DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 04/11/2024, has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “valve sealed housing portion includes diametrically opposed spring biased latches for detachably engaging an upper reception portion of the single lumen tubular body portion” (as recited in claims 37 and 44) (the examiner notes that the specification and drawings only recite/show this feature for the “gas sealed housing portion”) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 39 is objected to because of the following informalities: The word “a” should be inserted between the words “houses” and “mechanical.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 40 is objected to because of the following informalities: The words “of the” should be inserted between the words “portion” and “single” in the 7th line of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 36, 37, 43, and 44, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
[Claims 36, 37, 43, and 44] The claims recite the limitation of “spring biased latches.” The originally filed specification does not support this recitation (the examiner notes only “spring-loaded locking tabs” are supported). As such, the limitations of claims 36, 37, 43, and 44, are considered new matter.
[Claims 37 and 44] The claims recite the limitation of “the valve sealed housing portion includes diametrically opposed spring biased latches for detachably engaging an upper reception portion of the single lumen tubular body portion.” As also noted in the drawing objections above, the originally filed specification only support this feature relative to the “gas sealed housing portion.” As such, the limitations of claims 37 and 44 are considered new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 35 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
[Claims 35 and 42] The claims recite the limitation of “the form of a luer type fitting” in the 2nd line of the claims. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Further, the examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claims, since it is unclear if the limitation requires a luer type fitting or simply any structure similar to a luer type fitting. For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that the claims require a luer type fitting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 33, 35, 39, 40, 42, and 45, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McGinley et al. (PGPub 2015/0173792).
[Claims 33, 40, and 45] McGinley teaches a surgical access port system (figures 7 and 8; paragraph [0062]) comprising:
a reusable single lumen tubular body portion (figure 8, item 5) having an upper reception portion (figure 8, proximal portion of the tubular body, near item 18a);
a valve sealed housing portion (figure 40, item 3 OR figure 40, items 101/103/110) adapted and configured for detachable engagement with the upper reception portion (figure 8, proximal portion of the tubular body, near item 18a) of the single lumen tubular body portion (figure 8, item 5) to form a valve sealed access port (paragraph [0063]), wherein the valve sealed housing portion accommodates a duckbill valve (the examiner notes the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “accommodates” is defined as “capable of providing a space for”; as such, the “duckbill valve” of claim 40 is only functionally recited); and
a gas sealed housing portion (figure 40, item 3 OR figure 40, items 101/103/110) adapted and configured for detachable engagement with the upper reception portion (figure 8, proximal portion of the tubular body, near item 18a) of the single lumen tubular body portion (figure 8, item 5) to form a gas sealed access port (paragraph [0063]), wherein the gas sealed housing portion accommodates an annular jet assembly configured to generate a gaseous sealing zone within a central bore of the single lumen tubular body portion (the examiner notes the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “accommodates” is defined as “capable of providing a space for”; as such, the “annular jet assembly” and associated limitations of claim 40, as well as the limitations of claim 45, are only functionally recited).
The examiner notes that the currently recited claim limitations do not explicitly define the terms “valve sealed” and/or “gas sealed.” As such, the claim limitations only require “housing portions” which meet the recited associated functional limitations of each portion. Given this and as noted in the rejection above, the examiner notes the structures for the “valve sealed housing portion” and the “gas sealed housing portion” can be defined interchangeably.
[Claim 39] McGinley teaches the limitations of claim 33, upon which claim 39 depends. In addition, McGinley discloses the valve sealed housing portion (figure 40, item 3 OR figure 40, items 101/103/110) houses a mechanical duckbill valve (figure 40, item 103) (paragraphs [0091], [0092]).
[Claims 35 and 42] McGinley teaches the limitations of claims 33 and 40, upon which claims 35 and 42 depend. McGinley further discloses the valve sealed housing portion (figure 40, item 3 OR figure 40, items 101/103/110) includes a gas inlet path in the form of a luer type fitting (figure 41, item 111) (see 112b interpretation above) (figure 41; paragraph [0099]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36, 37, 43, and 44, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGinley et al. (PGPub 2015/0173792).
[Claims 36 and 43] McGinley teaches the limitations of claims 33 and 40, upon which claims 36 and 43 depend. McGinley does not specifically disclose the gas sealed housing portion (figure 40, item 3 OR figure 40, items 101/103/110) includes diametrically opposed spring biased latches for detachably engaging an upper reception portion of the single lumen tubular body portion.
However, McGinley teaches the upper reception portion of the single lumen tubular body portion (figure 8, item 5) comprises diametrically opposed spring biased latches (figure 6, items 7/7a) for detachably engaging the gas sealed housing portion (figure 40, item 3 OR figure 40, items 101/103/110) (figures 6-8; paragraphs [0065]-[0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the structure taught by McGinley, to relocate the spring biased latches onto the gas sealed housing portion, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
[Claims 37 and 44] McGinley teaches the limitations of claims 33 and 40, upon which claims 37 and 44 depend. McGinley does not specifically disclose the valve sealed housing portion (figure 40, item 3 OR figure 40, items 101/103/110) includes diametrically opposed spring biased latches for detachably engaging an upper reception portion of the single lumen tubular body portion.
However, McGinley teaches the upper reception portion of the single lumen tubular body portion (figure 8, item 5) comprises diametrically opposed spring biased latches (figure 6, items 7/7a) for detachably engaging the valve sealed housing portion (figure 40, item 3 OR figure 40, items 101/103/110) (figures 6-8; paragraphs [0065]-[0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the structure taught by McGinley, to relocate the spring biased latches onto the valve sealed housing portion, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Claims 34 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGinley et al. (PGPub 2015/0173792), in view of Mastri et al. (USPN 9,526,886).
[Claims 34 and 41] McGinley teaches the limitations of claims 33 and 40, upon which claims 34 and 41 depend. Although disclosing the gas sealed housing portion (figure 40, item 3 OR figure 40, items 101/103/110) comprises a gas inlet path (aperture created by luer fitting 111) and a gas outlet path (aperture communication with trocar cannula 5) (paragraph [0100]), McGinley does not specifically disclose a manifold wherein the paths are concentrically arranged.
However, Mastri teaches a surgical access port (figure 1, item 200) comprising concentrically arranged inlet (figure 1, item 222) and outlet (figure 1, item 226) paths (figure 1; column 5, lines 25-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the gas sealed housing portion of McGinley, to utilize a concentric inlet and outlet manifold, as taught by Mastri, in order to provide improved design and functionality, by allowing for a more compact structure whereby less tubing is utilized to and from the access port.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 38 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 09/23/2026