DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Flex-prop (WO 2009/091299 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Flex-prop discloses a crossover fastener assembly (see Fig. 4) comprising:
first and second crossed arms (see Abstract, see page 8 lines 9-15, and openings for tubes in Fig. 4);
between the arms, a bridge (2 in Fig. 5) formed from a rectangular tube into which the arms are fitted (see Fig. 5), the bridge for preventing a relative rotation of the first arm with respect to the second arm (see Fig. 5);
the arms fixed to the bridge by a compression frame (1, see Figs. 4 and 7);
the compression frame having a single pair of opposing “H” shaped members (each member 7, see annotated Figure 4 below) for capturing the bridge and the arms therebetween (see Fig. 4); and,
opposing member ears (B in annotated Figure 2 below on each member 7) with fitments (holes in ear members shown by B in annotated Figure 2 below) for bolts (3), the bolts do not pass through the bridge (see NOTE below) and are operable to move the opposing members closer together (see Figs. 4 and 7 for example).
Applicant is reminded that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Accordingly, all the process limitations of “formed from a rectangular tube” are given limited patentable weight, all that is required of claim 1 is that the bridge is capable of being formed from a rectangular tube.
NOTE: The bolts enter the bridge as shown in Fig. 4 from opposing directions to clamp the components together. Therefore, the bolts enter the bridge but do not pass completely through the bridge.
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 4.
Figure 2. Annotated Figure 2.
Regarding claim 2, Flex-prop discloses wherein:
the bridge (2) receives the first arm (see page 8 lines 9-15) into opposed slots (8 in Fig. 5) at one end of the bridge (see Fig. 5); and,
the bridge receives the second arm (see page 8 lines 9-15) into opposed slots (8 in Fig. 5) at an opposite end of the bridge (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Flex-prop discloses wherein one of the compression frame members (1) includes a web (7 and 9 in Fig. 7) with canted web portions (15 in Fig. 7) that join at a web centerline (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Flex-prop discloses wherein:
both compression frame members (1 in Fig. 4) have a web (7 and 9 on member 1);
one of the webs being received by the opposed slots (8 on member 2) at one end of the bridge (2, see Fig. 4); and
the other of the webs being received by the opposed slots (8 on member 2) at the other end of the bridge (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Flex-prop discloses wherein various sizes or diameters of one of the arms (see Abstract and openings for tubes in Fig. 4) are accommodated when one of the webs (9 on member 1) fits inside a pair of the bridge slots (8 on member 2).
Regarding claim 6, Flex-prop discloses wherein each arm (see Abstract and openings for tubes in Fig. 4) contacts the bridge (2) and one of the compression frame members (1, see Abstract and Fig. 4 for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flex-prop (WO 2009/091299 A1) in view of Strishock (US 11,594,809 B1).
Regarding claim 7, Flex-prop discloses an assembly (see Fig. 4) comprising:
first and second crossed arms (see Abstract, page 8 lines 9-15, and openings for tubes in Fig. 4);
a crossover fastener (see Fig. 4) including a bridge (2 in Fig. 5) formed from a rectangular tube and a compression frame (1, see Figs. 4 and 7);
between the arms, the bridge into which the arms are fitted (see Fig. 5), the bridge for preventing a relative rotation of the first arm with respect to the second arm (see page 8 lines 9-15 and Fig. 4);
the arms fixed to the bridge by the compression frame (1, see Fig. 4);
the compression frame having a single pair of opposing members (1) for capturing the bridge and the arms therebetween (see Fig. 4);
opposing member corners (B in annotated Figure 2 above on each member 7) with fitments (holes in corner members shown by B in annotated Figure 2 above) for bolts (3), the bolts do not pass through the bridge (see NOTE below) and are operable to move the opposing members closer together (see Figs. 4 and 7 for example).
Flex-prop fails to disclose as claimed that the assembly includes a cell tower that supports a cellular telephone antenna via the crossover fastener, the first and second arms being tower arms, and the cellular telephone antenna coupled to the tower via the first tower arm or the second tower arm.
However, Strishock teaches that it is known to use crossover fasteners for cell towers, and further teaches an assembly (see Fig. 14) that includes a cell tower (A in annotated Figure 14 below) that supports a cellular telephone antenna (141a-c) via the crossover fastener (144a-c), the first (143) and second (142a-c) arms being tower arms (see Fig. 14), and the cellular telephone antenna coupled to the tower via the first tower arm or the second tower arm (see Fig. 14), in order to provide removable and adjustable crossed rod connections for cell towers and cellular telephone antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the assembly of Flex-prop, with Strishock, such that the crossover fastener of Flex-prop is used to connect tower arms as taught by Strishock, in order to provide removable and adjustable crossed rod connections for cell towers and cellular telephone antennas.
Applicant is reminded that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Accordingly, all the process limitations of “formed from a rectangular tube” are given limited patentable weight, all that is required of claim 7 is that the bridge is capable of being formed from a rectangular tube.
NOTE: The bolts enter the bridge as shown in Fig. 4 from opposing directions to clamp the components together. Therefore, the bolts enter the bridge but do not pass completely through the bridge.
Figure 3. Annotated Figure 14.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Flex-prop and Strishock teaches wherein:
the bridge (2 of Flex-prop) receives the first tower arm (143 of Strishock) into opposed slots (8 in Fig. 5 of Flex-prop) with openings at one end of the bridge (see Fig. 5 of Flex-prop); and,
the bridge receives the second tower arm (142a-c of Strishock) into opposed slots (8 in Fig. 5 of Flex-prop) with openings at an opposite end of the bridge (see Fig. 5 of Flex-prop).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Flex-prop and Strishock teaches wherein one of the compression frame members (1 of Flex-prop) includes a web (7 and 9 in Fig. 7 of Flex-prop) with canted web portions (15 in Fig. 7 of Flex-prop) that join at a web centerline (see Fig. 7 of Flex-prop).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Flex-prop and Strishock teaches wherein:
both compression frame members (1 of Flex-prop) have a web (7 and 9 in Fig. 7 of Flex-prop);
one of the webs being received by the opposed slots (8 on member 2 of Flex-prop) at one end of the bridge (2 of Flex-prop, see Fig. 4 of Flex-prop); and
the other of the webs being received by the opposed slots (8 on member 2 of Flex-prop) at the other end of the bridge (2 of Flex-prop, see Fig. 4 of Flex-prop).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Flex-prop and Strishock teaches wherein each tower arm (142a-c and 143 of Strishock) contacts the bridge (2 of Flex-prop) and one of the compression frame members (1 of Flex-prop, see Fig. 4 of Flex-prop).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 4, recites: “…The Office action equates applicant's claimed bridge with FIG. 5 above. But, the bridge of FIG. 5 is not formed from a rectangular tube. Rather Stromberg's FIG. 5 shows an assembly of metal plates and columns without a through hole…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is reminded that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Accordingly, all the process limitations of “formed from a rectangular tube” are given limited patentable weight, all that is required of the claims is that the bridge is capable of being formed from a rectangular tube.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 4, recites: “…The Office action equates applicant's claimed compression frame and compression frame members with FIGS. 4,7 above. But, the compression frame members of FIGS. 4,7 are not "H" shaped. Rather Stromberg's FIGS. 4,7 show an assembly of metal plates about square in shape…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As seen in annotated Figure 4 above, each member 7 of Flex-prop has an H-shape.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 4, recites: “…The Office action equates applicant's claimed ears with FIGS. 4,7 above. But, FIGS. 4,7 have no ears. Rather Stromberg's FIGS. 4, 7 show an assembly of metal plates about square in shape with screws that do pass through the bridge…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As seen by B in annotated Figure 2 above, Flex-prop does have ears. Further, the bolts of Flex-prop (3) do not pass through the bridge (2). The bolts of Flex-prop extend into and terminate within the bridge but do not pass completely through the bridge. It is understood that the bolts must extend into the bridge from opposing directions in Fig. 4 of Flex prop. Therefore, each fastener cannot extend completely through the bridge as this would prevent the opposing fastener from being able to extend into the bridge. Therefore, the fasteners extend into but do not pass through the bridge.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 5, recites: “…Applicant respectfully disagrees. Applicant repeats applicant's arguments made in connection with claim 1 above. Further, Stromberg's FIG. 5 cannot be equated with applicant's claimed bridge. See above. As such, the rejection of claim 2 is now traversed…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner points to the response to arguments with regard to claim 1 above.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 5, recites: “…Applicant respectfully disagrees. Applicant repeats applicant's arguments made in connection with claims 1-2 above. Applicant notes Stromberg's FIGS. 4,7 cannot be equated with applicant's compression frame member(s). See above…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner points to the response to arguments with regard to claims 1-2 above.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 6, recites: “…Further, FIG. 7 items 7,9 do not show a canted web in the context of a mechanical part. What the figure shows is seen below…Stromberg discloses item 7 as a "transverse material piece" or a top and item 9 as an "additional material piece" or a midframe collar. Neither of these items is the claimed "compression frame... web" or compression frame central interconnecting section with web portions that join at a web centerline as claimed by applicant. As such, the rejection of claim 3 is now traversed…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Flex-prop discloses the structure as claimed by Applicant and it is therefore unclear as to why member 15 cannot be considered a canted web.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 7, recites: “…Applicant respectfully disagrees. Applicant repeats applicant's arguments made in connection with claims 1-3 above. Applicant notes Stromberg's FIGS. 4,7 cannot be equated with applicant's compression frame member(s). See above. Further, Stromberg's FIG. 4 including items 9,9 fail to show "webs being received by the opposed slots at the other end of the bridge." As such, the rejection of claim 4 is now traversed…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner points to the response to arguments with regard to claims 1-3 above. Further, Applicant’s mention of webs being received by the opposed slots is not sufficient to overcome the rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 7, recites: “…Applicant respectfully disagrees. Applicant repeats applicant's arguments made in connection with claims 1-4 above. Applicant notes Stromberg FIG 4 shows an opening framed by parts 9,9 which are located side-by-side such that frame size is adjusted by moving one of the parts relative to the other part. This is not applicant's claimed "one of the webs fits inside a pair of bridge slots." As such, the rejection of claim 5 is now traversed…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner points to the response to arguments with regard to claims 1-4 above. Further, Applicant’s mention of parts being side by side is not sufficient to overcome the rejection. Flex-prop does disclose the claim language of claim 5 as seen in the rejection above.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 8, recites: “…Applicant respectfully disagrees. Applicant repeats applicant's arguments made in connection with claims 1-5 above. Applicant notes Stromberg's FIGS. 4,7 cannot be equated with applicant's compression frame member(s). Applicant notes Stromberg's FIG. 5 cannot be equated with applicant's claimed bridge. See above. As such, the rejection of claim 6 is now traversed…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner points to the response to arguments with regard to claims 1-5 above..
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 10, recites: “…The Office action equates applicant's claimed bridge with FIG. 5 above. But, the bridge of FIG. 5 is not formed from a rectangular tube. Rather Stromberg's FIG. 5 shows an assembly of metal plates and columns without a through hole…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is reminded that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Accordingly, all the process limitations of “formed from a rectangular tube” are given limited patentable weight, all that is required of the claims is that the bridge is capable of being formed from a rectangular tube.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 10, recites: “…The Office action equates applicant's claimed compression frame and compression frame members with FIGS. 4,7 above. But, the compression frame members of FIGS. 4,7 are not "H" shaped. Rather Stromberg's FIGS. 4,7 show an assembly of metal plates about square in shape…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 7 does not claim “H-shaped”. Applicant’s arguments are moot.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 10, recites: “…The Office action equates applicant's claimed bolts with FIGS. 4,7 above. But, Stromberg's FIGS. 4,7 show an assembly of metal plates with fasteners that do pass through the bridge. As such, the rejection of claim 7 is now traversed…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The bolts of Flex-prop (3) do not pass through the bridge (2). The bolts of Flex-prop extend into and terminate within the bridge but do not pass completely through the bridge. It is understood that the bolts must extend into the bridge from opposing directions in Fig. 4 of Flex prop. Therefore, each fastener cannot extend completely through the bridge as this would prevent the opposing fastener from being able to extend into the bridge. Therefore, the fasteners extend into but do not pass through the bridge.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 11, recites: “…Applicant respectfully disagrees. Applicant repeats applicant's arguments made in connection with claim 7 above. Further, Stromberg's FIG. 5 cannot be equated with applicant's claimed bridge. See above…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner points to the response to arguments for claim 7 above.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 11, recites: “…Applicant respectfully disagrees. Applicant repeats applicant's arguments made in connection with claims 7-8 above. Applicant notes Stromberg's FIGS. 4,7 cannot be equated with applicant's compression frame member(s). See above. Further, FIG. 7 items 7,9 do not show a canted web in the context of a mechanical part. What the figure shows is seen below…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner points to the response to arguments for claims 7-8 above. Flex-prop does disclose a canted web as mentioned above.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 12, recites: “…Applicant respectfully disagrees. Applicant repeats applicant's arguments made in connection with claims 7-9 above. Applicant notes Stromberg's FIGS. 4,7 cannot be equated with applicant's compression frame member(s). See above. Further, Stromberg's FIG. 4 including items 9,9 fail to show "webs being received by the opposed slots at the other end of the bridge."…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner points to the response to arguments for claims 7-9 above. Flex-prop does disclose the claim language of claim 10 as mentioned above.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 July 2026, page 13, recites: “…Applicant respectfully disagrees. Applicant repeats applicant's arguments made in connection with claims 7-10 above. Applicant notes Stromberg's FIGS. 4,7 cannot be equated with applicant's compression frame member(s). Applicant notes Stromberg's FIG. 5 cannot be equated with applicant's claimed bridge. See above. As such, the rejection of claim 11 is now traversed…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner points to the response to arguments for claims 7-10 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZAH/Examiner, Art Unit 3678
/AMBER R ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678