Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is longer than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The following numbers do not appear in the specification but are referenced in the drawings:
Fig 3: 356b, 356a, 316a, 360, 362; Fig 4a: 416 & 422; Fig 4b: 42; Fig 5: 518a
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 12. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 4 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 13. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 5 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 14. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 6 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 15. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 7 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 16. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 12 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 3. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 12 is objected to because it appears the claim is dependent on Claim 1, but should be dependent on Claim 11. Examination will be performed based on this interpretation.
Claim 13 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 13. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 14 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 14. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 15 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 15. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 16 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 7. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 16 is objected to because it appears the claim is dependent on Claim 1, but should be dependent on Claim 11. Examination will be performed based on this interpretation.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 11 refers to “the connection point” however claim 8 refers to a “first connection point and a second connection point”. This will be interpreted as either the first or the second connection points in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-12, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by JP3875623 B2; Yasuji Suzuki (Hereinafter referred to as Suzuki). Suzuki was translated using Google Patents Machine translation, attached in the Office action is a copy of the translation labeled “JP3875623B2 - Filter device - Google Patents”.
Regarding Claim 1,Suzuki discloses a filter canister (See, Suzuki, Fig. 1, [0008] “…the present invention relates to a filter device) comprising: a tiltable housing (See, Suzuki; Fig. [0018] “..the housing 2 supported thereby continue to tilt forward…”); a lid disposed adjacent to the tiltable housing and enclosing an interior of the filter canister (See, Suzuki, Fig 1 & Fig 2; [0018] “…the upper end portion of the housing 2 is completely detached from the head portion 1, so that the filter element 30 can be taken out.”), a seal disposed between the tiltable housing and the lid (See, Suzuki; ; [0020] …the head portion, the housing, and the filter element are coupled, and local deterioration of the seal ring is prevented in repeated coupling, thereby ensuring the seal…”); a handle connected to the lid, the handle being moveable between a first position and a second position, when the handle is in the first position the seal forms a vacuum tight seal of the filter canister (See, Suzuki, Operating lever 4, Fig 1 & Fig 2 [0018]-[0019], [0020] “…that the upper end of the housing and the filter element Is hermetically coupled to the head portion…”); a connection point connecting the handle to the lid, the connection point allowing the handle to rotate between the first position and the second position (See, Suzuki; [0018] “…the cam plate 5 is guided by the pin 6′…”, Fig 2) an arcuate surface on the handle with a first recess for receiving a stop when the handle is in the first position, and the arcuate surface having an abutment surface against which the stop abuts when the handle is in the second position (See, Suzuki; [0018] “…the housing 2 stops at a position where the end wall of the cam slot 6 engages with the pin 6'…” , FIGS. 5 to 7); a first canister position of the tiltable housing wherein the handle is in the first position and a filtering operation is performed (See, Suzuki; [0009] from the first position (vertical position in FIG. 1), Paragraph [0019]); a second canister position of the tiltable housing wherein the handle is in the second position and a maintenance operation is performed (See, Suzuki; [0009] “…second position (inclined position in FIGS. 9 to 10)…”, [0018]); and a filtration media disposed within the interior of the tiltable housing to filter a fluid during the filtering operation (See, Suzuki; [0007] “That is, the present invention provides a filter device in which a filter element and an upper end portion of a housing for housing the filter element are coupled to a fixed head portion having a supply liquid inlet passage and a filtrate outlet passage (Fig 11).”)
Regarding Claim 2, Suzuki discloses the filter canister of claim 1, wherein the connection point is a pin (See, Suzuki; [0018] “...the cam plate 5 is guided by the pin 6′…”, Fig 2)
Regarding Claim 3, Suzuki discloses the filter canister of claim 1, further comprising a filter connection connected to the lid of the filter canister (See, Suzuki; Fig 3, Reference number 18 (Supply liquid inlet member) & 19 (Filtrate outlet member) and a purge connection connected to the housing of the filter canister (See, Suzuki; Fig 11, “A housing 41 (with a drain 51 in some cases) ....”).
Regarding Claim 7, Suzuki discloses the filter canister of claim 1, further comprising an inlet for receiving a fluid to be filtered and an outlet for a filtered fluid to exit the filter canister (See, Suzuki; [0008] “…. a raw material inlet and a filtrate outlet for hermetically closing the open upper end of the housing and guiding the fluid to be filtered to the filter element.”)
Regarding Claim 8, Suzuki discloses a filter canister comprising: a tiltable housing (See, Suzuki, [0018] “….the housing 2 supported thereby continue to tilt forward…”); a lid disposed adjacent to the tiltable housing, the lid covering a hollow space within the tiltable filter canister (See, Suzuki; [0018] “….the upper end portion of the housing 2 is completely detached from the head portion 1, so that the filter element 30 can be taken out….); a handle connected to the lid, the handle rotatable between a first position and a second position (See, Suzuki; Operating lever 4, Fig 1, 2 [0018]-[0019]); wherein the handle forms a vacuum seal between the tiltable housing and the lid when in the first position and the handle positions the lid in a maintenance position when in the second position (See, Suzuki, Paragraph [0019]) ; the handle connected to the lid by a first connection point and a second connection point, the first connection point and the second connection point disposed on opposite sides of the lid ( See, Suzuki; Reference number 6' cam pin, Figure 1 & 2); a first cam surface and a second cam surface located on the handle on opposite sides of the handle, the first cam surface and the second cam surface comprising a first recess and a second recess respectively (See, Suzuki; Reference number 5 Cam plate, Fig. 1 & 2); wherein the first cam surface travels along the first connection point and the second cam surface travels along the second connection point when the handle is rotated between the first position and the second position (See, Suzuki; Paragraphs [0018]-[0019]); a first stop and a second stop located on opposite sides of the tiltable housing, the first stop positioned to be received by the first recess of the first cam surface and the second stop positioned to be received by the second recess of the second cam surface when the handle is in the first position (See, Suzuki; Fig. 1 & 2, Reference number 6 Cam slot); wherein the first cam surface engages a top portion of the first stop and the second cam surface engages a top portion of the second stop while the handle is rotated between the first position and the second position (See, Suzuki; Fig 1 & 2, This figure discloses the stops of the first and second positions).
Regarding Claim 9, Suzuki discloses the filter canister of claim 8, further comprising a seal between the lid and the tiltable housing (See, Suzuki; [0020] “…the head portion, the housing, and the filter element are coupled, and local deterioration of the seal ring is prevented in repeated coupling, thereby ensuring the seal…”, Fig 11, Reference number 44 seal ring)
Regarding Claim 10, Suzuki discloses the filter canister of claim 9, further comprising a housing lip on a first side of the tiltable housing and a lid lip on a first side of the lid, the housing lip and the lid lip pressing the seal to form a vacuum tight seal when the handle is in the first position (See, Suzuki; Fig 11, “…outer rims 49 and 50 formed around the seam.... Reference numeral 44 denotes a seal ring….”)
Regarding Claim 11, Suzuki discloses the filter canister of claim 8, wherein the connection point is a pin (See, Suzuki; [0018] “…the cam plate 5 is guided by the pin 6′….”, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Suzuki discloses the filter canister of claim 1 (8), further comprising a filter connection connected to the lid of the filter canister and a purge connection connected to the housing of the filter canister (See, Suzuki, Fig 11, “A housing 41 (with a drain 51 in some cases) …”)
Regarding Claim 16, Suzuki discloses the filter canister of claim 1, further comprising an inlet for receiving a fluid to be filtered and an outlet for a filtered fluid to exit the filter canister (See, Suzuki; [0008] The present invention relates to a replaceable filter element, a housing for housing the filter element, a raw material inlet and a filtrate outlet for hermetically closing the open upper end of the housing and guiding the fluid to be filtered to the filter element, Fig. 3 Reference number 18 &19)
Regarding Claim 17, Suzuki discloses a method of operation of a filter canister comprising: moving a handle from a first position to a second position to break a vacuum tight seal between a tiltable housing and a lid disposed adjacent to the tiltable housing; purging fluid from the filter canister; lifting the handle to remove the lid from the tiltable housing; adding a filtration media into an interior of the tiltable housing; placing the lid on the filter canister; moving the handle from the second position to the first position and forming a vacuum tight seal between the tiltable housing and the lid; engaging a filtering operation and flowing a fluid into the filter canister (See Suzuki, Paragraphs [0017]-[0019], Operation of the filter device).
Regarding Claim 19, Suzuki discloses the method of operating the filter canister of claim 17 further comprising: rotating a cam surface of the handle about a stop located on the tiltable housing until the stop is received by a recess of the cam surface when the handle is in the first position (See, Suzuki, Figure 1 & 5, Reference number 9 guide slot & 9’ guide pin; [0019] “As a result, the housing follows a reverse process to the above and pivots around the guide pin 9 'to become vertical and align with the head portion 1, and then is pulled up vertically to supply liquid inlet member 18 and filtrate outlet member. 19 are respectively liquid-tightly fitted to the supply passage 20 and the outlet passage 21 of the head portion 1 through an O-shaped seal ring.”).
Regarding Claim 20, Suzuki discloses the method of operating the filter canister of claim 17 further comprising: squeezing a seal between a housing lip located on the tiltable housing and a lid lip located on the lid when the handle is moving from the second position to the first position to form the vacuum tight seal between the tiltable housing and the lid (See, Suzuki; [0020] “In the filter device of the present invention, the housing for storing the filter element is pivoted from the initial inclined position to the vertical position below the head portion only by the operation of the operation lever, and then the housing is pushed upward vertically so that the upper end of the housing and the filter element Is hermetically coupled to the head portion, and when the filter element needs to be replaced, the reverse movement is performed, so that not only the operability is good but also the coupling is stable.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 & 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP3875623 B2; Yasuji Suzuki (Hereinafter referred to as Suzuki) in view of US 20010045386 A1; Stankowski, Ralph (Hereinafter referred to as Stankowski). Suzuki was translated using Google Patents Machine translation, attached in the Office action is a copy of the translation labeled “JP3875623B2 - Filter device - Google Patents”.
Regarding Claim 4, Suzuki teaches the filter canister of claim 3 and an interconnection connecting the filter canister and the purge connection (See, Suzuki, Fig 11, “A housing 41 (with a drain 51 in some cases) …”)
However, Suzuki does not disclose that the interconnection between the filter canister and the purge connection is a rotatable interconnection.
Stankowski discloses a filter wherein the filter has a housing that uses a rotatable interconnection between the housing and the purge connection (See, Stankowski; Fig. 8, 8a and 8b, Reference number 250 & 250”; [0048] The configuration of the ball design 250" and corresponding socket 251 allows the ball 250" to swivel in the socket 251, thereby providing some "play" as the filter unit 12 is moved from the tilted position of FIG. 8 to the engaged position of FIG. 8a) Stankowski discloses that the ball design facilitates installation and removal of the filter device 12 at an angle, without requiring that either manifold 114 or 116 move. Stankowski discloses in addition, since the filter device 12 tends to move in the axial direction (i.e., the direction of flow) when under pressure, the depth of the socket 251 can accommodate this movement as well.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the filter device of Suzuki with the rotatable interconnection disclosed by Stankowski to aide in installation and removal of the filter device without compromising the seal due to axial movement of the filter when in operation.
Regarding Claim 5, Suzuki and Stankowski disclose the filter canister of claim 4.
Stankowski discloses wherein the tiltable housing is pivotable about the rotatable interconnection between a first housing position and a second housing position (See, Stankowski, Figure 8 & 8a, [0048] “The diameter of the ball 250" and the length of the socket 251 determines the degree to which the filter unit 12 can be tilted with respect to the axis of fluid flow for installation and removal.”).
Regarding Claim 6, Suzuki and Stankowski disclose the filter canister of claim 4.
Stankowski discloses wherein the rotatable interconnection is a quick disconnect fitting (See, Stankowski; Fig 8 & 8a, [0008] “…each of said first and second ends including a fitting for attachment of the housing to a manifold or other device allowing fluid communication through the separation means to a point of use is provided. The fittings are designed for quick connect/disconnect, and for minimal or no leakage.”)
Regarding Claim 13, Suzuki discloses the filter canister of claim 12, and an interconnection connecting the filter canister and the purge connection.
However, Suzuki does not disclose that the interconnection between the filter canister and the purge connection is a rotatable interconnection.
Stankowski discloses a filter wherein the filter has a housing that uses a rotatable interconnection between the housing and the purge connection (See, Stankowski; Fig. 8, 8a and 8b, Reference number 250 & 250”; [0048] The configuration of the ball design 250" and corresponding socket 251 allows the ball 250" to swivel in the socket 251, thereby providing some "play" as the filter unit 12 is moved from the tilted position of FIG. 8 to the engaged position of FIG. 8a) Stankowski discloses that the ball design facilitates installation and removal of the filter device 12 at an angle, without requiring that either manifold 114 or 116 move. Stankowski discloses in addition, since the filter device 12 has a tendency to move in the axial direction (i.e., the direction of flow) when under pressure, the depth of the socket 251 can accommodate this movement as well.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the filter device of Suzuki with the rotatable interconnection disclosed by Stankowski to aide in installation and removal of the filter device without compromising the seal due to axial movement of the filter when in operation.
Regarding Claim 14, Suzuki and Stankowski disclose the filter canister of claim 13.
Stankowski discloses wherein the tiltable housing is pivotable about the rotatable interconnection between a first housing position and a second housing position (See, Stankowski, Figure 8 & 8a, [0048] “The diameter of the ball 250" and the length of the socket 251 determines the degree to which the filter unit 12 can be tilted with respect to the axis of fluid flow for installation and removal.”).
Regarding Claim 15, Suzuki and Stankowski disclose the filter canister of claim 13.
Stankowski discloses wherein the rotatable interconnection is a quick disconnect fitting (See, Stankowski; Fig 8 & 8a, [0008] “…each of said first and second ends including a fitting for attachment of the housing to a manifold or other device allowing fluid communication through the separation means to a point of use is provided. The fittings are designed for quick connect/disconnect, and for minimal or no leakage.”)
Conclusion
/A.S.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779