DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a continuation in part of U.S. Application No. 17/797,867 filed on August 5, 2022 which is a national stage entry of PCT/CN2021/074371 filed on January 29, 2021. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on February 5, 2020 under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/797,867, filed on 08/05/2022.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,257,251. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims of the instant application and the cited claims of copending ‘303 are substantially overlapping in scope and not mutually exclusive or patentably distinct.
Claims 1-16 of the instant application claim a pharmaceutical combination including BI853520 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and a chemotherapeutic drug which is etoposide or cisplatin; wherein the BI853520 has a structural formula of:
, as well as a method for treating a tumor in a subject comprising administering to the subject said combination.
Claims 1-15 of ‘251 claim a method of treating melanoma having an NRAS mutation comprising administration of BI853520 tartrate and further comprising administering a second therapeutic agent such as cisplatin.
Thus the cited claims of the instant application would be anticipated over the claims of ‘251 since the claims of ‘251 encompass a combination of BI853520 and a chemotherapeutic drug such as cisplatin for the treatment of melanoma in a subject as claimed in the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation “i) BI853520 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and ii) a chemotherapeutic drug”, and the claim also recites “especially i) an effective amount of BI853520 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and ii) an effective amount of a chemotherapeutic drug”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 15 recites the broad recitation “ovarian cancer”, and the claim also recites “especially platinum-resistant ovarian cancer”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Thus claim 5 and all claims dependent upon claim 5 (claims 6-16) are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laszlo et al. (Journal of Molecular Medicine, 97:231-242, published December 11, 2018 Provided on IDS).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7 and 9-11 of the instant application claim a pharmaceutical combination including BI853520 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and a chemotherapeutic drug such as cisplatin; wherein the BI853520 has a structural formula of:
, as well as a method for treating a tumor such as lung cancer in a subject comprising administering to the subject said combination.
Laszlo et al. teaches the treatment of malignant plural mesothelioma (MPM) with BI 853520 (see abstract and page 232). Laszlo et al. further teaches the combination of BI 853520 and cisplatin for the treatment of MPM (page 235).
Accordingly, the cited claims of the instant application are anticipated since Laszlo et al. teaches a pharmaceutical combination including BI853520 and a chemotherapeutic drug such as cisplatin, as well as a method for treating a tumor such as lung cancer comprising administering the combination of BI853520 and the chemotherapeutic drug cisplatin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pachter et al. U.S. Publication No. 2018/0177788 A1 (Provided on IDS).
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 9-16 of the instant application claim a pharmaceutical combination including BI853520 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and a chemotherapeutic drug which is etoposide or cisplatin; wherein the BI853520 has a structural formula of:
, as well as a method for treating a tumor in a subject comprising administering to the subject said combination.
Pachter et al. teaches methods comprising administering a FAK inhibitor and an immunotherapeutic agent such as anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1; that are useful in the treatment of abnormal cell growth, such as cancer, in mammals, especially humans (abstract and [0002]).
Pachter et al. teaches a method for treating a human subject suffering from a disease or disorder e.g., abnormal cell growth, e.g., cancer comprising administering a FAK inhibitor in combination with an immunotherapeutic agent or procedure [0006]. Pachter et al. teaches the cancer is a solid tumor, soft tissue tumor, metastasis, or non-solid cancer [0007]. In some embodiments, the cancer is sarcomas, adenocarcinomas, and carcinomas of an organ such as the lung, breast, lymphoid, gastrointestinal (e.g., colon), and genitourinary (e.g., renal, urothelial, or testicular tumors) tracts, pharynx, prostate, and ovary) [0007]. In some embodiments, the cancer is a mesothelioma; neurofibromatosis; e.g., neurofibromatosis type 2, neurofibromatosis type 1; renal cancer; lung cancer, non-small cell lung cancer; liver cancer; thyroid cancer; ovarian; breast cancer; a nervous system tumor; schwannoma; meningioma; schwannomatosis; neuroma acoustic; adenoid cystic carcinoma; ependymoma; or ependymal tumors [0007]. In some embodiments, the cancer is mesothelioma (e.g., malignant pleural mesothelioma, e.g., surgical resectable malignant pleural mesothelioma), breast cancer (e.g., triple negative breast cancer), ovarian cancer (e.g., advanced ovarian cancer), lung cancer (e.g., non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC), e.g., KRAS mutant NSCLC)), or a non-hematologic malignancy [0007]. In some embodiments, the cancer is melanoma (e.g., N-Ras mutated locally advanced or metastasis malignant cutaneous melanoma), colorectal cancer (e.g., metastatic colorectal cancer), leukemia (e.g., acute myeloid leukemia), adenocarcinoma (e.g., pancreatic adenocarcinoma), or a solid tumor (e.g., locally advanced solid tumor, metastatic solid tumor, hepatocellular carcinoma) [0007]. In some embodiments, the method is effective in treating pancreas, non-small cell lung carcinoma (NSCLC), small cell lung carcinoma (SCLC), mesothelioma, melanoma, breast and ovarian cancer [0025]. In an embodiment, the breast cancer is triple-negative breast cancer ; in an embodiment, the lung cancer is non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC), e.g., KRAS mutant NSCLC; in an embodiment, the ovarian cancer is advanced ovarian cancer (e.g., advanced ovarian cancer or metastatic ovarian cancer); in an embodiment, the method is effective in treating mesothelioma (e.g., malignant pleural mesothelioma, e.g., surgically resectable malignant pleural mesothelioma) [0025]. Pachter et al. further teaches in some embodiments, the solid tumor is locally advanced or metastatic and some embodiments, the solid tumor is refractory (e.g., resistant) after standard therapy [0037].
Pachter et al. teaches that in some embodiments, the FAK inhibitor is BI 853520 ([0009] and [0049]). Pachter et al. teaches in some embodiments, the method further comprises administering an additional chemotherapeutic agent or radiation therapy, or the method further comprises administering a cytotoxic agent [0016]. In some embodiments, the cytotoxic agent is gemcitabine or paclitaxel [0016]. Pachter et al. further teaches, in some embodiments, the method further comprises administering an additional chemotherapeutic agent or radiation therapy, wherein the additional therapeutic agent is selected from: Alkylating agents, Anti-metabolites, Antibiotics, Hormonal therapy agents, Plant derived anti-tumor substances, Cytotoxic topoisomerase inhibiting agents, Immunologicals, Biological response modifiers, Other anticancer agents, Other anti-angiogenic compounds, Platinum-coordinated compounds, Tyrosine kinase inhibitors, Antibodies, and Interferons ([0017] and [0062]).
Pachter et al. teaches in some embodiments, the methods and compositions described therein (e.g., a FAK inhibitor in combination with an immunotherapy) is administered together with an additional therapy (e.g., cancer treatment) [0063]. In one embodiment, a mixture of one or more compounds or pharmaceutical compositions may be administered with the combination described therein, e.g., a FAK inhibitor in combination with an immunotherapy, to a subject in need thereof [0063]. In some embodiments, the additional treatment (e.g., an additional cancer treatment) can be administered simultaneously (e.g., at the same time), in the same or in separate compositions, or sequentially [0063]-[0064]. In addition to being able to be administered in combination with one or more additional therapies (e.g., cancer treatment, e.g., surgery, additional drug(s) or therapeutic agents), methods of the invention may be administered either simultaneously (as a combined preparation) or sequentially in order to achieve a desired effect [0065]. Exemplary cancer treatments include, for example: chemotherapy, targeted therapies such as antibody therapies, immunotherapy, and hormonal therapy, including platinum-coordinated alkylating compounds such as cisplatin, antibiotics such as doxorubicin, plant derived anti-tumor substances such as docetaxel (Taxotere) and paclitaxel, as well as cytotoxic topoisomerase inhibiting agents such as etoposide [0066]-[0079].
Pachter et al. further teaches in some embodiments, first-line-therapy, e.g., for Hodgkin lymphoma comprises administration of a combination of therapeutic agents, for example, the combination may comprise Doxorubicin Hydrochloride (Adriamycin), Bleomycin, Vinblastine Sulfate, and Etoposide (i.e., ABVE) [0094]. In some embodiments, the combination comprises Doxorubicin Hydrochloride (Adriamycin), Bleomycin, Vinblastine Sulfate, Etoposide, Prednisone, and Cyclophosphamide (i.e., ABVE-PC) [0094].
Pachter et al. does not specifically exemplify a combination of BI 853520 and a chemotherapeutic agent which is etoposide or cisplatin.
However, as detailed above Pachter et al. specifically teaches that the FAK inhibitor can be selected as BI 853520 and the combination can further comprise chemotherapeutic agents such as cisplatin and etoposide. Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the FAK inhibitor selected as BI 853520 with an additional chemotherapeutic agent such as cisplatin or etoposide based on the teachings of Pachter et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in providing an improved treatment for cancer. Thus although Pachter et al. includes cisplatin and etoposide on lists that include other chemotherapeutic agents, a prima facie case of obviousness can still be established since picking one of a finite number of known solutions to a known problem is prima facie obvious. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421 (2007).
Thus the cited claims of the instant application are rendered obvious in view of the cited prior art teachings.
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pachter et al. U.S. Publication No. 2018/0177788 A1 (Provided on IDS) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-7 and 9-16 above and further in view of Gupta et al. (Molecules, 2018, 23, 1719 Provided on IDS).
Claims 4 and 8 of the instant application claim the pharmaceutically acceptable salt of BI853520 is tartrate.
Pachter et al. is as set forth above.
Pachter et al. does not teach BI853520 tartrate.
However, Pachter et al. teaches in some embodiments, the compounds described therein, or pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof [0044]. Pachter et al. teaches that the term, “pharmaceutically acceptable salts,” as used herein, refers to derivatives of a compound described herein, wherein the compound is modified by converting an existing acid or base moiety to its salt form [0117]. Examples of pharmaceutically acceptable salts include, but are not limited to, mineral or organic acid salts of basic residues such as amines; alkali or organic salts of acidic residues such as carboxylic acids; and the like [0117].
Gupta et al. teaches that specific salts of active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) are often formed to achieve desirable properties and the choice of the appropriate salt form is dictated by various factors including physical and chemical properties of the API (page 1). Gupta et al. teaches a list of currently available counterions for salt formation which includes tartrate (Table 1).
Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date, it would have been within the skill of an ordinary artisan to form a suitable salt for BI853520 to improve the properties of the compound based on techniques well-known in the art. Thus, in the absence of secondary considerations such as unexpected results the use of BI853520 tartrate is rendered obvious over the use of BI853520 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt as taught in the prior art. Thus claims 4 and 8 are rendered obvious in view of the cited prior art teachings.
Conclusion
Claims 1-16 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/KARA R. MCMILLIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623
KRM