frame comprises axial alignment of the set of shell segments with a feature (the indentation in 1 that 3 fits into as shown in Figures 2 and 3) configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments and/or radial engagement of the set of shell segments with a feature (15, 16) configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments;
wherein the feature configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments comprises an engagement portion (15, 16 or the part of 3 that fits into the indentation of 1 as shown in Figures 2 and 4) for a shell segment (2 or 3) of the set of shell segments.
Regarding claim 2, Eybl discloses that the set of shell segments comprises a set of shell sections (the radially connected 2 in Figure 1) configured to be fit in radial engagement around the frame by engagement at the feature configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments.
Regarding claim 3, Eybl discloses that the set of shell sections comprises a shell section (2 fits onto 1 as shown in Figures 2 and 3) configured to be fit onto the frame by engagement of the feature.
Regarding claim 4, Eybl discloses that the frame comprises the feature (the indentation in 1 that 3 fits into as shown in Figures 2 and 3) configured to facilitate axial alignment of a shell section of the set of shell sections on the frame.
Regarding claim 5, Eybl discloses that the frame comprises the feature (the indentation in 1) **[configured to facilitate radial engagement of a shell section of the set of shell sections on the frame]**.
Regarding claim 6, Eybl discloses that the feature of the frame comprises an indentation (1 has an indentation thus meeting the claim limitation).
a set of features configured for fit of the set of shell segments around the frame comprising a feature (the indentation in 1 that 16 enters) of the frame and the engagement portion of a shell segment of the set of shell segments; wherein the feature of the frame comprises an indentation (1 has an indentation thus meeting the claim limitation) configured **[for clip engagement with the engagement portion of the shell segment]** (It is noted that the phrase “for clip engagement” does not require a clip structure to be present to meet the claim limitation. Clip engagement is viewed as being a broad limitation that can encompass the structural connection between the indentation in 1 and element 16 as shown in Figure 3 of Eybl).
Regarding claim 7, Eybl discloses that the set of shell sections comprises a front section (2) and a back section (3).
Regarding claim 8, Eybl discloses that the set of shell sections comprises a first section (2) configured to be fit onto the frame and a second section (3; a part of 3 is inside the boundary of 2 as shown in Figures 2 and 3 thus meeting the claim limitation) configured to be fit with the first section by engagement of an engagement portion of the first section (15, 16) with an engagement portion (the indentation in 3 that 16 fits into) of the second section.
Regarding claim 9, Eybl discloses that the set of shell sections comprises a first section (3) comprising an engagement portion (the structure of 3 that fits into the indentation of 1) configured to be fit with the frame and a second section (2) comprising an engagement portion (16) configured to be fit with the first section.
Regarding claim 10, Eybl discloses that the set of shell sections comprises a first section (3) comprising an engagement portion (the structure of 3 that fits into the indentation of 1) configured to be fit with the frame and a second section (2) comprising an engagement portion (16) **[configured to be snap-fit with the first section]**.
Regarding claim 11, Eybl discloses that the set of segments comprises at least one of a decorative segment and/or a functional segment (4 and 5 are a soft material which is viewed as being a functional segment because they function to provide a soft feel to the user).
Regarding claim 13, Eybl discloses a steering wheel (11) providing a frame (1) comprising:
a composite structure (2, 3);
wherein the composite structure comprises a set of segments (2, 3) configured to be assembled onto the frame;
wherein the set of segments comprises at least one shell segment (the left or right top 2 in Figure 1) **[configured for radial engagement and axial alignment on the frame]**;
wherein the at least one shell segment comprises a set of shell segments (2, 3);
wherein the composite structure is configured to provide a visual effect (the visual effect is a multi-segment appearance as shown in Figure 1; Applicant’s Paragraph 0015 discloses “the visual effect may comprise a multi-segment appearance” thus the structure of Eybl is viewed as meeting the claim limitation);
wherein the composite structure is configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments on the frame (see Figure 2);
wherein fit of the shell segments on the frame comprises axial alignment of the set of shell segments with a feature (the indentation in 1 that 3 fits into as shown in Figures 2 and 3) configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments and/or radial engagement of the set of shell segments with a feature (15, 16) configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments;
wherein the feature configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments comprises an engagement portion (15, 16 or the part of 3 that fits into the indentation of 1 as shown in Figures 2 and 4) for a shell segment (2 or 3) of the set of shell segments.
Regarding claim 14, Eybl discloses that when the set of shell segments is assembled onto the frame an engagement portion (16) of a first shell segment (2) of the set of shell segments can be connected at an engagement portion (18) of a second shell segment (3) of the set of shell segments.
Regarding claim 15, Eybl discloses that when the set of shell segments is assembled onto the frame the engagement portion (the part of 3 that fits into the indentation of 1 as shown in Figures 2 and 4) of a shell segment (3) of the set of shell segments can be connected at a feature (an indentation in 1) of the frame.
Regarding claim 16, Eybl discloses that the feature of the frame comprises an indentation (the indentation on 1 as shown in Figures 2 and 3) on the frame **[configured to facilitate axial alignment of a shell segment of the set of shell segments]**.
Regarding claim 17, Eybl discloses that the set of shell segments comprises a set of shell sections (the radially connected 2 at the top of Figure 1) configured to fit together in radial engagement.
Regarding claim 18, Eybl discloses that the set of shell segments comprises a first segment (2) and a second segment (3); wherein the first segment is different than the second segment (as shown in Figures 2 and 3, the shape of 2 and 3 are different from each other).
Regarding claim 19, Eybl discloses that the at least one shell segment comprises a positioning element (15).
Regarding claim 20, Eybl discloses that the composite structure comprises a cover (4-7) comprising a cover layer;
wherein the cover layer comprises a decorative layer and/or a functional layer (4 and 5 are a soft material which is viewed as being a functional segment because they function to provide a soft feel to the user);
wherein the cover layer is configured to provide the visual effect and/or a tactile effect (the 4-7 are viewed as providing a tactile effect because 4 and 5 are soft layers the providing a feeling to the user).
Regarding claim 21, Eybl discloses that the at least one shell segment of the set of shell segments is configured to provide the visual effect comprising a multi-segment appearance (see the two directly connected 2 at the top of Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eybl (DE 202006014964 U1; see previously provided machine translation) in view of Imaizumi et al. (US 6,651,526 B1).
Regarding claim 12, Eybl discloses that the steering wheel comprises a rim (12);
wherein the rim comprises a cover (6, 7) configured to provide an exterior surface (6 forms the exterior surface of 2 and 3) and an intermediate layer (4, 5) under the cover;
wherein the intermediate layer comprises at least one of a shell section and/or a material (the material of 4 and 5 are soft layers).
Eybl does not disclose that the material is a foam material and/or an elastic material.
Imaizumi et al. teaches an intermediate layer (4) made of a foam material (foam epoxy resin; Column 4 / Lines 47-51).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the intermediate layer of Eybl to be a foam material and/or an elastic material, as taught by Imaizumi et al., for the purpose of providing a material that provides increased comfort to a user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 31, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued on Page 21 of the Remarks that “Independent Claim 1 (as amended) recites a "component" comprising (among other elements in combination) a "composite structure configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments on the frame" in which "fit of the shell segments on the frame comprises axial alignment of the set of shell segments with a feature configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments and/or radial engagement of the set of shell segments with a feature configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments" and "the feature configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments comprises an engagement portion for a shell segment of the set of shell segments" (emphasis added), which is not identically disclosed in Eybl. See TABLES B and C.
Independent Claim 13 (as amended) recites a "steering wheel" comprising (among other elements in combination) a "composite structure configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments on the frame" in which "fit of the shell segments on the frame comprises axial alignment of the set of shell segments with a feature configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments and/or radial engagement of the set of shell segments with a feature configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments" and "the feature configured to facilitate fit of the set of shell segments comprises an engagement portion for a shell segment of the set of shell segments" (emphasis added), which is not identically disclosed in Eybl.”
Eybl discloses features (15, 16, and the indentation in 1 that 3 fits into as shown in Figures 2 and 3) that facilitate fitment of the shell segments onto the frame. The Applicant is advised to further define the features to overcome the current rejection. For example, Applicant’s Figure 15B shows a pair of prong-like members that engage into openings in a shell segment. The Applicant’s use of the term “feature” allows for a wide array of structures to meet the claim limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D ROGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617