DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In the claims 17 automated system is not defined. The examiner within light of specification understands claim to be: a controller that sends signals to the apparatus which controls operations of said apparatus.
In the claims 18 contactless system is not defined. The examiner within light of specification understands claim to be: “a contactless system refers to non-contact of the CRO pump to either the first liquid or the second liquid” (Page 5 of specification section 0030)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20-- is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2019/0127236 A1) in view of Tanabe et al. (US 5833846 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a water filtration system (Page 1 section 0002), comprising a pressure energy transformer (PET) module (Page 4 section 0038, Fig 2 element 210), a contactless reverse osmosis (CRO) pump (Fig 1 element 170), a microcontroller (Fig 4 element 170), a first reservoir configured for containing a first liquid (Fig 1 element 110), a second reservoir configured for containing a second liquid (Fig 1 element 150) but fails to teach a third reservoir configured for containing a third liquid.
However, Tanabe teaches a third reservoir configured for containing a third liquid (Fig 1 element 107) in a water filtration system similar to Zhou.
Zhou and Tanabe are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of water purifications apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a simple addition of a third reservoir containing a third liquid as suggested by Tanabe in Zhou invention because combination of 3 water purification reservoirs is expected to work similar to 2 reservoirs. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious to yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Regarding claim 2, the combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the first liquid is rainwater. (Page 3 section 0032, The water intake tank couples to receive water input from a water resource 102, such as from a water well, or a rain water.
Regarding claim 3, the combinations of Zhou in view of Tanabe teaches wherein the second liquid is potable water, wherein the potable water is processed from the rainwater, "The water intake tank couples to receive water input from a water resource 102, such as from a water well, or a rain water” (Page 3 section 0032).
Regarding claim 4, the combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the third liquid is water, and wherein the water is deionized water (Tanabe, Fig 1 element 107).--
Therefore, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a simple addition of a reservoir of deionized water of Tanabe because combination of both water purification would work together as they do separately. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does not do more than yield predictable results as discussed earlier.
Regarding claim 5, the combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the water filter is a reverse osmosis (RO) filter (Zhou Fig 1 element 144).
Regarding claim 6, The combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the water filter is configured to convert the first liquid into the second liquid (Zhou Fig 1 element 110,122,132,140,150. See above).
Regarding claim 7, The combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the PET module is coupled to the water filter (Zhou Fig 1 element 170 and 144).
Regarding claim 8, The combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the PET modules configured to reduce water pressure in the water filtration system (Zhou Fig 4 element 210, 120 and Page 4 section 0040).
Regarding claim 9, The combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the CRO pump is coupled to the water filter (Zhou Fig 1 element 140, 158, 170)
Regarding claim 10, The combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the CRO pump is coupled to the microcontroller (Zhou Fig 4 element 170 and 120).
Regarding claim 11, The combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches the water filtration system in claim 1, wherein the CRO pump does not contact the first liquid (Zhou Fig 1 Element 158).
Regarding claim 12, The combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the CRO pump does not contact the second liquid (Zhou Fig 1 element 158).
Regarding claim 13, The combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the first reservoir comprises a first sensor and a second sensor (Zhou Fig 2 element 114 118 116).
Regarding claim 14, The combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the second reservoir comprises a third sensor and a fourth sensor (Zhou Fig 3 elements 154 and 156).
Regarding claim 15, The combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches the water filtration system in claim 1, wherein the water filtration system further comprises an input for a renewable energy source, wherein the input for a renewable energy source comprises one or more solar panel (Zhou Page 2 section 0013)
Regarding claim 16, The combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the water filtration system further comprises a battery (Zhou Fig 4 element 220).
Regarding claim 17, The combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the water filtration system is a portable system (Zhou Page 0044).
Regarding claim 18, The combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the water filtration system is an automated system (Zhou page 4 section 0048 and Fig 4 210), a controller may receive information for controlling the water input values and implementing applicable water treatment process.
Regarding claim 19, The combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the water filtration system is a contactless system (Zhou Fig 1 element 158).
Regarding claim 20, The combinations of Zhou in the view of Tanabe teaches wherein the water filtration system is configured to provide contactless energy transfer, “The whole water treatment system is powered by a solar panel based power supply comprising a solar panel array and a battery bank.” (Zhou Page 2 section 0013). The system is configured to provide contactless energy transfer as claimed, as the system has a solar panel, which absorbs energy from the sun without contact (absorbs photons) and converts that into electrical energy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hassanzadeh et al (Patent Application Publication US 2021/0147271 Al) teaches the PET module is coupled to the water filter.
/KYLE HARRISON SHIPMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/PREM C SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1771