DETAILED ACTION
The same original claims 1-26 are pending and examined on the merits here as in the parent (U.S. Application No. 17481490 (now U.S. Patent No. 11,980,654. As originally filed there, the instant claims are drawn to three (3) methods of using, in part, peptide SEQ ID NOS: 1, 3, and 7 (the issued subject matter; an obviousness double patenting rejection added below alongside the same rejections applied in the parent over the same original claims).
Claim Observation/Format
While one of ordinary skill in the art will recognize the acronym MYDGF (as to what it is referring to here as opposed to the 5mer peptide “Met Tyr Asp Gly Phe” which also bears the same acronym by single amino acid identification), following traditional practice, applicant is asked to simply identify such by its full name followed by the acronym in parenthesis in each independent claim as the initial identifier:
--Myeloid Derived Growth Factor (MYDGF)--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 – Subject Matter Eligibility; Naturally Occurring Product
Claims 25-26 (the instant product claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) naturally occurring human myeloid-derived growth factor (“hMYDGF”) which applicant sets forth as instantly SEQ ID NO: 1, see specification page 1:
As the only element claimed in claim 25-26 is e.g. water, also a naturally occurring molecule the composition comprises only naturally occurring elements.
The prior art of record expressly teach hMYDGF in composition (e.g. with water), thereby recognizing such as naturally occurring:
Wang et al. (MYDGF promotes Cardiomyocyte proliferation and Neonatal Heart regeneration. Theranostics, 2020,10:9100-9112; see abstract, page 9109, right column, last para);
Korf-Klingebiel (Myeloid derived growth factor (C19 or F10) mediates cardiac repair following myocardial infarction. Nat.Med., 2015,21:140-149; see abstract, page 148, left column, last para – page 4, para 2; page 143, left hand column);
Zhao et al. (Production of bioactive recombinant human myeloid-derived growth factor in Escherichia coli and its mechanism on vascular endothelial cell proliferation. J.CellMol.Med., 2020,24,1189-1199; see page 1190, left column; para 2, abstract, fig. 8); or
Bortnov et al. (Solution structure of human myeloid-derived growth factor suggests a conserved functioni n the endoplasmic reticulum. Nature Communications, 2019,10:5612; see abstract, page 2, left column; fig. 4; Bortnov being one of the instant inventors named).
; just as applicant set forth at the outset of the specification:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, claims 25-26 are rejected as being directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 - Anticipation
Claim(s) 1-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by any of:
Wang et al. (MYDGF promotes Cardiomyocyte proliferation and Neonatal Heart regeneration. Theranostics, 2020,10:9100-9112; see abstract, page 9109, right column, last para);
Korf-Klingebiel (Myeloid derived growth factor (C19 or F10) mediates cardiac repair following myocardial infarction. Nat.Med., 2015,21:140-149; see abstract, page 148, left column, last para – page 4, para 2; page 143, left hand column);
Zhao et al. (Production of bioactive recombinant human myeloid-derived growth factor in Escherichia coli and its mechanism on vascular endothelial cell proliferation. J.CellMol.Med., 2020,24,1189-1199; see page 1190, left column; para 2, abstract, fig. 8); or
Bortnov et al. (Solution structure of human myeloid-derived growth factor suggests a conserved functioni n the endoplasmic reticulum. Nature Communications, 2019,10:5612; see abstract, page 2, left column; fig. 4; Bortnov being one of the instant inventors named).
Regarding claims 1-24, Wang, Korf-Klingebiel, and Zhao (see sections noted above) each teach the use of MYDGF in the treatment of cardiac tissue which would naturally inhibit neutrophil recruitment (instant claim 1), naturally reduce inflammation thereof via treatment (instant claim 9) and promote wound healing of the cardiac tissue (instant claim 17), thereby rendering such anticipated. Additionally, Bortnov (see sections noted above) teaches the relationship of MYDGF to the signaling pathway of MAPK/STAT3 which is directly tied to inflammation and thereby renders anticipated the inhibition of inflammation, at a minimum (instant claim 9). All of the other claims depending to these claims 1, 9, and 17 are equally rendering anticipated as merely identifying subject taught for treatment (e.g. vertebrate, mammalian, human).
Regarding claims 25-26, each of the four (4) references above expressly teach (see abstract in each) MYDGF (e.g. inferred to be human, instant SEQ ID NO: 1) and compositions comprising the same. Thus, the products of claims 25-26 are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obviousness
The Claimed Invention: Claims 25-26 are products drawn to naturally occurring MYDGF peptide; while the following three (3) method of use claims are drawn to using such to for across the broad strokes of: claim 1 - inhibiting neutrophil recruitment to any damaged tissue; claim 9 – inhibiting any inflammation; and claim 17 – promoting any type of wound healing.
It is noted that this may apply literally anywhere as the state of the art as aware that MYDGF is abundant literally anywhere throughout the tissue and cells of the body (as noted in the instant Background):
Claim(s) 1-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Wang et al. (MYDGF promotes Cardiomyocyte proliferation and Neonatal Heart regeneration. Theranostics, 2020,10:9100-9112; see abstract, page 9109, right column, last para), alone or in view of any one of:
Korf-Klingebiel (Myeloid derived growth factor (C19 or F10) mediates cardiac repair following myocardial infarction. Nat. Med., 2015,21:140-149; see abstract, page 148, left column, last para – page 4, para 2; page 143, left hand column); and/or
Zhao et al. (Production of bioactive recombinant human myeloid-derived growth factor in Escherichia coli and its mechanism on vascular endothelial cell proliferation. J.Cell Mol.Med., 2020,24,1189-1199; see page 1190, left column; para 2, abstract, fig. 8); and/or
Bortnov et al. (Solution structure of human myeloid-derived growth factor suggests a conserved function in the endoplasmic reticulum. Nature Communications, 2019,10:5612; see page 2, left column; fig. 4; Bortnov being one of the instant inventors named).
Regarding claims 1-24, Wang, Korf-Klingebiel, and Zhao (see sections noted above) each teach the use of MYDGF in the treatment of cardiac tissue which would naturally inhibit neutrophil recruitment (instant claim 1), naturally reduce inflammation thereof via treatment (instant claim 9) and promote wound healing of the cardiac tissue (instant claim 17), thereby rendering such obvious at a minimum. Additionally, Bortnov (see sections noted above) teaches the relationship of MYDGF to the signaling pathway of MAPK/STAT3 which is directly tied to inflammation and thereby renders obvious the inhibition of inflammation, at a minimum (instant claim 9). All of the other claims depending to these claims 1, 9, and 17 are equally rendering obvious as merely identifying subject taught for treatment (e.g. vertebrate, mammalian, human).
Regarding claims 25-26, each of the four (4) references above expressly teach (see abstract in each) MYDGF (e.g. inferred to be human, instant SEQ ID NO: 1) and compositions comprising the same. Thus, the products of claims 25-26 are equally rendered prima facie obvious to arrive at.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Written Description, Lack of Possession
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Namely, applicant claims ANY myeloid-derived growth factor (“MYDGF”) bearing a biologically active fragment thereof, an analogous sequence thereof; including e.g. at least 60% identity to instant human (SEQ ID NO: 1), mouse (SEQ ID NO: 3) and zebrafish (SEQ ID NO: 7). However, the latter three naturally occurring examples are the only MYDGF’s found described or sequenced in the instant application. Thus, absent further evidence which is not currently of record that the state of the art knew what these other fragments and analogous sequence structures were – which was not uncovered by the examiner in a review of the prior art nor amongst all the IDS references submitted herewith - applicant was in ‘not’ possession at the time of filing of the instantly claimed: ANY myeloid-derived growth factor (“MYDGF”) bearing a biologically active fragment thereof, an analogous sequence thereof; including e.g. at least 60% identity to instant human (SEQ ID NO: 1), mouse (SEQ ID NO: 3) and zebrafish (SEQ ID NO: 7).
Double Patenting (U.S. Patent No. 11,980,644, Parent)
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,980,654. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the same original claims filed there are filed here, bearing the same three (3) methods of use, bearing the three (3) peptide SEQ ID NOS: 1, 3, and 7 employed therein that ultimately issued in ‘654. As such, while the originally filed claims contain broader scope, the species issued in ‘654 read hereon and render such prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
This is a continuation of applicant's earlier Application No. 17/481,490. All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAURY A AUDET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654