Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “image acquisition part”, “vanishing point acquisition part”, “learning part”, “estimation part”, “calculation part”, and “output part” in claims 1, 3, 6, and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0126244 A1 of Lee (hereinafter referred to as Lee) in view of WO 2021/079456 of Gaku (hereinafter referred to as Gaku), and further in view of Lee, Jinwoo & Sung, Minhyuk & Lee, Hyunjoon & Kim, Junho. (2020). Neural Geometric Parser for Single Image Camera Calibration. 10.1007/978-3-030-58610-2_32. (hereinafter referred to as Jinwoo).
Lee discloses a learning part for performing a deep learning of deep neural networks using the image acquired by the image acquisition part and the coordinates of the plurality of true vanishing points acquired by the vanishing point acquisition part (see Lee par. [0051] “In operation 520, the training apparatus trains a first neural network (FCN 1) 603 to output first probability information about the vanishing point included in the training image 601, based on the training image 601 and the label corresponding to the manually generated GTD 602”); and an output part for outputting the deep neural networks learned in the learning part (see Lee par. [0084] “The deep learning training apparatus 1210 may generate an output of the neural network for trained data by using a training model in the GPU 1213”), wherein the learning part estimates coordinates of a plurality of vanishing points by inputting the image to the deep neural networks (see Lee par. [0032] “the detecting apparatus generates a probability map from the driving image by using a neural network.” and Lee par. [0036] “the detecting apparatus may determine the centroid of a candidate region for the vanishing point”) calculates a network error on the basis of the coordinates of the plurality of true vanishing points and the estimated coordinates of the plurality of vanishing points, and learns a parameter of the deep neural networks so as to minimize the calculated network error (see Lee par. [0067] “The training apparatus may train the FCN 1 810 such that loss 1 between the label 803 and the first candidate region of the vanishing point which is a detection result of the first regression module 820 is minimized.” And Lee Par. [0071] “The training apparatus may train the FCN 2 840 such that loss 2 between the probability map 807 corresponding to a modified label generated in the second regression module 830 and the second candidate region of the vanishing point detected in the third regression module 850 is minimized.”). Lee also discloses a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a learning program causing a computer to perform the above actions (see Lee par. [0087]).
Lee fails to disclose an image acquisition part for acquiring an image taken by a camera that causes a distortion and a vanishing point acquisition part for acquiring coordinates of a plurality of true vanishing points to calculate a tilt angle, a pan angle, and a roll angle of the camera and calculating error in the tilt angle, the pan angle, and the roll angle of the camera.
However, Gaku discloses an image acquisition part for acquiring an image taken by a camera that causes a distortion (see Gaku pg. 2 “The acquisition unit 11 is a ‘first coordinate pair’ extracted from ‘a plurality of person images’ included in one image in which the world coordinate space is photographed by a camera” and Gaku pg. 6 “Instead of the focal length, skew, optical center, or lens distortion may be used as an internal parameter to be estimated”, indicating that the camera lens contains distortion) and a vanishing point acquisition part for acquiring coordinates of a plurality of true vanishing points (see Gaku pg. 3 “The vanishing point calculation unit 12 calculates the "first vanishing point" in the horizontal direction based on the first coordinate pair and the second coordinate pair acquired by the acquisition unit 11, and the third coordinate acquired by the acquisition unit 11. The "second vanishing point" in the vertical direction is calculated based on the pair and the fourth coordinate pair.”).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the neural network of Lee with the vanishing point acquisition of Gaku because it is predictable that doing so would improve the quality of the training data by enabling the system to obtain true vanishing points.
Furthermore, Jinwoo discloses calculating a tilt angle, a pan angle, and a roll angle of the camera (see Jinwoo pg. 4 “our network estimates up to four camera intrinsic and extrinsic parameters; the focal length f and three camera rotation angles ψ, θ, φ.”) and calculating error in the tilt angle, the pan angle, and the roll angle of the camera (see Jinwoo pg. 12 “Note that, for DeepHorizon [32]*, we use GT FoV to calculate the camera up vector (angle, pitch, and roll errors) from the predicted horizon line.”).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the neural network of Lee and the vanishing point acquisition of Gaku with the tilt, pan, and roll angle calculator and error calculator of Jinwoo because it is predictable that doing so would allow the system to detect more camera parameters to assist in determining the calibration for the distortion in the image, as well as create an error metric to define and therefore increase accuracy.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected according to the same analysis as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses a camera parameter calculation device comprising: an estimation part for estimating coordinates of a plurality of vanishing points by inputting the image acquired by the image acquisition part to deep neural networks learned by a deep learning (see Lee par. [0032] “the detecting apparatus generates a probability map from the driving image by using a neural network.” And par. [0036] “the detecting apparatus may determine the centroid of a candidate region for the vanishing point”), a calculation part for calculating the tilt angle on the basis of the coordinates of the plurality of vanishing points estimated by the estimation part (see Lee par. [0041] “In operation 320, the detecting apparatus estimates a pitch variation based on the detected vanishing point”), and an output part for outputting a camera parameter including the tilt angle calculated by the calculation part (see Lee par. [0037] “the detecting apparatus may determine a pitch variation based on the vanishing point, and update (or correct) a transformation matrix based on the pitch variation” and Lee par. [0044] “the detecting apparatus converts the domain of the driving image into the domain of the top-view image based on the updated transformation matrix.”), wherein in the learning of the deep neural networks, a learning-use image is acquired, coordinates of a plurality of vanishing points used for taking the learning-use image are estimated by inputting the learning-use image to the deep neural networks (see Lee par. [0032] “the detecting apparatus generates a probability map from the driving image by using a neural network.” And par. [0036] “the detecting apparatus may determine the centroid of a candidate region for the vanishing point”), and a network error of the coordinates of the plurality of true vanishing points and the estimated coordinates of the plurality of vanishing points, and a parameter of the deep neural networks is learned so as to minimize the calculated network error (see Lee par. [0067] “The training apparatus may train the FCN 1 810 such that loss 1 between the label 803 and the first candidate region of the vanishing point which is a detection result of the first regression module 820 is minimized.” And Lee Par. [0071] “The training apparatus may train the FCN 2 840 such that loss 2 between the probability map 807 corresponding to a modified label generated in the second regression module 830 and the second candidate region of the vanishing point detected in the third regression module 850 is minimized.”). Lee also discloses a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a camera parameter calculation program causing a computer to perform the above actions (see Lee par. [0087]).
Lee fails to disclose an image acquisition part for acquiring an image taken by a camera that causes a distortion and coordinates of a plurality of true vanishing points to calculate a tilt angle, a pan angle, and a roll angle of a camera used for taking the learning-use image are acquired and calculating the error in the tilt angle, the pan angle, and the roll angle of the camera.
However, Gaku discloses an image acquisition part for acquiring an image taken by a camera that causes a distortion (see Gaku pg. 2 “The acquisition unit 11 is a "first coordinate pair" extracted from "a plurality of person images" included in one image in which the world coordinate space is photographed by a camera” and Gaku pg. 6 “Instead of the focal length, skew, optical center, or lens distortion may be used as an internal parameter to be estimated”, indicating that the camera lens contains distortion) and coordinates of a plurality of true vanishing used for taking the learning-use image are acquired (see Gaku pg. 3 “The vanishing point calculation unit 12 calculates the "first vanishing point" in the horizontal direction based on the first coordinate pair and the second coordinate pair acquired by the acquisition unit 11, and the third coordinate acquired by the acquisition unit 11. The "second vanishing point" in the vertical direction is calculated based on the pair and the fourth coordinate pair.”).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the neural network of Lee with the vanishing point acquisition of Gaku because it is predictable that doing so would improve the quality of the training data by enabling the system to obtain true vanishing points.
Furthermore, Jinwoo discloses calculating a tilt angle, a pan angle, and a roll angle of the camera (see Jinwoo pg. 4 “our network estimates up to four camera intrinsic and extrinsic parameters; the focal length f and three camera rotation angles ψ, θ, φ.”), calculating error in the tilt angle, the pan angle, and the roll angle of the camera (see Jinwoo pg. 12 “Note that, for DeepHorizon [32]*, we use GT FoV to calculate the camera up vector (angle, pitch, and roll errors) from the predicted horizon line.”), and outputting the tilt angle, the pan angle, and the roll angle of the camera (see Jinwoo pg. 11 Table 1, which indicates output of Jinwoo’s system includes the camera rotation parameters).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the neural network of Lee and the vanishing point acquisition of Gaku with the tilt, pan, and roll angle calculator and error calculator of Jinwoo because it is predictable that doing so would allow the system to detect more camera parameters to assist in determining the calibration for the distortion in the image, as well as create an error metric to define and therefore increase accuracy.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected according to the same analysis as claim 6 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 7, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARIO ANTHONY RODIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2675
/ANDREW M MOYER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2675