DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 5 and 20 have been amended. All other claims remain as originally or previously presented. Rejections of amended claims have been updated/addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 6-9, filed on 7/27/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Tang (previously cited) does not disclose the claimed combination of an outermost support member and a separate coupling member disposed about the tube and the outer side of the support member. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Applicant expressed that the previous art rejections did not clearly articulate
which structures in Tang were being mapped as the support member, coupling member, and elongated tube. The Applicant’s interpretation of the previous art rejections was the same as the Examiner’s interpretation: the support member as the liner 25, the coupling member as the braided layer 26, and the elongated tube as the tubing 40.
The Applicant argued that this interpretation does not disclose that the liner 25 is the outermost support member. However, the Examiner is interpreting the recited “outermost support member” broadly, as the claim recites “the elongated shaft having an outermost elongated support member coaxial with the lumen”. The “support member” is the outermost feature of the “elongated shaft” in relation to the lumen of the shaft, and therefore the liner 25 is being interpreted to cover the recited “outermost support member”.
It appears that the Applicant is arguing that the “support member” is the outermost feature of the entire catheter, however, that is not what the claim recites. Claim 1 further recites “an elongated tube extending longitudinally along the elongated shaft” and “a coupling member disposed about the tube and outer side of the support member”. It can be interpreted from reading claim 1 that the “support member” is not the outermost feature of the entire catheter, as elongated tubes and a coupling member are both located on the exterior/outermost portion of the “support member”. Figure 3B of the instant application depicts in great detail that the recited “support member” is not the outermost feature of the entire catheter.
Claim 1 does not recite that the “support member” is the outermost feature of the entire catheter, and will not be interpreted as such. Therefore, the Examiner’s interpretation supports the previous mapping of the liner 25 as the “outermost support member” of the recited “elongated shaft”.
Since the liner 25 is being interpreted as the “outermost support member”, the other cited features in the previous rejection of claim 1 disclose the same features and relationships between said features as recited in claim 1. The tubing 40 extends longitudinally along the elongated shaft, and is coupled to the liner 25 (see rejections below). The braided layer 26 is disposed about the tubing 40 and outer side of the liner 25, and the braided layer 26 couples the tubing 40 to the liner 25 (see rejection below). Therefore, it is understood that Tang discloses all features and the relationships between said features that are recited in claim 1, and thus the previous 102 rejections are not withdrawn.
With respect to independent claim 13, the Applicant argues that Tang does not disclose “winding a coupling member around the elongated tube and the outer side of the outermost support member, a thread coupling the elongated tube to the support member”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Based on the claim language of claim 13, the Examiner is interpreting the “coupling member” as a “thread”.
Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines a thread as a filament/filamentous length formed into a continuous strand or as a continuing element. As explained previously, the braided layer 26 is being interpreted as the recited “coupling member”. Tang teaches that the braided layer 26 is made of braided strands or fibers 27. Thus, it is understood that Tang discloses that the “coupling member” is made of threads, as these strands or fibers 27 constitute a filament formed into a continuous strand.
With respect to dependent claim 10, the Applicant argues that Tang does not disclose that “the coupling member includes one or more coils wound around the elongated tube and support member”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines a coil as a series of loops. As can be seen in Figure 4 of Tang and the Annotated Figure 4 below, the braided layer 26 comprises braided strands or fibers 27 that include a series of loops around the tubing 40 and the liner 25. Therefore, it is understood that Tang discloses that “the coupling member includes one or more coils wound around the elongated tube and support member”. With respect to the remaining dependent claims, the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments, see page 10, filed on 7/27/2026, with respect to the previous double patenting rejections have been fully considered. The previous double patenting rejections of claims 3 and 8 are upheld. However, Applicant’s arguments regarding the previous double patenting rejection of claim 20 are persuasive and has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,534,078) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Tang teaches a catheter (Col. 4, line 16), comprising: an elongated shaft (Col. 4, lines 16-17) defining a lumen (Col. 4, line 46) and having a distal portion (Col. 4, line 19), the elongated shaft having an outermost elongated support member (Col. 4, line 53) coaxial with the lumen (Fig. 3A-3B), the support member having an outer side (Col. 4, line 60); an electrode (Col. 4, line 21) disposed on the distal portion of the elongated shaft (Fig. 6); an elongated tube (Fig. 4, Col. 5, line 26) extending longitudinally along the elongated shaft (Fig. 4, Col. 5, line 25), the elongated tube coupled to the support member along the outer side (Fig. 4, Col. 5, lines 36-37); a lead conductor (Fig. 4, Col. 5, line 27) disposed within the tube (Col. 5, lines 26-27) and electrically coupled to the electrode (Col. 5, lines 27-29); and a coupling member (Col. 4, lines 57-58) disposed about the tube and outer side of the support member (Fig. 4, Col. 4, lines 57-62), the coupling member coupling the tube to the support member (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Tang teaches the catheter (Col. 4, line 16) of claim 1, wherein the elongate tube (Fig. 4, Col. 5, line 26) traverses into the lumen through the support member (Col. 5, lines 32-34) on a proximal side of the shaft (Col. 5, lines 32-34).
Regarding claim 6, Tang teaches the catheter (Col. 4, line 16) of claim 1, wherein the shaft (Col. 4, lines 16-17) includes a cover (Fig. 4, Col. 6, lines 8-10) disposed on the coupling member, tube, and support member (Col. 6, lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 8, Tang teaches the catheter (Col. 4, line 16) of claim 1, wherein the elongate tube (Fig. 4, Col. 5, line 26) includes a plurality of elongate tubes (Col. 5, lines 29-30) radially spaced-apart on the outer side (Col. 5, lines 30-31).
Regarding claim 9, Tang teaches the catheter (Col. 4, line 16) of claim 1, wherein the support member (Col. 4, line 53) is a liner layer (Col. 4, line 60).
Regarding claim 10, Tang teaches the catheter (Col. 4, line 16) of claim 1, wherein the coupling member (Col. 4, lines 57-58) includes one or more coils (Fig. 4) wound around the elongated tube and support member (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Tang teaches the catheter (Col. 4, line 16) of claim 10, wherein the coupling member (Col. 4, lines 57-58) includes a first coil (See Annotated Fig. 4) and a second coil (See Annotated Fig. 4), the first coil wound in a first direction along a length of the support member (See Annotated Fig. 4) and the second coil wound in a second direction along the length of the support member (See Annotated Fig. 4), the second direction opposite the first direction (See Annotated Fig. 4).
Annotated Fig. 4 (Tang)
Regarding claim 12, Tang teaches the catheter (Col. 4, line 16) of claim 10, wherein the elongated tube (Fig. 4, Col. 5, line 26) transitions from under to over (Fig. 3A and 4, Col. 5, lines 33-37) the coupling member (Col. 4, lines 57-58) on the support member (Col. 4, line 53).
Regarding claim 13, Tang teaches a method of manufacturing (Col. 7, lines 1-2) a catheter (Col. 4, line 16), the method comprising: providing an elongated outermost support member (Col. 4, line 53) of a shaft (Col. 4, lines 16-17) defining a lumen (Col. 4, line 46), the support member having an outer side (Col. 4, line 60); and attaching an elongated tube (Fig. 4, Col. 5, line 26) extending longitudinally along the elongated outermost support member (Fig. 4, Col. 5, line 25); wherein the attaching includes winding a coupling member (Col. 4, lines 57-58) around the elongated tube and outer side of the support member (Fig. 4, Col. 4, lines 57-62), a thread coupling the elongated tube to the support member (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Tang teaches the method (Col. 7, lines 1-2) of claim 13, further including interfacing the elongated tube (Fig. 4, Col. 5, line 26) with the elongated outermost support member (Col. 4, line 53) only along the outer side (Fig. 3A-4).
Regarding claim 15, Tang teaches the method (Col. 7, lines 1-2) of claim 13, further comprising disposing a mandrel (Col. 5, lines 62-64) within the elongated tube (Fig. 4, Col. 5, line 26) prior to winding the coupling member (Col. 4, lines 57-58).
Regarding claim 16, Tang teaches the method (Col. 7, lines 1-2) of claim 13, wherein the elongated tube (Fig. 4, Col. 5, line 26) includes a tube distal end (Col. 6, lines 48-49), wherein the tube distal end is closed (Col. 4, lines 9-10) prior to (Col. 6, lines 14-16) a cover (Fig. 4, Col. 6, lines 8-10) being applied.
Regarding claim 17, Tang teaches the method (Col. 7, lines 1-2) of claim 16, wherein the tube distal end (Col. 6, lines 48-49) is closed (Col. 4, lines 9-10) via the coupling member (Col. 4, lines 57-58) winding around the tube distal end and the outer side (Fig. 3A-3B) of the support member (Col. 4, line 53).
Regarding claim 18, Tang teaches the method (Col. 7, lines 1-2) of claim 17, wherein the cover (Fig. 4, Col. 6, lines 8-10) is applied via a reflow process (Col. 6, lines 10-12).
Regarding claim 19, Tang teaches a system for tracking (Col. 1, lines 7-10) a catheter (Col. 4, line 16) during an electrophysiology procedure (Col. 1, line 9) on a patient (Col. 4, line 26), the system comprising: a patch electrode (Col. 4, line 29)
mechanically couplable to the patient (Col. 4, lines 29-30); a catheter disposable within
the patient (Col. 4, line 26), the catheter comprising: an elongated shaft (Col. 4, lines 16-
17) defining a lumen (Col. 4, line 46) and having a distal portion (Col. 4, line 19), the
elongated shaft having an outermost elongated support member (Col. 4, line 53) coaxial with the lumen (Fig. 3A-3B), the support member having an outer side (Col. 4, line 60); a tracking electrode (Col. 4, line 21) disposed on the distal portion of the elongated shaft (Col. 6, lines 47-49), the tracking electrode configured to electrically couple with the patch electrode (Col. 4, lines 28-29) and generate an electrical signal (Col. 4, lines 28-29); an elongated tube (Fig. 4, Col. 5, line 26) extending longitudinally along the elongated shaft (Fig. 4, Col. 5, line 25), the elongated tube interfacing with the support member along the outer side (Fig. 4, Col. 5, lines 36-37); a lead conductor (Fig. 4, Col. 5, line 27) disposed within the tube (Fig. 4, Col. 5, lines 26-27) and electrically coupled to the tracking electrode (Col. 5, lines 27-29), the lead conductor configured to deliver the electrical signal (Col. 5, lines 27-29); and a coupling member (Col. 4, lines 57-58) disposed about the tube and outer side of the support member (Fig. 4, Col. 4, lines 57-62), the coupling member coupling the tube to the support member (Fig. 4); and a controller (Col. 6, line 44) operably coupled to the patch electrode and the tracking electrode (Col. 6, lines 44-45), the controller configured to receive the electrical signal (Col. 4, line 24) and determine a position of the catheter (Col. 4, lines 25-26) with respect to the patient.
Regarding claim 20, Tang teaches the system (Col. 1, lines 7-10) of claim 19, wherein the controller (Col. 6, line 44) is further configured to generate an electroanatomical map of a heart (Col. 1, lines 31-32 and Col. 2, lines 11-15) of the patient (Col. 4, line 26) based on the electrical signal (Col. 1, lines 28-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,534,078) in view of Lentz et al. (WIPO Pub. No. 2024/054938) (both cited previously).
Regarding claim 2, Tang teaches the catheter (Col. 4, line 16) of claim 1 that comprises the support member (Col. 4, line 53). Tang does not teach that the support member includes a braided material forming a braided member. Lentz, however, teaches a catheter that comprises an elongated shaft (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0040, line 1, 102) and a support member (Paragraph 0031, lines 1-3) that includes a braided material (Paragraph 0045, line 10) forming a braided member (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0040, line 2, 134).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang to incorporate the teachings of Lentz to include that the support member is a braided member. Doing so would increase the strength, stiffness, burst strength, and creep resistance of the shaft (Paragraph 0031), as recognized by Lentz.
Regarding claim 3, Tang teaches the catheter (Col. 4, line 16) of claim 2. Tang does not teach that the braided member includes conductive fibers. Lentz, however, teaches a catheter that comprises an elongated shaft (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0040, line 1, 102) and a support member (Paragraph 0031, lines 1-3) that includes a braided member (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0040, line 2, 134). Furthermore, Lentz teaches that the braided member is made of conductive (Paragraph 0057, lines 3-4) fibers (Paragraph 0064, lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang to incorporate the teachings of Lentz to include that the braided member is made of conductive fibers. Doing so would allow the braided member to return to its original shape despite deflection, deformation, and twisting (Paragraph 0064), as recognized by Lentz.
Regarding claim 4, Tang in view of Lentz discloses the claimed invention of claim 3. Tang further discloses the catheter (Col. 4, line 16) of claim 3, wherein the coupling member (Col. 4, lines 57-58) is a thread (Fig. 4).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,534,078) in view of Jansen et al. (WIPO Pub. No. 2021/183444) (both previously cited).
Regarding claim 7, Tang teaches the catheter (Col. 4, line 16) of claim 6, wherein
the cover (Fig. 4, Col. 6, lines 8-10) includes a polyether block amide (Col. 6, line 19). Tang does not teach that the coupling member includes a nylon thread. Jansen, however, teaches an enhanced flexibility neurovascular catheter (Fig. 4, Paragraph 0072, line 1, 3000) that includes a coil (Fig. 4, Paragraph 0073, line 3, 3024) that wraps around an inner liner (Fig. 4, Paragraph 0073, lines 4-5, 3014). Jansen further teaches that the coil includes threads (Fig. 4) and can be made of nylon (Paragraph 0125, lines 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang to incorporate the teachings of Jansen to include that the coupling member includes a nylon thread. Doing so would provide kinking resistance for the catheter (Paragraph 0090), as recognized by Jansen.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of co-pending Application No. 18/626,677 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent claim 3 of Kacha '677 recites a catheter (Page 10, line 1) of claim 2, wherein the braided member (proximal braided member and distal
braided member, page 10, lines 2-3) includes conductive fibers (page 10, lines 2-3).
Therefore, patent claim 3 of Kacha '677 is in essence a "species" of the generic invention of application claim 3. It has been held that a generic invention is "anticipated" by a "species" within the scope of the generic invention.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of co-pending Application No. 18/626,677 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent claim 10 of Kacha '677 recites a catheter (Page 10, line 1) of claim 1, wherein the elongate tube (Page 10, line 1) includes a plurality of elongate tubes (Page 10, line 2) radially spaced-apart (Page 10, line 2) on the outer side (of the distal portion, page 10, line 3). Therefore, patent claim 10 of Kacha '677 is in essence a "species" of the generic invention of application claim 8. It has been held that a generic invention is "anticipated" by a "species" within the scope of the generic invention.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A.H./Patent Examiner , Art Unit 3796
/TAMMIE K MARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796