DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krug US 20160113150 in view of Blomquist US 20100085726.
Regarding claim 1, Krug US 20160113150 discloses a rack-mountable, liquid-cooling assembly, the liquid-cooling assembly comprising:
a fluid manifold (400) having a supply connector (507) and a plurality of device connectors (502);
an upper mounting bracket (upper 620 in Fig. 6b);
a lower mounting bracket (lower 620 in Fig. 6b).
Krug does not explicitly disclose the upper mounting bracket having a plurality of upper mounting locations;
the lower mounting bracket having a plurality of lower mounting locations, each of the plurality of upper mounting locations corresponding to a respective lower mounting location of the plurality of lower mounting locations;
an upper bracket assembly coupled to an upper end of the fluid manifold, the upper bracket assembly being selectively securable to the upper mounting bracket at each of the plurality of upper mounting locations; and a lower bracket coupled to a lower end of the fluid manifold, the lower bracket selectively securable to the lower mounting bracket at each of the plurality of lower mounting locations.
However, Blomquist US 20100085726 discloses (in Fig.6) an adjustable, rack-mountable, (bracket) assembly, the (bracket) assembly comprising:
an upper mounting bracket (60 in Fig. 6) having a plurality of upper mounting locations (86a-c);
a lower mounting bracket (120) having a plurality of lower mounting locations (128a-c),
each of the plurality of upper mounting locations (86a-c) corresponding to a respective lower mounting location of the plurality of lower mounting locations (128a-c);
an upper bracket assembly (upper 100 in Fig. 6) coupled to an upper end of the (bracket 30 through 60),
the upper bracket assembly (upper 100) being selectively securable to the upper mounting bracket (60) at each of the plurality of upper mounting locations (86a-c); and
a lower bracket (lower 100) coupled to a lower end of the (bracket 30 through 120/60),
the lower bracket (lower 100) selectively securable to the lower mounting bracket (120) at each of the plurality of lower mounting locations (128a-c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the upper mounting bracket having a plurality of upper mounting locations;
the lower mounting bracket having a plurality of lower mounting locations, each of the plurality of upper mounting locations corresponding to a respective lower mounting location of the plurality of lower mounting locations;
an upper bracket assembly coupled to an upper end of the fluid manifold, the upper bracket assembly being selectively securable to the upper mounting bracket at each of the plurality of upper mounting locations; and a lower bracket coupled to a lower end of the fluid manifold, the lower bracket selectively securable to the lower mounting bracket at each of the plurality of lower mounting locations, as taught by Blomquist, in order to adjustably mount the fluid manifold.
Regarding claim 2, Krug in view of Blomquist disclose the liquid-cooling assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of upper mounting locations (86a-c of Blomquist) is linearly distributed along a lateral axis (as depicted in Fig. 6 of Blomquist), the plurality of lower mounting locations (128a-c of Blomquist) being linearly distributed along an additional lateral axis that is parallel to the lateral axis (as depicted in Fig. 6 of Blomquist).
Regarding claim 3, Krug in view of Blomquist disclose the liquid-cooling assembly of claim 1, wherein the upper bracket assembly (upper100 of Blomquist) includes a fastener (108 in Fig. 6 of Blomquist), and
wherein the upper mounting bracket (60 of Blomquist) includes, at each of the plurality of upper mounting locations (86a-c of Blomquist),
a fastener receiver (86a-c in Fig. 6 of Blomquist) for receiving the fastener (108 of Blomquist) of the upper bracket assembly (upper100 of Blomquist) to removably secure the upper bracket assembly (upper100 of Blomquist) to the upper mounting bracket (60 of Blomquist) at the respective upper mounting location (86a-c of Blomquist).
Regarding claim 5, Krug in view of Blomquist disclose the liquid-cooling assembly of claim 1, wherein the upper bracket assembly (upper100 of Blomquist) includes a slide tab (106 in Fig. 6 of Blomquist); and
wherein the upper mounting bracket (60 of Blomquist) includes a continuous slot (slot of 83/82 in Fig. 6 of Blomquist) for receiving the slide tab (106 of Blomquist),
the continuous slot (slot of 83/82 of Blomquist) extending for a length such that the upper bracket assembly (upper100 of Blomquist) is continuously slidable between a first upper mounting location (86a in Fig. 6 of Blomquist) of the plurality of upper mounting locations (86a-c of Blomquist) and a last upper mounting location (86c in Fig. 6 of Blomquist) of the plurality of upper mounting locations (86a-c of Blomquist).
Regarding claim 12, Krug in view of Blomquist disclose the liquid-cooling assembly of claim 1, wherein the upper mounting bracket (upper 100 of Blomquist) and the lower mounting bracket (lower 100 of Blomquist) are coupled to a rack chassis (20 in Fig. 1 of Blomquist/ see [0068] of Krug).
Regarding claim 13, Krug US 20160113150 discloses a computer rack (110 in Fig. 2), comprising:
a rack chassis (chassis of 110 in Fig. 2) having a front opening (front of 110) for receiving rack-mountable computing devices (301 in Fig. 5a) and a rear opening (rear of 110) opposite the front opening, the rack chassis (110) having a top end (top end of 110) and a bottom end (bottom end of 110);
an upper mounting bracket (upper 620 in Fig. 6b) coupled to the rack chassis (110);
a lower mounting bracket (lower 620 in Fig. 6b) coupled to the rack chassis (110);
a fluid manifold (400 in Fig. 5b) having a supply connector (507) and a plurality of device connectors (502 in Fig. 5b).
Krug does not explicitly disclose the upper mounting bracket coupled to the rack chassis at the top end, the upper mounting bracket having a plurality of upper mounting locations;
the lower mounting bracket coupled to the rack chassis at the bottom end,
the lower mounting bracket having a plurality of lower mounting locations,
each of the plurality of upper mounting locations corresponding to a respective lower mounting location of the plurality of lower mounting locations;
an upper bracket assembly coupled to an upper end of the fluid manifold,
the upper bracket assembly being selectively securable to the upper mounting bracket at each of the plurality of upper mounting locations; and
a lower bracket coupled to a lower end of the fluid manifold,
the lower bracket selectively securable to the lower mounting bracket at each of the plurality of lower mounting locations.
However, Blomquist discloses a rack chassis (20 in Fig. 1) having a front opening for receiving rack-mountable computing devices (40 in Fig. 1) and a rear opening opposite the front opening, the rack chassis (20) having a top end and a bottom end (as depicted in Fig. 1);
an upper mounting bracket (60 in Fig. 6) coupled to the rack chassis (20) at the top end, the upper mounting bracket (60) having a plurality of upper mounting locations (86a-c in Fig. 6);
a lower mounting bracket (120 in Fig. 6) coupled to the rack chassis (20) at the bottom end (through 26 as depicted in Fig 1 and 4),
the lower mounting bracket (120) having a plurality of lower mounting locations (128a-c),
each of the plurality of upper mounting locations (86a-c in Fig. 6) corresponding to a respective lower mounting location (128a-c) of the plurality of lower mounting locations (128a-c);
an upper bracket assembly (upper 100 in Fig. 6) coupled to an upper end of the (bracket 30 through 60),
the upper bracket assembly (upper 100) being selectively securable to the upper mounting bracket (60) at each of the plurality of upper mounting locations (86a-c); and
a lower bracket (lower 100 in Fig. 6) coupled to a lower end of the (bracket 30 through 120/60),
the lower bracket (lower 100) selectively securable to the lower mounting bracket (120) at each of the plurality of lower mounting locations (128a-c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the upper mounting bracket of Krug coupled to the rack chassis at the top end, the upper mounting bracket having a plurality of upper mounting locations;
the lower mounting bracket coupled to the rack chassis at the bottom end,
the lower mounting bracket having a plurality of lower mounting locations,
each of the plurality of upper mounting locations corresponding to a respective lower mounting location of the plurality of lower mounting locations;
an upper bracket assembly coupled to an upper end of the fluid manifold,
the upper bracket assembly being selectively securable to the upper mounting bracket at each of the plurality of upper mounting locations; and
a lower bracket coupled to a lower end of the fluid manifold,
the lower bracket selectively securable to the lower mounting bracket at each of the plurality of lower mounting locations, as taught by Blomquist, in order to adjustably mount the fluid manifold.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in the claim, a combination of limitations that “providing a fluid manifold having a supply connector and a plurality of device connectors,
an upper bracket assembly coupled to an upper end of the fluid manifold,
the upper bracket assembly being selectively securable to the upper mounting bracket at each of the plurality of upper mounting locations, a lower bracket coupled to a lower end of the fluid manifold, the lower bracket selectively securable to the lower mounting bracket at each of the plurality of lower mounting locations;
providing a rack-mountable computing device having a set of fluid-cooling connectors;
determining a fluid-cooling connector spacing associated with the set of fluid-cooling connectors;
selecting a desired upper mounting location from the plurality of upper mounting locations based at least in part on the fluid-cooling connector spacing;
securing the fluid manifold to the desired upper mounting location of the plurality of upper mounting locations; and
inserting the rack-mountable computing device into the rack chassis,
wherein insertion of the rack-mountable computing device into the rack chassis includes fluidly coupling at least one fluid-cooling connector of the set of fluid-cooling connectors to a device connector of the plurality of device connectors of the fluid manifold”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 19-20 depending from claim 18 are therefore allowable.
Claims 4, 6-11 and 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claims 1 and 3, a combination of limitations that “wherein the upper bracket assembly includes a locator; wherein the upper mounting bracket includes, at each of the plurality of upper mounting locations, a locator receiver for receiving the locator; and wherein, at each of the plurality of upper mounting locations, the fastener of the upper bracket assembly is aligned with the respective fastener receiver when the locator engages the respective locator receiver”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that “wherein the upper bracket assembly includes:
a vertical adjustment bracket configured to adjust the fluid manifold in a vertical direction with respect to the upper mounting bracket; and
a longitudinal adjustment bracket configured to adjust the fluid manifold in a longitudinal direction with respect to the upper mounting bracket”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 7-9 depending from claim 6 would therefore also be allowable.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that “wherein the lower bracket includes at least one vertical slot for receiving at least one lower manifold fastener to couple the fluid manifold to the lower bracket such that vertical repositioning of the at least one lower manifold fastener within the at least one vertical slot results in vertical adjustment of the fluid manifold with respect to the lower bracket”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claim 11 depending from claim 10 would therefore also be allowable.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 13, a combination of limitations that “wherein the plurality of upper mounting locations is linearly distributed along a lateral axis of the rack chassis,
the lateral axis being perpendicular to a vertical axis and to a longitudinal axis, the longitudinal axis being parallel to a direction of insertion of the rack-mountable computing devices,
the plurality of lower mounting locations being linearly distributed along an additional lateral axis that is parallel to the lateral axis”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 13, a combination of limitations that “wherein the upper bracket assembly includes a fastener and a locator, wherein the upper mounting bracket includes, at each of the plurality of upper mounting locations, (i) a fastener receiver for receiving the fastener of the upper bracket assembly to removably secure the upper bracket assembly to the upper mounting bracket at the respective upper mounting location, and (ii) a locator receiver for receiving the locator; and wherein, at each of the plurality of upper mounting locations, the fastener of the upper bracket assembly is aligned with the respective fastener receiver when the locator engages the respective locator receiver”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 13, a combination of limitations that “wherein the upper bracket assembly includes: a vertical adjustment bracket configured to adjust the fluid manifold in a vertical direction with respect to the upper mounting bracket; and a longitudinal adjustment bracket configured to adjust the fluid manifold in a longitudinal direction with respect to the upper mounting bracket”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claim 17 depending from claim 16 would therefore also be allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ewing US 20050259383 in Fig. 10, 12 and 14 discloses an adjustable, rack-mountable, power distribution assembly comprising:
an upper mounting bracket and a lower mounting bracket.
Shedd US 20150230366 Fig. 1-3; Tufty US 20210153390 Fig. 4-11 disclose a rack with a fluid manifold
/CHRISTOPHER L AUGUSTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841