DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/11/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-3, 8-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-14 of USPN 1,2553,974.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations the claims in application 18633143 are anticipated by the claims in USPN 12,553,974, as shown below;
Conflicting claims
SN 18633143
Conflicting claims USPN 12,553,974
1. A magnetic resonance imaging apparatus comprising: a measurement unit configured to apply a high-frequency pulse and a gradient magnetic field pulse for exciting a predetermined cross section of an examination target to collect a nuclear magnetic resonance signal generated from the predetermined cross section; a measurement controller configured to control the measurement unit such that the measurement unit collects measurement data for image reconstruction using a gradient echo-based pulse sequence; and an image generation unit configured to reconstruct an image of the examination target using the measurement data consisting of the nuclear magnetic resonance signal collected by the measurement unit, wherein the measurement controller includes one or more processors that are configured to perform control of adding a pair of gradient magnetic field pulses having opposite polarities and the same magnitude during a period from high-frequency pulse irradiation to collection of a gradient echo in the gradient echo-based pulse sequence, and varying intensities of the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses to collect the measurement data for image reconstruction including the intensities as information for encoding a velocity of a non-stationary portion included in the examination target, and the image generation unit is configured to perform a Fourier transformation on the measurement data for image reconstruction in an encoding direction of the velocity and reconstruct the image.
2. The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the image generation unit is configured to reconstruct an image with a velocity of zero as an image of a stationary tissue.
3. The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to add the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses to at least one gradient magnetic field axis.
8. The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the image generation unit is configured to reconstruct the image by performing a multidimensional Fourier transformation on the measurement data for image reconstruction including a velocity encoding axis.
9. The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to, in a case of performing a plurality of measurements by varying the intensities of the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses, thin out phase encoding of each measurement to collect phase encoding necessary for image reconstruction across the plurality of measurements.
10. The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the image generation unit includes a Fourier transformation section configured to perform a Fourier transformation on the measurement data for image reconstruction, and a compression sensing section configured to perform image generation through sequential reconstruction using image data after the Fourier transformation.
11. The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the gradient magnetic field pulse of the gradient echo-based pulse sequence to make at least one of phase encoding or velocity encoding sparse, and the image generation unit is configured to perform image reconstruction through compression sensing after performing a Fourier transformation on data for image reconstruction in which at least one of phase encoding or velocity encoding is sparse.
12. The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the number of instances of velocity encoding is two or more.
13. The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a UI unit configured to receive user designation for an axis of the gradient magnetic field to which the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses are added.
14. A control method of a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus including a high-frequency magnetic field generation unit configured to generate a high-frequency magnetic field to be applied to an examination target, a gradient magnetic field generation unit configured to generate gradient magnetic fields in three axial directions in a space where the examination target is placed, a measurement unit configured to collect a nuclear magnetic resonance signal generated from the examination target, and an image generation unit configured to generate an image from measurement data consisting of the nuclear magnetic resonance signal collected by the measurement unit, the control method comprising: using, as a pulse sequence, a gradient echo-based pulse sequence; applying a pair of gradient magnetic field pulses having opposite polarities and the same magnitude to at least one axis of three axes of the gradient magnetic field during a period from high-frequency pulse irradiation to collection of a gradient echo in the gradient echo-based pulse sequence, and varying intensities of the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses to collect measurement data for image reconstruction including the intensities as information for encoding a velocity of a non-stationary portion included in the examination target; and performing a Fourier transformation on the measurement data for image reconstruction in an encoding direction of the velocity and reconstructing the image.
15. The control method of a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the image to be reconstructed includes an image of a stationary tissue with a velocity of zero.
16. The control method of a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 14, wherein, in a plurality of measurements by varying the intensities of the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses to collect the measurement data for image reconstruction, phase encoding is thinned out for each measurement, and phase encoding necessary for image reconstruction is collected across the plurality of measurements.
1. (currently amended) A magnetic resonance imaging apparatus comprising: a measurement unit configured to apply a high-frequency pulse and a gradient magnetic field pulse for exciting a predetermined cross-section of an examination target to collect a nuclear magnetic resonance signal generated from the predetermined cross-section; a measurement controller configured to control the measurement unit such that the measurement unit collects measurement data for image reconstruction using a spin echo-based pulse sequence, including application of a slice gradient magnetic field pulse, a phase encoding gradient magnetic field pulse and a readout gradient magnetic field pulse; and an image generation unit configured to reconstruct an image of the examination target using the measurement data consisting of the nuclear magnetic resonance signal collected by the measurement unit, wherein the measurement controller is configured to perform control of adding a pair of gradient magnetic field pulses having the same intensity and polarity, in addition to the slice gradient magnetic field pulse, the phase encoding gradient magnetic field pulse and the readout gradient magnetic field pulse, before and after a 180-degree pulse included in the spin echo- based pulse sequence, and using varying intensities of the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses to collect the measurement data for image reconstruction including the intensities as information for encoding a velocity of a non-stationary portion included in the examination target, and the image generation unit is configured to perform a Fourier transformation on the measurement data for image reconstruction in an encoding direction of the velocity and reconstruct the image.
2. (original) The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to wherein the image generation unit is configured to reconstruct an image with a velocity of zero as an image of a stationary tissue.
3. (original) The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to wherein the measurement controller is configured to add the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses to at least one gradient magnetic field axis.
(original) The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to wherein the image generation unit is configured to reconstruct the image by performing a multi-dimensional Fourier transformation on the measurement data for image reconstruction including a velocity encoding axis.
(original) The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to wherein the measurement controller is configured to, in a case of performing a plurality of measurements using the varying intensities of the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses, thin out phase encoding of each measurement to collect necessary phase encoding for image reconstruction across the plurality of measurements.
(original) The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to wherein the image generation unit includes a Fourier transformation section configured to perform a Fourier transformation on the measurement data for image reconstruction, and a compression sensing section configured to perform image generation through sequential reconstruction using image data after the Fourier transformation.
9. (original) The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to wherein the measurement controller is configured to control the gradient magnetic field pulse of the spin echo-based pulse sequence to make at least one of phase encoding or velocity encoding sparse, andthe image generation unit is configured to perform image reconstruction by the compression sensing section after performing a Fourier transformation on data for image reconstruction in which at least one of phase encoding or velocity encoding is sparse.
10. (original) The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to wherein the number of velocity encodings is five or less.
11. (original) The magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a UI unit configured to accept a user designation for a gradient magnetic field axis to which the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses are added.
12. (currently amended) A control method of a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus including a high-frequency magnetic field generation unit configured to generate a high- frequency magnetic field to be applied to an examination target, a gradient magnetic field generation unit configured to generate gradient magnetic fields in three axial directions in a space where the examination target is placed, a measurement unit configured to collect a nuclear magnetic resonance signal generated from the examination target, and an image generation unit configured to generate an image from measurement data consisting of the nuclear magnetic resonance signal collected by the measurement unit, the control method comprising: using, as a pulse sequence, a spin echo-based pulse sequence including application of a 90-degree pulse and a 180-degree pulse and used to measure a spin echo from a predetermined cross-section of the examination target, the spin echo-based pulse sequence that is used further including application of a slice gradient magnetic field pulse, a phase encoding gradient magnetic field pulse and a readout gradient magnetic field pulse; applying a pair of gradient magnetic field pulses to at least one axis of three axes of the gradient magnetic field before and after the 180-degree pulse, the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses having the same intensity and polarity, in addition to the slice gradient magnetic field pulse, the phase encoding gradient magnetic field pulse and the readout gradient magnetic field pulse, and using varying intensities of the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses to collect measurement data for image reconstruction including the intensities as information for encoding a velocity of a non-stationary portion included in the examination target; and performing a Fourier transformation on the measurement data for image reconstruction in an encoding direction of the velocity and reconstructing an image.
13. (original) The control method of a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the image to be reconstructed includes an image of a stationary tissue with a velocity of zero.
14. (original) The control method of a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 12, wherein, in a plurality of measurements using the varying intensities of the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses to collect the measurement data for image reconstruction, phase encoding is thinned out for each measurement, and necessary phase encoding for image reconstruction is collected across the plurality of measurements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, recites “in a case”, in line 2, which fails to clearly defines when the limitation applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunugi (U.S. Publication 20120169339), Zhou (U.S. Publication 20060022674) and further in view Zhang (CN103932707A).
Regarding claim 1, Kunugi teaches a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus (fig. 1) comprising:
a measurement unit configured to apply a high-frequency pulse and a gradient magnetic field pulse for exciting a predetermined cross section of an examination target to collect a nuclear magnetic resonance signal generated from the predetermined cross section (RF transmission unit 110 and RF coil 104 applying RF pulses, gradient magnetic field coil 103 generating gradient pulses, and receiving RF coil and signal detection unit 105, 106 collecting nuclear magnetic resonance signals fig. 1 (0028-30));
a measurement controller configured to control the measurement unit such that the measurement unit collects measurement data for image reconstruction using a gradient echo-based pulse sequence (measurement control unit 111 controlling RF and gradient magnetic pulses during gradient echo imaging fig. 1 [0025-28]); and
an image generation unit configured to reconstruct an image of the examination target using the measurement data consisting of the nuclear magnetic resonance signal collected by the measurement unit (fig. 1 signal processing unit 107 reconstructing images from measurement data [0025]),
Kunugi further teaches applying gradient magnetic field pulses in slice, phase and frequency encoding directions during imaging and performing Fourier transformation on measurement data for image reconstruction to reconstruct the image [0025, 28]
Kunugi does not explicitly teach wherein the measurement controller includes one or more processors that are configured to perform control of adding a pair of gradient magnetic field pulses having opposite polarities and the same magnitude during a period from high-frequency pulse irradiation to collection of a gradient echo in the gradient echo-based pulse sequence, and varying intensities of the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses to collect the measurement data for image reconstruction including the intensities as information for encoding a velocity of a non-stationary portion included in the examination target, and
the image generation unit is configured to perform direction of the velocity and reconstruct the image.
However, Zhou in a relevant art teaching MRI pulse sequences using bipolar gradient pulses i.e. pairs of gradient magnetic field pulses having opposite polarities during the pulse sequence prior to echo acquisition for flow sensitive imaging [0004-7].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhou’s bipolar gradient pulse technique into the MRI apparatus of Kunugi to improve motion/flow sensitivity and enable phase based encoding of moving spins without substantially increasing system complexity. Kunugi as modified by Zhou further does not teach varying intensities of the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses to encode a velocity of a non stationary portion of the examination target.
Zhang in a relevant art teaching phase contrast MRI in which different gradient encoding moments are applied to encode flow velocity information, and velocity is determined from phase differences obtained from measurement using different gradient pulse encodings [0003-5, 13].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the velocity encoding technique of Zhang into the MRI apparatus of Kunugi as modified by Zhou to enable quantitative velocity measurement of moving tissue (e.g. blood flow), thereby improving diagnostic capability and providing additional functional imagining information.
Regarding claim 2, Kunugi as modified by Zhou does not teach wherein the image generation unit is configured to reconstruct an image with a velocity of zero as an image of a stationary tissue.
Zhang in a relevant art teaches phase contrast magnetic resonance imaging in which flow velocity is determined from phase differences obtained from gradient pulse encodings, and stationary portions of the object inherently corresponds to zero velocity in the reconstructed velocity image [0003-5, 0013].
phase contrast MRI in which different gradient encoding moments are applied to encode flow velocity information, and velocity is determined from phase differences obtained from measurement using different gradient pulse encodings [0003-5, 13].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the velocity encoding technique of Zhang into the MRI apparatus of Kunugi as modified by Zhou to enable quantitative velocity measurement of moving tissue (e.g. blood flow), thereby improving diagnostic capability and providing additional functional imagining information.
Regarding claim 3, Kunugi as modified further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to add the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses to at least one gradient magnetic field axis (gradient magnetic field pulses are generated and applied along three orthogonal axes during MRI imagining sequences [0028]).
Regarding claim 4, Kunugi as modified teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to apply at least a part of the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses in a state of being superimposed on another gradient magnetic field pulse of the axis to which the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses are applied (applying gradient magnetic pulses along selected axes during MRI pulse sequences for slice selection, phase encoding and frequency encoding [0028], further it is well known in MRI pulse sequence design that gradient pulses applied along the same axis maybe combined or overlapped (superimposed) to achieve desired encoding and timing characteristics).
Regarding claim 5, Kunugi as modified wherein the one or more processors are configured to apply at least a part of the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses in a state of being superimposed on a rephase pulse of a slice selection gradient magnetic field (applying slice selection gradient magnetic field pulses and associated rephasing pulses during MRI pulse sequences for exciting a selected slice of the examination target [0028] further it is well known in MRI pulse sequence design that gradient pulses applied along the same axis maybe combined or overlapped (superimposed) to achieve desired encoding and timing characteristics).
Regarding claim 6, Kunugi as modified wherein the one or more processors are configured to add the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses to at least one axis of a gradient magnetic field axis in a readout direction or a gradient magnetic field axis in a phase encoding direction, and apply at least a part of the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses in a state of being superimposed on a gradient magnetic field pulse of the at least one axis to which the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses are applied, in a case of adding the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses (applying gradient magnetic field pulses along phase encoding and frequency (readout) encoding directions during MRI imaging sequences [0028] further it is well known in MRI pulse sequence design that gradient pulses applied along the same axis including readout and phase encoding axes maybe combined or overlapped (superimposed) to achieve desired encoding and timing characteristics).
Regarding claim 7, Kunugi as modified wherein the gradient echo-based pulse sequence used by the measurement unit is any one of a spoiled GRE, an SSFP, or a balanced SSFP (MRI imaging using gradient echo based pulse sequences controlled by the measurement control unit for acquiring echo signals and reconstructing images [0025-28]).
It is well known in MRI art that gradient echo imaging includes various standard implementations such as spoiled GRE, an SSFP, or a balanced SSFP as can be evident from Samsonov (U.S. Publication 20170350951) [0034] which are commonly selected based on the imaging requirement.
Regarding claim 8, Kunugi as modified Zhou does not explicitly teach a velocity encoding axis.
Zhang in a relevant art teaching phase contrast MRI in which velocity information is encoded into measurement data using gradient pulse variation [0003-5, 13].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the velocity encoding technique of Zhang into the MRI apparatus of Kunugi as modified by Zhou to enable quantitative velocity measurement of moving tissue (e.g. blood flow), thereby improving diagnostic capability and providing additional functional imagining information.
Regarding claim 9, Kunugi as modified Zhou does not explicitly teach varying the intensities of the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses, thin out phase encoding of each measurement to collect phase encoding necessary for image reconstruction across the plurality of measurements.
Zhang in a relevant art teaching performing multiple measurements using different gradient encoding moments to encode velocity information, where measurement data is obtained across multiple acquisitions [0003-5, 13] it is well known in MRI imaging that phase encoding lines may be distributed across multiple acquisitions (segmented or interleaved acquisitions) and combined to reconstruct and image
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the velocity encoding technique of Zhang into the MRI apparatus of Kunugi as modified by Zhou to enable quantitative velocity measurement of moving tissue (e.g. blood flow), thereby improving diagnostic capability and providing additional functional imagining information.
Regarding claim 10, Kunugi as modified further teaches wherein the image generation unit includes a Fourier transformation section configured to perform a Fourier transformation on the measurement data for image reconstruction, and a compression sensing section configured to perform image generation through sequential reconstruction using image data after the Fourier transformation (an image generation unit that performs Fourier transformation on measurement data to reconstruct and image [0025, 28]) it is well known in the MRI tart to apply compressed sensing reconstruction techniques to MRI data, including performing reconstructions on under sampled data after Fourier transformation as can be evident from Takeshima (U.S. Publication 20200088824) [0049] to improve image reconstruction efficiency and reduce data acquisition requirements.
Regarding claim 11, Kunugi as modified further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the gradient magnetic field pulse of the gradient echo-based pulse sequence to make at least one of phase encoding or velocity encoding sparse, and the image generation unit is configured to perform image reconstruction through compression sensing after performing a Fourier transformation on data for image reconstruction in which at least one of phase encoding or velocity encoding is sparse (controlling gradient magnetic field pulses used for phase encoding during MRI imaging sequences [0028]).
Regarding claim 12, Kunugi as modified Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the number of instances of velocity encoding is two or more.
Zhang in a relevant art teaching phase contrast MRI in which multiple measurements are performed using different gradient encoding moments to encode velocity information, thereby inherently requiring two or more velocity encoding instances [0003-5, 13]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the velocity encoding technique of Zhang into the MRI apparatus of Kunugi as modified by Zhou to enable quantitative velocity measurement of moving tissue (e.g. blood flow), thereby improving diagnostic capability and providing additional functional imagining information.
Regarding claim 13, Kunugi as modified further teaches a UI unit configured to receive user designation for an axis of the gradient magnetic field to which the pair of gradient magnetic field pulses are added (fig. 1 113, configured to receive user input for imaging parameters and control imaging operations [0025], gradient magnetic pulses are applied along selectable axes (slice, phase and frequency directions) during imaging sequences [0028]).
Regarding claim 14, the method recited is intrinsic to the apparatus recited in claim 1, as disclosed by Kunugi (U.S. Publication 20120169339), Zhou (U.S. Publication 20060022674) and further in view Zhang (CN103932707A) as the recited method steps will be performed during the normal operation of the apparatus, as discussed above with regard to claim 1
Regarding claim 15, Kunugi as modified by Zhou does not teach wherein the image to be reconstructed includes an image of a stationary tissue with a velocity of zero.
Zhang in a relevant art teaching phase contrast MRI in which flow velocity is determined from phase differences obtained from gradient pulse encodings, and stationary portions of the object inherently correspond to zero velocity in the reconstructed velocity image [0003-5, 13]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the velocity encoding technique of Zhang into the MRI apparatus of Kunugi as modified by Zhou to enable quantitative velocity measurement of moving tissue (e.g. blood flow), thereby improving diagnostic capability and providing additional functional imagining information.
Claims 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunugi (U.S. Publication 20120169339), Zhou (U.S. Publication 20060022674), Zhang (CN103932707A) as applied to the rejection of claim 14 above and further in view of Ishikawa (JP-H09234188A).
Regarding claim 16, Kunugi as modified by Zhou and Zhang does not teach phase encoding is thinned out for each measurement, and phase encoding necessary for image reconstruction is collected across the plurality of measurements.
However, Ishikawa teach MRI acquisition in which phase encoding intensity reduced (thinned) for each individual; and full image data is obtained by combining data collected over a plurality of measurements, thereby distributing phase encoding across multiple acquisitions [0015-16].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the acquisition technique of Ishikawa to the MRI system of Kunugi as modified to reduce acquisition time per measurement, improve temporal efficiency and enable multi acquisition velocity encoding while maintaining sufficient data for accurate imaging reconstruction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kumai (U.S. Publication 20040245986) discloses Magnetic Resonance Imaging Apparatus And Magnetic Resonance Imaging Method
/TAQI R NASIR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858