DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 3/6/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the locations of communications and sensing signals as described in the specification concerning Figures 2-4 and 6-8. It is noted that the figures provide a legend to indicate the two different types of signals, but there is no differentiation between the two actually illustrated.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 11-13, 14-15, and 21-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 11-12, 11, 14-15, 11-12, and 11, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,506,527.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims clearly anticipate the pending claims with the following exceptions:
Claims 1 and 14 require “locations of the plurality of sensing signals in the signal structure form an irregular pattern”. However, patented claims 1 and 14 require spreading the plurality of sensing signals with spreading codes, which creates an “irregular pattern”. Claims 1 and 14 are therefore anticipated.
Claims 13 and 23 require the plurality of sensing signals are included in a first set of multiple time resources and/or a first set of one or more frequency resources. However, patented claim 11 specifies a frequency modulated continuous waveform, which anticipates “one of more frequency resources”.
Claims 21-23 are directed to an apparatus, whereas patented claims 11-12 are directed to a method. However claims 21-23 are not patentably distinct from claims 11-12, as the patented method requires performance on a wireless device, anticipating claims 21-23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-15, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bayeseth et al. (IDS reference, US 2021/0076367).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Bayeseth discloses a wireless device and communication method, comprising: transmitting, by a wireless device comprising a processor (Fig. 2A), a waveform that includes a signal structure (Figure 6),
wherein the signal structure includes a plurality of data signals ([0053]),
wherein the signal structure includes a plurality of sensing signals configured to reflect from an object in an area where the wireless device is operating resulting in a reflected waveform that comprises at least some of the plurality of sensing signals to be received by the wireless device ([0067]), and
wherein locations of the plurality of sensing signals in the signal structure form an irregular pattern (Figure 6, [0153]);
receiving, by the wireless device, the reflected waveform; and determining, by processing the reflected waveform, one or more parameters of the object ([0186]).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Bayeseth discloses the one or more parameters of the object include a distance between the object and the wireless device, a speed of the object, a motion period of the object, or an image of the object ([0186]).
Regarding claims 11 and 21, Bayeseth discloses the plurality of sensing signals include a frequency modulation continuous wave (FMCW) signal, a pulse signal, or a low-correlation sequence.
Regarding claims 12 and 22, Bayeseth discloses the low-correlation sequence includes an m-sequence, a pseudo-noise sequence, a gold sequence, or a Zadoff-Chu sequence ([0140]).
Regarding claims 13 and 23, Bayeseth discloses the plurality of sensing signals are included in a first set of multiple time resources and/or a first set of one or more frequency resources (Figure 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayeseth as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Rafique (WO 2022/0146368).
Regarding claims 3, 4, 16, and 17, Bayeseth discloses the signal structure comprises a plurality of time slots (e.g. Fig. 6) and appears to imply that the irregular pattern may be formed by at least one sensing signal that is randomly located in at least one symbol within each time slot ([0083], [0084], [0146]). Nonetheless, Bayeseth is not found to specifically disclose random sensing signal location as claimed. Rafique also discloses a joint sensing and communication technique where sensing signals are randomly located in symbols within each time slot (page 3, lines 16-20, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to randomly locate sensing signals of Bayeseth as claimed and disclosed by Rafique in order to improve security as noted by Rafique with predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art shows various joint sensing and communication signal structure techniques.
/MATTHEW M BARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646