DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed June 4, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 10,11 and 19-21 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jeong (US 2007/0119216) directed towards a laundry treatment apparatus that includes a stacking kit 60 includes a left fixed part 70 disposed on the upper left side of the washing machine 20, for preventing the left and backward movements of the drying machine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20130027926 herein referred to as “KR” (cited previously by Applicant on the IDS filed 4/12/2024), and in further view of Jeong (US 2007/0119216).
As to claims 10-11, KR discloses a laundry treating apparatus having an upper unit 10 and lower unit 20 (Figs. 1-3) with front, side, and rear panels at each. At Fig. 6, the rear panels of each unit 10, 20 are connected by a rear bracket 160. The front sides of each bracket 150 form a frame.
Figures 3 and 5 teach the first side panel having a front surface facing the first front panel and the second side panel having a front surface facing the second front panel.
KR is silent to a first frame that couples the front surface of the first side panel and the front surface of the second side panel.
Jeong figure 5 teaches a right fixed part 80 disposed on the upper right side of the washing machine 20, for preventing the right and backward movements of the drying machine 40, and a front-side fixed part 90 disposed at the upper front side of the laundry treatment apparatus main body and connected to anterior portions of the left fixed part 70 and the right fixed part 80 in order to prevent the forward movement of the drying machine 40.[0059]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the stacking kit of Jeong for preventing the left and backward movements of the drying machine.[0059]
As to claims 19-20, KR discloses wherein the rear bracket includes a middle part extending in a lateral direction, an upper part extending upward from the middle part in the lateral direction and a lower part extending downward from the middle part in the lateral direction and wherein the middle part contacts a top of the second treating apparatus, and wherein the upper part contacts the first rear panel and the lower part contacts the second rear panel (see rear bracket 160).
As to claim 21, KR discloses wherein a handle is provided at the middle part of the rear bracket (given the plateaued shape of bracket 160, it may be interpreted to be a handle, as there is something to hold on to). The claim language reciting a handle is an intended use of the apparatus, and KR discloses this feature because its bracket 160 is designed to be grasped by the hand due to its step/plateaued shape. This shape not only fits the rear side of the laundry apparatus, but also is formed with a shape for being capable of being handled due to the cavity of the shape formed at an underside of the bracket.
Claims 10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. herein referred to as “Hwang” (USPN 7,685,846), further in view of KR (cited above) and Jeong (US 2007/0119216).
As to claim 10, Hwang discloses a pair of laundry machines stacked together 80, 90. In KR there is disclosure of side, front, and rear fastening units (at Fig. 2: see front machine unit 170 and side fastening units 100, and at Fig. 9: see rear fastening unit 260). The rear fastening bracket of fixing bracket 260 connects at two points to the machines, first at the backside of the first device 90 and second at the bracket 100. Bracket 100 connects to the upper machine 80 and thus bracket 160 connects to the upper machine 80 indirectly, thus reading on “a rear bracket for coupling the first rear panel and the second rear panel”.
As to claims 12-14, Hwang discloses at Figs. 6-8, its front frame bracket 170 is coupled to the front portion of brackets 100, and bracket 170 includes a guide mechanism for accurately coupling to bracket 100 by use of a recess 179, projection 178, and flanges 174, 175. Brackets 170 and 100 are connected, as shown in Figs. 7-8 for example. A supplementary stopper 378 is formed having a curved cross-section along A-A of 379. Supplementary bracket 379 is useful in coming into contact with device 90 intermittently by the vibration of the device and thus limiting sounds from such vibrations. As shown in Fig. 10B bracket 370 is bent upwards from device 90 (supplementary bracket reads on the claimed guide panel having first and second protrusions).
As to claim 15, in Hwang it is unclear at Fig. 11, whether bracket 370 is ahead of a front face of bracket 170. However, due to the purpose of eliminating vibrational sounds and dampening, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make bracket 370 have a footprint that amply covers the space it is installed in above bracket 170, thus preventing elements of the fastening frame and laundry units from colliding, and thus limiting noise. As shown in Fig. 10B, the sides of bracket 379 appear to extend further forward to aid in covering the stacked bracketed areas, thus supporting a need for the bracket 379 extending further forward than the bracketing mechanisms below.
As to claim 16, Hwang at Fig. 2 shows laundry apparatus 90 having a controller at its front panel and formed between upper and lower laundry apparatus 80, 90.
As to claims 17-19, in Hwang the bracket 170 is formed on the top of the bottom laundry apparatus, and it is not apparent in Hwang the use of a complementary bracket on the bottom of the upper laundry apparatus that would be coupled together with 170. However, in Hwang, the side brackets 100 have both a top and bottom part that form together to create a sturdy connection point by use of extensions (see disclosure above). Similarly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the front and even rear edges between the lower and upper laundry machines connected with complementary bracketing. This would ensure a very tight fit together, to reduce sound during vibrational motions. Duplication of known bracketing parts would result in expected results of improved bracketing. In other words, having complementary bracketing along all the edges of the plane in which the lower and upper apparatus are connected, would ensure a tighter fit, thus reducing loosening of the top machine from the bottom machine, and also reduce sounds from vibrational effects of tumbling laundry. See also the rear bracket 160 in KR.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711