DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final communication is in response to Application No. 18/632,648 filed 4/11/2024 which claims priority from Provisional Application No. 63/470,984 filed 6/5/2023. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-19 have been examined.
Double Patenting
A double patenting analysis has been performed with respect to issued patents and patent applications having common relationship of inventorship and/or ownership with respect to the claims. The claims of Application No. 19/077,001 (“Copending”) are directed toward providing information on forecasted electrical grid power generation in the form of energy windows similarly to the instant claims, however, the claims of Copending do not pertain to the output of energy notifications with the consideration of locations as in the instant claims. Therefore, a double patenting rejection is not warranted at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, line 13 recites “a third energy window”, which is indefinite because this implies there is a “second” energy window within the scope of claim 3, however, the claims do not establish a “second energy window”. Line 8 recites “an energy window for the second location”, however, it is not clear that this is the “second” energy window, especially because claim 1 establishes the convention with “first energy window”.
Regarding claim 4, this claim recites “a third energy notification”, which is indefinite because this implies there is a “second” energy notification within the scope of claim 4, however, the claims do not establish a “second energy window” within the scope of claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, this claim concludes with “foregoing outputting the first energy notification”, which is indefinite because the claim begins by reciting “after outputting the first energy notification” which is conflicting functionality.
Regarding claim 7, this claim recites “a third location”, which is indefinite because this implies there is a “second” location within the scope of claim 7, however, the claims do not establish a “second location” within the scope of claim 7. Additionally (and similarly in claim 8), this claim recites “a fourth energy notification”, which is indefinite because this implies there is a “second” and “third” energy notification within the scope of claim 7, however, the claims do not establish either of a “second” and “third” energy notification within the scope of claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, this claim recites “a fifth energy notification”, which is indefinite because this implies there is a “second”, “third”, and “fourth” energy notification within the scope of claim 9, however, the claims do not establish any of a “second”, “third”, and “fourth” energy notification within the scope of claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, this claim recites “a fourth set…”, which is indefinite because this implies there is a “second” and “third” set within the scope of claim 11, however, the claims do not establish a “second” and “third” set within the scope of claim 11. Additionally, while the claim attempts to establish a “different type of notification”, the language reciting “a first notification corresponding to an energy event” appears equivalent to “the first energy notification” and, therefore, the difference is unclear.
Regarding claim 12 (and similarly in claims 13 and 14), this claim recites “a sixth energy notification”, which is indefinite because this implies there is a “second”, “third”, “fourth”, and “fifth” energy notification within the scope of claim 12, however, the claims do not establish any of a “second”, “third”, “fourth”, and “fifth” energy notification within the scope of claim 12.
Regarding claim 15, this claim recites “a third type of notification”, which is indefinite because this implies there is a “first” and “second” type of energy notification within the scope of claim 15, however, the claims do not establish a “first and “second” type of energy notification within the scope of claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 11, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berrien (US 11,036,192 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Berrien teaches a method, comprising:
at a computer system that is in communication with an output component and one or more input devices: detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first set of one or more inputs including an input that corresponds to selection of a user interface object; in response to detecting the first set of one or more inputs, configuring the computer system to output a first energy notification that corresponds to a respective location. More specifically, a user can enroll in programs that receive energy-based alerts (notifications) using at least the controls in the user interfaces of Figures 2, 5 and 11 (Berrien, col 3, lines 40-50, col 8, lines 41-51, col 9, lines 17-38).
while the computer system is configured to output the first energy notification and in accordance with a determination that a first set of one or more criteria is satisfied, outputting, via the output component, the first energy notification indicating a beginning of an energy window for the respective location, wherein the energy window corresponds to a first type of energy. More specifically, energy-based alerts are output based on the enrolled programs and based on criteria (e.g., grid/location), pertaining to a time window, and pertaining to a particular type of energy (e.g., subscribed to wind, or more broadly, clean energy availability) (Berrien, col 2, lines 51-67, col 3, lines 20-24, col 5, lines 35-37, col 14, lines 25-26, col 17, lines 14-21, col 27, line 66 – col 28, line 20).
Regarding claim 2, Berrien teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first set of one or more criteria includes a first criterion that is satisfied when the computer system is identified to be positioned at a first location that is assigned as a first type of location. More specifically, alerts/notifications about a grid type location are received based on a user’s location criteria (Berrien, col 27, line 66 – col 28, line 20).
Regarding claim 3, Berrien teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
while the computer system is configured to output a second energy notification and while the computer system is positioned at a second location of a second type of location: in accordance with a determination that a second set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the second set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when a set of one or more criteria for outputting the second energy notification at a location different from the second location is satisfied, forgoing outputting, via the output component, the second energy notification indicating a beginning of an energy window for the second location. More specifically, grid issue alerts can be sent to users based on being located within a first grid area (location), and not in a second grid area (location) or vice versa (Berrien, col 27, line 66 – col 28, line 20).
in accordance with a determination that a third set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the third set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when a set of one or more criteria for outputting the second energy notification agnostic to a current location of the computer system is satisfied, outputting, via the output component, the second energy notification indicating a beginning of a third energy window for the second location. More specifically, energy-based alerts can be based on satisfying criteria other than location, such as user designated equipment and their need for replacement/upgrades or user designated rebate programs (Berrien, col 3, lines 54-57, col 4, lines 10-24, col 4, lines 39-62, col 5, lines 56-64, col 6, lines 16-30).
Regarding claim 9, Berrien teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: after outputting the first energy notification, configuring the computer system to output a fifth energy notification; and while the computer system is configured to output the fifth energy notification and in accordance with a determination that the first set of one or more criteria is satisfied, outputting, via the output component, the fifth energy notification, wherein the fifth energy notification and the first energy notification are the same types of notifications. More specifically, at least Figures 7, 8, 13 depicts a history of alerts (notifications) received by a user/account where they are part of the same program (same notification type) (Berrien, Figure 7 and 8, 13, col 11, lines 15-31, col 14, lines 5-25, “one or more [first and second] wind energy alerts may be sent via the one or more energy optimizer devices to this energy user”).
Regarding claim 11, Berrien teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: in accordance with a determination that a fourth set of one or more criteria is satisfied, outputting, via the output component, a first notification corresponding to an energy event, wherein the first notification is a different type of notification than the first energy notification. More specifically, energy-based alerts are output based on the enrolled programs and based on criteria (e.g., grid/location), pertaining to a time window, and pertaining to a particular type of energy (e.g., subscribed to wind, or more broadly, clean energy availability) (Berrien, col 2, lines 51-67, col 3, lines 20-24, col 5, lines 35-37, col 14, lines 25-26, col 17, lines 14-21, col 27, line 66 – col 28, line 20).
Regarding claim 18, this claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs that perform the steps of the method of claim 1, therefore. the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 19, this claim recites a computer system that perform the steps of the method of claim 1, therefore. the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berrien.
Regarding claim 4, Berrien the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly recite every aspect of further comprising: while the computer system is configured to output a third energy notification, detecting a second input that corresponds to selection of the user interface object; and in response to detecting the second input that corresponds to selection of the user interface object, configuring the computer system to not output the third energy notification.
However, at least Figures 2, 5, and 11 depict the user interfaces for enrolling in programs that result in energy-based alerts/notifications. Each control for each program depicts an “x” that appears to be for removing the programs from enrollment (Berrien, Figures 2, 5, and 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Berrien that a method for selecting user interface controls that configures a computer to output energy notifications would include user interface controls for stopping specific energy notifications. With Berrien depicting controls that appear to be for removing subscribed programs/notifications, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for selecting user interface controls that configures a computer to output energy notifications would include user interface controls for stopping specific energy notifications in order to allow users to continue to customize which notifications they would like to receive after subscribing to notifications. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for selecting user interface controls that configures a computer to output energy notifications.
Claim(s) 5-8, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berrien, and further in view of Gratton et al. (US 2021/0081559 A1, hereinafter “Gratton”).
Regarding claim 5, Berrien teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the computer system outputs the first energy notification while the computer system is in a locked state.
Gratton discloses detecting location-based events (Gratton, abstract) and notifying users according to notification preferences which include locations and timing (Gratton, [0096]). A user registers for notifications with user inputs using their current location or a different location can be selected (Gratton, [0337], Figures 20D-20G). Notifications can pertain to energy output (i.e., power outages) at specific locations not necessarily where the user is currently located, and only received/displayed during specific times (Gratton, [0441]-[0442]). The notifications can be presented on a locked screen of a mobile device (Gratton, [0559]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Berrien and Gratton that a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on available energy for a grid would include the energy notifications being displayed on a system in a locked state. With Berrien and Gratton both describing subscribing to alerts/notifications of available energy in specific locations at specific times, and with Gratton additionally disclosing the notifications can be displayed on a device in a locked state, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on available energy for a grid would include the energy notifications being displayed on a system in a locked state in order to allow users to receive energy-based notifications on their devices in the same ways that typical notifications are received. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on types of available energy for a grid.
Regarding claim 6, Berrien teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of further comprising: after outputting the first energy notification, configuring the computer system to not output an energy notification; and while the computer system is not configured to output an energy notification and in accordance with a determination that the first set of one or more criteria is satisfied, forgoing outputting the first energy notification.
Gratton discloses detecting location-based events (Gratton, abstract) and notifying users according to notification preferences which include locations and timing (Gratton, [0096]). A user registers for notifications with user inputs using their current location or a different location can be selected (Gratton, [0337], Figures 20D-20G). Notifications can pertain to energy output (i.e., power outages) at specific locations not necessarily where the user is currently located, and only received/displayed during specific times (Gratton, [0441]-[0442], Figure 20H is for configuring a schedule). The notifications can be presented on a locked screen of a mobile device (Gratton, [0559]). Therefore, the scheduling of when to receive notifications will prevent notifications from being received after notifications are received within the scheduled times.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Berrien and Gratton that a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on available energy for a grid would include preventing notifications after a received notification. With Berrien and Gratton both describing subscribing to alerts/notifications of available energy in specific locations at specific times, and with Gratton additionally disclosing the notifications can be configured such that they are prevented after receiving a notification based on a configured schedule, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on available energy for a grid would include preventing notifications after a received notification in order to allow users to prevent notifications that may not be applicable to the context of the user. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on types of available energy for a grid.
Regarding claim 7, Berrien teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of further comprising: after the computer system outputs the first energy notification and while the computer system is at a third location that is different from the respective location, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second set of one or more inputs including an input that corresponds to selection of a second user interface object; and in response to detecting the second set of one or more inputs, configuring the computer system to output a fourth energy notification that corresponds to the third location.
Gratton discloses detecting location-based events (Gratton, abstract) and notifying users according to notification preferences which include locations and timing (Gratton, [0096]). A user registers for notifications with user inputs using their current location or a different location can be selected (Gratton, [0337], Figures 20D-20G). Notifications can pertain to energy output (i.e., power outages) at specific locations not necessarily where the user is currently located, and only received/displayed during specific times (Gratton, [0441]-[0442], Figure 20H is for configuring a schedule). The notifications can be presented on a locked screen of a mobile device (Gratton, [0559]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Berrien and Gratton that a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on available energy for a location would include providing a mechanism to subscribe and receive notifications based on the user’s current location. With Berrien and Gratton both describing subscribing to alerts/notifications of available energy in specific locations at specific times, and with Gratton additionally disclosing the subscribing to notifications can be based on a user’s current location, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on available energy for a location would include providing a mechanism to subscribe and receive notifications based on the user’s current location in order to allow users to receive notifications that for a specific location even if the users are not at that location, such as parent receiving notifications about a child’s school. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on available energy for a grid.
Regarding claim 8, Berrien and Gratton teach the method of claim 7, wherein the computer system outputs the first energy notification while the computer system is at the respective location, the method further comprising: while the computer system is at the respective location, while the computer system is configured to output the fourth energy notification, and in accordance with a determination that a third set of one or more criteria is satisfied outputting, via the output component, the fourth energy notification. More specifically, Gratton describes receiving notifications according to preferences for a current location and a different location from the user (Gratton, [0337], [0441]-[0442], which could be power notifications).
Regarding claim 15, Berrien teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein, in accordance with a determination that a location is not assigned as a third type of location for the computer system, the first energy notification corresponds to a current location of the computer system.
Gratton discloses detecting location-based events (Gratton, abstract) and notifying users according to notification preferences which include locations and timing (Gratton, [0096]). A user registers for notifications with user inputs using their current location or a different location can be selected (Gratton, [0337], Figures 20D-20G). A notification preference may be to just use the user’s current location when determining whether to notify (Gratton, [0365]-[0367], [0495] describes electing to not specify a specific location). Notifications can pertain to energy output (i.e., power outages) at specific locations not necessarily where the user is currently located, and only received/displayed during specific times (Gratton, [0441]-[0442], Figure 20H is for configuring a schedule). The notifications can be presented on a locked screen of a mobile device (Gratton, [0559]). The device used could be a wearable device (Gratton, [0116]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Berrien and Gratton that a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on available energy for a location would include allowing the system to just use a user’s current location when no location is explicitly specified when determining whether to output energy notifications. With Berrien and Gratton both describing subscribing to alerts/notifications of available energy in locations at specific times, and with Gratton additionally disclosing a user can elect to not specify a locations and the system can just use the current location of the user when determining whether to output notifications, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on available energy for a location would include allowing the system to just use a user’s current location when no location is explicitly specified when determining whether to output energy notifications in order to allow users to receive energy notifications that are always applicable to a user’s current location. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on available energy for a grid.
Regarding claim 16, Berrien teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the computer system is a wearable computer system.
Gratton discloses detecting location-based events (Gratton, abstract) and notifying users according to notification preferences which include locations and timing (Gratton, [0096]). A user registers for notifications with user inputs using their current location or a different location can be selected (Gratton, [0337], Figures 20D-20G). Notifications can pertain to energy output (i.e., power outages) at specific locations not necessarily where the user is currently located, and only received/displayed during specific times (Gratton, [0441]-[0442], Figure 20H is for configuring a schedule). The notifications can be presented on a locked screen of a mobile device (Gratton, [0559]). The device used could be a wearable device (Gratton, [0116]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Berrien and Gratton that a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on available energy for a location would include the computer being a wearable device. With Berrien and Gratton both describing subscribing to alerts/notifications of available energy in specific locations at specific times, and with Gratton additionally disclosing the system can be a wearable device, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on available energy for a location would include providing a mechanism to subscribe and receive notifications based on the user’s current location in order to allow users to receive energy notifications using the conveniency of wearable devices that receive typical notifications. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on available energy for a grid.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berrien, and further in view of Bain et al. (US 2019/0372345 A1, cited on IDS received 11/24/2025, hereinafter “Bain”).
Regarding claim 10, Berrien teaches the method of claim 1, including that alerts/notifications are based on the availability of specific types of energy (Berrien, col 5, lines 35-37, col 14, lines 20-26).
However, Berrien may not explicitly teach every aspect of
wherein the respective location corresponds to a first electrical grid, and wherein displaying the first energy notification includes displaying a first indication of a first duration of time that the first electrical grid is identified to output a type of energy.
Bain discloses automatically notifying consumers, by transmission of a signal to a mobile device of each of the consumers who have requested notification, when the calculation of projected costs results in a cost savings opportunity. The automatically notifying consumers is in response to the consumer at least one of selecting a different raw energy source and selecting a mix of raw energy sources for one or more of the future time intervals (Bain, [0104]). The raw energy sources are among at least two of a fossil fuel source, a coal source, an oil source, a natural gas source, a nuclear source, a renewable source, a wind source, a solar source, a hydropower source, a stored energy source, a battery source, and a gravity power source (Bain, [0106]). Notifications can provide information for a particular electrical grid on future time intervals of estimated/forecasted/predicted change in mix of energy sourcing (Bain, [0372], [0487], [0491]). At least Figures 13D, 16, and 28 depict displays of information of future time intervals (durations) with specific types of energy (Bain, at least Figures 13D, 16, and 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Berrien and Bain that a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on types of available energy for a grid would include the energy notifications indicating a duration of time that a particular type of energy is output by the grid. With Berrien and Bain both describing alerts/notifications for particular types of available energy, and with Bain additionally disclosing the notifications include future time intervals/durations of particular types of energy being supplied to the grid, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on types of available energy for a grid would include the energy notifications indicating a duration of time that a particular type of energy is output by the grid in order to allow users to plan their energy usage with the desire to be the most environmentally friendly. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on types of available energy for a grid.
Claim(s) 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berrien, and further in view of Bhageria et al. (US 2014/0148960 A1, hereinafter “Bhageria”).
Regarding claim 12, Berrien teaches the method of claim 1, including that energy-based alerts/notifications can be according to whichever of a first and second grid areas is affected and whichever the user is located (Berrien, col 28, lines 4-20), as well as that alerts/notifications are based on the availability of specific types of energy (Berrien, col 5, lines 35-37, col 14, lines 20-26).
However, Berrien may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the first energy notification includes a second indication that a second electrical grid is identified to output a second type of energy for a first time period, the method further comprising:
after outputting the first energy notification: in accordance with a determination that the second electrical grid is identified to output the second type of energy for a second time period that is different than the first time period, outputting, via the output component, a sixth energy notification.
This is interpreted as that a user can receive notifications for more than one grid location pertaining to different types of energy and time periods.
Bhageria discloses controlling electrical distribution grids. The method includes determining premises in an electrical distribution grid that include an energy resource. The method further includes determining a configuration of the electrical distribution grid including a micro-grid. (Bhageria, abstract). Grids are powered by coal-fired power plants and other energy resources such as (e.g., gas, wind, and solar generators) (Bhageria, [0003], [0020], [0033]). The system determines the configuration of energy sources within each micro-grid and is able to forecast power generation (e.g., wind and solar) for distinct micro-grids for distinct time windows (e.g., days, hours, minutes, etc.) (Bhargeria, [0036], [0037]). An operator can receive notifications from various micro-grids (first and second electrical grids) that contain the aforementioned information (the type of energy resource production in the micro-grid, and forecasted time periods) (Bhargeria, [0054], [0058], [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Berrien and Bhargeria that a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on types of available energy for a grid would include energy notifications for second grids outputting a second type of energy for second time periods. With Berrien and Bhargeria both describing alerts/notifications for particular types of available energy for a grid, and with Bhargeria additionally disclosing received notifications can be forecasts for multiple distinct micro-grids producing energy with mixtures of different energy source types and at different time intervals, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on types of available energy for a grid would include energy notifications for second grids outputting a second type of energy for second time periods in order to allow users to plan theirs, and others, energy usage with the desire to be the most efficient and environmentally friendly. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on types of available energy for a grid.
Regarding claim 14, Berrien and Bhargeria teach the method of claim 12, wherein the first energy notification and the sixth energy notification are the same types of notifications. More specifically, energy-based alerts/notifications can be according to whichever of a first and second grid areas is affected and whichever the user is located (Berrien, col 28, lines 4-20), as well as that alerts/notifications are based on the availability of specific types of energy (Berrien, col 5, lines 35-37, col 14, lines 20-26).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berrien and Bhargeria, and further in view of Bain.
Regarding claim 13, Berrien and Bhargeria teach the method of claim 12, including alerts identifying different types of energy in different forecasted time periods for a grid (Berrien, col 5, lines 35-37, col 14, lines 20-26, col 28, lines 4-20) as well as that notifications can provide information about the different types of energy for more than one micro-grid location for different time periods (Bhargeria, [0036], [0037], [0054], [0058], [0077]).
However, Berrien and Bhargeria may not explicitly teach every aspect of
wherein outputting the sixth energy notification includes displaying a third indication of a second time period when the second electrical grid is identified to output the second type of energy.
Bain discloses automatically notifying consumers, by transmission of a signal to a mobile device of each of the consumers who have requested notification, when the calculation of projected costs results in a cost savings opportunity. The automatically notifying consumers is in response to the consumer at least one of selecting a different raw energy source and selecting a mix of raw energy sources for one or more of the future time intervals (Bain, [0104]). The raw energy sources are among at least two of a fossil fuel source, a coal source, an oil source, a natural gas source, a nuclear source, a renewable source, a wind source, a solar source, a hydropower source, a stored energy source, a battery source, and a gravity power source (Bain, [0106]). Notifications can provide information for a particular electrical grid on future time intervals of estimated/forecasted/predicted change in mix of energy sourcing (Bain, [0372], [0487], [0491]). At least Figures 12, 13A-13D, 16, and 28 depict displays that show different types of energy at different time intervals. At least Figures 13D, 16, and 28 depict displays of specific future time intervals (durations) with specific types of energy (Bain, at least Figures 12, 13A-13D, 16, and 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Berrien and Bhageria with Bain that a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on types of available energy for more than one grid would include the energy notifications displaying a duration of time that a particular type of energy is output by more than one grid. With Berrien, Bhageria, and Bain both describing alerts/notifications for particular types of available energy for particular time periods within an electrical grid, with Bhageria disclosing that the notifications can be for more than one micro-grid and time intervals, and with Bain additionally disclosing the display of future time intervals/durations of particular types of energy being supplied to the grid, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on types of available energy for more than one grid would include the energy notifications displaying a duration of time that a particular type of energy is output by more than one grid in order to allow users to plan theirs, and others, energy usage with the desire to be the most efficient and environmentally friendly. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on types of available energy for a grid.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berrien, and further in view of Sloop et al. (US 2023/0160941 A1, published 5/25/2023, hereinafter “Sloop”).
Regarding claim 17, Berrien teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the computer system outputs a visual output and a haptic output as part of outputting the first energy notification.
Sloop discloses providing notifications of a power quality event occurring in an electrical grid (Sloop, abstract). The event can be associated with photovoltaic/solar or wind energy generation (Sloop, [0031]). A mobile application (app) that is configured to receive push notifications from the alerting module that, when received, automatically activate functionality of the mobile app to alert a user of the remote computing device (e.g., pop-up message, audible alert, and/or haptic alert (vibration)) that a power outage is occurring (Sloop, [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Berrien and Sloop that a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on available energy for a grid would include the energy notifications are output visually and/or haptically. With Berrien and Sloop both describing alerts/notifications of available energy in locations, and with Sloop additionally disclosing the notifications can be output visually and/or haptically, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on available energy for a grid would include the energy notifications are output visually and/or haptically in order to allow users to receive energy-based notifications on their devices in the same ways that typical notifications are received. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for configuring a computer to output energy notifications based on types of available energy for a grid.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Buttgenbach (US 11,431,169 B1) – depicts energy windows for a grid with different types of energy.
Chamberlin (US 2023/0251701 A1) – notifications on energy forecasts.
Yonezawa (US 20250202233 A1) – notifications on energy forecasts.
Bhageria 2 (US 2013/0063272 A1) – subscribing to notifications on energy grids.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171