Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II Species B (Claims 11-15 and 17-20) in the reply filed on 06/22/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-10 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation – 35 USC 112(f)
Claim 11 recites “fixing means”. (A) the term “means” is a generic placeholder; (B) the fixing means has the function of attaching the base portion to the cutting portion; (C) the claim does not recite further structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as screw thread or welding based on ¶0008 of the published application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, 14-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (KR100549735B1) (text citations are from the attached machine translation).
Claim 11
Park teaches a drill bit (Figure 6), comprising: a base portion (54); and a cutting portion (57); wherein the cutting portion comprises a cutting surface (55) comprising braze material (55b) and abrasive particles (55a); and wherein the cutting portion is formed separately to the base portion (Figure 6) and fixing means (threads) attach the base portion to the cutting portion. (Figure 6)
Claim 12
Park teaches the drill bit according to claim 11, wherein the abrasive particles are diamond particles. (Line 104)
Claim 14
Park teaches the drill bit according to claim 11, wherein the abrasive particles comprise tungsten carbide or cubic boron nitride. (Line 104)
Claim 15
Park teaches the drill bit according to claim 11 being a grinding pin. (Figure 6 shows the grinding tool is a pin shape.)
Claim 17
Park teaches the drill bit according to claim 11, configured to be used with a drilling tool operating between 500 to 30,000 rpm. (The claim does not identify further structure outside of what is claimed in Claim 11 that is required by the functional limitation / intended use limitation. As such, the grinding tool of Park meets all of the structural limitations of Claim 11 and will have the same capabilities.)
Claim 19
Park teaches the drill bit according to claim 11, wherein the cutting portion comprises a central channel. (Figure 6 shows a male threaded portion (54) of the base that fits into a female receptacle of the cutting portion (57). This means the cutting portion has a central channel.)
Claim 20
Park teaches the drill bit according to claim 19, wherein the central channel only extends partially along the length of cutting portion. (Figure 6 shows the cutting portion (57) has a closed end with a socket (57b) for a Phillips head screwdriver. This closed end means that the central channel does not extend the entire length of the cutting portion.)
Claims 11-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US20190329449A1).
Claim 11
Wang teaches a drill bit (100), comprising: a base portion (130); and a cutting portion (120); wherein the cutting portion comprises a cutting surface (101) comprising braze material (¶0020 “bond matrix”) and abrasive particles (¶0020 “abrasive grains”); and wherein the cutting portion is formed separately to the base portion (Figure 1) and fixing means (¶0104 “A shaft can be screwed to the body or bonded to the body by brazing. The body and the shaft can be formed by methods known in the art, such as machining.”) attach the base portion to the cutting portion. (¶0104)
Claim 12
Wang teaches the drill bit according to claim 11, wherein the abrasive particles are diamond particles. (¶0028)
Claim 13
Wang teaches the drill bit according to claim 12, wherein the diamond particles are substantially spherical (The specification does not define the bounds of “substantially spherical”. It is interpreted that a particle having a diameter (See Wang ¶0029) is “substantially spherical”. See also Figure 10A item 1001, which is a particle with a circular cross section.) and are 300-700 micron in diameter. (¶0029 teaches a particle size (D50) of 400, 350, and 300 microns.)
Claim 18
Wang teaches the drill bit according to claim 11, wherein the cutting surface extends only over a tip section of a length of the cutting portion. (The first region (101) extends only over a tip section of the length of the cutting portion (120).)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Form.
Document
Date
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
US20190329449A1
2019-04-25
Figure 1 teaches a drill bit having a body (130) and a cutting portion (120) with a cutting tip (101) having abrasive grains.
US3495359
1968-10-10
Figure 4 teaches a drill having a body (30), a cutting portion (11), and abrasive grains (16) formed on the tip.
US5733074A
1995-12-15
Figure 7 teaches a grinding pin having a body (15) and a cutting portion (14) having grains (11) formed thereon.
US20050279533A1
2004-06-22
Figure 4 teaches a drill bit having a body (24) and a cutting portion (32) with diamond abrasive cutting tips (31). The body and cutting portion are joined by a weld (34).
US20030084894A1
2002-09-27
Figure 1 teaches a series of super abrasive particles (20) embedded in a braze (25) material. ¶0092 teaches the invention is used with diamond tools such as saws.
US20070151554A1
2005-02-04
Figures 4-5 show a method where diamond abrasives (130) are bonded to a cutting tool (110) using a brazing method. ¶0008 teaches the brazing temperature can be 600 to 1300C.
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726