DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 4/11/2024.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CHINA 202310403198.7, filed on 04/14/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 20220115816).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) an electronic assembly, comprising:
a circuit board (20);
a connector module (1) having a module housing (14) and connection members (11) at least partially accommodated within the module housing (see figure 3), the module housing (14) including an engagement structure (i.e. see annotation) formed thereon; and
a fixing assembly (i.e. see fastener in figure 15) adapted to be engaged with the engagement structure (i.e. see annotation and figure 15) to secure the connector module (1) to the circuit board (20) including the connection members (11) electrically connected to the circuit board (20).
~Please see annotation of figure 3 in the Huang reference, where the engagement structure can be seen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20220115816) in view of Tsuji (US 20210345506).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) the electronic assembly according to claim 1.
But Huang does not explicitly disclose further comprising a shell and a socket connector, wherein: the shell surrounds the connector module; the socket connector is arranged inside the shell; and the connector module is electrically connected to the circuit board via the socket connector.
Tsuji teaches (figures 1 – 12) a connector further comprising a shell (206) and a socket connector (106), wherein: the shell (206) surrounds the connector module (200); the socket connector (106) is arranged inside the shell (i.e. see figure 9); and the connector module (200) is electrically connected to the circuit board (110) via the socket connector (106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang with the assembly as disclosed by Tsuji to provide a shell and a socket connector, wherein: the shell surrounds the connector module; the socket connector is arranged inside the shell; and the connector module is electrically connected to the circuit board via the socket connector, as doing so provides a well-known connector structure that protects and retains the connector module, improving the reliability of the connector assembly.
Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) the electronic assembly according to claim 2.
But Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein the shell is formed with a solder pad adapted to be soldered to a surface of the circuit board.
Tsuji teaches (figures 1 – 12) a connector wherein the shell (121) is formed with a solder pad (147) adapted to be soldered to a surface of the circuit board (¶0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang with the assembly as disclosed by Tsuji to provide a shell and a socket connector, wherein the shell is formed with a solder pad adapted to be soldered to a surface of the circuit board, as doing so provides a well-known connector structure that protects and retains the connector module, improving the reliability of the connector assembly.
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) the electronic assembly according to claim 11.
But Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein the shell has a first shell wall and a second shell wall positioned opposite to each other in a first direction, the first shell wall and the second shell wall adapted to be at least partially butted against the side walls of the module housing to limit a displacement of the connector module in the first direction.
Tsuji teaches (figures 1 – 12) a connector wherein the shell (206) has a first shell wall (235) and a second shell wall (wall on opposite side of 235 in figure 9) positioned opposite to each other in a first direction (see figure 9), the first shell wall and the second shell wall (235; wall on opposite side of 235 in figure 9) adapted to be at least partially butted against the side walls (128) of the module housing (housing of 106) to limit a displacement of the connector module in the first direction (i.e. see figures 9 – 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang with the assembly as disclosed by Tsuji to provide wherein the shell has a first shell wall and a second shell wall positioned opposite to each other in a first direction, the first shell wall and the second shell wall adapted to be at least partially butted against the side walls of the module housing to limit a displacement of the connector module in the first direction, as doing so provides a well-known connector structure that protects and retains the connector module, improving the reliability of the connector assembly.
Regarding claim 13, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) the electronic assembly according to claim 12.
But Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein: each of the first shell wall and the second shell wall are adapted to be respectively positioned between one of the side walls of the module housing and the fastener of the fixing assembly; and a notch adapted to be passed through by the shoulder of the module housing is formed in each of the first shell wall and the second shell wall, respectively.
Tsuji teaches (figures 1 – 12) an assembly wherein: each of the first shell wall (235) and the second shell wall (wall on opposite side of 235 in figure 9) are adapted to be respectively positioned between one of the side walls (128) of the module housing (housing of 106) and the fastener of the fixing assembly (112); and a notch (244) adapted to be passed through by the shoulder of the module housing (housing of 106) is formed in each of the first shell wall (235) and the second shell wall (wall on opposite side of 235 in figure 9), respectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang with the assembly as disclosed by Tsuji to provide wherein: each of the first shell wall and the second shell wall are adapted to be respectively positioned between one of the side walls of the module housing and the fastener of the fixing assembly; and a notch adapted to be passed through by the shoulder of the module housing is formed in each of the first shell wall and the second shell wall, respectively, as doing so provides a well-known connector structure that protects and retains the connector module, improving the reliability of the connector assembly.
Regarding claim 14, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) the electronic assembly according to claim 13.
But Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one elastic arm is formed on at least one of the first shell wall and the second shell wall, and the at least one elastic arm is adapted to be at least partially elastically butted against the side walls of the module housing when the connector module is positioned inside the shell.
Tsuji teaches (figures 1 – 12) an assembly wherein at least one elastic arm (248) is formed on at least one of the first shell wall (232) and the second shell wall (wall opposite to 232; ¶0046), and the at least one elastic arm (248) is adapted to be at least partially elastically butted against the side walls (128) of the module housing (housing of 106) when the connector module is positioned inside the shell (see figure 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang with the assembly as disclosed by Tsuji to provide wherein at least one elastic arm is formed on at least one of the first shell wall and the second shell wall, and the at least one elastic arm is adapted to be at least partially elastically butted against the side walls of the module housing when the connector module is positioned inside the shell, as doing so provides a well-known connector structure that protects and retains the connector module, improving the reliability of the connector assembly.
Claim(s) 3 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20220115816) in view of Hwang (US 6511345).
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) the engagement structure (i.e. see annotation and figure 15) of the electronic assembly according to claim 1.
But Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein: the engagement structure includes a shoulder protruding laterally from the module housing and having a through-hole formed therein; and the fixing assembly includes a fastener adapted to pass through the through-hole in the shoulder and to be connected with the circuit board to fix the connector module relative to the circuit board.
Hwang teaches (figures 1 – 4) an assembly wherein:
the engagement structure (see engagement structure on sides of 10, 30) includes a shoulder (see 28 in both 10 and 30) protruding laterally (see figure 1) from the module housing (10, 30) and having a through-hole (column 3, lines 30 – 45) formed therein; and
the fixing assembly (21, 22) includes a fastener (22) adapted to pass through the through-hole (column 3, lines 30 – 45) in the shoulder (see 28 in both 10 and 30) and to be connected with the circuit board (2) to fix the connector module (40, 50) relative to the circuit board (2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang with the assembly as disclosed by Hwang to provide the engagement structure includes a shoulder protruding laterally from the module housing and having a through-hole formed therein; and the fixing assembly includes a fastener adapted to pass through the through-hole in the shoulder and to be connected with the circuit board to fix the connector module relative to the circuit board, as such modification would have predictably improved the mechanical retention of the assembly.
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) the electronic assembly according to claim 3, wherein: the module housing (14) has a top wall (see top wall of 14 in figure 3) and side walls (14b) extending from the top wall (see figure 3) in a direction towards the circuit board (20), a space (see space of 14 in figure 3, where 11 accommodates into as seen in figure 15) for accommodating the connection members is defined by the top wall (see top wall of 14 in figure 3) and the side walls (14b).
But Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein the shoulder extends outwardly in the form of a cantilever from an outer side surface of the side wall, wherein a top surface of the shoulder is lower than that of the top wall.
Hwang teaches (figures 1 – 4) an assembly wherein the shoulder (see 28 in both 10 and 30) extends outwardly in the form of a cantilever from an outer side surface of the side wall (see sidewall where 28 protrudes from in figure 1), wherein a top surface of the shoulder (top surface of 28) is lower than that of the top wall (i.e. see figure 1; top surface of 28 is lower than the top wall).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang with the assembly as disclosed by Hwang to provide wherein the shoulder extends outwardly in the form of a cantilever from an outer side surface of the side wall, wherein a top surface of the shoulder is lower than that of the top wall, as such modification would have predictably improved the mechanical retention of the assembly.
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) the electronic assembly according to claim 4, wherein the module housing (14) has at least two side walls (14a, multiple 14b) located on opposite sides of the top wall (see top wall of 14 in figure 3; there are multiple 14b located on opposite sides of the top wall) in a first direction.
But Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one shoulder is formed on the outer side surface of each of the side walls.
Hwang teaches (figures 1 – 4) an assembly wherein at least one shoulder (see 28 in both 10 and 30) is formed on the outer side surface of each of the side walls (see sidewall where 28 protrudes from in figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang with the assembly as disclosed by Hwang to provide wherein at least one shoulder is formed on the outer side surface of each of the side walls, as such modification would have predictably improved the mechanical retention of the assembly.
Claim(s) 6 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20220115816) in view of Hwang (US 6511345) and further in view of Zhang (US 20210045254).
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) the electronic assembly according to claim 3.
But Huang and Hwang do not explicitly disclose wherein the fixing assembly further includes a spring adapted to be axially sleeved over the fastener, and the spring is adapted to be compressed between a head of the fastener and the shoulder to generate an elastic force downwardly pressing the connector module towards the circuit board.
Zhang teaches (figures 2 – 7) an assembly wherein the fixing assembly (100, 200) further includes a spring (130, 230) adapted to be axially sleeved over the fastener (110, 210), and the spring (130, 230) is adapted to be compressed between a head of the fastener and the shoulder to generate an elastic force downwardly pressing the connector module towards the circuit board (¶0016 – ¶0017; ¶0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang and Hwang with the assembly as disclosed by Zhang to provide wherein the fixing assembly further includes a spring adapted to be axially sleeved over the fastener, and the spring is adapted to be compressed between a head of the fastener and the shoulder to generate an elastic force downwardly pressing the connector module towards the circuit board. Zhang teaches that the connector assembly (200) applies a downward elastic pushing force on the cooling plate (30) so as to press the electrical member (2) on the circuit board (i.e. ¶0026). Applying this known technique would have predictably improved the mechanical stability of the connector module.
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) the electronic assembly according to claim 6.
But Huang and Hwang do not explicitly disclose wherein the fixing assembly further includes a stopper adapted to be detachably connected to the fastener, the stopper adapted to prevent the fastener and the spring from separating from the connector module after being assembled therewith.
Zhang teaches (figures 2 – 7) an assembly wherein the fixing assembly (100, 200) further includes a stopper (140, 240; 150, 250) adapted to be detachably connected to the fastener (110, 210), the stopper (140, 240; 150, 250) adapted to prevent the fastener and the spring from separating from the connector module after being assembled therewith (i.e. disclosed stopper is capable of preventing the fastener and spring from separating from the connector module after assembly).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang and Hwang with the assembly as disclosed by Zhang to provide wherein the fixing assembly further includes a stopper adapted to be detachably connected to the fastener, the stopper adapted to prevent the fastener and the spring from separating from the connector module after being assembled therewith, as doing so would have predictably prevented the spring from becoming separated from the fastener during assembly and installation of the connection module (i.e. see ¶0019, ¶0028 of Zhang).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) the electronic assembly according to claim 3.
But Huang and Hwang do not explicitly disclose wherein the fixing assembly further includes a back plate located on a side of the circuit board opposite to the connector module, and the fastener is adapted to be detachably connected to the back plate through the through-hole in the shoulder and a corresponding installation hole in the circuit board.
Zhang teaches (figures 2 – 7) an assembly wherein the fixing assembly (100, 200) further includes a back plate (10) located on a side of the circuit board (1) opposite to the connector module (2), and the fastener (110, 210) is adapted to be detachably connected to the back plate (10; 120) through the through-hole in the shoulder (i.e. hole near 220) and a corresponding installation hole in the circuit board (1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang and Hwang with the assembly as disclosed by Zhang to provide wherein the fixing assembly further includes a back plate located on a side of the circuit board opposite to the connector module, and the fastener is adapted to be detachably connected to the back plate through the through-hole in the shoulder and a corresponding installation hole in the circuit board, as doing so would distribute the clamping forces over a larger area of the circuit board, reducing localized stresses and minimizing the likelihood of circuit board damage during operation.
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) the electronic assembly according to claim 8.
But Huang and Hwang do not explicitly disclose wherein the fixing assembly further includes a nut located on a side of the back plate opposite to the circuit board, an end of the fastener opposite to its head has a threaded portion, and the fastener is connected to the back plate via engagement of the threaded portion and the nut.
Zhang teaches (figures 2 – 7) an assembly wherein the fixing assembly (100, 200) further includes a nut (120, 220) located on a side of the back plate (10) opposite to the circuit board (1), an end of the fastener (110, 210) opposite to its head has a threaded portion (114, 214), and the fastener (110, 210) is connected to the back plate via engagement of the threaded portion and the nut (see figure 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang and Hwang with the assembly as disclosed by Zhang to provide wherein the fixing assembly further includes a nut located on a side of the back plate opposite to the circuit board, an end of the fastener opposite to its head has a threaded portion, and the fastener is connected to the back plate via engagement of the threaded portion and the nut, as doing so would distribute the clamping forces over a larger area of the circuit board, reducing localized stresses and minimizing the likelihood of circuit board damage during operation.
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) the electronic assembly according to claim 9.
But Huang and Hwang do not explicitly disclose wherein an engagement length between the threaded portion and the nut is adjustable to alter an elastic force of a spring between the head and the shoulder.
Zhang teaches (figures 2 – 7) an assembly wherein an engagement length between the threaded portion (114, 214) and the nut (120, 220) is adjustable to alter an elastic force of a spring between the head and the shoulder (i.e. see figure 7; nuts 120, 220 have different lengths).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang and Hwang with the assembly as disclosed by Zhang to provide wherein an engagement length between the threaded portion and the nut is adjustable to alter an elastic force of a spring between the head and the shoulder, as doing so would distribute the clamping forces over a larger area of the circuit board, reducing localized stresses and minimizing the likelihood of circuit board damage during operation.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20220115816) in view of Tsuji (US 20210345506) and further in view of Song (US 20210399496).
Regarding claim 19, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) the electronic assembly according to claim 11.
But Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein the shell is integrally formed by stamping and bending a single metal plate.
Tsuji teaches the shell (206), but does not explicitly disclose that the shell is integrally formed by stamping and bending a single metal plate.
Song teaches (figure 18) wherein the shell (see figure 18) is integrally formed by stamping and bending a single metal plate (¶0051).
It would have been obvious to form the shield shell of Tsuji using the stamping and bending technique as taught by Song, because stamping and bending are well known manufacturing techniques for producing connector shield shells that provide reduced manufacturing complexity and assembly time. Applying the known manufacturing technique of Song to the known shell of Tsuji would have yielded the predictable result of producing the same shell using a conventional manufacturing process.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20220115816) in view of Tsuji (US 20210345506) and further in view of Song (US 20210399496) and Yang (US 7309238).
Regarding claim 20, Huang teaches (figures 1 – 23) the electronic assembly according to claim 19.
But Huang and Tsuji do not explicitly disclose wherein: two ends of the metal plate are formed with a protrusion and a recess that are complementary, and are embedded and connected with each other to form a third shell wall of the shell; and solder pads are formed at a base of each of a first shell wall, a second shell wall, and the third shell wall of the shell.
Song teaches (figure 18) a shielding shell (see figure 18) wherein: two ends of the metal plate are formed with a protrusion (2311’) and a recess (2311c’) that are complementary, and are embedded and connected with each other to form a third shell wall of the shell (i.e. see figure 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang and Tsuji with the assembly as disclosed by Song to provide wherein: two ends of the metal plate are formed with a protrusion and a recess that are complementary, and are embedded and connected with each other to form a third shell wall of the shell, because the complementary features mechanically interlock the ends of the metal plate, facilitating assembly while securely joining the shell without changing its intended shielding function.
However, Song does not explicitly disclose wherein solder pads are formed at a base of each of a first shell wall, a second shell wall, and the third shell wall of the shell.
Yang teaches (figure 4) a connector wherein solder pads (36) are formed at a base of each of a first shell wall (31), a second shell wall (32), and the third shell wall (33) of the shell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang, Tsuji, and Song with the connector as disclosed by Yang to provide wherein solder pads are formed at a base of each of a first shell wall, a second shell wall, and the third shell wall of the shell, because solder pads provide a reliable means of mechanically securing the shell to a PCB, thereby yielding the predictable result of securing the shell onto the PCB.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 – 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record fails to teach wherein the second elastic arm extends from a top of a corresponding shell wall in a direction towards the circuit board and is inclined towards inside of the shell, such that at least a portion of the second elastic arm is elastically butted against the side wall of the module housing in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Claims 16, 17, and 18 depend on claim 15, therefore they are also allowable due to their claim dependency.
Conclusion
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834