DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of copending Application No. 18/633,167 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 is anticipated by the conflicting co-pending application claim 1. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting co-pending application claim is that the conflicting co-pending application claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim. Thus, the species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the examined claimed genus. Therefore, a patent to the examined claim genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. See MPEP §804(II)(B)(1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 – 12, and 16 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (US 2025/0330581, hereafter Zhang).
As per claim 1, Zhang discloses a method of encoding or decoding video data, the method comprising:
selecting a group of blocks based on probing samples determined from pixels that are proximate to the blocks in the group of blocks and current probing samples determined from pixels that are proximate to a current block (¶ 83);
fusing the blocks in the group of blocks to generate a prediction signal (¶ 83 84, and 286); and
encoding or decoding the current block based on the prediction signal (¶ 83 and 84).
As per claim 5, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the probing samples determined from the pixels that are proximate to the blocks in the group of blocks comprise probing samples determined from pixels that are immediately adjacent to the blocks in the group of blocks (¶ 89 and 228).
As per claim 6, Zhang discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the pixels that are immediately adjacent to the blocks in the group of blocks comprises a first line of pixels having a y-coordinate that is one less than a y-coordinate of a top line of the group of blocks, or a second line of pixels having a x-coordinate that is one less than a x-coordinate of a left column of the group of blocks (¶ 89 and 228).
As per claim 7, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the probing samples determined from the pixels that are proximate to the blocks in the group of blocks comprise probing samples determined from pixels that are not immediately adjacent to the blocks in the group of blocks (¶ 89 and 228).
As per claim 8, the method of claim 7, wherein the pixels that are not immediately adjacent to the blocks in the group of blocks comprise a first line of pixels having a y-coordinate that is two or more less than a y-coordinate of a top line of the group of blocks, or a second line of pixels having a x-coordinate that is two or more less than a x-coordinate of a left column of the group of blocks.
As per claim 9, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein fusing the blocks in the group of blocks comprises:
determining a respective weight for each pixel in at least one block of the group of blocks based on a respective location of each pixel; and fusing the blocks based on the respective weight for each pixel in at least one block of the group of blocks (¶ 286; For example, after determining the weight values of the multiple matching blocks, the decoder performs summation on the matching blocks multiplied by the respective weight values to obtain the target prediction block. Alternatively, after determining the weight values of the multiple matching blocks, the decoder performs summation on the matching blocks multiplied by the respective weight values to obtain a fusion block, and processes the obtained fusion block to obtain the target prediction block.).
As per claim 10, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein encoding or decoding the current block comprises decoding the current block, wherein decoding the current block comprises:
determining, based on information signaled in a bitstream, residual values indicative of a difference between the current block and the prediction signal; and adding the residual values to the prediction signal to reconstruct the current block (¶ 85 and 86; ¶ 85: A similarity degree between the template of the current block and the template of the matching block is represented by a template error value. A smaller template error value indicates a higher similarity degree. For example, a template error value may be calculated by using a sum of absolute difference (Sum of Absolute Difference, SAD). A smaller SAD indicates that a template is more similar; ¶ 86: The encoder uses the flag cu_tmp_flag to indicate whether the current coding block uses the IntraTMP mode. ).
As per claim 11, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein encoding or decoding the current block comprises encoding the current block, wherein encoding the current block comprises:
determining residual values indicative of a difference between the current block and the prediction signal; and signaling, in a bitstream, information indicative of the residual values (¶ 85 and 86).
Regarding claim 12, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding claim 16, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 6 are applicable for claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 7 are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 8 are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 20.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487