DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 7-11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed recitation of a use, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e., results in a claim which is not a proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1 appears to be non-Eligible subject matter under 101 for the following reason: Step-2A Analysis – Well know device used with mathematical calculation is disclosed by the combination of prior art LEMON et al. (US 2014/0027087) in view of Mancini et al. (US 2019/0070924 A1). Step-2B analysis – Well known device is used to apply mathematical calculation by using the steps of “the "controller adapted to minimize energy usage" limitation is construed to encompass merely abstract mathematical optimization methods that are not integrated into a practical application. The claim language reciting "minimizing a respective load", "maximizing the respective load," and "maintaining a threshold suction pressure" may be interpreted as directed to abstract mathematical concepts (optimization algorithms) without sufficient structural integration” which is directed to mathematical calculation or mental process that is not affecting or impacting the system. –
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112
Claims 1-10 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recited the limitation "a threshold suction pressure". The claim does not define the threshold value, how it is determined, or whether it is a fixed or dynamic value. The boundaries of this term are unclear to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 1 recited the limitation "minimizing" and "maximizing". These terms, as used in the claim, are unclear whether they refer to absolute optimization or a relative control preference (e.g., prioritization). Without further context or claim support, the scope of these terms is indefinite.
Claim 1 recited the limitation "downstream of". While directional terms in fluidic systems are generally understood, applicant should confirm whether "downstream" is defined with reference to coolant flow direction under normal operating conditions, given the one or more valves may redirect flow to alter the coolant pathway.
Claim 3 recited the limitation "between −5 degrees Celsius and −9 degrees Celsius" is ambiguous as to whether the endpoints are included or excluded, as the term "between" is not further defined in the specification. Applicant is invited to clarify whether the range is inclusive (e.g., "from −5°C to −9°C") or exclusive of the endpoints, and to confirm support in the specification for the claimed range.
claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as indefinite, for the same reasons stated with respect to claim 3 regarding endpoint ambiguity of "between" ranges, and additionally because the term "target load for the compressor" expressed in RPM introduces ambiguity as to whether the target is a commanded RPM setpoint, a measured speed, or a control variable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
A patent for a claimed invention depends on may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1 and 4-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over LEMON et al. (US 2014/0027087) in view of Mancini et al. (US 2019/0070924 A1).
In regards to claim 1, LEMON discloses a thermal management system (Fig. 1) for an electric vehicle (vehicle 10), the system comprising: a coolant loop (coolant loop 16) having a pump (a coolant pump 42) configured to circulate a coolant (a coolant liquid 17) in the coolant loop (16) and one or more valves (coolant routing valve 48); a controller (a controller 68) adapted to control a respective position of the one or more valves (48) for modifying a coolant pathway (three different branches; par. 19), the controller (68) having a processor and tangible, non-transitory memory on which instructions are recorded (pars. 20 and 25); a coolant-to-refrigerant (C2R) heat exchanger (a chiller or refrigerant-to-coolant heat exchanger 38) fluidly connected to the coolant loop (16) and a refrigerant loop (a refrigerant loop 14), the C2R heat exchanger (38) being configured to transfer heat between the coolant (17) circulating in the coolant loop (16) and a refrigerant (a refrigerant 15) circulating in the refrigerant loop (14); a low-temperature radiator (radiator 52) located in the coolant loop (16) downstream of the C2R heat exchanger (38); a compressor (a refrigerant compressor 18) located in the refrigerant loop (14) and a coolant heater (electric coolant heater 46) located in the coolant loop (16) downstream of the low-temperature radiator (52).
LEMON fails to explicitly teach the low-temperature radiator being adapted to extract heat from ambient air to warm the coolant when a coolant temperature is lower than an ambient temperature; wherein the controller is adapted to minimize energy usage for cabin heating in the electric vehicle by minimizing a respective load of the coolant heater, maximizing the respective load of the compressor, and maintaining a threshold suction pressure for compressor operation.
Mancini teaches a thermal management system (Figs. 11-14) wherein the low-temperature radiator (radiator 236) being adapted to extract heat from ambient air to warm the coolant when a coolant temperature is lower than an ambient temperature (refer to pars. 108-109 and 111); wherein the controller (vehicle controller) is adapted to minimize energy usage for cabin heating (reduces the advective heat load on the cabin; par. 125) in the electric vehicle by minimizing a respective load of the coolant heater, maximizing the respective load of the compressor, and maintaining a threshold suction pressure for compressor operation (refer to par. 142).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LEMON such that the low-temperature radiator being adapted to extract heat from ambient air to warm the coolant when a coolant temperature is lower than an ambient temperature; wherein the controller is adapted to minimize energy usage for cabin heating in the electric vehicle by minimizing a respective load of the coolant heater, maximizing the respective load of the compressor, and maintaining a threshold suction pressure for compressor operation as taught by Mancini to improve overall heating and running at a higher suction pressure with more electrical waste heat make-up (quieter) (par. 146 of Mancini).
In regards to claim 4, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Mancini further teaches wherein the controller (control electronics 212) is adapted to: direct the coolant path to flow through the low-temperature radiator (236) when the coolant temperature at a respective inlet of the low-temperature radiator (236) is less than the ambient temperature (modestly cold; pars. 109 and 123); and direct the coolant path to bypass (line 351) the low-temperature radiator (236) when the coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the low-temperature radiator is at or above the ambient temperature (refer to pars. 62, 87, 108).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LEMON such that the controller is adapted to: direct the coolant path to flow through the low-temperature radiator when the coolant temperature at a respective inlet of the low-temperature radiator is less than the ambient temperature; and direct the coolant path to bypass the low-temperature radiator when the coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the low-temperature radiator is at or above the ambient temperature as taught by Mancini to improve overall heating and running at a higher suction pressure with more electrical waste heat make-up (quieter) (par. 146 of Mancini).
In regards to claim 5, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller is adapted to: increase a compressor load if a low-side refrigerant pressure is at or above the threshold suction pressure; and decrease the compressor load if the low-side refrigerant pressure is below the threshold suction pressure.
Mancini does however teach If the isentropic efficiency of the compressor 214 could be adjusted dynamically, it would enable the maximum electrical power to be drawn for a given suction state by driving the cycle to simultaneous high and low-side limits, or internal compressor 214 component limits (motor stator/rotor, inverter) (refer to par. 143). Therefore, the lower side suction pressure with the respective to compressor output is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is leveraging the compressor 214 as a high voltage heater mode and maximizes the heating power for a given suction side state. (refer to par. 143). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the lower side suction pressure with the respective to compressor output and design factors involved, were disclosed in the prior art by Mancini, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Hartfield, by setting the controller is adapted to: increase a compressor load if a low-side refrigerant pressure is at or above the threshold suction pressure; and decrease the compressor load if the low-side refrigerant pressure is below the threshold suction pressure.
In regards to claim 6, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, LEMON teaches further comprising: a rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) section (a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS such as a battery pack 44) located in the coolant loop (16) downstream of the low-temperature radiator (52), the RESS section (44) having a traction battery pack.
Mancini further teaches the controller (control electronics 212) being adapted to: direct the coolant path to flow through the RESS section (battery system 106) when the coolant temperature at a respective inlet of the RESS section (106) is less than a RESS temperature (refer to pars. 71-74), the coolant receiving heat from the RESS section; and direct the coolant path to bypass the RESS section when the coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the RESS section is at or above the RESS temperature (refer to pars. 71 -74).
In regards to claim 7, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the threshold suction pressure is between 120 and 140 Kilopascals, and a target load for the compressor is between 4000 and 5000 revolutions-per-minute.
Mancini does however teach If the isentropic efficiency of the compressor 214 could be adjusted dynamically, it would enable the maximum electrical power to be drawn for a given suction state by driving the cycle to simultaneous high and low-side limits, or internal compressor 214 component limits (motor stator/rotor, inverter) (refer to par. 143). Therefore, the lower side suction pressure with the respective to compressor output is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is leveraging the compressor 214 as a high voltage heater mode and maximizes the heating power for a given suction side state. (refer to par. 143). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the lower side suction pressure with the respective to compressor output and design factors involved, were disclosed in the prior art by Mancini, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Hartfield, by setting the threshold suction pressure to be between 120 and 140 Kilopascals, and a target load for the compressor to be between 4000 and 5000 revolutions-per-minute.
In regards to claim 8, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Mancini teaches further comprising: a power electronics (PE) section (power conversion electronics 304) located in the coolant loop (coolant loop 206) downstream of the low-temperature radiator (236); and wherein the controller (control electronics 212) is adapted to: direct the coolant path to flow through the PE section (304) when the coolant temperature at a respective inlet of the PE section (304) is less than a PE section temperature, the coolant receiving heat from the PE section (pars. 62, 71, 74 and 84); and direct the coolant path to bypass the PE section when the coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the PE section is at or above the PE section temperature (pars. 62, 71, 74 and 84).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LEMON such that further comprising: a power electronics (PE) section located in the coolant loop downstream of the low-temperature radiator; and wherein the controller is adapted to: direct the coolant path to flow through the PE section when the coolant temperature at a respective inlet of the PE section is less than a PE section temperature, the coolant receiving heat from the PE section; and direct the coolant path to bypass the PE section when the coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the PE section is at or above the PE section temperature as taught by Mancini to improve overall heating and running at a higher suction pressure with more electrical waste heat make-up (quieter) (par. 146 of Mancini).
In regards to claim 9, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Mancini teaches further comprising: a surge tank (reservoir 344) adapted to store additional coolant (implicit), the controller (control electronics 212) being adapted to selectively draw the additional coolant (implicit) into the coolant loop (204 and 206).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LEMON such that further comprising: a surge tank adapted to store additional coolant, the controller being adapted to selectively draw the additional coolant into the coolant loop as taught by Mancini to improve overall heating and running at a higher suction pressure with more electrical waste heat make-up (quieter) (par. 146 of Mancini).
In regards to claim 10, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Mancini teaches further comprising: a condensing heater (a condenser 20 of LEMON and a cabin condenser 216 of Mancini) located in the refrigerant loop (loop 14 of LEMON and refrigerant loop of Mancini) downstream of the compressor (compressor 18 of LEMON and compressor 214 of Mancini), the condensing heater being adapted to transmit heat to a vehicle cabin (par. 123 of Mancini).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LEMON such that a condensing heater located in the refrigerant loop downstream of the compressor, the condensing heater being adapted to transmit heat to a vehicle cabin as taught by Mancini to improve overall heating and running at a higher suction pressure with more electrical waste heat make-up (quieter) (par. 146 of Mancini).
In regards to claim 11, LEMON discloses a method for thermal management (Fig. 1) in an electric vehicle (vehicle 10) having a coolant loop (coolant loop 16) and a controller (a controller 68) with a processor and tangible, non-transitory memory (pars. 20 and 25), the method comprising: circulating a coolant (a coolant liquid 17) in the coolant loop (16) via a pump (a coolant pump 42), the coolant loop (16) having one or more valves (coolant routing valve 48); modifying a coolant pathway (three different branches; par. 19) by controlling a respective position of the one or more valves (48), via the controller (68); transferring heat between the coolant (17) circulating in the coolant loop (16) and a refrigerant (a refrigerant 15) circulating in a refrigerant loop (a refrigerant loop 14) through a coolant-to-refrigerant (C2R) heat exchanger (a chiller or refrigerant-to-coolant heat exchanger 38) fluidly connected to the coolant loop (16) and the refrigerant loop (14); a low-temperature radiator (radiator 52) located in the coolant loop downstream of the C2R heat exchanger (38); positioning a coolant heater (electric coolant heater 46) in the coolant loop (16) downstream of the low-temperature radiator (52) and positioning a compressor (a refrigerant compressor 18) in the refrigerant loop (14).
LEMON fails to explicitly teach extracting heat from ambient air to warm the coolant when a coolant temperature is lower than an ambient temperature through a low-temperature radiator; minimizing energy usage for cabin heating in the electric vehicle by minimizing a respective load of the coolant heater, maximizing the respective load of the compressor, and maintaining a threshold suction pressure for compressor operation, via the controller.
Mancini teaches a thermal management system and method (Figs. 11-14) wherein
extracting heat from ambient air to warm the coolant when a coolant temperature is lower than an ambient temperature through the low-temperature radiator (radiator 236) (refer to pars. 108-109 and 111); wherein the controller (vehicle controller) is minimizing energy usage for cabin heating (reduces the advective heat load on the cabin; par. 125) in the electric vehicle by minimizing a respective load of the coolant heater, maximizing the respective load of the compressor, and maintaining a threshold suction pressure for compressor operation (refer to par. 142), via the controller (vehicle controller).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of LEMON such that extracting heat from ambient air to warm the coolant when a coolant temperature is lower than an ambient temperature through a low-temperature radiator; minimizing energy usage for cabin heating in the electric vehicle by minimizing a respective load of the coolant heater, maximizing the respective load of the compressor, and maintaining a threshold suction pressure for compressor operation, via the controller as taught by Mancini to improve overall heating and running at a higher suction pressure with more electrical waste heat make-up (quieter) (par. 146 of Mancini).
In regards to claim 12, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 11, but fails to explicitly teach further comprising: identifying a target temperature for the coolant at a respective inlet of the C2R heat exchanger in response to input signals indicative of a demand for the cabin heating, the target temperature being between -5 degrees Celsius and -9 degrees Celsius; and increasing the respective load of the coolant when a coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the C2R heat exchanger is at or above the target temperature.
Mancini does however teach If the isentropic efficiency of the compressor 214 could be adjusted dynamically, it would enable the maximum electrical power to be drawn for a given suction state by driving the cycle to simultaneous high and low-side limits, or internal compressor 214 component limits (motor stator/rotor, inverter) (refer to par. 143). Therefore, the lower side suction pressure with the respective to compressor output is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is leveraging the compressor 214 as a high voltage heater mode and maximizes the heating power for a given suction side state. (refer to par. 143). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the lower side suction pressure with the respective to compressor output and design factors involved, were disclosed in the prior art by Mancini, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Hartfield, by setting further comprising: identifying a target temperature for the coolant at a respective inlet of the C2R heat exchanger in response to input signals indicative of a demand for the cabin heating, the target temperature being between -5 degrees Celsius and -9 degrees Celsius; and increasing the respective load of the coolant when a coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the C2R heat exchanger is at or above the target temperature.
In regards to claim 13, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 11. Further, Mancini further teaches wherein further comprising: directing the coolant path to flow through the low-temperature radiator (236) when the coolant temperature at a respective inlet of the low-temperature radiator (236) is less than the ambient temperature (modestly cold; pars. 109 and 123); and directing the coolant path to bypass (line 351) the low-temperature radiator (236) when the coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the low-temperature radiator is at or above the ambient temperature (refer to pars. 62, 87, 108).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of LEMON such that further comprising: directing the coolant path to flow through the low-temperature radiator when the coolant temperature at a respective inlet of the low-temperature radiator is less than the ambient temperature; and directing the coolant path to bypass the low-temperature radiator when the coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the low-temperature radiator is at or above the ambient temperature as taught by Mancini to improve overall heating and running at a higher suction pressure with more electrical waste heat make-up (quieter) (par. 146 of Mancini).
In regards to claim 14, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 11, but fails to explicitly teach further comprising: increasing a compressor load if a low-side refrigerant pressure is at or above the threshold suction pressure, the threshold suction pressure being between 120 and 140 Kilopascals; and decreasing the compressor load if the low-side refrigerant pressure is below the threshold suction pressure, a target load for the compressor being between 4000 and 5000 revolutions-per-minute.
Mancini does however teach If the isentropic efficiency of the compressor 214 could be adjusted dynamically, it would enable the maximum electrical power to be drawn for a given suction state by driving the cycle to simultaneous high and low-side limits, or internal compressor 214 component limits (motor stator/rotor, inverter) (refer to par. 143). Therefore, the lower side suction pressure with the respective to compressor output is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is leveraging the compressor 214 as a high voltage heater mode and maximizes the heating power for a given suction side state. (refer to par. 143). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the lower side suction pressure with the respective to compressor output and design factors involved, were disclosed in the prior art by Mancini, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Hartfield, by setting further comprising: increasing a compressor load if a low-side refrigerant pressure is at or above the threshold suction pressure, the threshold suction pressure being between 120 and 140 Kilopascals; and decreasing the compressor load if the low-side refrigerant pressure is below the threshold suction pressure, a target load for the compressor being between 4000 and 5000 revolutions-per-minute.
In regards to claim 15, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 11. Further, LEMON teaches further comprising: positioning a rechargeable energy storage method (RESS) section (a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS such as a battery pack 44) in the cooling loop (16) downstream of the low-temperature radiator (52), the RESS section (44) having a traction battery pack; Mancini further teaches directing the coolant path to flow through the RESS section (battery system 106) when the coolant temperature at a respective inlet of the RESS section (106) is less than a RESS temperature, the coolant receiving heat from the RESS section (refer to pars. 71-74); and directing the coolant path to bypass the RESS section when the coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the RESS section is at or above the RESS temperature (refer to pars. 71 -74).
In regards to claim 16, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 11. Further, Mancini teaches further comprising: positioning a powertrain drive unit (PDU) (at least one drive train component, such as 102A, 102B, 104A, and 104B) in the cooling loop (a drive train coolant loop 206) downstream of the low-temperature radiator (236); directing the coolant path to flow through the PDU (102A, 102B, 104A, and 104B) when the coolant temperature at a respective inlet of the PDU is less than a PDU temperature (pars. 62, 71, 74 and 84), the coolant receiving heat from the PDU; and directing the coolant path to bypass the PDU (102A, 102B, 104A, and 104B) when the coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the PDU is at or above the PDU temperature (pars. 62, 71, 74 and 84).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of LEMON such that further comprising: positioning a powertrain drive unit (PDU) in the cooling loop downstream of the low-temperature radiator; directing the coolant path to flow through the PDU when the coolant temperature at a respective inlet of the PDU is less than a PDU temperature, the coolant receiving heat from the PDU; and directing the coolant path to bypass the PDU when the coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the PDU is at or above the PDU temperature as taught by Mancini to improve overall heating and running at a higher suction pressure with more electrical waste heat make-up (quieter) (par. 146 of Mancini).
In regards to claim 17, LEMON discloses an electric vehicle (vehicle 10) comprising: a coolant loop (coolant loop 16) having a pump (a coolant pump 42) configured to circulate a coolant (a coolant liquid 17) in the coolant loop (16); one or more valves (coolant routing valve 48) adapted to modify a pathway (three different branches; par. 19) of the coolant in the coolant loop (16); a controller (a controller 68) adapted to select a respective position of the one or more valves (48), the controller (68) having a processor and tangible, non-transitory memory on which instructions are recorded (pars. 20 and 25); a refrigerant loop (a refrigerant loop 14) in thermal communication with the coolant loop (16), the refrigerant loop (14) having a compressor (a refrigerant compressor 18); a coolant-to-refrigerant (C2R) heat exchanger (a chiller or refrigerant-to-coolant heat exchanger 38) fluidly connected to the coolant loop (16) and the refrigerant loop (14), the C2R heat exchanger (38) being configured to transfer heat between the coolant (17) circulating in the coolant loop (16) and a refrigerant (a refrigerant 15) circulating in the refrigerant loop (14); a low-temperature radiator (radiator 52) located in the coolant loop (16) downstream of the C2R heat exchanger (38); a coolant heater (electric coolant heater 46) located in the coolant loop (16) downstream of the low-temperature radiator (52.
LEMON fails to explicitly teach the low-temperature radiator being adapted to extract heat from ambient air to warm the coolant when a coolant temperature is lower than an ambient temperature; and wherein the controller is adapted to: identify a target temperature for the coolant at a respective inlet of the C2R heat exchanger, in response to input signals indicative of a demand for cabin heating in the electric vehicle; increase a respective load of the coolant when a coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the C2R heat exchanger is at or above the target temperature; and minimize energy usage for the cabin heating by maximizing the respective load of the compressor, minimizing the respective load of the coolant heater, and maintaining a threshold suction pressure for compressor operation wherein the controller is adapted to minimize energy usage for cabin heating in the electric vehicle by minimizing a respective load of the coolant heater, maximizing the respective load of the compressor, and maintaining a threshold suction pressure for compressor operation.
Mancini teaches a thermal management system (Figs. 11-14) wherein the low-temperature radiator (radiator 236) being adapted to extract heat from ambient air to warm the coolant when a coolant temperature is lower than an ambient temperature (refer to pars. 108-109 and 111); wherein the controller (vehicle controller) is adapted to minimize energy usage for cabin heating (reduces the advective heat load on the cabin; par. 125) in the electric vehicle by minimizing a respective load of the coolant heater, maximizing the respective load of the compressor, and maintaining a threshold suction pressure for compressor operation (refer to par. 142). Mancini further teaches the controller (control electronics 212) being adapted to: direct the coolant path to flow through the RESS section (battery system 106) when the coolant temperature at a respective inlet of the RESS section (106) is less than a RESS temperature (refer to pars. 71-74), the coolant receiving heat from the RESS section; and direct the coolant path to bypass the RESS section when the coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the RESS section is at or above the RESS temperature (refer to pars. 71 -74).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LEMON such that the low-temperature radiator being adapted to extract heat from ambient air to warm the coolant when a coolant temperature is lower than an ambient temperature; wherein the controller is adapted to minimize energy usage for cabin heating in the electric vehicle by minimizing a respective load of the coolant heater, maximizing the respective load of the compressor, and maintaining a threshold suction pressure for compressor operation as taught by Mancini to improve overall heating and running at a higher suction pressure with more electrical waste heat make-up (quieter) (par. 146 of Mancini).
In regards to claim 18, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 17. Further, Mancini further teaches wherein the controller (control electronics 212) is adapted to: direct the coolant path to flow through the low-temperature radiator (236) when the coolant temperature at a respective inlet of the low-temperature radiator (236) is less than the ambient temperature (modestly cold; pars. 109 and 123); and direct the coolant path to bypass (line 351) the low-temperature radiator (236) when the coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the low-temperature radiator is at or above the ambient temperature (refer to pars. 62, 87, 108).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LEMON such that the controller is adapted to: direct the coolant path to flow through the low-temperature radiator when the coolant temperature at a respective inlet of the low-temperature radiator is less than the ambient temperature; and direct the coolant path to bypass the low-temperature radiator when the coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the low-temperature radiator is at or above the ambient temperature as taught by Mancini to improve overall heating and running at a higher suction pressure with more electrical waste heat make-up (quieter) (par. 146 of Mancini).
In regards to claim 19, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 17, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller is adapted to: increase a compressor load if a low-side refrigerant pressure is at or above the threshold suction pressure; and decrease the compressor load if the low-side refrigerant pressure is below the threshold suction pressure.
Mancini does however teach If the isentropic efficiency of the compressor 214 could be adjusted dynamically, it would enable the maximum electrical power to be drawn for a given suction state by driving the cycle to simultaneous high and low-side limits, or internal compressor 214 component limits (motor stator/rotor, inverter) (refer to par. 143). Therefore, the lower side suction pressure with the respective to compressor output is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is leveraging the compressor 214 as a high voltage heater mode and maximizes the heating power for a given suction side state. (refer to par. 143). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the lower side suction pressure with the respective to compressor output and design factors involved, were disclosed in the prior art by Mancini, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Hartfield, by setting the controller is adapted to: increase a compressor load if a low-side refrigerant pressure is at or above the threshold suction pressure; and decrease the compressor load if the low-side refrigerant pressure is below the threshold suction pressure.
In regards to claim 20, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 17. Further, LEMON teaches further comprising: a rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) section (a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS such as a battery pack 44) located in the coolant loop (16) downstream of the low-temperature radiator (52), the RESS section having a traction battery pack, the controller (68) being adapted to: direct the coolant path to flow through the RESS section (44). Mancini further teaches the controller (control electronics 212) being adapted to: direct the coolant path to flow through the RESS section (battery system 106) when the coolant temperature at a respective inlet of the RESS section (106) is less than a RESS temperature (refer to pars. 71-74), the coolant receiving heat from the RESS section; and direct the coolant path to bypass the RESS section when the coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the RESS section is at or above the RESS temperature (refer to pars. 71 -74).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over LEMON et al. (US 2014/0027087) in view of Mancini et al. (US 2019/0070924 A1), further in view of Nemesh (US 2015/0251518).
In regards to claim 2, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller is adapted to: identify a target temperature for the coolant at a respective inlet of the C2R heat exchanger, in response to input signals indicative of a demand for the cabin heating; and increase the respective load of the coolant when a coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the C2R heat exchanger is at or above the target temperature.
Nemesh does however teach In mild ambient temperatures, performance of the heat pump created by the refrigerant circuit 24 and the first coolant circuit 22 alone may be insufficient, for example when 1) the heating demand from the passenger compartment 12 is high and the ambient temperature is mild, e.g., from about 0.degree. C. to about 25. degree. C.; and 2) heating demand from the passenger compartment 12 is moderate and the ambient temperature is mild to cold, e.g., from about -10.degree. C. to about 0 degree. C. (refer to par. 78). Therefore, the target temperature for the coolant in response to input signals indicative of a demand for the cabin heating is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is providing additional heat to the passenger compartment (par. 78). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the target temperature for the coolant in response to input signals indicative of a demand for the cabin heating and design factors involved, were disclosed in the prior art by Garland, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Hartfield, by setting the controller is adapted to: identify a target temperature for the coolant at a respective inlet of the C2R heat exchanger, in response to input signals indicative of a demand for the cabin heating; and increase the respective load of the coolant when a coolant temperature at the respective inlet of the C2R heat exchanger is at or above the target temperature.
In regards to claim 3, LEMON meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 2, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the target temperature is between -5 degrees Celsius and -9 degrees Celsius.
Nemesh does however teach In mild ambient temperatures, performance of the heat pump created by the refrigerant circuit 24 and the first coolant circuit 22 alone may be insufficient, for example when 1) the heating demand from the passenger compartment 12 is high and the ambient temperature is mild, e.g., from about 0.degree. C. to about 25. degree. C.; and 2) heating demand from the passenger compartment 12 is moderate and the ambient temperature is mild to cold, e.g., from about -10.degree. C. to about 0 degree. C. (refer to par. 78). Therefore, the target temperature for the coolant in response to input signals indicative of a demand for the cabin heating is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is providing additional heat to the passenger compartment (par. 78). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the target temperature for the coolant in response to input signals indicative of a demand for the cabin heating and design factors involved, were disclosed in the prior art by Garland, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Hartfield, by setting the target temperature to be between -5 degrees Celsius and -9 degrees Celsius.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARTHA TADESSE whose telephone number is (571)272-0590. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30am-5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached on 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For
more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/M.T/
Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763