DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/6/2026.
Claims 4 and 17 as amended are directed to Species B, Embodiment 2 relating to randomly selected time slots.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. At pages 8-9 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that the indicated locations for the sensing signals within Bayesteh’s signal structure do not form non-uniform, aperiodic, and pseudo-random pattern because Bayesteh shows that all time-domain locations are used, which corresponds to a periodic pattern having a periodicity of one. The argument is not persuasive at least in that the illustrated signal structure pattern in Figure 6 is irregular and aperiodic over the timeframe illustrated. It is submitted the pattern can also be described as “pseudo-random”, though this new language is addressed separately below. At pages 9-10 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Rafique does not disclose, teach, or suggest randomly selecting symbols, time slots, or spreading codes, without additional explanation. The argument is not persuasive, at least because the cited portion of Rafique (page 3, lines 16-20) states “…these radar sequences are placed randomly over the time-axis...” The argument does not address the indicated disclosure.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the locations of communications and sensing signals as described in the specification concerning Figures 2-4 and 6-8. It is noted that the figures provide a legend to indicate the two different types of signals, but there is no differentiation between the two actually illustrated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 16 require the “non-uniform, aperiodic, and pseudo-random pattern is formed by at least one sensing signal that is located in each symbol of the at least one randomly selected symbol that is located within each time slot of the plurality of time slots”. It is noted “the” is missing in claim 16 prior to “non-uniform” and correction is required. The indicated language appears to be grammatically incorrect to the extent that what is required is indefinite. The claim requires “at least one sensing signal that is located in each symbol…” which appears to indicate the (possibly “one”) signal is located within more than one symbol, in particular all of them, which does not appear the intent in view of Figure 2, albeit interpretation is complicated by lack of illustration per the drawing objection above. It appears the intent may instead be in general that sensing signals are located in respective randomly selected symbols. It is further apparent the same applies similarly to “the at least one randomly selected symbol located within each time slot”, as it does not appear that the same randomly selected symbol(s) would itself/themselves be located in multiple time slots.
Additionally, the claims require a “non-uniform, aperiodic, and pseudo-random pattern” yet require only “one” sensing signal and “one” selected time slot. It is not clear to what extent a “non-uniform, aperiodic, and pseudo-random pattern” can exist if only one signal and/or slot is present, and is instead contradictory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-16, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayesteh et al. (US 2021/0076367) in view of Rafique (WO 2022/0146368).
Regarding claims 1-2, 14, and 16, Bayesteh discloses a wireless device and communication method, comprising: transmitting, by a wireless device comprising a processor (Fig. 2A), a waveform that includes a signal structure (Figure 6),
wherein the signal structure includes a plurality of data signals ([0053]),
wherein the signal structure includes a plurality of sensing signals configured to reflect from an object in an area where the wireless device is operating resulting in a reflected waveform that comprises at least some of the plurality of sensing signals to be received by the wireless device ([0067]), and
wherein locations of the plurality of sensing signals in the signal structure form a non-uniform, irregular pattern in time domain (Figure 6, [0153]);
receiving, by the wireless device, the reflected waveform; and determining, by processing the reflected waveform, one or more parameters of the object ([0186]).
Bayesteh appears to imply that the irregular pattern may be formed by at least one sensing signal that is randomly located in at least one symbol within each time slot ([0083], [0084], [0146]) but is not found to specifically disclose the pattern is pseudo-random and based on one of a random selection of at least one symbol, random selection of at least one time slot, or random selection of at least one spreading code. Rafique also discloses a joint sensing and communication technique where locations of a plurality of sensing signals form a pseudo-random pattern in time domain based on random selection of symbols and time slots (page 3, lines 16-20, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to randomly locate sensing signals of Bayesteh in the pattern as claimed and disclosed by Rafique in order to improve security as noted by Rafique (page 7, lines 6-10) with predictable results.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Bayesteh discloses the one or more parameters of the object include a distance between the object and the wireless device, a speed of the object, a motion period of the object, or an image of the object ([0186]).
Regarding claims 11 and 21, Bayesteh discloses the plurality of sensing signals include a frequency modulation continuous wave (FMCW) signal, a pulse signal, or a low-correlation sequence.
Regarding claims 12 and 22, Bayesteh discloses the low-correlation sequence includes an m-sequence, a pseudo-noise sequence, a gold sequence, or a Zadoff-Chu sequence ([0140]).
Regarding claims 13 and 23, Bayesteh discloses the plurality of sensing signals are included in a first set of multiple time resources and/or a first set of one or more frequency resources (Figure 6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW M BARKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646