DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant’s argument, filed on 07/30/2026 regarding rejection of claims 1 – 20, has been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
3. Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/30/2026 with respect to claims 1 - 20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new combinations of references including new prior arts being used in the current rejection. The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-14,16-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (KR 20250045359 A)hereinafter Bae/translated copy attached, in view of Lin et al. (US 20240236153 A1)hereinafter Lin and further in view of Muñoz De La Torre Alonso; Miguel Angel et al. (US 20220141662 A1) hereinafter Miguel
As to claim 1. Bae teaches A method, comprising: receiving, by a device, a request to create an Internet Protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) data channel for usage by an application that executes on a user equipment (UE); ([0008][0017][0100] In order to transmit value-added services using an IMS data channel within the network, the terminal transmits signaling information for data channel-based services to the network/base station, through a bootstrap data channel connection process; terminal transmit a SIP INVITE message containing request information for a video or audio session connection to a CSCF including a P-CSCF and an S-SCSF, etc. and bootstrap information for IMS data channel session connection also transmitted together within the SDP offer to request a service connection)
transmitting, by the device and based on the request, an inquiry;([0101][0102] [0103] IMS-AS, having received a bootstrap-related SDP offer message from the S-CSCF, can check with the HSS whether the UE (e.g., UE#1) or the subscriber can use the data channel service; If the service user can use the IMS data channel-based service, data channel bootstrapping can be performed by requesting a data channel call to the DCSF/no existing service, and if both parties support a data channel, CSCF may decide to transmit information for a bootstrap data channel connection to IMS-AS)
receiving, by the device, a response that indicates that ([0108]DCSF may transmit to the IMS-AS IMS event information and related subscriber information (e.g., including at least one of a Calling ID, DC stream ID, or Called ID) including at least one of an IMS Communication Service Identifier (ICSI), an IMS Application Reference Identifier, or Subscribed Supplementary services information in order to receive IMS event subscription information )
forwarding, by the device and based on the response, the request to create the IMS data channel; ([0112][0115] after IMS-AS receives the data channel media resource allocation result from MF, IMS-AS can forward the response to the MediaInstruction request (MediaControl_MediaInstruction) to DCSF; response message may include result information; DCSF can provide IMS-AS with a policy on how to create bootstrap data channels using MF on the originating and terminating side)
,receiving, by the device, an indication that the IMS data channel has been successfully created; ([0124] IMS-AS may receive a response message from DCSF regarding a notification of a successful session connection event.)
and forwarding, by the device, the indication that the IMS data channel has been successfully created. ([0124] And IMS-AS can send a 200 OK message to UE#1 containing Bootstrap-related SDP answer information indicating that the bootstrap data channel connection setup has been successfully completed.)
Bae does not teach as to whether the IMS data channel already exists for the UE; the IMS data channel does not already exist for the UE;
Lin teaches as to whether the IMS data channel already exists for the UE; ([0312][0333][0337] client initiates a call, and sends an invite request (INVITE) message , where the INVITE message is routed to the DCSS through a first proxy call session control function (P-CSCF) and a first serving call session control function (S-CSCF).;After the INVITE message is routed to S-CSCF, S-CSCF does not find UE that supports establishment of a data channel) the IMS data channel does not already exist for the UE; ([0312][0333][0337] client initiates a call, and sends an invite request (INVITE) message , where the INVITE message is routed to the DCSS through a first proxy call session control function (P-CSCF) and a first serving call session control function (S-CSCF).;After the INVITE message is routed to S-CSCF, S-CSCF does not find UE that supports establishment of a data channel)
based on the IMS data channel being successfully created ([0338]UE that supports a data channel needs to initiate a SIP registration to a network by using the data APN, and is authenticated by the network. Then UE can establish the IMS data channel )
that creates the IMS data channel([0338]UE that supports a data channel needs to initiate a SIP registration to a network by using the data APN, and is authenticated by the network. Then UE can establish the IMS data channel )
the usage of the IMS data channel by the application([0359] [0360]Fig. 10, ,data channel of multimedia telephony service for an IMS (DCMTSI) client, the DCMTSI client may negotiate with the DCSS about media description information for establishing a first media information application data channel, establish the first media information application data channel with the DCSS and transmit real-time interaction information)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lin with the teaching of Bae because Lin teaches determining that no data channel is established between the MTSI client and the DCSS would enable DMTSI client to negotiate with the DCSS about media description information for establishing a first media information application data channel with the DCSS, and to request establishment of a first video channel between the DCSS and the MTSI client.(Lin [0359]
The combination of Bae and Lin does not explicitly teach and transmitting, to an authentication and policy control server and, a request to install a policy on an IMS data channel server
wherein the policy defines a set of parameters for, and
wherein the policy is specific to the application.
Miguel teaches and transmitting, to an authentication and policy control server and, ,([0185]-[0191] Fig. 8, 801. UE 120, PDU session establishment may be triggered by sending a PDU session establishment request message to the AMF 130; 804, he SMF 140 may send an Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Create Request message towards PCF 110 comprising the UE-ID and the UE IP Address; he PCF 110 checks, such as determines, if the subscription policy data comprises any URSP and/or ATSSS rules with application and/or domain descriptors/authenticate and establish session).
a request to install a policy on an IMS data channel server that creates the IMS data channel([0192][0193][0194][0197 Fig. 8, 808. If the above check holds true, e.g. the PCF 110 determines that the subscription policy data comprises one or more URSP and/or ATSSS rules with application and/or domain descriptors, the PCF 110 may trigger a discovery procedure towards the UE; 809 UE 120 may answer the Discovery Request message by sending a Discovery Response message to the PCF; ; PCF 110 activates, and configures, the proxy server, such as e.g. the proxy server 121, by sending a Configuration Request message, such as e.g. the message requesting the UE 120 to activate the proxy server, to the UE 120)
wherein the policy defines a set of parameters for the usage of the IMS data channel by the application, ([0194] –[0196]Fig. 8, The discovery response message for UE include parameters: an indication of application awareness support. [0196] an indication of proxy server MASQUE functionality support)
wherein the policy is specific to the application.([0199] [0201]Fig. 8, A configuration related to the proxy server 121, such as e.g., MASQUEConfigInfo when the proxy server 121 is a MASQUE server. The configuration may comprise the private keys and certificates to be used by the proxy server 121, such as e.g., the MASQUE server, at UE 120; 812. The UE 120 activates and configures the proxy server 121, such as e.g., the MASQUE server, based on the received configuration message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Miguel with the teaching of Bae and Lin because Miguel teaches by activating the proxy server in the radio device thereby resulting in an efficient handling of policies and resulting in an improved performance of the communications network. (Miguel [0173])
Claim 9 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 2 the combination of Bae, Lin and Miguel specifically Bae teaches wherein the request to create the IMS data channel includes one or more requested characteristics, wherein the one or more requested characteristics are associated with one or more of: a bit rate, a jitter, a latency, or a quality of service (QoS). ([0035] in order to use a service utilizing a data channel-based application requiring very low latency, a low latency value required for the provision of said service is provided to a network upon a service connection request from a terminal or a service provider server)
Claim 10 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 3. the combination of Bae, Lin and Miguel specifically Lin teaches further comprising: transmitting, by the device and in response to the request to create the IMS data channel, signaling to confirm that the application is authorized to use the IMS data channel. ([0312][0338] , client initiates a call, and sends an invite request (INVITE) message 1, a SIP session used to negotiate an IMS data channel is carried on a data APN. Therefore, UE that supports a data channel needs to initiate a SIP registration to a network by using the data APN, and is authenticated by the network)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lin with the teaching of Bae, Miguel because Lin teaches determining that no data channel is established between the MTSI client and the DCSS would enable DMTSI client to negotiate with the DCSS about media description information for establishing a first media information application data channel with the DCSS, and to request establishment of a first video channel between the DCSS and the MTSI client.(Lin [0359]
As to claim 11. the combination of Bae, Lin and Miguel specifically Bae teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to([0200] network entity includes, the processor invoke the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory),
Bae does not teach transmit, in response to the request to create the IMS data channel, signaling to confirm that an application is authorized to use the IMS data channel.
Lin teaches transmit, in response to the request to create the IMS data channel, signaling to confirm that an application is authorized to use the IMS data channel. ([0338] , a SIP session used to negotiate an IMS data channel is carried on a data APN. Therefore, UE that supports a data channel needs to initiate a SIP registration to a network by using the data APN, and is authenticated by the network)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lin with the teaching of Bae, Miguel because Lin teaches determining that no data channel is established between the MTSI client and the DCSS would enable DMTSI client to negotiate with the DCSS about media description information for establishing a first media information application data channel with the DCSS, and to request establishment of a first video channel between the DCSS and the MTSI client.(Lin [0359]
As to claim 4 the combination of Bae, Lin and Miguel specifically Bae teaches further comprising: transmitting, by the device and based on the IMS data channel being successfully created, ([0124] And IMS-AS can send a 200 OK message to UE#1 containing Bootstrap-related SDP answer information indicating that the bootstrap data channel connection setup has been successfully completed.)
a request to install a policy on an IMS data channel server that creates the IMS data channel ([0105] [0112]DCSF, having received a DC control request for an IMS-DC service connection from IMS-AS, can make a policy decision regarding the bootstrap data channel based on the relevant parameters (e.g., at least one of CallingID, CalledID, or DC Stream ID) within the DC control request message and the DCSF service policy.)
wherein the policy defines a set of parameters for the usage of the IMS data channel by the application, and the policy is specific to the application. ([0143] the DCSF decide to request IMS event subscription information from the originating network side, taking into account the application data connection type and policies and requirements related to the data channel application; relevant parameters within the DC control request message, DCSF determine to provide application-related information to support data channel services to the data channel application server ; IMS data channel service utilizing information related to IMS events based on information of a terminal (e.g., including at least one of a Calling ID or a DC stream ID) or information of a receiving side (e.g., a Called ID) to the DCSF).
As to claim 12. . the combination of Bae, Lin and Miguel specifically Bae teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: ([0200], network entity includes, the processor invoke the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory),
transmit, based on the IMS data channel being successfully created, ([0124] And IMS-AS can send a 200 OK message to UE#1 containing Bootstrap-related SDP answer information indicating that the bootstrap data channel connection setup has been successfully completed.)
a request to install a policy on an IMS data channel server that creates the IMS data channel, ([0105] [0112]DCSF, having received a DC control request for an IMS-DC service connection from IMS-AS, can make a policy decision regarding the bootstrap data channel based on the relevant parameters (e.g., at least one of CallingID, CalledID, or DC Stream ID) within the DC control request message and the DCSF service policy.)
wherein the policy defines a set of parameters for the usage of the IMS data channel by an application, and the policy is specific to the application. ([0143] the DCSF decide to request IMS event subscription information from the originating network side, taking into account the application data connection type and policies and requirements related to the data channel application; relevant parameters within the DC control request message, DCSF determine to provide application-related information to support data channel services to the data channel application server ; IMS data channel service utilizing information related to IMS events based on information of a terminal (e.g., including at least one of a Calling ID or a DC stream ID) or information of a receiving side (e.g., a Called ID) to the DCSF).
As to claim 5. the combination of Bae, Lin and Miguel specifically Bae teaches, wherein the IMS data channel facilitates communications between the application and an application server. ([0141] the DCSF, having received information including the media change request event, can recognize, based on the application-related binding information, that when using the IMS data channel service through the data channel application, it is necessary to transmit IMS event subscription information to the data channel application server)
Claim 13 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
As to claim 6. the combination of Bae, Lin and Miguel specifically Bae teaches, wherein the application is a first application and the UE is a first UE, and the IMS data channel facilitates communications between the first application and a second application that executes on a second UE. ([0128][0193] DCSF can provide an application list or appropriate data applications to UE#1 and UE#2 ; application data channel connection considering the P2A connection type, so that UE #1 can use audio or video related IMS call sessions with UE #2, while simultaneously using the data channel application server, MDC2, and the application data channel to use IMS data channel related services.)
Claim 14 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
As to claim 8. the combination of Bae, Lin and Miguel specifically Bae teaches further comprising: controlling, by the device, applications that are able to access IMS data channel services based on one or more of: an application authentication, an application authorization, or a policy enforcement. ([0045] PCF entity (106) receives information about packet flow from application server and provides the function of determining policies such as mobility management and session management; specifically, the PCF entity (106) supports functions such as supporting a unified policy framework for controlling network operations, providing policy rules so that control plane function entity(s) (e.g., AMF entity, SMF entity, etc.) can enforce policy rules)
As to claim 16. the combination of Bae, Lin and Miguel specifically Bae teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: ([0200], network entity includes, the processor invoke the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory),
control applications that are able to access IMS data channel services based on one or more of: an application authentication, an application authorization, or a policy enforcement. ([0045] PCF entity (106) receives information about packet flow from application server and provides the function of determining policies such as mobility management and session management; specifically, the PCF entity (106) supports functions such as supporting a unified policy framework for controlling network operations, providing policy rules so that control plane function entity(s) (e.g., AMF entity, SMF entity, etc.) can enforce policy rules)
As to claim 17. the combination of Bae, Lin and Miguel specifically Bae teaches, wherein the device is associated with an IMS exposure function, and the IMS exposure function is associated with an IMS data channel server. ([0111] the DCSF may transmit the IMS event subscription information received from the data channel application server to the NEF and/or DC-AS based on the IMS event subscription information and related information received from the IMS-AS; the DCSF can transmit IMS event subscription information to the NEF through the DC3 interface and transmit initial IMS event subscription information to the data channel application server through the N33 interface.)
As to claim 18. Bae teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device to: ([0200], network entity includes, the processor invoke the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory),
receive a request to create an Internet Protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) data channel for usage by an application that executes on a user equipment (UE); [0008][0017][0100] In order to transmit value-added services using an IMS data channel within the network, the terminal transmits signaling information for data channel-based services to the network/base station, through a bootstrap data channel connection process; terminal transmit a SIP INVITE message containing request information for a video or audio session connection to a CSCF including a P-CSCF and an S-SCSF, etc. and bootstrap information for IMS data channel session connection also transmitted together within the SDP offer to request a service connection)
transmit, based on the request, an inquiry ;([0101][0102] [0103] IMS-AS, having received a bootstrap-related SDP offer message from the S-CSCF, can check with the HSS whether the UE (e.g., UE#1) or the subscriber can use the data channel service; If the service user can use the IMS data channel-based service, data channel bootstrapping can be performed by requesting a data channel call to the DCSF/no existing service, and if both parties support a data channel, CSCF may decide to transmit information for a bootstrap data channel connection to IMS-AS)
receive a response that indicates that ([0108]the DCSF may transmit to the IMS-AS IMS event information and related subscriber information (e.g., including at least one of a Calling ID, DC stream ID, or Called ID) including at least one of an IMS Communication Service Identifier (ICSI), an IMS Application Reference Identifier, or Subscribed Supplementary services information in order to receive IMS event subscription information.)
forward, based on the response, the request to create the IMS data channel; ([0112][0115] after IMS-AS receives the data channel media resource allocation result from MF, IMS-AS can forward the response to the MediaInstruction request (MediaControl_MediaInstruction) to DCSF; response message may include result information; DCSF can provide IMS-AS with a policy on how to create bootstrap data channels using MF on the originating and terminating side)
receive an indication that the IMS data channel has been successfully created; ([0124] IMS-AS may receive a response message from DCSF regarding a notification of a successful session connection event.)and forward the indication that the IMS data channel has been successfully created. ([0124] And IMS-AS can send a 200 OK message to UE#1 containing Bootstrap-related SDP answer information indicating that the bootstrap data channel connection setup has been successfully completed.)
Bae does not teach as to whether the IMS data channel already exists for the UE; the IMS data channel does not already exist for the UE;
Lin teaches as to whether the IMS data channel already exists for the UE ([0312][0333][0337] client initiates a call, and sends an invite request (INVITE) message , where the INVITE message is routed to the DCSS through a first proxy call session control function (P-CSCF) and a first serving call session control function (S-CSCF).;After the INVITE message is routed to S-CSCF, S-CSCF does not find UE that supports establishment of a data channel) the IMS data channel does not already exist for the UE; ([0312][0333][0337] client initiates a call, and sends an invite request (INVITE) message , where the INVITE message is routed to the DCSS through a first proxy call session control function (P-CSCF) and a first serving call session control function (S-CSCF).;After the INVITE message is routed to S-CSCF, S-CSCF does not find UE that supports establishment of a data channel)
based on the IMS data channel being successfully created ([0338]UE that supports a data channel needs to initiate a SIP registration to a network by using the data APN, and is authenticated by the network. Then UE can establish the IMS data channel )
that creates the IMS data channel([0338]UE that supports a data channel needs to initiate a SIP registration to a network by using the data APN, and is authenticated by the network. Then UE can establish the IMS data channel )
the usage of the IMS data channel by the application([0359] [0360]Fig. 10, ,data channel of multimedia telephony service for an IMS (DCMTSI) client, the DCMTSI client may negotiate with the DCSS about media description information for establishing a first media information application data channel, establish the first media information application data channel with the DCSS and transmit real-time interaction information)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lin with the teaching of Bae because Lin teaches determining that no data channel is established between the MTSI client and the DCSS would enable DMTSI client to negotiate with the DCSS about media description information for establishing a first media information application data channel with the DCSS, and to request establishment of a first video channel between the DCSS and the MTSI client.(Lin [0359])
The combination Of Bae and Lin does not teach and transmit, to a control server and, a request to install a policy on an IMS data channel
wherein the policy defines a set of parameters for, and
wherein the policy is specific to the application..
Miguel teaches and transmitting, to an authentication and policy control server and, ,([0185]-[0191] Fig. 8, 801. UE 120, PDU session establishment may be triggered by sending a PDU session establishment request message to the AMF 130; 804, he SMF 140 may send an Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Create Request message towards PCF 110 comprising the UE-ID and the UE IP Address; he PCF 110 checks, such as determines, if the subscription policy data comprises any URSP and/or ATSSS rules with application and/or domain descriptors/authenticate and establish session).
a request to install a policy on an IMS data channel server ([0192][0193][0194][0197] Fig. 8, 808. If the above check holds true, e.g. the PCF 110 determines that the subscription policy data comprises one or more URSP and/or ATSSS rules with application and/or domain descriptors, the PCF 110 may trigger a discovery procedure towards the UE; 809 UE 120 may answer the Discovery Request message by sending a Discovery Response message to the PCF; ; PCF 110 activates, and configures, the proxy server, such as e.g. the proxy server 121, by sending a Configuration Request message, such as e.g. the message requesting the UE 120 to activate the proxy server, to the UE 120)
wherein the policy defines a set of parameters for ([0194] –[0197]Fig. 8, The discovery response message for UE include parameters: an indication of application awareness support. [0196] an indication of proxy server MASQUE functionality support)
wherein the policy is specific to the application.([0199] [0201]Fig. 8, A configuration related to the proxy server 121, such as e.g., MASQUEConfigInfo when the proxy server 121 is a MASQUE server. The configuration may comprise the private keys and certificates to be used by the proxy server 121, such as e.g., the MASQUE server, at UE 120; 812. The UE 120 activates and configures the proxy server 121, such as e.g., the MASQUE server, based on the received configuration message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Miguel with the teaching of Bae and Lin because Miguel teaches by activating the proxy server in the radio device thereby resulting in an efficient handling of policies and resulting in an improved performance of the communications network. (Miguel [0173])
As to claim 20. the combination of Bae, Lin and Miguel specifically Bae teaches wherein: the request to create the IMS data channel includes one or more requested characteristics, wherein the one or more requested characteristics are associated with one or more of: a bit rate, a jitter, a latency, or a quality of service (QoS); ([0035] in order to use a service utilizing a data channel-based application requiring very low latency, a low latency value required for the provision of said service is provided to a network upon a service connection request from a terminal or a service provider server)
the IMS data channel facilitates communications between the application and an application server; ([0141] the DCSF, having received information including the media change request event, can recognize, based on the application-related binding information, that when using the IMS data channel service through the data channel application, it is necessary to transmit IMS event subscription information to the data channel application server)
the application is a first application and the UE is a first UE, and the IMS data channel facilitates communications between the first application and a second application that executes on a second UE; ([0128][0193] DCSF can provide an application list or appropriate data applications to UE#1 and UE#2 ; application data channel connection considering the P2A connection type, so that UE #1 can use audio or video related IMS call sessions with UE #2, while simultaneously using the data channel application server, MDC2, and the application data channel to use IMS data channel related services.) or
the device is associated with an IMS exposure function, and the IMS exposure function is associated with an IMS data channel server.
Claim(s) 7 , 15, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae, Lin and Miguel and further in view of Nimmala et al. (US 20210136849 A1)hereinafter Nimmala
As to claim 7. the combination of Bae, Lin and Miguel does not teach further comprising: transmitting, by the device, per-application usage reporting of the IMS data channel to a billing and charging function.
Nimmala teaches further comprising: transmitting, by the device, per-application usage reporting of the IMS data channel to a billing and charging function. (0045] Fig. 4A, Fig. 11B, . At 1166, SMF2 410-2 provides to SMF1 410-1 via an N16 interface an accumulated data usage report regarding data bytes consumed (and/or time accumulated) by the tunneled internet data PDU session; accumulated data usage report can be communicated between SMFs At 1168, SMF1 410-1 forwards to the PCF 712-1 of NW1 the accumulated data usage report of data bytes consumed and/or time accumulated for counting/billing purposes. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nimmala with the teaching of Bae, Lin and Miguel because Nimmala teaches , per-application usage reporting of the IMS data channel would provide greater power efficiency in a single-radio, multiple SIM/eSIM wireless device than a multiple SIM, multiple active (MSMA) wireless device that uses multiple parallel cellular wireless radios. (Nimmala [0033])
As to claim 15. the combination Bae, Lin and Miguel specifically Bae teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: ([0200], network entity includes, the processor invoke the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory),
the combination of Bae, Lin and Miguel does not teach transmit per-application usage reporting of the IMS data channel to a billing and charging function.
Nimmala teaches further comprising: transmitting, by the device, per-application usage reporting of the IMS data channel to a billing and charging function (0045] Fig. 4A, Fig. 11B, . At 1166, SMF2 410-2 provides to SMF1 410-1 via an N16 interface an accumulated data usage report regarding data bytes consumed (and/or time accumulated) by the tunneled internet data PDU session; accumulated data usage report can be communicated between SMFs At 1168, SMF1 410-1 forwards to the PCF 712-1 of NW1 the accumulated data usage report of data bytes consumed and/or time accumulated for counting/billing purposes. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nimmala with the teaching of Bae, Lin and Miguel because Nimmala teaches , per-application usage reporting of the IMS data channel would provide greater power efficiency in a single-radio, multiple SIM/eSIM wireless device than a multiple SIM, multiple active (MSMA) wireless device that uses multiple parallel cellular wireless radios. (Nimmala [0033])
As to claim 19. the combination of Bae, Lin and Miguel specifically Bae teaches wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the device to: : ([0200], network entity includes, the processor invoke the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory),
transmit, based on the IMS data channel being successfully created, ([0124] And IMS-AS can send a 200 OK message to UE#1 containing Bootstrap-related SDP answer information indicating that the bootstrap data channel connection setup has been successfully completed.)a request to install a policy on an IMS data channel server that creates the IMS data channel, ([0105] [0112]DCSF, having received a DC control request for an IMS-DC service connection from IMS-AS, can make a policy decision regarding the bootstrap data channel based on the relevant parameters (e.g., at least one of CallingID, CalledID, or DC Stream ID) within the DC control request message and the DCSF service policy.)
wherein the policy defines a set of parameters for the usage of the IMS data channel by the application([0143] the DCSF decide to request IMS event subscription information from the originating network side, taking into account the application data connection type and policies and requirements related to the data channel application; relevant parameters within the DC control request message, DCSF determine to provide application-related information to support data channel services to the data channel application server ; IMS data channel service utilizing information related to IMS events based on information of a terminal (e.g., including at least one of a Calling ID or a DC stream ID) or information of a receiving side (e.g., a Called ID) to the DCSF).
and the policy is specific to the application; ([0190][0191] he P-CSCF may forward application data channel information in the SDP Answer for QoS allocation to the PCF based on the information in the 200 OK message so that appropriate QoS can be allocated.)
Bae does not teach transmit, in response to the request to create the IMS data channel, signaling to confirm that the application is authorized to use the IMS data channel;
transmit per-application usage reporting of the IMS data channel to a billing and charging function; or
control applications that are able to access IMS data channel services based on one or more of: an application authentication, an application authorization, or a policy enforcement.
Lin teaches transmit, in response to the request to create the IMS data channel, signaling to confirm that the application is authorized to use the IMS data channel; ([0312][0338] , client initiates a call, and sends an invite request (INVITE) message 1; a SIP session used to negotiate an IMS data channel is carried on a data APN. Therefore, UE that supports a data channel needs to initiate a SIP registration to a network by using the data APN, and is authenticated by the network)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lin with the teaching of Bae, Miguel because Lin teaches determining that no data channel is established between the MTSI client and the DCSS would enable DMTSI client to negotiate with the DCSS about media description information for establishing a first media information application data channel with the DCSS, and to request establishment of a first video channel between the DCSS and the MTSI client.(Lin [0359]
The combination of Bae, Lin and Miguel does not teach transmit per-application usage reporting of the IMS data channel to a billing and charging function; or
control applications that are able to access IMS data channel services based on one or more of: an application authentication, an application authorization, or a policy enforcement.
Nimmala teaches transmit per-application usage reporting of the IMS data channel to a billing and charging function; (0045] Fig. 4A, Fig. 11B, . At 1166, SMF2 410-2 provides to SMF1 410-1 via an N16 interface an accumulated data usage report regarding data bytes consumed (and/or time accumulated) by the tunneled internet data PDU session; accumulated data usage report can be communicated between SMFs At 1168, SMF1 410-1 forwards to the PCF 712-1 of NW1 the accumulated data usage report of data bytes consumed and/or time accumulated for counting/billing purposes. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nimmala with the teaching of Bae, Lin and Miguel because Nimmala teaches , per-application usage reporting of the IMS data channel would provide greater power efficiency in a single-radio, multiple SIM/eSIM wireless device than a multiple SIM, multiple active (MSMA) wireless device that uses multiple parallel cellular wireless radios. (Nimmala [0033])
or
control applications that are able to access IMS data channel services based on one or more of: an application authentication, an application authorization, or a policy enforcement.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Doets; Peter-Jan et al. [US 20120185906 A1] Scalable Video Controls Bandwidth Allocation to Data Services
PARK; Sangmin et al. [US 20200137675 A1] METHOD FOR REGISTERING TERMINAL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM AND APPARATUS THEREFOR
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413