DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment was filed on 8/25/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed under Remarks on pages 6-9 on 8/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants state on page 8 that:
and on page 9 of the Remarks states that:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kundu discloses in section 4.2 page 3562 right hand column that network estimate the 2D projection of the canonical object center and the 2D amodal bounding box of the object where center of the box and the size of the box is defined. 3D object pose is obtained w.r.t. to the camera using object center on the image, an amodal box around the object and camera intrinsics. Fig.3 (d) illustrates this that the center projections are a part of the amodal boxes. The object center distance from camera d is computed such that the resulting shape projection tightly fits the amodal box, determining the object pose w.r.t. the camera. Section 5.1 on pages 3562 and 3563 (left column) where 3D shape and pose is predicted in addition to 2D box and class label; 2D targets amodal box and center projection in the network.
Kundu introduces the method by having an instance level 3D model that provides a representation of the scene that disentangles the 2D projection. The method/system/contribution is a fast inverse-graphics network called 3D-RCNN that is capable of estimating the amodal 3D shape and pose of all object instances in an image. Therefore, as stated in the previous rejection, Kundu discloses the method of claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,989,900. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are anticipated. Claims 1 and 7 are used as an example below in the table corresponding to patented claim 1. Claims 2-20 are similarly mapped and rejected to claims 2-18 of the ‘900 patent.
US Patent Application No., 18/633,275
US Patent No., 11,989,900
1. (Original) A computer-implemented method, the method comprising:
1. A computer-implemented method, the method comprising:
receiving an image of an object captured by a camera; and
receiving an image of an object captured by a camera;
processing the image of the object using an object recognition neural network that is configured to generate an object recognition output comprising:
processing the image of the object using an object recognition neural network that is configured to generate an object recognition output comprising:
data defining a predicted two-dimensional amodal center of the object, wherein the predicted two-dimensional amodal center of the object is a projection of a predicted three- dimensional center of the object under a camera pose of the camera that captured the image.
data defining a predicted two-dimensional amodal center of the object, wherein the predicted two-dimensional amodal center of the object is a projection of a predicted three-dimensional center of the object under a camera pose of the camera that captured the image;
7. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining data specifying one or more other predicted two-dimensional amodal centers of the object in one or more other images captured under different camera poses; and
obtaining data specifying one or more other predicted two-dimensional amodal centers of the object in one or more other images captured under different camera poses; and
determining, from (i) the predicted two-dimensional amodal center of the object in the image and (ii) the one or more other predicted two-dimensional amodal centers of the object, the predicted three-dimensional center of the object.
determining, from (i) the predicted two-dimensional amodal center of the object in the image and (ii) the one or more other predicted two-dimensional amodal centers of the object, the predicted three-dimensional center of the object.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kundu, et al. (“3D-RCNN: Instance-level 3D Object Reconstruction via Render-and-Compare”, paper, IEEE/CVF, June 2018, pp. 3559-3568) (hereafter, “Kundu”).
With regard to Claim 1 Kundu discloses a computer-implemented method, the method comprising: receiving an image of an object captured by a camera (Fig. 1) on page 3561; and processing the image of the object using an object recognition neural network that is configured to generate an object recognition output comprising: data defining a predicted two-dimensional amodal center of the object, wherein the predicted two-dimensional amodal center of the object is a projection of a predicted three- dimensional center of the object under a camera pose of the camera that captured the image (section 4.2 where the network estimates the 2D amodal bounding box of the object and the center of the box as well as object position is discussed; Section 5.1 where 3D shape, 3D pose is predicted in addition to 2D box and class label; prediction of the target by the network; 2D targets amodal box and center projection in the network are normalized with respect to roi box as seen on page 3563 left column).
With regard to claim 2 Kundu discloses wherein the object recognition output comprises pixel coordinates of the predicted two-dimensional amodal center (see section 4.2).
With regard to claim 3 Kundu discloses wherein the object recognition neural network comprises a regression output layer that generates the pixel coordinates of the predicted two- dimensional amodal center (Fig. 1 and section 4.2).
With regard to claim 4 Kundu discloses wherein the object recognition neural network is a multi-task neural network and the object recognition output also comprises data defining a bounding box for the object in the image (section 4.2, Fig. 1, 3 and section 5.4).
With regard to claim 5 Kundu discloses wherein the predicted two-dimensional amodal center is outside of the bounding box in the image (Fig. 3 where the amodal center is outside the bounding/detector box depending on the Rc, see section 4.2).
With regard to claim 6 Kundu discloses wherein the object recognition output comprises a truncation score that represents a likelihood that the object is truncated in the image (section 4.1).
With regard to claims 8 and 15, claims 8 and 15 are rejected same as claim 2 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 2 are equally applicable to claims 8 and 15, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 2 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
With regard to claims 9 and 16, claims 9 and 16 are rejected same as claim 2 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 2 are equally applicable to claims 9 and 16, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 2 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
With regard to claims 10 and 17, claims 10 and 17 are rejected same as claim 3 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 3 are equally applicable to claims 10 and 17, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 3 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
With regard to claims 11 and 18, claims 11 and 18 are rejected same as claim 4 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 4 are equally applicable to claims 11 and 18, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 4 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
With regard to claims 12 and 19, claims 12 and 19 are rejected same as claim 5 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 5 are equally applicable to claims 12 and 19, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 5 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
With regard to claims 13 and 20, claims 13 and 20 are rejected same as claim 6 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 6 are equally applicable to claims 13 and 20, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 6 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SHEFALI D. GORADIA
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2676
/SHEFALI GORADIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665