DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
The Examiner acknowledges receipt of the amendments filed on 2/10/2026 wherein claim 22 has been amended.
Claims 22-44 are presented for examination on the merits. The following rejections are made.
Response to Applicants’ Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 2/10/2026 regarding the rejection of claims 24-44 made by the Examiner under 35 USC 103 over Gomez et al. (WO 2010/045280) in view of Wellinghoff et al. (US 2008/0026029), evidenced by Delcomyn et al. (Environ Sci Tech, 2006, 40, 2759-2764) and is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record in the office action mailed on 8/22/2025.
In regards to the 103 rejection, Applicant asserts the following:
A) the claims require the powder to be free of moisture which could initiate the release of chlorine dioxide “when the light-activated spray-dried powder has been cooled in darkness under an inert atmosphere before it is sealed in a container that block light of a wavelength capable of activating the photocatalyst” The prior art does not teach such a limitation.
In response to A, none of the references teach such a limitation. However, the Examiner is not persuaded that this is sufficient to mitigate the rejection. The present specification/claims require the presence of a desiccant such as “a silica, a silicate, a borosilicate, an aluminosilicate, a zeolite, sodium sulfide, or any combination thereof”. The specification [0040] states that the desiccant can be added after spray drying the powder to “protect the powder from further moisture activation.” The fact that desiccants are to be added post-production of the powder to protect the powder from moisture activation, it would be reasonable to extrapolate outward wherein the spray-dried powder in mixture with a desiccant would be characterized by the property of being free of moisture that could initiate release of chlorine dioxide.
Gomez teaches that their spray-dried powder can be supplemented with materials that change the rate of chlorine dioxide release such as silicates (to complex active surface sites). Gomez also teaches that any silicate can be used in the spray-dried powder, such as “sodium silicate, sodium metasilicate, sodium sesquisilicate, sodium orthosilicate, borosilicates and aluminosilicates” for the added benefit of decreasing the gas release rate.
Wellinghoff also teaches that silicates be included in the spray-dried powder composition. Wellinghoff similary states that silicates such as “sodium silicate, sodium metasilicate, sodium sesquisilicate, sodium orthosilicate, borosilicates and aluminosilicates” can be added as a ‘light filtering additive’ (see [0052]). Example 8 of Wellinghoff teaches that silicates are used in method of making the chlorine dioxide releasing spray-dried powder.
The presence of the silicate in the spray-dried powder would serve to mitigate moisture that would be capable of initiating chlorine dioxide release. The inclusion of a silicate (a desiccant), in addition to the previously made arguments, render the claimed invention obvious. The Examiner’s concern is whether the reduced moisture is a result of the process alone or whether the result of the presence of an added desiccant to the powder to remove the water that could, if not bound to the desiccant, initiate chlorine dioxide release? Inclusion of a provision that the spray-dried powder does not include a desiccant when measured for moisture activation would overcome this concern.
Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Maintained Rejections, of Record
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomez et al. (WO2010/045280; of record) in view of Wellinghoff et al. (US 2008/0026029; of record), evidenced by Delcomyn et al. (Environ Sci Technol, 2006, 40, 2759-2764).
Gomez describes a light-activated composition for releasing chlorine dioxide in an amount effective to provide a disinfection benefit. The composition may be in the form of a polymeric film (see page 4) (see instant claim 44)
The composition is to comprise a chlorite, such as sodium chlorite, in an amount of 0.01-50% by weight and a photocatalyst, such as a metal oxides like zinc oxide and titanium dioxide (rutile; see page 12), in an amount of between 50-99.99% by weight (see pages 4-5 and claims 4 and 11) (see instant claims 24, 30, 31-35).
Gomez teaches that their composition may comprise a light-filtering material such as silicates, aluminosilicates and borosilicates (see page 14) (see instant claims 28 and 29). Instant claim 29 identifies desiccants as including “a silicate, a borosilicate, an aluminosilicate…”. Thus, because the light filtering materials taught by Gomez are chemically the same as the chemical desiccants claimed, the silicates, borosilicates and aluminosilicates of Gomez must necessarily possess this property despite being unrecognized as such.
Gomez teaches that their composition is made by a process of spray drying a suspension of the photocatalyst and chlorite (see page 14). The spray drying is performed so as to remove solvent from the mixture which suggests that the resulting product is to be free of solvent (water/moisture). The spray drying process described by Gomez is performed in the dark using an inlet temperature of 250-350oC and an outlet temperature of 100-150oC (see page 15). Although the process of Gomez’s spray drying utilizes an inlet temperature slightly lower than that claimed (350 v. 482oC), it is sufficiently close that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect similar results.
Moreover, regarding instant claims 24 and 38-43 and the limitation that the claimed spray dried composition be prepared in the dark by a spray-drying process, be performed in an inert atmosphere, have a solution pH of 9-14, etc., these are product-by-process limitations. See MPEP 2113(I) which states that if the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious to a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In the present case, the prior art product is made by the same process (spray drying) with the differences in process being immaterial to the product produced, e.g. difference in inlet temperature as discussed above. It would be reasonable to expect the resulting spray dried formulation of Gomez to yield light-activated spray-dried powder that does not include a source of moisture that could initiate chlorine dioxide release similar to that being claimed.
Gomez fails to teach the sodium chlorite as having between 85-99% purity.
Wellinghoff, like Gomez, is directed to energy-activated (via exposure to light) compositions for controlled release of chlorine dioxide (see claim 1) without the need for moisture (see [0008]) (see instant claim 37). The energy activated composition is made by spray-drying a solution (herein the ‘to-be spray dried solution’) that comprises a mixture comprising a catalyst, such as (rutile) titanium dioxide (see [0047]) (see instant claims 31-33), an anion source such as technical grade sodium chlorite (see [0037, 0081]) (see instant claim 25) (technical grade sodium chlorite 85% purity as required by instant claim 24 – see page 2760 of Delcomyn et al) and a surfactant such as an alkyl aryl ethoxylate and ethoxylated alkylphenol (nonionic) (see instant claims 26 and 27). Light-filtering agents, such as silicates (desiccant as defined by claims), are also contemplated for inclusion in the spray-dried powder (see [0052] and Example 8). The spray dried composition may be combined with polymers to form a final product (see [0059]) (see instant claim 44).
The to-be spray dried solution may comprise water (as noted above), however, other solvents are contemplated such as water-miscible organic materials such as alcohols (e.g. methanol; see [0075]), ketones (e.g. acetone; see [0053]) and amides (e.g. dimethylformamide; see [0053]) (see instant claims 41-43). It is noted that ‘azeotrope’ as recited by instant claims 41-43 is a functional description and because the chemical compounds of the prior are the same as the chemical compounds specified in the claims, said compounds must have this property naturally. The pH of the to-be spray dried solution is taught as being from 10-11 (see Example 4) (see instant claims 39 and 40). However, it is important to note that the solvent selection and the pH for the spray drying process are process limitations by which the product is made and limit the method of making the composition rather than the composition itself. See MPEP 2113(I)
Regarding instant claim 36, Wellinghoff’s chlorite composition provides the following release profile for their energy-activated composition:
(Fig 18) wherein chlorine dioxide is seen as being released at a rate of 100 ppm/4 hours (no stabilizer and 1% stabilizer) which equates to about 0.42 ppm ClO2 per minute which is within rate of disinfection required. Additionally, the rate of chlorine dioxide release appears as a tunable property for Wellinghoff’s invention (see Figures 2-15). It would have been obvious to modify Gomez’s invention to exhibit a release profile similar to Wellinghoff with a reasonable expectation for success in imparting a desired rate of disinfection. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/KYLE A PURDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611