DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-8 and 10-14 are pending. Claim 9 has been canceled. In the response to the restriction requirement, Applicants elected Group I and SEQ ID NO: 13.
Applicants elected species (i.e. SEQ ID NO: 13) was deemed to be free of the prior art. In accordance with Markush Practice, the search was extended to the Markush group/independent claim, and a reference was discovered that rendered it obvious. As a result, claims 1, 3, 5-7 and 12 have been examined and claims 2, 4, 8, 10-11 and 13-14 are withdrawn from consideration. While applicant’s elected species may read on one or more withdrawn claims, they have not been fully examined for patentability, and thus a determination of allowability cannot be made with respect to these claims at this time. This is proper, as MPEP 803.02 states that, in these circumstances, the prior art search, however, will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all nonelected species (MPEP 803.02).
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 11/13/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US11242369 and US11981710 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim 9 under 35 USC 112(a) is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 1, 3, 5-7 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Binz et al. is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments.
This rejection is maintained.
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minter et al. (WO 2016/023898).
With respect to claim 1, Minter et al. teach a Designed Ankyrin Repeat Protein (DARPin) that specifically binds to an antigen, the DARPin comprising an N-terminal cap section, at least two Ankyrin Repeat (AR) module sections, and a C-terminal cap section, characterized in that the DARPin has a charge that is less negative than the DARPin of SEQ ID NO: 1, excluding the charge contribution of the variable antigen-binding residues (claim 1), wherein the DARPin has an amino acid substitution at one or more of amino acid residues D15, E17, 120, G25, D27, L48, E49, E52, D60, N62, L81, E82, E85, D93, N95, L114, E115, E118, D126, N128, D143, E147, D148 and/or E151, numbered relative to SEQ ID NO: 1 (claims 10-11).
Given the finite possibilities (4 out of 19 (i.e. 20 amino acids minus D)), one of ordinary skill in the art would have at once envisaged D15 substituted with I, A, V or M as instantly claimed.
With respect to claim 7, the resulting sequence (i.e. SEQ ID NO: 1 wherein D15 is substituted with I, A, V or M) comprises A at position 23.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “[M]inter et al. broadly discuss reducing net negative charge in designed ankyrin repeat proteins by altering various acidic residues distributed throughout the scaffold. The reference lists at least 24 potential residues, one of which is position 15 (see claim 1 of Minter et al.), without any indication of its importance, particularly with respect to thermal stability. Further, specific substitutions taught by Minter for this position are E, K or N. Nothing in Minter teaches or enables substitution of D at position 15 of the N-terminal capping module with I, V, M or A as claimed. Accordingly, Minter clearly does not show the identical invention in as complete detail as is contained in the claim to either expressly or inherently describe the invention and therefore fails to anticipate the claimed invention”.
Applicant also argues that “[M]inter does not teach all the elements of the claims. The reference also does not offer any motivation or reasonable expectation that the specific mutations as claimed would increase thermostability. Applicant has demonstrated that the claimed mutations yield a surprising increase in thermal stability, an effect wholly absent and unexpected from Minter's teaching”.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because Minter et al. clearly teach a Designed Ankyrin Repeat Protein (DARPin) having an amino acid substitution at one or more of amino acid residues D15, E17, 120, G25, D27, L48, E49, E52, D60, N62, L81, E82, E85, D93, N95, L114, E115, E118, D126, N128, D143, E147, D148 and/or E151, numbered relative to SEQ ID NO: 1.
The MPEP 2141 states that rationales to support rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
In the instant case, given the finite possibilities (4 out of 19 (i.e. 20 amino acids minus D)), it would have been "Obvious to try" to substitute D15 with I, A, V or M in the DARPin of Minter et al., and thus arrive at the instantly claimed invention.
With respect to Applicant’s alleged unexpected results, the MPEP 716.02(d) states that unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. In the instant case they are not.
The specification exemplifies the thermal stability of SEQ ID NOs: 93-95, 101 and 108-109 (see Figs. 1-3). However, it is noted that said SEQ ID NOs: 93-95, 101 and 108-109 comprise D, L or V at the position corresponding to position 15 of SEQ ID NO: 3. Therefore, the alleged unexpected results are NOT commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
For the reasons stated above the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This rejection is maintained.
Claims 1, 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minter et al. (WO 2016/023898).
The teachings of Minter et al. with respect to claims 1 and 7 have been discussed above.
Minter et al. does not teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising the protein and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
However, Minter et al. suggest using DARPin antibodies as drug for the treatment of various diseases (page 1, 3rd para).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make a pharmaceutical composition comprising the protein (i.e. the DARPin antibody) and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Double Patenting
This rejection is maintained.
Claims 1 and 5-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 79-108 of copending Application No. 18/174086 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they relate to the same protein.
With respect to claim 1, ‘086 teaches a designed ankyrin repeat protein comprising an N-terminal capping module having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 5, 6 or 7, wherein leucine (L) at position 17 of SEQ ID NO: 5, 6 or 7 is optionally substituted with valine (V), isoleucine (I), methionine (M), or alanine (A), and wherein G at position 1 and/or S at position 2 of SEQ ID NOs: 5 to 7 are optionally missing (claim 79).
It is noted that position 17 of SEQ ID NO: 5, 6 or 7 corresponds to position 15 of instantly claimed SEQ ID NO: 3. SEQ ID NOs: 5-7 of ‘086 have amino acid sequences which have 83.33%, 86.66% and 90% sequence identity, respectively, with instantly claimed SEQ ID NO: 3 (see alignment below).
DLGKKLLEAARAGQXDEVRILMANGADVNA (instant SEQ ID NO: 3; X is I, A, V or M).
GSDLGKKLLQAARAGQXDEVRELLKAGADVNA (SEQ ID NO: 5)
GSDLGKKLLQAARAGQXDEVRILLKAGADVNA (SEQ ID NO: 6)
GSDLGKKLLQAARAGQXDEVRILLAAGADVNA (SEQ ID NO: 7).
With respect to claim 5, SEQ ID NO: 5 has E at position 20 relative to instant SEQ ID NO: 3.
With respect to claim 6, SEQ ID NOs: 5-7 have L at position 22 relative to instant SEQ ID NO: 3.
With respect to claim 7, SEQ ID NOs: 6-7 have A or K at position 23 relative to instant SEQ ID NO: 3.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the present application has a different inventive entity to copending Application No. 18/174086.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because copending Application No. 18/174086 and the instant application have a common applicant (see MPEP 804).
Therefore, the rejection on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting is proper.
For the reasons stated above the rejection is maintained.
This rejection is maintained.
Claims 1 and 5-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of copending Application No. 18/153576 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they relate to the same protein.
With respect to claim 1, ‘576 teaches a designed ankyrin repeat domain comprising an N-terminal capping module having a glutamine (Q) at a position corresponding to position 8 of SEQ ID NO: 69 and/or a leucine (L), valine (V), isoleucine (I), methionine (M) or alanine (A) at a position corresponding to position 15 of SEQ ID NO: 69 (claim 16).
SEQ ID NO: 69 of ‘576 has an amino acid sequence which has 86.66% sequence identity with instantly claimed SEQ ID NO: 3 (see alignment below).
DLGKKLLEAARAGQXDEVRILMANGADVNA (instant SEQ ID NO: 3; X is I, A, V or M).
DLGKKLLXAARAGQXDEVRELLKAGADVNA (SEQ ID NO: 69, wherein X at position 8 is E or Q, and wherein X at position 15 is L, V, I, M or A).
With respect to claim 5, SEQ ID NO: 69 has E at position 20 relative to instant SEQ ID NO: 3.
With respect to claim 6, SEQ ID NO: 69 has L at position 22 relative to instant SEQ ID NO: 3.
With respect to claim 7, SEQ ID NO: 69 has K at position 23 relative to instant SEQ ID NO: 3.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the present application has a different inventive entity to copending Application No. 18/153576.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because copending Application No. 18/153576 and the instant application have a common applicant (see MPEP 804).
Therefore, the rejection on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting is proper.
For the reasons stated above the rejection is maintained.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SERGIO COFFA Ph.D./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SERGIO COFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658