DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7,13-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by U.S Pub. No. 2023/0262169 A1 to Mosebrook et al. (hereinafter “Mosebrook”).
Regarding claim 1, Mosebrook teaches a computer-implemented method comprising: receiving a plurality of requests to join a virtual meeting (paragraph [0135]; event Manager 200 enables messages to be sent from a client application 85 via a client adapter 80 to notify the Core system 100 and other attached participants in a meeting of events like people joining a session, leaving a session, or moving to a new location);
allowing access to the virtual meeting to at least a first user, a second user, a third user, and a fourth user based in part on in part the plurality of requests (Fig.11, paragraphs [0158] and [0161]; participant entering the meeting…a conference room 3000 is presented which has both a main room 3010 (participants 1,2,3 and 4) and at least one whisper room 3020 (participants 5 and 6));
grouping the first user’s audio input and the second user’s audio input into a first audio input cluster (Fig.11 and paragraph [0161]; a conference room 3000 is presented which has both a main room 3010 (participants 1,2,3 and 4) and at least one whisper room 3020 (participants 5 and 6));
grouping the third user’s audio input and the fourth user’s audio input into a second audio input group (Fig.11 and paragraph [0161]; a conference room 3000 is presented which has both a main room 3010 (participants 1,2,3 and 4) and at least one whisper room 3020 (participants 5 and 6)); and
altering a first-user audio output to the first user such that the first audio group is louder than the second audio input group (paragraphs [0117] and [0161]; the audio the whisper room participants hear from those located in the main room is heard at a reduced volume to improve the clarity of the conversations held in the whisper room. A conference may have multiple whisper rooms functioning at any given time).
Regarding claim 2, Mosebrook teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: outputting instructions to the first user to display a visual representation of a second user more prominently than a visual representation of the third user or a visual representation of a fourth user (paragraphs [0165]- [0166]; a participant in both a whisper room and a sidebar room will hear all sources from the sidebar room and all sources in the whisper room. A participant in both a whisper room and a sidebar room will act as a source only for listeners in the same sidebar room).
Regarding claim 6, Mosebrook teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
associating a first users input with the first user; analyzing, using a Deep Neural Network, the first users input to determine a first user’s topic of conversation; and suggesting a different group to the first user based on the determination (paragraphs [0058], [0092]-[0094] and [0161]; An Automatic Noise Cancellation (ANC) module suitable for use as the Noise Cancellation Process 1030 receives a block of digital audio, runs it through a neural network and outputs the same audio block with speech maintained and noise reduced… the audio the whisper room participants hear from those located in the main room is heard at a reduced volume to improve the clarity of the conversations held in the whisper room. A conference may have multiple whisper rooms functioning at any given time. Audio in the whisper room is not heard by all meeting room participants. A whisper room may have two or more participants).
Regarding claim 7, Mosebrook teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving an indication that the first user wishes to change groups based on the suggesting operation (paragraphs [0063], [0079] and [0158]; any changes to the participants' relative positions may be updated dynamically, e.g., in real-time including such items as a participant leaving the meeting or another participant entering the meeting. There are many other changes that can be made to a participant's location such as moving to a different location within the configuration of the virtual meeting room or entering a sidebar room).
Regarding claim 13, Mosebrook teaches a computer-readable storage device having instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, performs a method, the method comprising: receiving a plurality of requests to join a virtual meeting (paragraph [0135]; event Manager 200 enables messages to be sent from a client application 85 via a client adapter 80 to notify the Core system 100 and other attached participants in a meeting of events like people joining a session, leaving a session, or moving to a new location);
allowing access to the virtual meeting to at least a first user, a second user, a third user, and a fourth user based in part on in part the plurality of requests (Fig.11, paragraphs [0158] and [0161]; participant entering the meeting…a conference room 3000 is presented which has both a main room 3010 (participants 1,2,3 and 4) and at least one whisper room 3020 (participants 5 and 6));
grouping the first user’s audio input and the second user’s audio input into a first audio input cluster (Fig.11 and paragraph [0161]; a conference room 3000 is presented which has both a main room 3010 (participants 1,2,3 and 4) and at least one whisper room 3020 (participants 5 and 6));
grouping the third user’s audio input and the fourth user’s audio input into a second audio input group (Fig.11 and paragraph [0161]; a conference room 3000 is presented which has both a main room 3010 (participants 1,2,3 and 4) and at least one whisper room 3020 (participants 5 and 6)); and
altering a first-user audio output to the first user such that the first audio group is louder than the second audio input group (paragraphs [0117] and [0161]; the audio the whisper room participants hear from those located in the main room is heard at a reduced volume to improve the clarity of the conversations held in the whisper room. A conference may have multiple whisper rooms functioning at any given time).
Note: Regarding claim 13, examiner broadest reasonable interpretation “a computer-readable storage device” is a statutory subject matter. The specification discloses that “Computer storage media does not include communication media.” (see Paragraph 0092, lines 12-13).
Regarding claim 14, Mosebrook teaches the computer-readable storage device of claim 13, wherein the method further comprises:
outputting instructions to the first user to display a visual representation of a second user more prominently than a visual representation of the third user or a visual representation of a fourth user (paragraphs [0165]- [0166]; a participant in both a whisper room and a sidebar room will hear all sources from the sidebar room and all sources in the whisper room. A participant in both a whisper room and a sidebar room will act as a source only for listeners in the same sidebar room).
Regarding claim 18, Mosebrook teaches the computer-readable storage device of claim 13, the method further comprising: associating a first user’s input with the first user; analyzing, using a Deep Neural Network, the first user’s input to determine a first user’s topic of conversation; and suggesting a different group to the first user based on the determination (paragraphs [0058], [0092]-[0094] and [0161]; an Automatic Noise Cancellation (ANC) module suitable for use as the Noise Cancellation Process 1030 receives a block of digital audio, runs it through a neural network and outputs the same audio block with speech maintained and noise reduced…the audio the whisper room participants hear from those located in the main room is heard at a reduced volume to improve the clarity of the conversations held in the whisper room. A conference may have multiple whisper rooms functioning at any given time. Audio in the whisper room is not heard by all meeting room participants. A whisper room may have two or more participants).
Regarding claim 19, Mosebrook teaches the computer-readable storage device of claim 18, the method further comprising: receiving an indication that the first user wishes to change groups based on the suggesting operation (paragraphs [0063] and [0079]; each authorized participant to make changes in the meeting such as adjusting their location within the virtual room or making use of specialized features such as whisper mode).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2005/0060368 A1 to Wang et al. (hereinafter “wang”) in view of U.S Pub. No. 2023/0262169 A1 to Mosebrook et al. (hereinafter “Mosebrook”).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, from a server, a request from a plurality of clients to join a virtual conference call, wherein the plurality of clients includes a first client having a first input communication stream including audio and video data captured by the first client and a second client having a second input communication stream including audio and video data captured by the second client (Fig.13 , Abstract and paragraph [0125]; a first client, a second client, and a third client join the videoconferencing from different locations) ;
sending at least a portion of the audio and video data captured by the first client and at least a portion of the audio and video data captured by the second client to at least a portion of the other of the plurality of clients (paragraphs [0005], [0125], [0136] and [0160]; audio and video streams from one participant node are transmitted to all the other participants involved in a conference call);
receiving a request from the first client to send a private conversation to the second client (paragraphs [0211] and [0212]; the first participant sends the second participant a private message that includes an invitation to join in a private chat room conversation while the videoconference session is taking place);
and, based on the request, setting a private environment (paragraphs [0211]- [0214]; providing a private conversation channel between three participants in a videoconference session having N participants).
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose a private whisper and setting a whisper environment.
In the same field of endeavor, Mosebrook discloses a private whisper and setting a whisper environment (paragraphs [0161]- [0162]; virtual environment and/or as a pre-defined sub-group within the conference while still hearing what the other participants in the room is presented).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Wang’s teaching with a feature of a private whisper and setting a whisper environment as taught by Mosebrook in order to provide private communication between participants while still engaged in a main conference session (paragraph [0053]; Mosebrook).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein setting the whisper environment comprises:
reducing an amount of data of the audio and video data captured by the first client that is sent to the at least a portion of the other of the plurality of clients; and reducing an amount of data of the audio and video data captured by the second client that is sent to the at least a portion of the other of the plurality of clients (paragraphs [0092] and [0161]; participants in the whisper room can hear each other and can also hear audio from participants in the main room. Typically, the audio the whisper room participants hear from those located in the main room is heard at a reduced volume to improve the clarity of the conversations held in the whisper room. A conference may have multiple whisper rooms functioning at any given time. Audio in the whisper room is not heard by all meeting room participants. A whisper room may have two or more participants).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8, further comprising, before setting the whisper environment, sending an approval request to the second client and receiving, from the second client, an approval (paragraphs [0063] and [0088] and [0161]; allow each authorized participant to make changes in the meeting such as adjusting their location within the virtual room or making use of specialized features such as whisper mode (which will be described later in this specification) and the like that can securely send messages to the Event Manager API 250. These messages can then be processed both internally by the Core 100 and other connected client applications 85).
Claims 3-4, 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2023/0262169 A1 to Mosebrook et al. (hereinafter “Mosebrook”) in view of U.S Pub. No. 2009/0303984 A1 to Clark et al. (hereinafter “Clark”).
Regarding claim 3, Mosebrook does not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from a whispering user, a request to private message a target user of a virtual conference call; sending a request to accept the private message to a client application associated with the target user; receiving an indication of acceptance; and based on receiving the indication of acceptance, setting a whispering environment to facilitate a private voice conversation between the target user and the whispering user.
In the same field of endeavor, Clark discloses receiving, from a whispering user, a request to private message a target user of a virtual conference call; sending a request to accept the private message to a client application associated with the target user (paragraphs [0042] and [0046]- [0047]; the participation controller 168 allows a user in a private conversation to invite another user in the metaverse virtual world to join the private conversation. The participation controller 168 also allows a user outside of a private conversation to request another user presently in a private conversation to join the private conversation); receiving an indication of acceptance; and based on receiving the indication of acceptance, setting a whispering environment to facilitate a private voice conversation between the target user and the whispering user (paragraphs [0048] and [0050]; a user that receives the private conversation request can click an Accept button to accept the request to join the private conversation).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Mosebrook’s teaching with a feature of receiving, from a whispering user, a request to private message a target user of a virtual conference call; sending a request to accept the private message to a client application associated with the target user as taught by Clark in order to implement a privacy configuration interface and allows the first user to configure privacy settings associated with the private audio conversation (paragraph [0005], Clark).
Regarding claim 4, Mosebrook does not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein setting the whispering environment comprises alerting other members a group associated with the target user that the target user is in a private conversation.
In the same field of endeavor, Clark discloses setting the whispering environment comprises alerting other members a group associated with the target user that the target user is in a private conversation (paragraphs [0040] and [0058]; notification flag above the head of a user's avatar notifies other users outside of the private space that the user in the private space is currently part of a private conversation).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Mosebrook’s teaching with a feature of setting the whispering environment comprises alerting other members a group associated with the target user that the target user is in a private conversation as taught by Clark in order to implement a privacy configuration interface and allows the first user to configure privacy settings associated with the private audio conversation (paragraph [0005], Clark).
Regarding claim 15, Mosebrook does not teach the computer-readable storage device of claim 13, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, from a whispering user, a request to private message a target user of a virtual conference call; sending a request to accept the private message to a client application associated with the target user; receiving an indication of acceptance; and based on receiving the indication of acceptance, setting a whispering environment to facilitate a private voice conversation between the target user and the whispering user.
In the same field of endeavor, Clark discloses receiving, from a whispering user, a request to private message a target user of a virtual conference call; sending a request to accept the private message to a client application associated with the target user; receiving an indication of acceptance; and based on receiving the indication of acceptance, setting a whispering environment to facilitate a private voice conversation between the target user and the whispering user (paragraphs [0042] and [0046]- [0047]; the participation controller 168 allows a user in a private conversation to invite another user in the metaverse virtual world to join the private conversation. The participation controller 168 also allows a user outside of a private conversation to request another user presently in a private conversation to join the private conversation); sending a request to accept the private message to a client application associated with the target user; receiving an indication of acceptance; and based on receiving the indication of acceptance, setting a whispering environment to facilitate a private voice conversation between the target user and the whispering user (paragraphs [0048] and [0050]; a user that receives the private conversation request can click an Accept button to accept the request to join the private conversation).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Mosebrook’s teaching with a feature of receiving, from a whispering user, a request to private message a target user of a virtual conference call; sending a request to accept the private message to a client application associated with the target user; receiving an indication of acceptance; and based on receiving the indication of acceptance, setting a whispering environment to facilitate a private voice conversation between the target user and the whispering user as taught by Clark in order to implement a privacy configuration interface and allows the first user to configure privacy settings associated with the private audio conversation (paragraph [0005], Clark).
Regarding claim 16, Mosebrook does not teach the computer-readable storage device of claim 15, wherein setting the whispering environment comprises alerting other members a group associated with the target user that the target user is in a private conversation.
In the same field of endeavor, Clark discloses wherein setting the whispering environment comprises alerting other members a group associated with the target user that the target user is in a private conversation (paragraphs [0040] and [0058]; notification flag above the head of a user's avatar notifies other users outside of the private space that the user in the private space is currently part of a private conversation).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Mosebrook’s teaching with a feature of wherein setting the whispering environment comprises alerting other members a group associated with the target user that the target user is in a private conversation as taught by Clark in order to implement a privacy configuration interface and allows the first user to configure privacy settings associated with the private audio conversation (paragraph [0005], Clark).
Regarding claim 20, Mosebrook teaches the computer-readable storage device of claim 15, wherein sending a request to accept the private message occurs of via use of an intranet (paragraphs [0075] and [0129]; each participant then accesses this map 320 from a remote computer connected to the software on the host computer via the Internet).
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2023/0262169 A1 to Mosebrook et al. (hereinafter “Mosebrook”) in view of U.S Pub. No. 2009/0303984 A1 to Clark et al. (hereinafter “Clark”) in further view of U.S Pub. No. 2024/0106979 A1 to AGRAWAL et al. (hereinafter “AGRAWAL”).
Regarding claim 5, Mosebrook and Clark do not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein alerting includes changing a video image of the target user to a still image.
In the same field of endeavor, AGRAWA discloses wherein alerting includes changing a video image of the target user to a still image (paragraphs [0024] and [0049]; single frame option that provides a still image while the camera is off alerts/informs the other participants that you are offline and may be otherwise engaged while off-camera).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Mosebrook and Clark teaching with a feature of wherein alerting includes changing a video image of the target user to a still image as taught by AGRAWA in order to allowing the remote participants to become aware of the local user's distracted state (paragraph [0004], AGRAWAL).
Regarding claim 17, Mosebrook and Clark do not teach the computer-readable storage device of claim 16, wherein alerting includes changing a video image of the target user to a still image.
In the same field of endeavor, AGRAWA discloses wherein alerting includes changing a video image of the target user to a still image (paragraphs [0024] and [0049]; single frame option that provides a still image while the camera is off alerts/informs the other participants that you are offline and may be otherwise engaged while off-camera).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Mosebrook and Clark teaching with a feature of wherein alerting includes changing a video image of the target user to a still image as taught by AGRAWA in order to allowing the remote participants to become aware of the local user's distracted state (paragraph [0004], AGRAWAL).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2005/0060368 A1 to Wang et al. (hereinafter “wang”) in view of U.S Pub. No. 2023/0262169 A1 to Mosebrook et al. (hereinafter “Mosebrook”) in further view of U.S Pub. No. 2009/0303984 A1 to Clark et al. (hereinafter “Clark”).
Regarding claim 10, Wang and Mosebrook do not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 8, further comprising: sending an indication to the at least a portion of a plurality of other clients that the first client and the second client are in a whisper environment.
In the same field of endeavor, Clark discloses sending an indication to the at least a portion of a plurality of other clients that the first client and the second client are in a whisper environment (paragraphs [0040] and [0058]; notification flag above the head of a user's avatar notifies other users outside of the private space that the user in the private space is currently part of a private conversation).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Wang and Mosebrook teaching with a feature of sending an indication to the at least a portion of a plurality of other clients that the first client and the second client are in a whisper environment as taught by Clark in order to implement a privacy configuration interface and allows the first user to configure privacy settings associated with the private audio conversation (paragraph [0005], Clark).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2005/0060368 A1 to Wang et al. (hereinafter “wang”) in view of U.S Pub. No. 2023/0262169 A1 to Mosebrook et al. (hereinafter “Mosebrook”) in further view of U.S Pub. No. 2024/0106979 A1 to AGRAWAL et al. (hereinafter “AGRAWAL”).
Regarding claim 11, Wang and Mosebrook do not teach the computer implemented method of claim 9, wherein the indication is selected from the group consisting of: a graphical indication, changing a video feed of the first client and the second client to a still image, and an audio indication.
In the same field of endeavor, AGRAWA discloses wherein the indication is selected from the group consisting of: a graphical indication, changing a video feed of the first client and the second client to a still image, and an audio indication (paragraphs [0024], [0037] and [0049], [0061],[0088] and [0100]; electronic device selects a video segment as a freeze frame video and presents that video segment in response to a trigger condition).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Mosebrook and Clark teaching with a feature of wherein the indication is selected from the group consisting of: a graphical indication, changing a video feed of the first client and the second client to a still image, and an audio indication as taught by AGRAWA in order to allowing the remote participants to become aware of the local user's distracted state (paragraph [0004], AGRAWAL).
Conclusion
AKELAW TESHALE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2694
/AKELAW TESHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694