DETAILED ACTION
This application is a DIV of 17/084,582 10/29/2020 PAT 11986904, 17/084,582 has PRO 62/927,884 10/30/2019.
Status of claims
Claims 1-19 remain for examination, wherein claim 1 is an independent claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation of “10nm to 100nm” is suggested to be amended as 10_nm to 100_nm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Karabin et al (US-PG-Pub 2019/0309402 A1, Thereafter PG’402).
Regarding claim 1, PG’402 teaches an aluminum alloy and product for additive manufacturing (abstract, claims, and examples of PG’402), which reads on the alloy Al based alloy for additive manufacturing as claimed in the instant claim. PG’402 specify Al-Ce-Ni alloy with Al3Ni intermetallic phase (par.[0026] and claim 20 of PG’402), which reads on the claimed alloy composition and intermetallic phase as claimed in the instant claim. Since PG’402 teaches all of the limitation as claimed in the instant claim, claim 1 is anticipated by PG’402.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-11, 14-15, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG’402.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, PG’402 teaches a eutectic-type microstructure, generally having cellular, lamellar, and/or wavy structures within individual grains (Fig.2 and par.[0009]-[0011] of PG’402), which reads on the alloy (cl.1) and object (cl.14) with Al based matrix phase and intermetallic phase as claimed in the instant claims. PG’402 indicates a eutectic-type structure comprises cellular structures having a cell size of generally less than 1 micron, and/or a spacing of less than 1 micron between lamellar structures and/or wavy structures. (par.[0009] of PG’402), which overlaps the claimed isolated feature length and thickness of lattice-like structure in the instant claims. Overlapping in the dimensions of the isolated feature length and thickness of lattice-like structure creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144 05 I. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the dimensions of the isolated feature length and thickness of lattice-like structure from the disclosure of PG’402 as claimed since PG’402 teaches the same Al-Ce-Ni alloy with Al3Ni intermetallic phase for additive manufacturing as claimed throughout whole disclosing range.
Regarding claims 7-11, PG’402 indicates that the aluminum, cerium, and nickel contents are controlled such that the alloy contains 0.5 to 21.0 wt. % Ce, 0.5 to 17.0 wt. % Ni, the balance being aluminum, optional additions, and unavoidable impurities, (par.[0026] of PG’402), which overlap the claimed Ce ranges (cl.7-8, and 11), Ni ranges (cl.9-11). Overlapping in Ce and Ni ranges creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144 05 I. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the amount of Ce and Ni from the disclosure of PG’402 as claimed since PG’402 teaches the same Al-Ce-Ni alloy with Al3Ni intermetallic phase for additive manufacturing as claimed throughout whole disclosing range.
Regarding claims 15 and 19, PG’402 specify Al-Ce-Ni alloy with Al3Ni intermetallic phase (par.[0026] and claim 20 of PG’402), which reads on the claimed limitations as claimed in the instant claims.
Claims 2-5, 12-13, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG’402 in view of Chehab (WO2019/155180 A1, listed in IDS filed on 4/11/2024, corresponding to US-PG-pub 2021/0276099 A1, listed in IDS filed on 4/11/2024, thereafter PG’099).
Regarding claims 2-5, 12-13, and 17-18, PG’402 teaches an aluminum alloy and product with Al-Ce-Ni alloy with Al3Ni intermetallic phase (par.[0026] and claim 20 of PG’402) for additive manufacturing (abstract, claims, and examples of PG’402), PG’402 specify including optional additions, and unavoidable impurities in the Al-Ce-Ni alloy (par.[0026] of PG’402). But PG’402 does not specify the claimed specific additional elements as recited in the instant claims. PG’099 teaches an Al based alloy manufactured by additive manufacturing process (Abstract, par.[0002] and [0025], and claims of PG’099). PG’099 teaches Al based alloy including Ni, Mn, Zr, Hf, and optional including Ce with specific amount (claims 1-3 and par.[0017]-[0018], and [0029] of PG’099], which overlaps the claimed Hf (cl.2-3), Mn and/or Zr (cl.4-5, 12-13, and 17-18) amount in the instant claims 1 and 8-9. Overlapping in composition ranges creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144 05 I. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the amount of Mn, Zr, and Hf from the disclosure of PG’099 for the alloy of PG’402 in order to obtain a high strength Al alloy (par.[0030] of PG’099).
Regarding claim 16, PG’099 teaches including Zr and formation of nanometric dispersoids of the Al3Zr in the alloy (Par.[0026] of PG’099), which reads on the claimed limitation in the instant claim.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-16 of copending application No. 16/894551 (US 11,608,546 B2).
Regarding claims 1-19, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other with Claims 1-16 of copending application No. 16/894551 (US 11,608,546 B2). All of the alloy composition ranges and microstructure disclosed in Claims 1-16 of copending application No. 16/894551 (US 11,608,546 B2) overlap the ranges of composition ranges, which is a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 I. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include ferrite as claimed from the disclosures Claims 1-16 of copending application No. 16/894551 (US 11,608,546 B2) because Claims 1-16 of copending application No. 16/894551 (US 11,608,546 B2) teaches the same Al-Ce-Ni for additive manufacture as claimed throughout the whole disclosed ranges. Thus, no patentable distinction was found in the instant claims compared with the Claims 1-16 of copending application No. 16/894551 (US 11,608,546 B2).
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-15 of copending application No. 17/084582 (US 11,986,904 B2).
Regarding claims 1-19, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other with Claims 1-15 of copending application No. 17/084582 (US 11,986,904 B2). All of the alloy composition ranges and microstructure disclosed in Claims 1-15 of copending application No. 17/084582 (US 11,986,904 B2) overlap the ranges of composition ranges, which is a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 I. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include ferrite as claimed from the disclosures Claims 1-15 of copending application No. 17/084582 (US 11,986,904 B2) because Claims 1-15 of copending application No. 17/084582 (US 11,986,904 B2) teaches the same Al-Ce-Ni for additive manufacture as claimed throughout the whole disclosed ranges. Thus, no patentable distinction was found in the instant claims compared with the Claims 1-15 of copending application No. 17/084582 (US 11,986,904 B2).
Conclusion
/JIE YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734