Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Publication 2021/0062400 to Yu.
In Reference to Claim 10
Yu discloses a ventilation assembly for a laundry appliance, the ventilation assembly comprising: a motor (Fig. 10, 114); and an impeller (Fig. 10, 110) in mechanical communication with the motor to motivate rotation of the impeller about an axial direction, the impeller being rotatable along a rotational direction about the axial direction to urge a flow of air, the impeller comprising a baseplate (Fig. 10, annotated by the examiner), and a plurality of radially accurate vanes (Fig. 10, 110)supported on the baseplate, the plurality of radially arcuate vanes each extending rearward relative to the rotational direction from an inner end (Fig. 10, annotated by the examiner) proximal to the axial direction to an outer end distal to the axial direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication 2006/0179896 to Lim in view of Yu.
In Reference to Claim 1
Lim discloses a laundry appliance comprising: a cabinet (Fig. 3A, annotated by the examiner); a tub (Fig. 3A, 50) positioned within the cabinet, the tub defining a tub outlet and a tub inlet (As showed in Fig. 1A); a laundry basket (Fig. 3A, 20) rotatably mounted within the tub, the laundry basket defining a chamber (As showed in Fig. 3A, the chamber surrounded by basket 20) for receipt of articles for washing or drying; a motor (Fig. 1A, 44) mounted within the cabinet; and an impeller (Fig. 1A, 41) in mechanical communication with the motor to motivate rotation of the impeller about an axial direction, the impeller being rotatable along a rotational direction about the axial direction (As showed in Fig. 1A) to urge a flow of air (As showed in Fig. 3A, the flow of air marked by arrow, the Office considers that the air flow is circulated (urge) by impeller) from the chamber of the laundry basket,
Lim does not teach the detail of the impeller.
Yu teaches the impeller comprising a baseplate (Fig. 9, annotated by the examiner), and a plurality of radially accurate vanes (Fig. 9, annotated by the examiner) supported on the baseplate, the plurality of radially arcuate vanes each extending rearward relative to the rotational direction from an inner end (Fig. 9, annotated by the examiner) proximal to the axial direction to an outer end distal to the axial direction.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Yu into the design of Lim. Doing so, would result in the motor/impeller structure of Yu being integrated into the system of Lim. Both inventions of Lim and Yu are in the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches an impeller design which draw air from axial end and discharges in radial direction with predictable result of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 and 11-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Both Lim and Yu does not teach that the housing having a cutoff above the impeller. And the cutoff forms a transition duct for discharging airflow.
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 6/24/26