DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4 of claim 1, the “and” at the beginning of the line should be deleted; in line 4 of claim 9, the “and” at the beginning of the line should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Becktell (US 2017/0320074).
Regarding claim 1, Becktell teaches a sprinkler fire hose device (100) comprising: a body (10/12/14) comprised of a first end (fig. 1 – end at 16), the first end comprised of a connector (16); an opening (figs. 1, 6); and a valve (32) that allows and inhibits the flow of a liquid into the body (par. 39 – “Valve 32 regulates the flow of fluid from housing inlet 16 into housing 10”).
Regarding claim 2, Becktell teaches the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the body is comprised of a tubular hose body (12/14, see figs. 1, 5).
Regarding claim 3, Becktell teaches the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the body is comprised of a metal (par. 38 – “sprinkler 100 may be comprised of plastics, metals”) material.
Regarding claim 4, Becktell teaches the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 1, and further comprised of an anchor (par. 40 – “stakes”).
Regarding claim 5, Becktell teaches the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 4, and further wherein the anchor is attached to the body (par. 40).
Regarding claim 6, Becktell teaches the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 4, and further wherein the anchor is comprised of a spike or a point (par. 40 – “stakes”).
Regarding claim 7, Becktell teaches the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the connector is comprised of a threaded connector (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Becktell teaches the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the body is comprised of an end cap (30).
Regarding claim 9, Becktell teaches a sprinkler fire hose device (100) comprising: a body (10/12/14) comprised of a first end (fig. 1 – end at 16), the first end comprised of a connector (16); an opening (figs. 1, 6); and a valve (32) that opens and closes the opening (par. 48; fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Becktell teaches the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 9, and further wherein the body is comprised of a tubular hose body (12/14, see figs. 1, 5).
Regarding claim 11, Becktell teaches the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 9, and further wherein the body is comprised of a metal (par. 38 – “sprinkler 100 may be comprised of plastics, metals”) material.
Regarding claim 12, Becktell teaches the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 9, and further comprised of an anchor (par. 40 – “stakes”).
Regarding claim 13, Becktell teaches the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 12, and further wherein the anchor is attached to the body (par. 40).
Regarding claim 14, Becktell teaches the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 12, and further wherein the anchor is comprised of a spike or a point (par. 40 – “stakes”).
Regarding claim 15, Becktell teaches the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 9, and further wherein the connector is comprised of a threaded connector (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Becktell teaches the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 9, and further wherein the body is comprised of an end cap (30).
Regarding claim 17, Becktell teaches method of using a sprinkler fire hose device (100), the method comprising: providing a sprinkler fire hose device (100) comprised of a hose body (10/12/14) comprised of an opening (figs. 1, 6), a valve (32), and a connector (16); attaching the connector to a water source (par. 48, 50); positioning the body around an area (par. 50); opening the valve (par. 48); and closing the valve (inherent, a user would close the valve when water is no longer desired; further, the step of opening the valve 32, as described by paragraph 48, requires it to be closed).
Regarding claim 18, Becktell teaches the method of using the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 17, and further wherein closing the valve closes the opening (par. 48; fig. 6 – if opening the valve allows fluid flow, then closing the valve will close the opening and stop fluid flow).
Regarding claim 19, Becktell teaches the method of using the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 17, and further wherein opening the valve opens the opening (par. 48; fig. 6).
Regarding claim 20, Becktell teaches the method of using the sprinkler fire hose device described regarding claim 17, and further wherein closing the valve inhibits the ability for a liquid to flow through the body (par. 48; fig. 6 – if opening the valve allows fluid flow, then closing the valve will inhibit fluid flow).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. McLarty (US 2013/0126643) and Manning (US 2003/0177695) both disclose sprinkler fire hose devices having elements of the claimed invention.
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752