DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed 03/04/2026. Claims 1-18 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Expansion device in at least claims 1 and 10
A review of the specification show that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
An expansion device appears to be described as a capillary tube, an electronic expansion valve, or other similar expansion device in at least ¶ 0050 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (US 20230213267 A1, hereinafter “Gupta”), and further in view of Junge et al. (US 20210018237 A1, hereinafter “Junge”).
Regarding Claim 1, Gupta teaches a refrigerator appliance [Figs. 1-2 and 19] comprising:
a cabinet [12];
a fresh food chamber [14] defined in the cabinet [¶ 0039];
a freezer chamber defined [16] in the cabinet [¶ 0039]; and
a sealed cooling system [18] configured to provide cooled air to the fresh food chamber and the freezer chamber [¶ 0039, 0089; cooling assembly 18 provides cooled air 20 to first and second compartments 14 and 16], the sealed cooling system comprising:
a sealed loop with a working fluid sealed within the sealed loop [¶ 0098; connection line 300 connects relevant components to enable the cooling assembly 18];
a compressor [80];
a condenser [82] downstream of the compressor with respect to the flow direction of the working fluid [¶ 0098-0099; Fig. 19; apparent from inspection];
an evaporator [78] downstream of the condenser with respect to the flow direction of the working fluid [¶ 0098-0099; Fig. 19; apparent from inspection];
While teaching a multi-directional valve [86] between the condenser and evaporator, Gupta does not explicitly teach an expansion device between the condenser and the evaporator; and a modulator having a reservoir and a supply conduit, the reservoir of the modulator positioned around an outlet conduit of the evaporator, a first end portion of the supply conduit coupled to an inlet conduit of the evaporator, a second end portion of the supply conduit coupled to the reservoir of the modulator at a top half of the reservoir, the working fluid flowable into and out of the reservoir of the modulator through the supply conduit of the modulator.
However, Junge teaches a modulator [200] for an ice maker in a refrigerator cabinet [Figs. 1-4], wherein the cooling system comprises a compressor [130], a condenser [40], an expansion device [150] and an evaporator [160] [¶ 0019, 0025]. Junge further teaches the modulator 200 comprising a reservoir [210] and a supply conduit [220] connected to the refrigerant conduit [162] at a point between the expansion device and the inlet of the evaporator [¶ 0025-0026]. Junge further discloses that the reservoir is positioned around an outlet conduit [164] of the evaporator, and wherein refrigerant may flow to and from the modulator via the supply conduit [¶ 0027]. Junge teaches that this configuration provides a manner of control over the system, as the temperature at the outlet of the evaporator will exchange energy with fluid present in the modulator, such that fluid flows through the supply conduit in accordance with the outlet temperature [¶ 0036-0038]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the expansion device and modulator as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the expansion device and modulator would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing the modulator around the outlet of an evaporator provides a means for controlling the system, as the configuration allows for heat transfer between the modulator and the evaporator outlet, thereby altering the flow of fluid towards the evaporator inlet, thus improving they system [¶ 0036-0038].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Gupta to have an expansion device between the condenser and the evaporator; and a modulator having a reservoir and a supply conduit, the reservoir of the modulator positioned around an outlet conduit of the evaporator, a first end portion of the supply conduit coupled to an inlet conduit of the evaporator, a second end portion of the supply conduit coupled to the reservoir of the modulator, the working fluid flowable into and out of the reservoir of the modulator through the supply conduit of the modulator, in view of the teachings of Junge where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing the modulator around the outlet of an evaporator provides a means for controlling the system, as the configuration allows for heat transfer between the modulator and the evaporator outlet, thereby altering the flow of fluid towards the evaporator inlet, thus improving they system.
Lastly, Junge does not explicitly disclose that the second end portion of the supply conduit is coupled to the reservoir of the modulator at a top half of the reservoir.
However, it has been held that an “obvious to try” rationale when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is a support for a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham, if the following findings can be established: (1) a finding that at the time of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem; (2) a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem; (3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and (4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness. See MPEP § 2143(I)(E).
In the instant case, and as per (1), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the teachings of Junge regarding passive flow of refrigerant to and from the modulator. In essence, Junge considers the temperature of refrigerant for flow providing the function of modulation. As per (2), based on the above teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that location of the supply conduit can only be arranged in a finite combination as follows: (A) at the upper half of the modulator (B) at the bottom half of the modulator, or (C) evenly disposed between the halves. As per (3), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that change in elevation of the supply conduit will not change the principles of operation of the prior art, nor would it render the prior art inoperable for its intended purpose, since refrigerant will be distributed in the prior art of Junge and will continue to operate regardless of the location of the supply conduit, or the phase of refrigerant flowing out thereof. In other words, modifying the prior art to achieve any of the aforementioned combinations of (A), (B) and (C) can be done with a reasonable expectation of success. This is supported by the fact that Junge acknowledges that the supply conduit provides and receives refrigerant from the modulator. As per (4), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that choosing an elevation of the supply conduit can be done as a matter of routine optimization, in order to achieve a configuration of passively providing charge to a refrigeration system [Junge ¶ 0038].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have taken the teachings of Junge and to have modified them by providing the second end portion of the supply conduit coupled to the reservoir of modulator at a top half of the reservoir, as a matter of choosing a finite number of predictable solutions, in order to achieve a passively driven refrigerant charging system, without yielding unpredictable results.
Regarding Claim 2, Gupta, as modified, teaches the refrigerator appliance of claim 1 above and Gupta teaches wherein the evaporator is a single evaporator and is the only evaporator in the refrigerator appliance [¶ 0098; the assembly may use a single evaporator], the single evaporator in fluid communication with the fresh food chamber to provide a flow of chilled air from the single evaporator to the fresh food chamber and the single evaporator in fluid communication with the freezer chamber to provide a flow of chilled air from the evaporator to the freezer chamber [¶ 0044; Fig. 19; cooling assembly 18 may be in fluid communication with first and second compartments 14, 16].
Regarding Claim 3, Gupta, as modified, teaches the refrigerator appliance of claim 1 above and Junge teaches wherein the outlet conduit of the evaporator [164] extends through the reservoir of the modulator [Fig. 4; ¶ 0027-0028; apparent from inspection, outlet 164 is positioned concentrically within interior volume 210].
Regarding Claim 4, Gupta, as modified, teaches the refrigerator appliance of claim 3 above and Junge teaches wherein the outlet conduit of the evaporator is positioned concentrically with an interior volume of the reservoir [Fig. 4; ¶ 0027-0028; apparent from inspection, outlet 164 is positioned concentrically within interior volume 210].
Regarding Claim 5, Gupta, as modified, teaches the refrigerator appliance of claim 1 above and Junge teaches wherein the modulator forms a dead end branch for the working fluid [Fig. 19; ¶ 0029; apparent from inspection].
Regarding Claim 6, Gupta, as modified, teaches the refrigerator appliance of claim 1 above and Gupta further teaches comprising a movable damper assembly [34] configured to move between a first position wherein the evaporator is in fluid communication with the fresh food chamber to provide a flow of chilled air from the evaporator to the fresh food chamber and a second position wherein the evaporator is in fluid communication with the freezer chamber to provide a flow of chilled air from the evaporator to the freezer chamber [¶ 0059; outlet 28 is obstructed in a first position, outlet 30 is obstructed in a second position, thus providing flow to specific compartments].
Regarding Claim 7, Gupta, as modified, teaches the refrigerator appliance of claim 1 above and Gupta further teaches comprising a bridge chamber [60] defined in the cabinet, the bridge chamber positioned between the fresh food chamber and the freezer chamber, wherein the evaporator is positioned in the bridge chamber [Fig. 19; ¶ 0098; apparent from inspection, evaporator 78 disposed within chamber 60, between 14 and 16].
Regarding Claim 9, Gupta, as modified, teaches the refrigerator appliance of claim 7 above and Gupta further teaches comprising a fan [22] positioned in the bridge chamber and a plenum [at least 72] defined within the bridge chamber between the evaporator and the fan [¶ 0044-0045; channel 72 is formed between compartment liners 52 and 54 to house at least the evaporator and receive and airflow from the fan assembly].
Regarding Claim 10, Gupta teaches a sealed cooling system [18] for a refrigerator appliance [10], the refrigerator appliance comprising a freezer chamber [16] and a fresh food chamber [14] [¶ 0043-0045; Figs. 1-2 and 19], the sealed cooling system comprising:
a sealed loop [300] with a working fluid sealed within the sealed loop [¶ 0098; connection line 300 connects relevant components to enable the cooling assembly 18];
a compressor [80];
a condenser [82] downstream of the compressor with respect to the flow direction of the working fluid [¶ 0098-0099; Fig. 19; apparent from inspection];
an evaporator [78] downstream of the condenser with respect to the flow direction of the working fluid [¶ 0098-0099; Fig. 19; apparent from inspection];
While teaching a multi-directional valve [86] between the condenser and evaporator, Gupta does not explicitly teach an expansion device between the condenser and the evaporator; and a modulator having a reservoir and a supply conduit, the reservoir of the modulator positioned around an outlet conduit of the evaporator, a first end portion of the supply conduit coupled to an inlet conduit of the evaporator, a second end portion of the supply conduit coupled to the reservoir of the modulator at a top half of the reservoir, the working fluid flowable into and out of the reservoir of the modulator through the supply conduit of the modulator.
However, Junge teaches a modulator [200] for an ice maker in a refrigerator cabinet [Figs. 1-4], wherein the cooling system comprises a compressor [130], a condenser [40], an expansion device [150] and an evaporator [160] [¶ 0019, 0025]. Junge further teaches the modulator 200 comprising a reservoir [210] and a supply conduit [220] connected to the refrigerant conduit [162] at a point between the expansion device and the inlet of the evaporator [¶ 0025-0026]. Junge further discloses that the reservoir is positioned around an outlet conduit [164] of the evaporator, and wherein refrigerant may flow to and from the modulator via the supply conduit [¶ 0027]. Junge teaches that this configuration provides a manner of control over the system, as the temperature at the outlet of the evaporator will exchange energy with fluid present in the modulator, such that fluid flows through the supply conduit in accordance with the outlet temperature [¶ 0036-0038]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the expansion device and modulator as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the expansion device and modulator would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing the modulator around the outlet of an evaporator provides a means for controlling the system, as the configuration allows for heat transfer between the modulator and the evaporator outlet, thereby altering the flow of fluid towards the evaporator inlet, thus improving they system [¶ 0036-0038].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Gupta to have an expansion device between the condenser and the evaporator; and a modulator having a reservoir and a supply conduit, the reservoir of the modulator positioned around an outlet conduit of the evaporator, a first end portion of the supply conduit coupled to an inlet conduit of the evaporator, a second end portion of the supply conduit coupled to the reservoir of the modulator, the working fluid flowable into and out of the reservoir of the modulator through the supply conduit of the modulator, in view of the teachings of Junge where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing the modulator around the outlet of an evaporator provides a means for controlling the system, as the configuration allows for heat transfer between the modulator and the evaporator outlet, thereby altering the flow of fluid towards the evaporator inlet, thus improving they system.
Lastly, Junge does not explicitly disclose that the second end portion of the supply conduit is coupled to the reservoir of the modulator at a top half of the reservoir.
However, it has been held that an “obvious to try” rationale when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is a support for a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham, if the following findings can be established: (1) a finding that at the time of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem; (2) a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem; (3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and (4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness. See MPEP § 2143(I)(E).
In the instant case, and as per (1), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the teachings of Junge regarding passive flow of refrigerant to and from the modulator. In essence, Junge considers the temperature of refrigerant for flow providing the function of modulation. As per (2), based on the above teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that location of the supply conduit can only be arranged in a finite combination as follows: (A) at the upper half of the modulator (B) at the bottom half of the modulator, or (C) evenly disposed between the halves. As per (3), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that change in elevation of the supply conduit will not change the principles of operation of the prior art, nor would it render the prior art inoperable for its intended purpose, since refrigerant will be distributed in the prior art of Junge and will continue to operate regardless of the location of the supply conduit, or the phase of refrigerant flowing out thereof. In other words, modifying the prior art to achieve any of the aforementioned combinations of (A), (B) and (C) can be done with a reasonable expectation of success. This is supported by the fact that Junge acknowledges that the supply conduit provides and receives refrigerant from the modulator. As per (4), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that choosing an elevation of the supply conduit can be done as a matter of routine optimization, in order to achieve a configuration of passively providing charge to a refrigeration system [Junge ¶ 0038].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have taken the teachings of Junge and to have modified them by providing the second end portion of the supply conduit coupled to the reservoir of modulator at a top half of the reservoir, as a matter of choosing a finite number of predictable solutions, in order to achieve a passively driven refrigerant charging system, without yielding unpredictable results.
Regarding Claim 11, Gupta, as modified, teaches the sealed cooling system of claim 10 above and Gupta teaches wherein the evaporator is a single evaporator [¶ 0098; the assembly may use a single evaporator], the single evaporator in fluid communication with the fresh food chamber to provide a flow of chilled air from the single evaporator to the fresh food chamber and the single evaporator in fluid communication with the freezer chamber to provide a flow of chilled air from the evaporator to the freezer chamber [¶ 0044; Fig. 19; cooling assembly 18 may be in fluid communication with first and second compartments 14, 16].
Regarding Claim 12, Gupta, as modified, teaches the sealed cooling system of claim 10 above and Junge wherein the outlet conduit of the evaporator [164] extends through the reservoir of the modulator [Fig. 4; ¶ 0027-0028; apparent from inspection, outlet 164 is positioned concentrically within interior volume 210].
Regarding Claim 13, Gupta, as modified, teaches the sealed cooling system of claim 12 above and Junge teaches wherein the outlet conduit of the evaporator is positioned concentrically with an interior volume of the reservoir [Fig. 4; ¶ 0027-0028; apparent from inspection, outlet 164 is positioned concentrically within interior volume 210].
Regarding Claim 14, Gupta, as modified, teaches the sealed cooling system of claim 10 above and Junge teaches wherein the modulator forms a dead end branch for the working fluid [Fig. 19; ¶ 0029; apparent from inspection].
Regarding Claim 15, Gupta, as modified, teaches the sealed cooling system of claim 10 above and Gupta further teaches comprising a movable damper assembly [34]configured to move between a first position wherein the evaporator is in fluid communication with the fresh food chamber to provide a flow of chilled air from the evaporator to the fresh food chamber and a second position wherein the evaporator is in fluid communication with the freezer chamber to provide a flow of chilled air from the evaporator to the freezer chamber [¶ 0059; outlet 28 is obstructed in a first position, outlet 30 is obstructed in a second position, thus providing flow to specific compartments].
Regarding Claim 16, Gupta, as modified, teaches the sealed cooling system of claim 10 above and Gupta teaches wherein the evaporator is positioned in a bridge chamber [60] defined in the cabinet of the refrigerator appliance, the bridge chamber positioned between the fresh food chamber and the freezer chamber [Fig. 19; ¶ 0098; apparent from inspection, evaporator 78 disposed within chamber 60, between 14 and 16].
Regarding Claim 18, Gupta, as modified, teaches the sealed cooling system of claim 16 above and Gupta further comprising a fan [22] positioned in the bridge chamber and a plenum [at least 72] defined within the bridge chamber between the evaporator and the fan [¶ 0044-0045; channel 72 is formed between compartment liners 52 and 54 to house at least the evaporator and receive and airflow from the fan assembly].
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta and Junge as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Roh et al. (US 20230235941 A1, hereinafter “Roh”).
Regarding Claim 8, Gupta, as modified, teaches the refrigerator appliance of claim 7 above and Gupta teaches wherein the bridge chamber comprises a first outlet [74] in fluid communication with the fresh food chamber, a second inlet [62] in fluid communication with the freezer chamber, and a second outlet in fluid communication with the freezer chamber [76] [Figs. 2 and 19; ¶ 0045-0046; air enters channel 72 via 62 and is cooled and directed to 74 and/or 76 to flow towards their respective chambers].
While Gupta generally teaches an inlet, Gupta does not explicitly teach wherein the bridge chamber comprises a first inlet in fluid communication with the fresh food compartment.
However, Roh teaches a refrigerator [1] [Fig. 3] comprising a first and second compartment [11, 12] wherein each compartment may receive cold air from the cold air generating space [111] via ducts [21, 22, 23], wherein the cold air generating space is disposed between the first and second compartments [¶ 0066-0068]. Roh further teaches a (fifth) channel [233] for guiding air from the refrigerator compartment to the cold air generating space, as well as another (fourth) channel [232] for guiding air from the freezer compartment to the cold air generating space [¶ 0070], therefore providing a plurality of inlets to the cold air generating space from respective compartments. Roh further teaches that recycling and mixing air from separate compartments to be re-cooled is a known technique in the prior art regarding mono-cycle type refrigerators, and is known to produce an expected result of success [¶ 0003]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the inlet as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the inlet would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. mixing air from separate compartments to be re-cooled is a known technique in the prior art regarding mono-cycle type refrigerators, and is known to produce an expected result of success. Thus, there is a reasonable expectation that one of ordinary skill in the art may explore all known techniques if they are expected to result in a success [¶ 0003].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Gupta to have a first inlet in fluid communication with the fresh food chamber, in view of the teachings of Roh where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. mixing air from separate compartments to be re-cooled is a known technique in the prior art regarding mono-cycle type refrigerators, and is known to produce an expected result of success. Thus, there is a reasonable expectation that one of ordinary skill in the art may explore all known techniques if they are expected to result in a success.
Regarding Claim 17, Gupta, as modified, teaches the sealed cooling system of claim 16 above and Gupta wherein the bridge chamber comprises a first outlet [74] in fluid communication with the fresh food chamber, a second inlet [62] in fluid communication with the freezer chamber, and a second outlet in fluid communication with the freezer chamber [76] [Figs. 2 and 19; ¶ 0045-0046; air enters channel 72 via 62 and is cooled and directed to 74 and/or 76 to flow towards their respective chambers].
While Gupta generally teaches an inlet, Gupta does not explicitly teach wherein the bridge chamber comprises a first inlet in fluid communication with the fresh food compartment.
However, Roh teaches a refrigerator [1] [Fig. 3] comprising a first and second compartment [11, 12] wherein each compartment may receive cold air from the cold air generating space [111] via ducts [21, 22, 23], wherein the cold air generating space is disposed between the first and second compartments [¶ 0066-0068]. Roh further teaches a (fifth) channel [233] for guiding air from the refrigerator compartment to the cold air generating space, as well as another (fourth) channel [232] for guiding air from the freezer compartment to the cold air generating space [¶ 0070], therefore providing a plurality of inlets to the cold air generating space from respective compartments. Roh further teaches that recycling and mixing air from separate compartments to be re-cooled is a known technique in the prior art regarding mono-cycle type refrigerators, and is known to produce an expected result of success [¶ 0003]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the inlet as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the inlet would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. mixing air from separate compartments to be re-cooled is a known technique in the prior art regarding mono-cycle type refrigerators, and is known to produce an expected result of success. Thus, there is a reasonable expectation that one of ordinary skill in the art may explore all known techniques if they are expected to result in a success [¶ 0003].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Gupta to have a first inlet in fluid communication with the fresh food chamber, in view of the teachings of Roh where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. mixing air from separate compartments to be re-cooled is a known technique in the prior art regarding mono-cycle type refrigerators, and is known to produce an expected result of success. Thus, there is a reasonable expectation that one of ordinary skill in the art may explore all known techniques if they are expected to result in a success.
Response to Arguments
On pages 6-7 of the remarks, Applicant argues that the claims, as amended, are patentable over every cited reference, separately or in any combination. Specifically stating that a rearrangement of parts would modify the operation of the modulator, as the present Application is configured to control the charge of the evaporator such that operation is driven without the use of moving parts by the vapor pressure. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Prior art Junge explicitly discloses that the modulator 200 may also be a passive system without moving parts, thus regulating the charge of the refrigeration system based entirely on thermodynamics and vapor pressure without sensors, control valve, etc. [Jung ¶ 0038]. Applicant’s assertion that the location of the inlet is allegedly providing an advantage over the prior art cannot be followed, as the prior art explicitly discloses the same functionality and fundamental properties, regardless of the difference in structure. Therefore leading one to believe that modifying the location of the inlet does not: provide any significant or unexpected result, or modify the operation of the modulator art in such a manner that it does not perform its original function. Thus, the rearrangement is considered patentably insignificant.
On pages 6-7 of the remarks, Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art can discern that the liquid refrigerant would flow out of the reservoir in Junge much more readily than in the present application. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive, as the specific arguments are not reflected in the claims.
Respectfully, the phase of the refrigerant entering or exiting the modulator does not appear to impact the fundamental function that the difference in temperature between inlet/outlets is what drives the passive flow to and from the modulator [Junge ¶ 0037-0038]. Upon review of Applicant’s specification, no criticality can be found regarding the specific liquid or gas phase of the refrigerant entering or exiting the modulator. Applicant’s ¶ 0063 discloses the temperature difference of inlets/outlets accomplishing the passive function of modulating refrigerant. Compared to Junge ¶ 0038, the prior art’s modulator accomplishes the same exact function (i.e. provide or receive refrigerant) in the same exact manner (i.e. temperature difference), therefore leading one to believe that the phase of refrigerant entering/leaving the modulator does not impact the function of the modulator holding a portion of refrigerant and equalizing said refrigerant in a refrigeration circuit. Accordingly, the location of the conduit does not appear to modify the function of the modulator in a patentably significant manner.
On page 7 of the remarks, Applicant argues that the remaining dependent claims are allowable at least based on their dependency to an allegedly allowable independent claim. As the independent claims have been addressed above and remain rejected, all claims depending therefrom also remain rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH STANLEY MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763