DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the reference numbers in the drawings are not clearly written. Fig. 1B contains a reference number that could be interpreted to read 100B or 10013.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Flex-prop (WO 2009/091299 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Flex-prop discloses a crossover fastener assembly (see Fig. 4) comprising:
first and second crossed arms (see Abstract, see page 8 lines 9-15, and openings for tubes in Fig. 4);
between the arms, a bridge (2 in Fig. 5) into which the arms are fitted (see Fig. 5), the bridge for preventing a relative rotation of the first arm with respect to the second arm (see Fig. 5);
the arms fixed to the bridge by a compression frame (1, see Figs. 4 and 7);
the compression frame having opposing members (see Fig. 4) for capturing the bridge and the arms therebetween (see Fig. 4); and,
opposing member corners with fitments (19) for bolts (3), the bolts operable to move the opposing members closer together (see Figs. 4 and 7 for example).
Regarding claim 2, Flex-prop discloses wherein:
the bridge (2) receives the first arm (see page 8 lines 9-15) into opposed slots (8 in Fig. 5) with openings at one end of the bridge (see Fig. 5); and,
the bridge receives the second arm (see page 8 lines 9-15) into opposed slots (8 in Fig. 5) with openings at an opposite end of the bridge (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Flex-prop discloses wherein one of the compression frame members (1) includes a web (7 and 9 in Fig. 7) with canted web portions (15 in Fig. 7) that join at a web centerline (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Flex-prop discloses wherein:
both compression frame members (1 in Fig. 4) have a web (7 and 9 on member 1);
one of the webs being received by the opposed slots (8 on member 2) at one end of the bridge (2, see Fig. 4);
the other of the webs being received by the opposed slots (8 on member 2) at the other end of the bridge (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Flex-prop discloses wherein various sizes or diameters of one of the arms (see Abstract and openings for tubes in Fig. 4) are accommodated when one of the webs (9 on member 1) fits inside a pair of the bridge slots (8 on member 2).
Regarding claim 6, Flex-prop discloses wherein each arm (see Abstract and openings for tubes in Fig. 4) contacts the bridge (2) and one of the compression frame members (1, see Abstract and Fig. 4 for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flex-prop (WO 2009/091299 A1) in view of Strishock (US 11,594,809 B1).
Regarding claim 7, Flex-prop discloses an assembly (see Fig. 4) comprising:
first and second crossed arms (see Abstract, page 8 lines 9-15, and openings for tubes in Fig. 4);
a crossover fastener (see Fig. 4) including a bridge (2 in Fig. 5) and a compression frame (1, see Figs. 4 and 7);
between the arms, the bridge into which the arms are fitted (see Fig. 5), the bridge for preventing a relative rotation of the first arm with respect to the second arm (see page 8 lines 9-15 and Fig. 4);
the arms fixed to the bridge by the compression frame (1, see Fig. 4);
the compression frame having opposing members (1) for capturing the bridge and the arms therebetween (see Fig. 4);
opposing member corners with fitments (19) for bolts (3), the bolts operable to move the opposing members closer together (see Figs. 4 and 7 for example).
Flex-prop fails to disclose as claimed that the assembly that includes a cell tower that supports a cellular telephone antenna via the crossover fastener, the first and second arms being tower arms, and the cellular telephone antenna coupled to the tower via the first tower arm or the second tower arm.
However, Strishock teaches that it is known to use crossover fasteners for cell towers, and further teaches an assembly (see Fig. 14) that includes a cell tower (A in annotated Figure 14 below) that supports a cellular telephone antenna (141a-c) via the crossover fastener (144a-c), the first (143) and second (142a-c) arms being tower arms (see Fig. 14), and the cellular telephone antenna coupled to the tower via the first tower arm or the second tower arm (see Fig. 14), in order to provide removable and adjustable crossed rod connections for cell towers and cellular telephone antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the assembly of Flex-prop, with Strishock, such that the crossover fastener of Flex-prop is used to connect tower arms as taught by Strishock, in order to provide removable and adjustable crossed rod connections for cell towers and cellular telephone antennas.
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 14.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Flex-prop and Strishock teaches wherein:
the bridge (2 of Flex-prop) receives the first tower arm (143 of Strishock) into opposed slots (8 in Fig. 5 of Flex-prop) with openings at one end of the bridge (see Fig. 5 of Flex-prop); and,
the bridge receives the second tower arm (142a-c of Strishock) into opposed slots (8 in Fig. 5 of Flex-prop) with openings at an opposite end of the bridge (see Fig. 5 of Flex-prop).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Flex-prop and Strishock teaches wherein one of the compression frame members (1 of Flex-prop) includes a web (7 and 9 in Fig. 7 of Flex-prop) with canted web portions (15 in Fig. 7 of Flex-prop) that join at a web centerline (see Fig. 7 of Flex-prop).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Flex-prop and Strishock teaches wherein:
both compression frame members (1 of Flex-prop) have a web (7 and 9 in Fig. 7 of Flex-prop);
one of the webs being received by the opposed slots (8 on member 2 of Flex-prop) at one end of the bridge (2 of Flex-prop, see Fig. 4 of Flex-prop);
the other of the webs being received by the opposed slots (8 on member 2 of Flex-prop) at the other end of the bridge (2 of Flex-prop, see Fig. 4 of Flex-prop).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Flex-prop and Strishock teaches wherein each tower arm (142a-c and 143 of Strishock) contacts the bridge (2 of Flex-prop) and one of the compression frame members (1 of Flex-prop, see Fig. 4 of Flex-prop).
Conclusion
/ZAH/Examiner, Art Unit 3678
/AMBER R ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678