DETAILED ACTION
The following is a response to the amendment filed 7/23/2026 which has been entered.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
-The 102 and 103 rejections have been withdrawn due to applicant amending claims 1, 12 and 16 with limitations not disclosed by the prior art of record used in the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claim 1 recites the limitation “…..the circular shank longitudinally movable and rotatable relative to the wheel hub cover to selectively engage and disengage a wheel hub from a propulsion source, a first through hole, and a second through hole,….”. This limitation as written seems to suggest that the shank also engages and disengages the wheel hub from the first and second through holes as well. Examiner suggest applicant amend claim 1 removing the limitations “a first through hole and a second through hole” to better clarify the limitation (i.e., change the following limitation to “a first through hole and a second through hole configured to receive a first threaded fastener and a second threaded fastener,…..”).
-Claim 8 recites the limitation “a retaining ring”, however it is unclear as to if this is the same retaining ring as recited in amended claim 1, please clarify and amend accordingly.
-Claim 9 recites the limitation “a first threaded fastener and a second threaded fastener”, however it is unclear as to if this is the same first and second threaded fasteners as recited in amended claim 1, please clarify and amend accordingly.
-Claim 10 recites the limitation “a wheel hub”, however it is unclear as to if this is the same wheel hub as recited in amended claim 1, please clarify and amend accordingly.
-Claim 14 recites the limitation “a wheel hub”, however it is unclear as to if this is the same wheel hub as recited in amended claim 12, please clarify and amend accordingly.
-Claim 16 recites the limitation “…..the circular shank longitudinally movable and rotatable relative to the wheel hub cover to selectively engage and disengage a wheel hub from the electric machine, a first through hole, and a second through hole,….”. This limitation as written seems to suggest that the shank also engages and disengages the wheel hub from the first and second through holes as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9-11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang 20220074489 in view of AU 8320898 (with machine translation) and Gilcrest 4453852. As to claim 1, Zhang discloses a wheel disconnect system, comprising: a wheel hub cap (160) covering a circular shank (102) configured to be inserted into and retained within a wheel hub cover (84; ([0058] and [0072] describe that 84 along with 98 can support a wheel) via a retaining ring (154), the circular shank longitudinally movable and rotatable relative to the wheel hub cover to selectively engage and disengage a wheel hub from a propulsion source ([0068]-[0069], [0072]-[0073]). However, Zhang doesn’t disclose the cap being in the form of a disconnect cap comprising the shank and having a first through hole, and a second through hole, the first through hole and the second through hole configured to receive a first threaded fastener and a second threaded fastener, respectively, the first threaded fastener and the second threaded fastener configured to restrain longitudinal movement of the wheel hub disconnect cap.
AU discloses a wheel disconnect system, comprising: a wheel hub disconnect cap (all components within 90), the wheel hub disconnect cap comprising a circular head (as shown in Figure 3) and a circular shank (72), the circular shank longitudinally movable and rotatable relative to a wheel hub cover (30) to selectively engage and disengage a wheel hub from a propulsion source (pages 3-4 in translation describe hydraulic motor), a first through hole, and a second through hole, the first through hole and the second through hole configured to receive a first threaded fastener (88) and a second threaded fastener (88), respectively, the first threaded fastener and the second threaded fastener configured to restrain longitudinal movement of the wheel hub disconnect cap.
Gilcrest discloses a wheel disconnect system, comprising: a wheel hub disconnect cap (all components within 44), the wheel hub disconnect cap comprising a circular head (as shown in Figure 3) and a circular shank (50), the circular shank longitudinally movable and rotatable relative to a wheel hub cover (20) to selectively engage and disengage a wheel hub from a propulsion source (column 2, lines 15-20 describe hydraulic motor), a first through hole, and a second through hole, the first through hole and the second through hole configured to receive a first threaded fastener (26) and a second threaded fastener (26), respectively, the first threaded fastener and the second threaded fastener configured to restrain longitudinal movement of the wheel hub disconnect cap.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wheel hub cap and shank in Zhang into an integral disconnect cap in view of AU and Gilcreast to reduce the number of separate components used to cover and disconnect hub from propulsion source which further reduces weight of system and increases efficiency of maintenance.
As to claim 2, Zhang 20220074489 in view of AU and Gilcrest further comprising a first slot in communication with the first through hole and a second slot in communication with the second through hole (areas surrounding 88 in AU and areas surrounding 26 in Gilcrest).
As to claim 9, Zhang 20220074489 in view of AU and Gilcrest further comprising a first threaded fastener (88 in AU and 26 in Gilcrest) passing through the wheel hub disconnect cap and a second threaded fastener (88 in AU and 26 in Gilcrest) passing through the wheel hub disconnect cap.
As to claim 10, Zhang 20220074489 in view of AU further comprising a wheel hub (30), the circular shank (72) inserted at least partially into the wheel hub via a through hole in the wheel hub.
As to claim 11, Zhang 20220074489 in view of AU further comprising a first bore hole in the wheel hub configured to receive the first threaded fastener, a second bore hole in the wheel hub configured to receive the second threaded fastener (Figure 2 shows bore holes within 30 where 88 is inserted into).
As to claim 16, Zhang discloses a wheel disconnect system, comprising: a wheel hub carrier (84; ([0058] and [0072] describe that 84 along with 98 can support a wheel); a wheel hub (outer side of 28) fastened to the wheel hub carrier; an electric machine ([0046]) fastened to the wheel hub carrier; and a wheel hub cap (160), the wheel hub cap covering a circular shank (102) that is longitudinally movable and rotatable relative to the wheel hub carrier to selectively engage and disengage the wheel hub carrier from the electric machine ([0068]-[0069], [0072]-[0073]). However, Zhang doesn’t disclose the cap being in the form of a disconnect cap comprising the shank and having a first through hole, and a second through hole.
AU discloses a wheel disconnect system, comprising: a wheel hub disconnect cap (all components within 90) fastened to a wheel hub (30) which is further fastened to a wheel hub carrier (area surrounding 36) wherein a propulsion source is fastened thereto (pages 3-4 in translation describe hydraulic motor), the wheel hub disconnect cap comprising a circular head (as shown in Figure 3) and a circular shank (72), the circular shank longitudinally movable and rotatable relative to a wheel hub cover (30) to selectively engage and disengage a wheel hub from a propulsion source (pages 3-4 in translation describe hydraulic motor), a first through hole (area surrounding 88), and a second through hole (area surrounding 88).
Gilcrest discloses a wheel disconnect system, comprising: a wheel hub disconnect cap (all components within 44) fastened to a wheel hub (18) which is further fastened to a wheel hub carrier (area surrounding 18) wherein a propulsion source is fastened thereto (column 2, lines 15-20 describe hydraulic motor), the wheel hub disconnect cap comprising a circular head (as shown in Figure 3) and a circular shank (50), the circular shank longitudinally movable and rotatable relative to a wheel hub cover (20) to selectively engage and disengage a wheel hub from a propulsion source (column 2, lines 15-20 describe hydraulic motor), a first through hole (area surrounding 26), and a second through hole (area surrounding 26).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wheel hub cap and shank in Zhang into an integral disconnect cap in view of AU and Gilcreast to reduce the number of separate components used to cover and disconnect hub from propulsion source which further reduces weight of system and increases efficiency of maintenance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record doesn’t disclose or render obvious a motivation to provide for:
-(as to claim 12) a method for constructing a wheel disconnect system by fastening a sun gear to a wheel hub disconnect cap; inserting the cap into a hub cover; installing a retaining ring to the cap to retain cap to cover and moving the cap in longitudinal direction relative to cover to selectively engage and disengage hub from a propulsion source and in combination with the limitations exactly as written in claim 12.
Claims 3-8 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record doesn’t disclose or render obvious a motivation to provide for:
-(as to claim 3 in combination with the limitations in claims 1 and 2 exactly as written)…….. a first counter bore adjacent to the first slot and a second counter bore adjacent to the second slot, the first counter bore and the second counter bore configured to provide a bearing surface for heads of the first threaded fastener and the second threaded fastener, respectively, to restrain longitudinal movement of the wheel hub disconnect cap.
-(as to claim 17 in combination with the limitations in claim 16 exactly as written)…….. a sun gear fastened to the wheel hub disconnect cap, and where the sun gear remains in contact with a rotor shaft of the electric machine when the wheel disconnect system is engaged and disengaged.
Conclusion
There is no additional prior art made of record and relied upon as the examiner considers the prior art used in the rejections above and previously, the most pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 September 28, 2026