Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. See also 37 CFR 1.133(b). “In every instance where reconsideration is requested in view of an interview with an examiner, a complete written statement of the reasons presented at the interview as warranting favorable action must be filed by the applicant. An interview does not remove the necessity for reply to Office actions as specified in §§ 1.111 and 1.135.” (emphasis added).
In order to expedite prosecution, new grounds of rejection are provided herein. Nguyen discloses modifying accents of virtual meeting participants, and does not disclose modifying speech disrupted by a speech disorder. However, Malkin et al. (cited below) disclose a method/system for modifying a communication participant’s speech that is disrupted by a speech disorder to produce speech with a removed speech disorder. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt Nguyen to perform such modifications of a speech signal for the reasons provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2024/0098218, hereinafter “Nguyen”), in view of Malkin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2013/0246061, hereinafter “Malkin”).
In regard to claim 1, Nguyen discloses a method (Fig. 7, 700), comprising:
causing a virtual meeting user interface (UI) to be presented during a virtual meeting between a plurality of participants, the virtual meeting UI providing first audio data associated with an audio stream produced by a client device of a first participant of the plurality of participants (see Fig. 5A, a GUI 500 for virtual conferences is displayed, the GUI 500 including multiple participants 502 and 504, paragraph [0088]; the virtual conference associated with an audio stream including audio data from a client device, paragraphs [0104-0106]);
determining that the first audio data associated with the audio stream produced by the client device of the first participant is to be modified during the virtual meeting (a request to convert audio from a participant in the virtual conference is received, paragraph [0107]);
generating, using an artificial intelligence (AI) model and using the audio stream produced by the client device of the first participant as input to the AI model, a modified audio stream to improve understandability of the first audio data by one or more participants of the plurality of participants (an accent conversion (AC) model generates from a received audio stream including speech in a source accent to a second audio stream including speech in a target accent, paragraph [0112]; the AC model comprising one or more machine learning models, paragraphs [0013-0014]; allowing participants to more easily understand each other, paragraphs [0016-0017]); and
causing second audio data associated with the modified audio stream to be provided during the virtual meeting in place of the first audio data (the second audio stream is transmitted to client devices in the virtual conference, paragraph [0115]).
Nguyen does not expressly disclose the modification to improve understandability is applied to first audio data comprising speech disrupted by a speech disorder and that the modified audio stream comprises speech with a removed speech disorder.
Malik discloses a method for improving understandability by modifying first audio data wherein the first audio data comprises speech disrupted by a speech disorder and that the modified audio stream comprises speech with a removed speech disorder (see Fig. 3, artifacts in a communication participant’s speech caused by a speech disorder are eliminated, paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nguyen to generate a modified audio stream comprises speech with a removed speech disorder, because it would allow the participant’s speech impairment to be corrected and remove impairments that are not intended as part of speech when the participant speaks, as suggested by Malik (paragraphs [0013-0014]).
In regard to claim 2, Nguyen discloses the AI model comprises an AI model trained on a plurality of items of training data (recordings of people speaking, paragraph [0014]), wherein each item of training data comprises:
third audio data (pairs of audio data comprising a source audio, paragraphs [0014] and [0076]); and
a ground truth comprising fourth audio data that corresponds to the third audio data and improves the understandability of the third audio data (the second audio of the pair comprising target audio data of the same words spoken in a different accent, paragraphs [0014] and [0076]).
In regard to claim 3, Nguyen does not disclose the speech comprises a speech disorder.
Malik discloses the speech disorder comprises at least one of verbal apraxia; cluttering; aphasia; stuttering; or a speech sound disorder (stutters, etc., paragraphs [0014], [0030], and [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove speech disorders comprising at least one of the above speech disorders, because it would allow the participant’s speech impairment to be corrected and remove impairments that are not intended as part of speech when the participant speaks, as suggested by Malik (paragraphs [0013-0014]).
In regard to claim 4, Nguyen discloses generating the modified audio stream comprises using the AI model to perform at least one of:
increase a pitch of the audio stream; or
change a timbre of the audio stream (the AC model is trained to allow a user to select a desired voice as well as an accent, paragraph [0114]; where performing voice conversion (VC) comprises adjusting the pitch and timbre of the audio, paragraph [0073]).
In regard to claim 5, Nguyen discloses determining that the first audio data associated with the audio stream produced by the client device of the first participant is to be modified comprises receiving a command from the client device of the first participant (a participant in the virtual conference requests that their accent is modified, paragraph [0066]).
In regard to claim 6, Nguyen discloses the command comprises data indicating an audio effect to be applied by the AI model (accent conversion, paragraph [0066]).
In regard to claim 7, Nguyen discloses determining that the first audio data associated with the audio stream produced by the client device of the first participant is to be modified comprises receiving a command from a client device of a second participant of the plurality of participants (a participant in the virtual conference requests that a second participant’s accent is converted, paragraph [0066]).
In regard to claim 8, Nguyen discloses causing the second audio data associated with the modified audio stream to be provided during the virtual meeting in place of the first audio data comprises causing, for a subset of the plurality of participants, the second audio data to be provided in place of the first audio data (multiple participants in the virtual conference request accent conversion to a particular accent, paragraph [0116]).
In regard to claim 9, Nguyen discloses a system (Fig. 8, 800), comprising:
a memory (memory 820); and
a processing device (processor 810), coupled to the memory, configured to perform operations comprising:
causing a virtual meeting user interface (UI) to be presented during a virtual meeting between a plurality of participants, the virtual meeting UI providing first audio data associated with an audio stream produced by a client device of a first participant of the plurality of participants (see Fig. 5A, a GUI 500 for virtual conferences is displayed, the GUI 500 including multiple participants 502 and 504, paragraph [0088]; the virtual conference associated with an audio stream including audio data from a client device, paragraphs [0104-0106]);
determining that the first audio data associated with the audio stream produced by the client device of the first participant is to be modified during the virtual meeting (a request to convert audio from a participant in the virtual conference is received, paragraph [0107]);
generating, using an artificial intelligence (AI) model and using the audio stream produced by the client device of the first participant as input to the AI model, a modified audio stream to improve understandability of the first audio data by one or more participants of the plurality of participants (an accent conversion (AC) model generates from a received audio stream including speech in a source accent to a second audio stream including speech in a target accent, paragraph [0112]; the AC model comprising one or more machine learning models, paragraphs [0013-0014]; allowing participants to more easily understand each other, paragraphs [0016-0017]); and
causing second audio data associated with the modified audio stream to be provided during the virtual meeting in place of the first audio data (the second audio stream is transmitted to client devices in the virtual conference, paragraph [0115]).
Nguyen does not expressly disclose the modification to improve understandability is applied to first audio data comprising speech disrupted by a speech disorder and that the modified audio stream comprises speech with a removed speech disorder.
Malik discloses a method for improving understandability by modifying first audio data wherein the first audio data comprises speech disrupted by a speech disorder and that the modified audio stream comprises speech with a removed speech disorder (see Fig. 3, artifacts in a communication participant’s speech caused by a speech disorder are eliminated, paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nguyen to generate a modified audio stream comprises speech with a removed speech disorder, because it would allow the participant’s speech impairment to be corrected and remove impairments that are not intended as part of speech when the participant speaks, as suggested by Malik (paragraphs [0013-0014]).
In regard to claim 10, Nguyen discloses the AI model comprises an AI model trained on a plurality of items of training data (recordings of people speaking, paragraph [0014]), wherein each item of training data comprises:
third audio data (pairs of audio data comprising a source audio, paragraphs [0014] and [0076]); and
a ground truth comprising fourth audio data that corresponds to the third audio data and improves the understandability of the third audio data (the second audio of the pair comprising target audio data of the same words spoken in a different accent, paragraphs [0014] and [0076]).
In regard to claim 11, Nguyen does not disclose the speech comprises a speech disorder.
Malik discloses the speech disorder comprises at least one of verbal apraxia; cluttering; aphasia; stuttering; or a speech sound disorder (stutters, etc., paragraphs [0014], [0030], and [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove speech disorders comprising at least one of the above speech disorders, because it would allow the participant’s speech impairment to be corrected and remove impairments that are not intended as part of speech when the participant speaks, as suggested by Malik (paragraphs [0013-0014]).
In regard to claim 12, Nguyen discloses generating the modified audio stream comprises using the AI model to perform at least one of:
increase a pitch of the audio stream; or
change a timbre of the audio stream (the AC model is trained to allow a user to select a desired voice as well as an accent, paragraph [0114]; where performing voice conversion (VC) comprises adjusting the pitch and timbre of the audio, paragraph [0073]).
In regard to claim 13, Nguyen discloses determining that the first audio data associated with the audio stream produced by the client device of the first participant is to be modified comprises receiving a command from the client device of the first participant (a participant in the virtual conference requests that their accent is modified, paragraph [0066]).
In regard to claim 14, Nguyen discloses the command comprises data indicating an audio effect to be applied by the AI model (accent conversion, paragraph [0066]).
In regard to claim 15, Nguyen discloses determining that the first audio data associated with the audio stream produced by the client device of the first participant is to be modified comprises receiving a command from a client device of a second participant of the plurality of participants (a participant in the virtual conference requests that a second participant’s accent is converted, paragraph [0066]).
In regard to claim 16, Nguyen discloses causing the second audio data associated with the modified audio stream to be provided during the virtual meeting in place of the first audio data comprises causing, for a subset of the plurality of participants, the second audio data to be provided in place of the first audio data (multiple participants in the virtual conference request accent conversion to a particular accent, paragraph [0116]).
In regard to claim 17, Nguyen discloses a method (Fig. 7, 700), comprising:
causing a virtual meeting user interface (UI) to be presented during a virtual meeting between a plurality of participants, the virtual meeting UI providing a plurality of at a plurality of time periods during the virtual meeting, wherein each first audio data of the plurality of first audio data is associated with an audio stream produced by a client device of a respective participant of the plurality of participants (see Fig. 5A, a GUI 500 for virtual conferences is displayed, the GUI 500 including multiple participants 502 and 504, paragraph [0088]; the virtual conference associated with an audio stream including audio data from a plurality of client devices, paragraphs [0104-0106]);
determining that the plurality of first audio data are to be modified during the virtual meeting (a request to convert audio to a target accent for each of a plurality of participants is received, paragraphs [0107-0108]);
generating, using a plurality of artificial intelligence (AI) models and using the audio streams of the plurality of participants as input to the AI models, a plurality of modified audio streams (accent conversion (AC) models generate from received audio streams including speech in sources accents, second audio streams including speech in a target accent, paragraphs [0090] and [0012]; the AC model comprising one or more machine learning models, paragraphs [0013-0014]), wherein
each modified audio stream is associated with a participant of the plurality of participants (any participants with a different accent will be converted, paragraph [0090]), and
the respective modified audio streams improve understandability of the respective first audio data by one or more participants of the plurality of participants (the conversion allows participants to more easily understand each other, paragraphs [0016-0017]); and
causing a plurality of second audio data associated with the plurality of modified audio streams to be provided during the virtual meeting in place of the plurality of first audio data (the second audio streams are transmitted to client devices in the virtual conference, paragraphs [0090] and [0115]).
Nguyen does not expressly disclose the modification to improve understandability is applied to first audio data comprising speech disrupted by a speech disorder and that the modified audio stream comprises speech with a removed speech disorder.
Malik discloses a method for improving understandability by modifying first audio data wherein the first audio data comprises speech disrupted by a speech disorder and that the modified audio stream comprises speech with a removed speech disorder (see Fig. 3, artifacts in a communication participant’s speech caused by a speech disorder are eliminated, paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nguyen to generate a modified audio stream comprises speech with a removed speech disorder, because it would allow the participant’s speech impairment to be corrected and remove impairments that are not intended as part of speech when the participant speaks, as suggested by Malik (paragraphs [0013-0014]).
In regard to claim 18, Nguyen discloses the plurality of AI models comprises a first AI model and a second AI model (one or more AC processes comprising the trained AC model, paragraph [0065]);
the first AI model applies an audio effect to a first audio stream of the audio streams (an AC process is generated for each participant requesting an accent conversion, paragraphs [0068-0069]); and
the second AI model applies the same audio effect to a second audio stream of the audio streams (an AC process is generated for each participant requesting an accent conversion, paragraphs [0068-0069]).
In regard to claim 19, Nguyen discloses the plurality of AI models comprises a first AI model and a second AI model (one or more AC processes comprising the trained AC model, paragraph [0065]);
the first AI model applies a first audio effect to a first audio stream of the audio streams (an AC process is generated for each participant requesting an accent conversion, paragraphs [0068-0069]); and
the second AI model applies a second audio effect to a second audio stream of the audio streams, wherein the second audio effect is different from the first audio effect (an AC process for each source-target accent pair is generated, paragraphs [0068-0069]).
In regard to claim 20, Nguyen discloses determining that the plurality of first audio data is to be modified comprises receiving a command from a client device of a first participant of the plurality of participants (a participant in the virtual conference requests accent conversion for a plurality of participants, paragraph [0066]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cockram et al. disclose an additional method for removing speech disorders from speech.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BLA 3/17/26
/BRIAN L ALBERTALLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656