DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s “Amendment” filed on 04/03/2026 has been considered.
Claims 1 is amended. Claim 2, 4-5, and 9-15 are canceled. Claims 1, 3, and 6-8 remain pending in this application and an action on the merits follow.
Applicant’s response by virtue of amendment to claim 1 has not overcome the Examiner’s rejection under 35 USC § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 USC 101. The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because claim is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 3, and 6-8 fail to remedy these deficiencies.
Claims 1, 3, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the machine readable medium does not specifically exclude signals and needs to be amended to specify that the medium is ‘non-transitory’.
The claim 1 recites capturing transaction information for products purchased by scanning email accounts; connecting each of the plurality of third part retail websites; collecting additional metadata associated with the captured transaction information; generating a database of the captured transaction information and collected additional meta data; generating a graphical user interface that displays the captured transaction information and collected additional metadata…wherein the graphical user interface further includes a plurality of hyperlinks to a plurality of cross-listing websites; enabling a user to select one of the plurality of hyperlinks; and upon selection of one of the plurality of hyperlinks by the user, automatically propagating the collected additional meta data into the plurality of data fields of the resell form of the cross-listing site associated with the selected hyperlink to enable a resell listing on the cross-listing site associated with the selected hyperlink .
Claim 1 recites connecting, scanning, generating, displays, enabling, and propagating steps as drafted, are processes that under broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of managing personal behavior, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a computer-implemented medium comprising executing on processor the steps of”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by organizing human activity. For example, but for “a computer-implemented medium comprising executing on processor the steps of” in the context of the claim encompasses a person manually reviews receipts in the email account to scan and identify each of the plurality of third party retail websites, generates/forms a database/record of the transaction information and additional metadata, displays the transaction information, the additional metadata, and a plurality of hyperlinks, and propagates/fills the collected additional meta data into the plurality of data fields. The ability of a graphical user interface to receive selections and output data is generic. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by managing personal behavior but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because capturing and collecting steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of retrieving data) and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concept of capturing, connecting, collecting, scanning, generating, displays, enabling, and propagating in a computer environment. The claimed computer components such as the computer medium and the processor are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform capturing, connecting, collecting, scanning, generating, displays, enabling, and propagating steps. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using the computer medium and the processor to perform capturing, connecting, collecting, scanning, generating, displays, enabling, and propagating steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea (Step 2B: NO). The claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Claims 3 and 6-8, disclose insignificant helpful content to further describe content, such as using an email scraper/a browser extension/a web browser software to capture the transaction information in real-time or near real-time, the multiple sources, and the captured transaction is associated with historical past purchase transactions/digital receipts, which are merely descriptive content to further limit the abstract idea but not make it less abstract. Thus, the claims 3 and 6-8 are directed to an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because descriptive content in claims 3 and 6-8 further limit the abstract idea but not make it less abstract. Thus, the claims 3 and 6-8 are directed to an abstract idea.
There are no additional claim element limitations recited in the claims 3 and 6-8. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea (Step 2B: NO). The claims 3 and 6-8 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,311,521 to Capone et al., in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0124635 to Shao.
With regard to claim 1, Capone discloses a computer-implemented medium for generating a graphical user interface that provides digital inventory management of one or more products purchased by a user from a plurality of third party retail websites, wherein the user has an email account, comprising executing on processor the steps of:
capturing transaction information for the one or more products purchased by the user by scanning said email account, wherein the transaction information identifies which of the plurality of third party retail websites is associated with the one or more products purchased by the user (col. 12, lines 64-67, col. 13, lines 11-15 and lines 50-59, col. 15, lines 18-56, a user operating a user computing entity 30 may access a user interface via a mobile application, a downloaded application or program, via the Internet, a web browser, a dedicated window, and/or the like. In some embodiments, image data may be captured of the item itself, item packaging, or a receipt for purchase of the item. For example, the user computing entity 30 may provide the captured image data to the claims system 100 as an item indicator. A user's email may be monitored or scraped for receipts that are emailed to the user (e.g., emailed receipts for items purchased online or in person). Information related to the item(s) indicated on the receipt may be provided to the claims system 100 as an item indicator. In various embodiments, the claims system 100 may update the item listing based on the information associated with the item found in the emailed receipts or purchase history data from the retailer (e.g., access via retailer/market system 200). It should be understood that a variety of methods may be used by the claims system 100 to gather item information/data.);
connecting with each of the plurality of third party retail websites identified in the captured transaction information (col. 11, lines 17-47, col. 15, lines 18-56, the claims system 100 may communicate or interact with any number of retailer/market systems 200 via their respective communication interfaces information/data. At step 308, external information/data sources may be accessed to gather item information/data associated with the item. For example, the claims system 100 may access external information/data via an external information/data source system 300 to gather item information/data. In various embodiments, the claims system 100 may update the item listing based on the information associated with the item found in the emailed receipts or purchase history data from the retailer (e.g., access via retailer/market system 200).);
collecting additional metadata associated with the captured transaction information from each of the plurality of third party retail websites identified in the captured transaction information, wherein the metadata includes one or more digital images, fair market value data and physical measurement data of the one or more products purchased by the users (col. 12, lines 64-67, col. 13, lines 11-49 and lines 50-59, col. 14, lines 63-col 15, line1, and col. 15, lines 18-56, For example, a user (e.g., operating a user computing entity 30) may browse and/or search an online/electronic catalog (e.g., ebay.com, amazon.com, bestbuy.com, etc.), as shown in FIG. 4. The browser 800 may display an item name 805, an image of the item 810, a price for purchase of the item 815, a description of the item 820, and/or the like. The template may include item size and item dimensions);
generating a database of the captured transaction information and collected additional meta data associated with the one more products purchased by the user (col. 14, lines 58-61, In various embodiments, the item listing may be based on a template item listing. For example, the template item listing may comprise various item information/data, such as a set of information/data fields. col. 15, lines 45-56, In various embodiments, the claims system 100 may update the item listing based on the information associated with the item found in the emailed receipts or purchase history data from the retailer (e.g., access via retailer/market system 200). It should be understood that a variety of methods may be used by the claims system 100 to gather item information/data. In various embodiments, the user computing entity 30 may capture and/or provide at least some item information/data to the claims system 100. The item listing and/or corresponding item inventory may then be stored by the claims system 100 (e.g., in the inventory database 140) or an associated system.); and
generating a graphical user interface that displays the captured transaction information and collected additional metadata associated with the or more products purchased by the user (Fig. 4, col. 13, lines 16-26, In another embodiment, an application may run as a plug-in and/or the like with a browser operating on the user computing entity 30. For example, a user (e.g., operating a user computing entity 30) may browse and/or search an online/electronic catalog (e.g., ebay.com, amazon.com, bestbuy.com, etc.), as shown in FIG. 4. The browser 800 may display an item name 805, an image of the item 810, a price for purchase of the item 815, a description of the item 820, and/or the like.).
However, Capone does not disclose wherein the graphical user interface further includes a plurality of hyperlinks to a plurality of cross-listing websites, each having a resell form with a plurality of data fields; enabling a user to select one of the plurality of hyperlinks; and upon selection of one of the plurality of hyperlinks by the user, automatically propagating the collected additional meta data into the plurality of data fields of the resell form of the cross-listing site associated with the selected hyperlink to enable a resell listing on the cross-listing site associated with the selected hyperlink.
However, Shao teaches the graphical user interface further includes a plurality of hyperlinks to a plurality of cross-listing websites, each having a resell form with a plurality of data fields (a sell now button 450 to resell the purchased item, Fig. 4, paragraph 56); enabling a user to select one of the plurality of hyperlinks (Fig. 4, paragraph 56); and upon selection of one of the plurality of hyperlinks by the user, automatically propagating the collected additional meta data into the plurality of data fields of the resell form of the cross-listing site associated with the selected hyperlink to enable a resell listing on the cross-listing site associated with the selected hyperlink (A conditional limitation is a claim feature that depends on a certain condition being present. For example, when or if condition X is present, feature Y is implemented or has effect. Without condition X, feature Y may be dormant or have no effect. The claim recites upon selection (condition A), propagating (step A). a sell now button 450 to resell the purchased item on the online marketplace. In some instances, to improve the sale through rate of the purchased items, the online marketplace can access several databases (e.g., item database 126, or listing database 128) for the sales history of the purchased item, the supply of the purchased item, and the demand of the purchased item. the listing generator 150 can receive an indication based on the calculated sale price to generate a sale listing for the purchased item. Fig. 4, paragraphs 56, 81-82, and 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Capone to include, the graphical user interface further includes a plurality of hyperlinks to a plurality of cross-listing websites, each having a resell form with a plurality of data fields; enabling a user to select one of the plurality of hyperlinks; and upon selection of one of the plurality of hyperlinks by the user, automatically propagating the collected additional meta data into the plurality of data fields of the resell form of the cross-listing site associated with the selected hyperlink to enable a resell listing on the cross-listing site associated with the selected hyperlink, as taught in Shao, in order to automatically generate a resale listing and database in an online marketplace based on purchased items by a user (Shao, paragraph 1).
With regard to claim 3, Capone discloses the transaction information is captured during an online purchase using a browser extension configured to monitor the online purchase in real-time or near real-time (col. 13, lines 16-33, an application may run as a plug-in and/or the like with a browser operating on the user computing entity 30. The pop-up window 850 provides the user (e.g., operating the user computing entity 30) with the option of purchasing the item and adding the item to the user's item inventory).
With regard to claim 6, Capone discloses the transaction information is obtained in real-time or near real-time (col. 13, lines 16-33).
With regard to claim 7, Capone discloses capturing the transaction information in real-time or near real-time uses a web browser software to monitor the transaction (col. 13, lines 16-33).
With regard to claim 8, Capone discloses the captured transaction information is historical transaction information associated with a past purchase transaction, and wherein capturing historical transaction information associated with a past purchase transaction includes automatically searching and analyzing one or more email accounts associated with the user for digital receipts associated with one or more transactions (col. 13, lines 50-59).
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments filed on 04/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive especially in light of the previously references in the rejections.
Applicants remark that “the combination of references does not disclose generating a graphical user interface that displays the captured transaction information and collected additional metadata associated with the or more products purchased by the user, wherein the graphical user interface further includes a plurality of hyperlinks to a plurality of cross-listing websites, each having a resell form with a plurality of data fields; enabling a user to select one of the plurality of hyperlinks; and upon selection of one of the plurality of hyperlinks by the user, automatically propagating the collected additional meta data into the plurality of data fields of the resell form of the cross-listing site associated with the selected hyperlink to enable a resell listing on the cross-listing site associated with the selected hyperlink”.
Examiner directs Applicants' attention to the office action above.
Applicants remark that “the proposed amendment filed on 04/03/2026 overcome 101 rejection.
Examiner directs Applicants' attention to the office action above.
Conclusion
Please refer to form 892 for cited references.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIEL J YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627