DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on January 20, 2026. Claims 1-18 and 20 remain pending and claim 19 has been cancelled in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based on application filed in Korea on October 14, 2021 has been acknowledged and considered by Examiner. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) that are placed on record in the application file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1 and 15 in the Remarks section (pages 11-14) have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current combination of references being used in the current rejection.
U.S. Patent Publication 2007/0075965 A1 by Huppi et al. (“Huppi”) in view of Foreign Patent Publication WO 2021017901 A1 by Xu et al. (“Xu,”) for which machine language translation will be used for the citations below, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0155778 A1 by Hosseiny et al. (“Hosseiny”) address the limitations set forth in the amended claims as the new grounds for rejection for amended claim 1.
U.S. Patent Publication 2007/0075965 A1 by Huppi in view of Foreign Patent Publication WO 2021017901 A1 by Xu, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0265803 A1 by Lee et al. (“Lee”) address the limitations set forth in the amended claims as the new grounds for rejection for amended claim 15.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered with respect to 2-14, 16-18, and 20 in the Remarks section (page 13) but they are not persuasive as the claims depend upon the features recited in the amended independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant previous claims and cited support paragraph [0077] of the specification recites: the processor may obtain first data indicating a posture of the electronic device and second data indicating a movement state of the electronic device.” Currently, the claim recites: “identify whether a posture of the electronic device based on the detected movement is a specified movement.” However, there was a correlated first data indicating posture and separate second data indicating movement. There is no support for the posture being determined only by the movement data. Previously, as in previous claim 1 and paragraph [0095] of the specification, “based on detecting the specified event, while identifying the electronic device being moved in a posture different from the specified posture based on the first data and the second data, independently from the reception of the touch input, maintain the time duration,” Currently, amended claim 1 recites: “based on the touch input and identified posture of the electronic device being different from the specified posture, maintain the time duration.” However, that contradicts what was earlier where maintaining the time duration based on both the first data indicating a posture and the second data indicating a movement state and also was independent of the touch input instead of as currently claimed as being relying upon and being based on the touch input. The terms “off-screen mode” are not found in the specification; however, power may not be supplied to the second display, rendering it off. However, with respect to claim 1, the amended claim recites: “while the electronic device is a folding state in which the first surface faces the third surface and the first and second displays are in off-screen mode.” While in specification paragraphs [0081]-[0086], it was taught in the folding state 570 in which a first surface faces a third surface, the state meant a state in which a display area of the first area is covered and not within a user’s field of view looking at the electronic device, but it was not specified specifically to have been an off-screen mode or a mode where power was not being supplied. It is required for there to be written subject matter support for amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2007/0075965 A1 by Huppi in view of Foreign Patent Publication WO 2021017901 A1 by Xu, for which machine language translation will be used for the citations below, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0155778 A1 by Hosseiny.
Regarding claim 1, Huppi teaches an electronic device comprising:
a first housing; a second housing ([0009], An implementation of one or more of these methods may be performed by a cellular telephone which typically includes a first housing, a second housing, a hinge which couples the first housing to the second housing);
at least one inertial sensor in the first housing and/or second housing, a first display disposed on the first housing ([0036], The display device 34 is shown positioned at an upper portion of the housing 32. The accelerometer 46 is shown at a lower portion of the housing 32),
memory, comprising one or more storage mediums, storing one or more computer programs; and one or more processors, comprising processing circuitry, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively ([0057]-[0058], Wireless device 100 may also include a storage device 104, coupled to the digital processing system, such as a microprocessor or controller, to store data and/or operating programs for the wireless device 100. Storage device 104 may be, for example, any type of solid-state or magnetic memory device), cause the electronic device to:
detect a movement of the electronic device using the at least one inertial sensor ([0042] and [0044], According to one embodiment, the accelerometer 46 is able to detect a movement including an acceleration or de-acceleration of the wireless device. The accelerometer 46 may continuously or periodically monitor the movement of the portable device. As a result, an orientation of the portable device prior to the movement and after the movement (over time) may be determined based on the movement data provided by the accelerometer attached to the portable device);
identify whether a posture of the electronic device based on the detected movement is a specified posture ([0082], Then in operation 224, the proximity sensor data is analyzed. For example, the data is analyzed to determine whether an object, such as the user's ear or head, is near the device. This analysis is used to decide whether and how to adjust the device's settings as shown in operation 226 such as the illumination settings of the display as in [0053]), and
based on a specified event, release the off-screen mode of the second display; while the off-screen mode of the second display is released based on the specified event in the folding state, receive a touch input on the second display, based on the touch input and the identified posture of the electronic device being the specified posture, change a time duration in which off-screen mode of the second display is released ([0053], The first proximity sensor may be used to detect a user's head or ear being within a certain distance of the first proximity sensor and to cause an illumination setting of displays 93 and 88 to be changed automatically in response to this detecting (e.g. the illumination for both displays are otherwise set in a reduced power state) acting as a visual indicator that intentional touches were restricted)) as in [0063] until the proximity changed); and
based on the touch input and identified posture of the electronic device different than the specified posture, maintain the time duration ([0082], For example, if the proximity sensor indicates that the device is near the user's head or ear and it has been determined that the user is communicating through the telephone, then the device determines that the user is talking or otherwise communicating on the telephone or other communication device by having the device next to the user's ear (specified posture, vs near the ear, not talking on the phone) as shown in FIG. 9B. In this situation, the device automatically changes the manner in which data from one or more input devices is processed, such as suppressing a user's ability to make intentional inputs on an input device, such as a keypad or a touch input panel on the device while unintentional touches continued.)
However, Huppi does not teach the first housing including a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface; second housing including a third surface and a fourth surface opposite the third surface;
a folding housing rotatably connecting the first housing to the second housing;
a first display disposed on the first housing and the third surface across the folding housing; a second display disposed on the second surface or the fourth surface;
while the electronic device was in a folding state in which the first surface faces the third surface and the first and second displays were in an off-screen mode.
However, in the analogous art of screen displays with touch input, Xu teaches an electronic device configured with a primary screen and a secondary screen, wherein the primary screen and the secondary screen are configured on different sides (similar to locations of Huppi’s housings) of the electronic device, and the primary screen is a foldable display screen, and therefore, a top first surface folds toward and bottom second surface, covering the primary screen, while facing and exposing a third surface of the secondary screen. (Xu Figs. 3a-3c; Abstract, Page 17, last two paragraphs). A third area 213 is located at a position corresponding to the bending/folding part of the electronic device 100, defining a bending/folding axis including of the framing portion (Xu Figs. 2a and 3a-3c; Page 17, last paragraph). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Huppi’s electronic cellular device to have been a folding mobile electronic device as taught by Xu. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to use a folding screen mobile phones are popular among users and become more and more popular due to having a larger screen and easy portability. The folding screen mobile phone has a larger screen in the unfolded form, which brings a better viewing experience to the user. (Xu Figs. 3a-3c; Page 5, last paragraph).
However, Huppi in view of Xu does not teach the acceleration was an acceleration of gravity.
However, in the analogous art of detection of acceleration in a communication device, Hosseini teaches an acceleration indicated an amplitude of the gravitational acceleration in a direction toward the earth surface. Thus, certain gesture command characteristics may be represented in vector form along the x-axis, y-axis, and/or z-axis of the personal communication device 120. Interpreting gesture commands, such as rotation and tilt, for example, can involve calculations that include applying gravitational acceleration (9.8 meters/sec2) to sensor signal amplitudes and representing the results of the calculations in the form of one or more acceleration vectors (Hosseini [0046] and [0019]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date that the acceleration vectors of Huppi also indicated the ambient amplitude of gravitational acceleration in the resultant acceleration vectors in the x-, y-, and z-axes. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have calculated acceleration vectors from gravitational acceleration impacting sensor signal amplitudes and representing the results by acceleration vectors (Hosseini [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
while the electronic device in the folding state and the first and second displays are in the off-screen mode, obtain, through the at least one inertial sensor, first data indicating a posture of the electronic device and second data indicating a change in a position of the electronic device in the folding state;
while the off-screen mode of the second display is released based on the specified event in the folding state, receive the touch input on the second display in the folding state;
based on touch input, and the position of the electronic device that has the specified posture being maintained based on the first data and the second data, change the time duration ([0082], Then in operation 224, the proximity sensor data is analyzed. For example, the data is analyzed to determine whether an object, such as the user's ear or head, is near/touching the device. This analysis is used to decide whether and how to adjust the device's settings as shown in operation 226. In addition to suppressing intentional inputs, the device may automatically adjust a power setting of one or more displays of the device); and
based on the touch input and the position of the electronic device that has the posture different from the specified posture being maintained based on the first data and the second data, , change the time duration ([0082], If, on the other hand, the device determines that the user is not communicating though the telephone while the proximity sensor data indicates that an object is near to the device, the device may decide not to modify an illumination setting of the display and to not suppress the user's ability to enter intentional user inputs on an input device).
Regarding claim 3, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: while the second display is in the off-screen mode ([0053], The first proximity sensor may be used to detect a user's head or ear being within a certain distance of the first proximity sensor and to cause an illumination setting of displays 93 and 88 to be changed automatically in response to this detecting (e.g. the illumination for both displays are turned off or otherwise set in a reduced power state), identify difference in length of vectors obtained through the at least one inertial sensor, and based on identifying the difference in length being within a specified range, obtain the first data indicating a posture of the electronic device ([0045], Additional information about accelerometers can be found in copending U.S. patent application Ser. No. 10/986,730, filed Nov. 12, 2004, which is hereby incorporated herein by reference in its entirety, as U.S Patent Publication 2006/0017692 A1, by Wehrenberg et al., teaching in paras. 0052, 0070-0074, and 0139: One or more controllers 102 coupled to the accelerometer(s) 101. The controller 102 may be used to calculate a moving direction, also referred to as moving vector, of the portable device. The motion software and/or the operating system may compare the moving vector with a predetermined direction to determine whether the moving vector relatively matches the predetermined direction, for example, based on a predetermined threshold, including magnitude/length. In one embodiment, the value may be determined based on the integration of the absolute value of the resultant acceleration vector, for example, determined by vector addition of the three components of the acceleration (e.g., X, Y, and Z, axis acceleration information).
Regarding claim 4, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on identifying that a number of the vectors whose the difference in length is within the specified range reaches a specified number, obtain the first data ([0045], Additional information about accelerometers can be found in copending U.S. patent application Ser. No. 10/986,730, filed Nov. 12, 2004, which is hereby incorporated herein by reference in its entirety, as U.S Patent Publication 2006/0017692 A1, by Wehrenberg et al., teaching in paras. 0052, 0070-0074, and 0139: At block 2302, a value is calculated proportional to a magnitude of the impulse delivered to the device by performing the time integration of the components of the three-axis acceleration. In one embodiment, the value may be determined based on the integration of the absolute value of the resultant acceleration vector, for example, determined by vector addition of the three components of the acceleration (e.g., X, Y, and Z, axis acceleration information). The specified range is greater than zero, for instance, if Z-acceleration is zero it would not be included in the resultant vector acceleration).
Regarding claim 5, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on identifying that the number reaches of the specified number, identify a relation between each of an x-axis component, a y-axis component, and a z-axis component of each of the vectors and an acceleration, and wherein the first data indicates the relation ([0045], Additional information about accelerometers can be found in copending U.S. patent application Ser. No. 10/986,730, filed Nov. 12, 2004, which is hereby incorporated herein by reference in its entirety, as U.S Patent Publication 2006/0017692 A1, by Wehrenberg et al., teaching in paras. 0052, 0070-0074, and 0139: In one embodiment, the magnitude of the resultant acceleration vector of all three axes may be determined according to the following formula: Mag(Accelerationresultant)=Sqrt(X accel 2 +Y accel 2 +Z accel 2)).
However, Huppi in view of Xu does not teach the acceleration was an acceleration of gravity. However, in the analogous art of detection of acceleration in a communication device, Hosseini teaches an acceleration indicated an amplitude of the gravitational acceleration in a direction toward the earth surface. Thus, certain gesture command characteristics may be represented in vector form along the x-axis, y-axis, and/or z-axis of the personal communication device 120. Interpreting gesture commands, such as rotation and tilt, for example, can involve calculations that include applying gravitational acceleration (9.8 meters/sec2) to sensor signal amplitudes and representing the results of the calculations in the form of one or more acceleration vectors (Hosseini [0046] and [0019]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date that the acceleration vectors of Huppi also indicated the ambient amplitude of gravitational acceleration in the resultant acceleration vectors in the x-, y-, and z-axes. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have calculated acceleration vectors from gravitational acceleration impacting sensor signal amplitudes and representing the results by acceleration vectors (Hosseini [0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a proximity sensor included in the first display or disposed under the first display ([0049], In one embodiment, the display/input device 54 may include a multi-point touch input screen in addition to being a display, such as an LCD), wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
while the electronic device in the folding state and the first and second displays are in the off-screen mode, obtain, through the at least one inertial sensor, first data indicating a posture of the electronic device and second data indicating a change in a position of the electronic device in the folding state;
while the electronic device is the folding state and the second display is in the off-screen mode, identify, through the at least one inertial sensor among the at least one inertial sensor and the proximity sensor, whether the electronic device is in a first state in which the electronic device is included in an external object in a ungripped state or is in a second state different from the first state ([0080] and [0084], For example, if a user places a finger over a proximity sensor when the user holds/gripped the device, this may cause the analysis to incorrectly conclude that the device is near the user's head or ear. In operation 206, one or more device settings may be adjusted based upon, at least in part, the analysis of the data from the one or more sensors. For example, the data relating to device motion may show a pattern of movement which matches the movement which occurs when a user moves the device from the user's pocket to the user's head using accelerometer), and
while the electronic device, identify, through the proximity sensor among the at least one inertial sensor and the proximity sensor, whether the electronic device is in the first state or is in the second state ([0082] and [0084], For example, the data relating to device motion may show a pattern of movement which matches the movement which occurs when a user moves the device from the user's pocket to the user's head. The analysis may further determine that the proximity data or other data relating to location showed that the device was not near the user's head or another object until near the end of the movement),
wherein the first data and the second data are obtained to identify whether the electronic device is in the first state or is in the second state, and wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on identifying the electronic device being moved in the specified posture based on the first data and the second data, identify the electronic device being in the first state, and based on identifying the electronic device being moved in the posture different from the specified posture based on the first data and the second data, identify the electronic device being in the second state ([0082] and [0084], For example, the data relating to device motion may show a pattern of movement which matches the movement which occurs when a user moves the device from the user's pocket to the user's head. The analysis may further determine that the proximity data or other data relating to location showed that the device was not near the user's head or another object until near the end of the movement. In such a situation, the analysis would determine that the user has pulled the device from their pocket and placed it against the user's ear and was gripping it such as a posture. In operation 266, one or more settings of the device are adjusted automatically, without any intentional user input, based upon the analysis).
However, Huppi does not teach while the second display is disabled in the folding state and while the electronic device is in an unfolding state in which the first surface and the third surface forms one flat surface.
However, in the analogous art of screen displays with touch input, Xu teaches an electronic device configured with a primary screen and a secondary screen, wherein the primary screen and the secondary screen are configured on different sides (similar to locations of Huppi’s housings) of the electronic device, and the primary screen is a foldable display screen, and therefore, a top first surface folds toward and bottom second surface, covering the primary screen, while facing and exposing a third surface of the secondary screen. (Xu Figs. 3a-3c; Abstract, Page 17, last two paragraphs). A third area 213 is located at a position corresponding to the bending/folding part of the electronic device 100, defining a bending/folding axis including of the framing portion (Xu Figs. 2a and 3a-3c; Page 17, last paragraph). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Huppi’s electronic cellular device to have been a folding mobile electronic device as taught by Xu. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to use a folding screen mobile phones are popular among users and become more and more popular due to having a larger screen and easy portability. The folding screen mobile phone has a larger screen in the unfolded form, which brings a better viewing experience to the user. (Xu Figs. 3a-3c; Page 5, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 7, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on identifying another specified event for releasing the off-screen mode of the first display while the electronic device is in the unfolding state, obtain third data for indicating a state around the electronic device through the proximity sensor, identify whether the electronic device is in the first state or is in the second state based on the third data, after obtaining the third data, enable the first display, and after enabling the first display, cease to obtain the third data ([0080] and [0084], For example, if a user places a finger over a proximity sensor when the user holds/gripped the device, this may cause the analysis to incorrectly conclude that the device is near the user's head or ear. In operation 206, one or more device settings may be adjusted based upon, at least in part, the analysis of the data from the one or more sensors. For example, the data relating to device motion may show a pattern of movement which matches the movement which occurs when a user moves the device from the user's pocket to the user's head using accelerometer. Where the device motion at a specific time was movement data but the pattern of motion was a third data that ended once the user was holding the device near the ear. This changed illumination settings as in [0080]).
Regarding claim 8, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 7, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify first difference between the third data and first reference data indicating the first state and second difference between the third data and second reference data indicating the second state, and based on the first difference and the second difference, identify whether the electronic device is in the first state or is in the second state([0084], In operation 264, the data relating to location and the data relating to device movement are analyzed to determine whether or not to adjust a setting of the device. This analysis may be performed in a variety of different ways. For example, the data relating to device motion may show a pattern of movement which matches the movement which occurs when a user moves the device from the user's pocket to the user's head. Movement and location which matched user’s pocket was second reference data and first reference data was movement and location which matched user’s ear, being gripped).
Regarding claim 9, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: while providing a call with a user of an external electronic device through a call application ([0082], The method of FIG. 11A includes optional operation 220 in which the device determines if the user is communicating through the telephone within the device. This may be performed by conventional techniques known in the art which can sense when a telephone call is in progress or when the user is otherwise communicating through the telephone or other communication device), obtain fourth data for indicating a state around the electronic device through the proximity sensor, and based on the fourth data, update the first reference data and the second reference data, and wherein the third data is data obtained after updating the first reference data and the second reference data based on the fourth data ([0084] and [0086], In operation 260, data relating to the location of the device is received; this data may, for example, be provided by a proximity sensor. In operation 264, the data relating to location and the data relating to device movement are analyzed to determine whether or not to adjust a setting of the device. Data relating to location of the device is received in operation 290 and data relating to touches on a touch input panel is received in operation 292. The data relating to location may be from a proximity sensor. The data relating to touches on a touch input panel may be from a multi-point touch input panel which is capable of detecting multiple point touches which may occur when a user's face is pressed against or is otherwise near the touch input panel, which updates the data about location and movement determining if the user is holding the device to their face/ear The first reference data was beginning of motion pattern and the second reference data was the ending of the motion pattern).
Regarding claim 10, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on identifying the electronic device being in the first state based on the third data, display a visual object for guiding that a reception of a touch input on the first display is restricted, through the first display, receive a user input for ceasing the display of the visual object, and based on the reception of the user input, update the first reference data and the second reference data ([0053] and [0084], For example, if the analysis of operation 264 determines the user has moved the device from a location away from the ear to a location close to the ear then, in one embodiment, an illumination setting may be adjusted and the user's ability to enter intentional inputs into an input device may be suppressed where the illumination for the first display visually and the second display were turned off as in [0053]. However, based on additional proximity sensor inputs such as data from the second proximity sensor, along with data from the ambient light sensor 92 and data from the temperature sensor 94, may be used to detect that the cellular telephone has been placed into the user's pocket, updating device location and movement location and resetting beginning/end motion pattern).
Regarding claim 11, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the proximity sensor is disabled while the second display is disabled ([0084], For example, if the analysis of operation 264 determines the user has moved the device from a location away from the ear to a location close to the ear then, in one embodiment, an illumination setting may be adjusted and the user's ability to enter intentional inputs into an input device may be suppressed where the illumination for the second display was turned off as in [0053]).
Huppi does not teach second display is disabled in the folding state.
However, in the analogous art of screen displays with touch input, Xu teaches an electronic device configured with a primary screen and a secondary screen, wherein the primary screen and the secondary screen are configured on different sides (similar to locations of Huppi’s housings) of the electronic device, and the primary screen is a foldable display screen, and therefore, a top first surface folds toward and bottom second surface, covering the primary screen, while facing and exposing a third surface of the secondary screen. (Xu Figs. 3a-3c; Abstract, Page 17, last two paragraphs). A third area 213 is located at a position corresponding to the bending/folding part of the electronic device 100, defining a bending/folding axis including of the framing portion (Xu Figs. 2a and 3a-3c; Page 17, last paragraph). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Huppi’s electronic cellular device to have been a folding mobile electronic device as taught by Xu. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to use a folding screen mobile phones are popular among users and become more and more popular due to having a larger screen and easy portability. The folding screen mobile phone has a larger screen in the unfolded form, which brings a better viewing experience to the user. (Xu Figs. 3a-3c; Page 5, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 12, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors include a first processor operably coupled to the at least one inertial sensor, wherein the first processor is configured to: while the first and second displays are in the off-screen mode, obtain, through the at least one inertial sensor, the first data indicating a posture of the electronic device and the second data indicating a change in a position of the electronic device, and wherein the second processor is enabled based on detecting the specified event is configured to enable the second display ([0084], For example, if the analysis of operation 264 determines the user has moved the device from a location away from the ear to a location close to the ear then, in one embodiment, an illumination setting may be adjusted and the user's ability to enter intentional inputs into an input device may be suppressed where the illumination for the second display was turned off when it was close to the ear and no longer was when put in the pocket as in [0053]).
Huppi does not teach a second processor operably coupled to the first processor, while the electronic device in the folding state.
However, in the analogous art of screen displays with touch input, Xu teaches an electronic device configured with a primary screen and a secondary screen, wherein the primary screen and the secondary screen are configured on different sides (similar to locations of Huppi’s housings) of the electronic device, and the primary screen is a foldable display screen, and therefore, a top first surface folds toward and bottom second surface, covering the primary screen, while facing and exposing a third surface of the secondary screen. (Xu Figs. 3a-3c; Abstract, Page 17, last two paragraphs). When the touch sensor receives a touch operation, the corresponding hardware interrupt is sent to the kernel layer. The kernel layer processes touch operations into original input events(including touch coordinates, time stamps of touch operations, etc.). The original input events are stored in the kernel layer. The application framework layer obtains the original input event from the kernel layer, and identifies the control corresponding to the input event. When the touch display was disabled, it was not processing inputs (Xu Page 25, third from last paragraph). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Huppi’s electronic cellular device to have been a folding mobile electronic device as taught by Xu with secondary touch processor for the second primary screen. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to use a folding screen mobile phones are popular among users and become more and more popular due to having a larger screen and easy portability. The folding screen mobile phone has a larger screen in the unfolded form, which brings a better viewing experience to the user. (Xu Figs. 3a-3c; Page 5, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 13, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 12, and the second display is, identify, based on the first data and the second data, the electronic device being moved in the specified posture or being moved in the posture different from the specified posture, and the processor is configured to: change the time duration based on a reception of the touch input or maintain the time duration independently from a reception of the touch input ([0084], For example, if the analysis of operation 264 determines the user has moved the device from a location away from the ear to a location close to the ear then, in one embodiment, an illumination setting may be adjusted and the user's ability to enter intentional inputs into an input device may be suppressed where the illumination for the second display was turned off as in [0053]).
However, Huppi does not teach wherein the first processor among the first processor and the second processor is configured to: while the second processor is disabled in the folding state, wherein the second processor among the first processor changed the time duration or maintained the time duration.
However, in the analogous art of screen displays with touch input, Xu teaches an electronic device configured with a primary screen and a secondary screen, wherein the primary screen and the secondary screen are configured on different sides (similar to locations of Huppi’s housings) of the electronic device, and the primary screen is a foldable display screen, and therefore, a top first surface folds toward and bottom second surface, covering the primary screen, while facing and exposing a third surface of the secondary screen. (Xu Figs. 3a-3c; Abstract, Page 17, last two paragraphs). When the touch sensor receives a touch operation, the corresponding hardware interrupt is sent to the kernel layer. The kernel layer processes touch operations into original input events(including touch coordinates, time stamps of touch operations, etc.). The original input events are stored in the kernel layer. The application framework layer obtains the original input event from the kernel layer, and identifies the control corresponding to the input event. When the touch display was disabled, it was not processing inputs (Xu Page 25, third from last paragraph). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Huppi’s electronic cellular device to have been a folding mobile electronic device as taught by Xu with secondary touch processor for the second primary screen. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to use a folding screen mobile phones are popular among users and become more and more popular due to having a larger screen and easy portability. The folding screen mobile phone has a larger screen in the unfolded form, which brings a better viewing experience to the user. (Xu Figs. 3a-3c; Page 5, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 14, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the specified event comprises: receiving a specified touch input on the second display, receiving a depression input on a physical button exposed thorough a portion of the first housing or a portion of the second housing, or receiving a message from an external electronic device ([0053], Data from the second proximity sensor, along with data from the ambient light sensor 92 and data from the temperature sensor 94, may be used to detect that the cellular telephone has been placed into the user's pocket).
Claims 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2007/0075965 A1 by Huppi in view of Foreign Patent Publication WO 2021017901 A1 by Xu, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0265803 by Lee.
Regarding claim 15, Huppi teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1) comprising:
a display ([0036], The display device 34 is shown positioned at an upper portion of the housing 32), a proximity sensor included in the first display or disposed under the first display ([0049], In one embodiment, the display/input device 54 may include a multi-point touch input screen in addition to being a display, such as an LCD),
memory, comprising one or more storage mediums, storing one or more computer programs; and one or more processors, comprising processing circuitry, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively ([0057]-[0058], Wireless device 100 may also include a storage device 104, coupled to the digital processing system, such as a microprocessor or controller, to store data and/or operating programs for the wireless device 100. Storage device 104 may be, for example, any type of solid-state or magnetic memory device), cause the electronic device to:
detect an event for enabling the display, obtain data indicating a state around the electronic device through the proximity sensor, in response to detecting the event; identify the electronic device being in a first state in which the electronic device is included in an external object in a ungripped state ([0077], FIGS. 9A-C illustrate exemplary user activities that can be determined based on input data acquired by the one or more sensors of the portable device. Exemplary user activities include, but are not limited to, the user looking directly at the portable device (FIG. 9A), the user holding the portable device at or near their ear (FIG. 9B), the user putting the portable device in a pocket or purse (FIG. 9C), and the like. In response to a light sensor determining that the ambient light is very low, and optionally in response to a user having set the device to visibly light up to show an incoming call when the ambient light is very low as in [0092]);
based on identifying the data being within a first reference range; identify the electronic device being in a second state different from the first state, based on identifying the data being within a second reference range different from the first reference range; identify a first difference between a representative value of first values within the first reference range and the data and a second difference between a representative value of second values within the second reference range and the data ([0007] and [0073]-[0074], data from a proximity sensor may be compared to a threshold value which represents a distance between a portion of the device and the user's ear or head. The AI process may perform traditional methods of pattern recognition on the sensor data. For example, the rate of change of the distance between the device and the user's ear may have a pattern (e.g. revealing a deceleration as the user moves the device closer to their ear), and this pattern in the rate of change of distance may be detected by a pattern matching algorithm. Distance of current with representative used as first reference range for near user’s ear with proximity and motion/acceleration pattern of current with representative to a second reference range near user’s ear),
based on identifying that the data is out of the first reference range and the second reference range; identify whether the electronic device is in the first state or the second state, based on the first difference and the second difference ([0077] and [0084], FIGS. 9A-C illustrate exemplary user activities that can be determined based on input data acquired by the one or more sensors of the portable device. Exemplary user activities include, the user holding the portable device at or near their ear (FIG. 9B) or the user putting the portable device in a pocket or purse (FIG. 9C), For example, the data relating to device motion may show a pattern of movement which matches the movement which occurs when a user moves the device from the user's pocket to the user's head or reverse motion pattern); display a first screen through the display enabled in accordance with the event, based on identifying that the electronic device is in the first state ([0053], The first proximity sensor may be used to detect a user's head or ear being within a certain distance of the first proximity sensor and to cause an illumination setting of displays 93 and 88 to be changed automatically in response to this detecting (e.g. the illumination for both displays are otherwise set in a reduced power state)); and display a screen different from the first screen through the display enabled in accordance with the event, based on identifying that the electronic device is in the second state ([0092], When placed in pocket, in response to a light sensor determining that the ambient light is very low, and optionally in response to a user having set the device to visibly light up to show an incoming call when the ambient light is very low).
However, Huppi does not teach a second display screen through the display was enabled in accordance with the event separate from the first screen.
However, in the analogous art of screen displays with touch input, Xu teaches an electronic device configured with a primary screen and a secondary screen, wherein the primary screen and the secondary screen are configured on different sides (similar to locations of Huppi’s housings) of the electronic device, and the primary screen is a foldable display screen, and therefore, a top first surface folds toward and bottom second surface, covering the primary screen, while facing and exposing a third surface of the secondary screen. (Xu Figs. 3a-3c; Abstract, Page 17, last two paragraphs). A third area 213 is located at a position corresponding to the bending/folding part of the electronic device 100, defining a bending/folding axis including of the framing portion (Xu Figs. 2a and 3a-3c; Page 17, last paragraph). When the electronic device shown in FIGS. 2a and 2b is in an unfolded configuration, the foldable display screen 210 thereof can display the running interface of the current application such as a video call application (Xu Page 26, third paragraph and Page 29, third paragraph). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Huppi’s electronic cellular device to have been a folding mobile electronic device as taught by Xu where a current application was displayed on a first display screen. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to use a folding screen mobile phones are popular among users and become more and more popular due to having a larger screen and easy portability. The folding screen mobile phone has a larger screen in the unfolded form, which brings a better viewing experience to the user. (Xu Figs. 3a-3c; Page 5, last paragraph).
However, Huppi in view of Xu does not teach a first screen indicating that a touch input on the display is restricted. In the analogous art of flexible displays, Lee teaches an electronic device may output a resolution change notification in the state in which the display is deactivated. Display deactivation may include powering off the display or operating the display in a predefined manner (e.g., lowering the resolution or screen brightness). In screen 1110, the electronic device outputs information (e.g., icons or text) regarding an application of which the resolution is changed and information for inducing an input (e.g., a swipe input) to change a resolution. In screen 1120, the electronic device outputs information (e.g., icons or text) regarding an application of which the resolution is changed and information for inducing an input for changing a resolution, although information (e.g., a capture screen) is displayed on a screen of which the resolution is changed (Lee Figs. 11A; [0138]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Huppi in view of Xu to have had a notification that the screen had been deactivated and touches were restricted except a change command. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided notification and alert the user by providing a resolution change notification in response to sensing a resolution change event (Lee Fig. 11A; [0136]-[0138]).
Regarding claim 16, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: cease obtaining the data through the proximity sensor in response to enabling the display ([0084], For example, if the analysis of operation 264 determines the user has moved the device from a location away from the ear to a location close to the ear then, in one embodiment, an illumination setting may be adjusted and the user's ability to enter intentional inputs into an input device may be suppressed where the illumination for a second display was turned off as in [0053]).)
Regarding claim 17, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 15, wherein at least one of the first reference range and the second reference range is adjusted based on the data ([0084] and [0086], In operation 260, data relating to the location of the device is received; this data may, for example, be provided by a proximity sensor. In operation 264, the data relating to location and the data relating to device movement are analyzed to determine whether or not to adjust a setting of the device. Data relating to location of the device is received in operation 290 and data relating to touches on a touch input panel is received in operation 292. The data relating to location may be from a proximity sensor. The data relating to touches on a touch input panel may be from a multi-point touch input panel which is capable of detecting multiple point touches which may occur when a user's face is pressed against or is otherwise near the touch input panel, which updates the data about location and movement determining if the user is holding the device to their face/ear The first reference range for proximity and second reference range encompassed this additional data).
Regarding claim 18, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the data is first data, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: obtain second data for indicating a state around the electronic device through the proximity sensor, while providing a call with a user of an external electronic device through a call application; and adjust at least one of the first reference range and the second reference range based on the second data, and wherein a weight applied to the second data for adjusting at least one of the first reference range and the second reference range is greater than a weight applied to the first data for adjusting at least one of the first reference range and the second reference range ([0082], One or more settings of the device may be automatically adjusted based on the analysis of the proximity sensor data and optionally based on whether or not the user is communicating through the telephone or other communication device. For example, if the proximity sensor indicates that the device is near the user's head or ear and it has been determined that the user is communicating through the telephone, then the device determines that the user is talking or otherwise communicating on the telephone or other communication device by having the device next to the user's ear as shown in FIG. 9B. The weight of second reference data regarding motion was able to zero).
Regarding claim 20, Huppi of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 15, further comprising: at least one inertial sensor, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: obtain data indicating a posture of the electronic device through the at least one inertial sensor; and identify whether the electronic device is in the first state or the second state, based on the data indicating the posture ([0042] and [0044], According to one embodiment, the accelerometer 46 is able to detect a movement including an acceleration or de-acceleration of the wireless device. The accelerometer 46 may continuously or periodically monitor the movement of the portable device. As a result, an orientation of the portable device prior to the movement and after the movement (over time) may be determined based on the movement data provided by the accelerometer attached to the portable device, determining for instance if near user’s ear).
Conclusion
U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0141181 by Wantland teaches determining, by the computing system, when the distance or the angle between the computing system and the one or more portions of the user is within a distance range or angle range respectively, wherein the satisfying the one or more operational criteria comprises the determining that the distance or the angle between the computing system and the one or more portions of the user is within the distance range or the angle range respectively.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHEEN I JAVED/Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621