DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 2/2/2026. The objections to the drawings have been withdrawn. Claims 1-4, 6-18 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
This Office Action contains a New Grounds of Rejection. Since this new grounds of rejection did not result from an amendment to the claims, this Office Action is being made non-final to afford the applicant the opportunity to respond to the new grounds of rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a defrost heater proximate the evaporator while the damper assembly is in the third position” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 5-11, 13-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-13, 15-17 of copending Application No. 18529671. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are identical.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 11, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itsuki et al (US 20060266075) in view of Besore et al (US 20180224183).
Regarding claim 1, Itsuki teaches a refrigerator appliance (30) comprising: a cabinet (40); a fresh food chamber (41) defined in the cabinet; a freezer chamber (42) defined in the cabinet, the freezer chamber spaced apart from the fresh food chamber (fig. 1a) and separated from the fresh food chamber by an insulated mullion (50); a bridge chamber (43) defined in the cabinet, the bridge chamber positioned between the fresh food chamber and the freezer chamber (fig. 1a), the bridge chamber comprising a first inlet (A) in fluid communication with the fresh food chamber (arrow into 41), a first outlet (arrow into 41) in fluid communication with the fresh food chamber, a second inlet (A) in fluid communication with the freezer chamber, and a second outlet (B) in fluid communication with the freezer chamber; an evaporator (14) positioned in the bridge chamber; a fan (48) positioned in the bridge chamber; and a movable damper assembly (45, 49) configured to move between a first position (dotted line, paragraph 0041) and a second position (solid line, paragraph 0041), wherein the second inlet and the second outlet are obstructed by the damper assembly in the first position (dotted line, fig. 1a) and wherein the first inlet and the first outlet are obstructed by the damper assembly in the second position (solid line, fig. 1a) but fails to explicitly teach the evaporator in the bridge chamber is the only evaporator of the refrigerator appliance.
However, Bsore teaches teach the evaporator in the bridge chamber is the only evaporator of the refrigerator appliance (158, paragraph 0028) to efficiently cool the chambers of the refrigerator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the refrigerator of Itsuki to include the evaporator in the bridge chamber is the only evaporator of the refrigerator appliance in view of the teachings of Besore to efficiently cool the chambers of the refrigerator.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach teach the movable damper assembly is further configured to move to a third position (fig. 3 of Besore), wherein the first inlet, the first outlet, the second inlet, and the second outlet are obstructed (222, 224, 220 are all blocked of Besore) by the damper assembly in the third position.
Regarding claim 6, Itsuki, as modified, teaches the bridge chamber is defined by the insulated mullion and at least one insulated partition (50 and 43).
Regarding claim 7, Itsuki, as modified, teaches a plenum (interior of 43) defined within the bridge chamber between the evaporator and the fan.
Regarding claim 9, Itsuki, as modified, teaches the first outlet is upstream of an air tower in the fresh food chamber (fig. 1a), and wherein the second outlet opens directly into the freezer chamber (fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 11, 15-16, it is noted that although the preamble of claims is directed towards a method, the structure of the combined teachings disclose all the structure being provided in the method steps, thus the method is also anticipated by the combined teachings. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently or obviously perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 8, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itsuki in view of Besore as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Fei et al (CN 109737668).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach wherein the movable damper assembly comprises a plurality of movable dampers, each damper movable independently of every other damper of the plurality of damper.
However, Fei teaches the movable damper assembly comprises a plurality of movable dampers (220), each damper movable independently of every other damper of the plurality of damper (independent, paragraph 1, pg. 6) to apply different cold energy based on the user requirement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the refrigerator of the combined teachigns to include the movable damper assembly comprises a plurality of movable dampers, each damper movable independently of every other damper of the plurality of damper in view of the teachings of Fei to apply different cold energy based on the user requirement.
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach the movable damper assembly comprises a first damper (220 of Fei) positioned at the first inlet, a second damper (220 of Fei) positioned at the first outlet, a third damper (220 of Fei) positioned at the second inlet, and a fourth damper (220 of Fei)positioned at the second outlet, wherein the third damper obstructs the second inlet in the first position and the fourth damper obstructs the second outlet in the first position, and wherein the first damper obstructs the first inlet in the second position and the second damper obstructs the first outlet in the second position (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the individual damper so Fei are capable of being placed at the inlet and outlets of Itsuki to efficiently regulate the temperature of the compartments independently).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach a first plenum defined within the bridge chamber (upper area of 43 of Itsuki) and a second plenum (lower area of 43 of Itsuki) defined within the bridge chamber, wherein the movable damper assembly comprises a first damper (220 of Fei), a second damper (220 of Fei), a third damper (220 of Fei), and a fourth damper (220 of Fei), the first damper and the third damper positioned in the first plenum (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the individual damper so Fei are capable of being placed at the inlet and outlets of Itsuki to efficiently regulate the temperature of the compartments independently), the second damper and the fourth damper positioned in the second plenum (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the individual damper so Fei are capable of being placed at the inlet and outlets of Itsuki to efficiently regulate the temperature of the compartments independently).
Regarding claim 17-18, it is noted that although the preamble of claims is directed towards a method, the structure of the combined teachings disclose all the structure being provided in the method steps, thus the method is also anticipated by the combined teachings. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently or obviously perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Claim(s) 10, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itsuki in view of Besore as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Schenk et al (US 6725680).
Regarding claim 10, Itsuki teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach a variable speed compressor coupled to the evaporator and a controller in operative communication with the variable speed compressor, the controller configured to operate the variable speed compressor at a first speed when the damper assembly is in the first position and to operate the variable speed compressor at a second speed different from the first speed when the damper assembly is in the second position.
However, Schenk teaches a variable speed compressor (26) coupled to the evaporator (30) and a controller (59) in operative communication with the variable speed compressor (fig. 4), the controller configured to operate the variable speed compressor at a first speed when the damper assembly is in the first position (Col. 6-7, lines 43-26) and to operate the variable speed compressor at a second speed different from the first speed when the damper assembly is in the second position (Col. 6-7, lines 43-26) to maintain each compartment independently at a selected temperature.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the refrigerator of Isuki to a variable speed compressor coupled to the evaporator and a controller in operative communication with the variable speed compressor, the controller configured to operate the variable speed compressor at a first speed when the damper assembly is in the first position and to operate the variable speed compressor at a second speed different from the first speed when the damper assembly is in the second position in view of the teachings of Schenk to maintain each compartment independently at a selected temperature.
Further, it is understood, claim 10 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 13-14, it is noted that although the preamble of claims is directed towards a method, the structure of the combined teachings disclose all the structure being provided in the method steps, thus the method is also anticipated by the combined teachings. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently or obviously perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 12, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Besore et al (US 20180224183).. The prior art of record teaches moving the damper assembly to a third position, whereby the first inlet, the first outlet, the second inlet, and the second outlet are obstructed by the damper assembly in the third position, in contrast to the claimed features of moving the damper assembly to a third position, whereby the first inlet, the first outlet, the second inlet, and the second outlet are obstructed by the damper assembly in the third position, and activating a defrost heater proximate the evaporator while the damper assembly is in the third position
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763