DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 15 and 20 are objected to because the following elements lack proper antecedent basis in the claim(s):
Claim 1 line 8: “the underside”
Claim 1 line 8 :”the soundboard”
Claim 5 line 1: “the ratio of width”
Claim 15 line 2: “the direction of an open side”
Claim 20 line 1: “the bridge plate”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: This claim includes the limitation “near the electromechanical transducer int the direction”. This limitation should be changed to state “near the electromechanical transducer in the direction”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 includes the limitation “where each piezoelectric transducer is not directly”. However there is a lack of antecedent basis for multiple piezoelectric transducers, as claim 9, from which claim 10 depends, describes at least one piezoelectric transducer. It is unclear whether applicants intend to reference the at least one piezoelectric transducer, or further limit the at least one piezoelectric transducer to be multiple piezoelectric transducers. For examining purposes, this limitation is interpreted as stating “where each of at least one piezoelectric transducers is not directly”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 10, 15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al. (US 10,670,453 B2) in view of Lazarus et al. (US 7,034,218 B1).
Claim 1: Miyata et al. discloses a transducer pickup system (sensor unit 1) for acoustic stringed instruments (121) (column 20 lines 46-54) as shown in FIG. 24, the system comprising: a pickup shown in FIG. 1 to comprise a pickup housing (first sound propagation sheet 3a) and a bottom surface (second sound propagation sheet 3b), the pickup housing having sides comprising at least a top wall. The pickup comprises an electromechanical transducer (piezoelectric element 2) shown to be surrounded by a solid material (unlabeled element immediately below and above the piezoelectric element) and located the same distance from the top wall and the bottom surface. The pickup is further mounted to an underside of a soundboard of an acoustic stringed instrument (column 10 lines 2-3), as can be seen from FIGS. 1 and 25. This reference fails to disclose the system to comprise at least two pickups, the solid material to be non-conductive material, and each pickup to comprise adhesive on one of the sides of the pickup housing to mount the pickup.
However Lazarus et al. teaches a transducer pickup system for acoustic stringed instruments (column 1 lines 12-16), where a pickup (transducer 100) is shown in FIG. 8 to comprise a housing (conductive cover 103), an electromechanical transducer (piezo element 105) surrounded by a solid material (potting compound or gel) described as an insulator, and therefore non-conductive, and includes adhesive on one of the sides to mount the pickup to an instrument (column 6 lines 31-39).
Given the teachings of Lazarus et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer pickup system disclosed in Miyata et al. with providing the solid material to be non-conductive material, and the pickup to comprise adhesive to mount the pickup. Doing so would provide a pickup system which “produces a superior, relatively undistorted, sound” due to external electrical interference being shielded, as taught in Lazarus et al. (column 2 lines 43-47). It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system to comprise at least two pickups, since it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Doing so would allow different pickups to be positioned at various locations on the soundboard so as to sense different harmonics and overtones generated from the soundboard. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the pickup housing to be against the soundboard instead of the bottom surface, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. The adhesive then would be on one of the sides of each pickup housing to mount the pickup. Doing so would allow each pickup to be more easily grasped if removed from the soundboard due to the sloped sides.
Claim 2: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system comprising at least two pickups, each comprising a pickup housing, as stated above. The pickup housing is disclosed in Miyata et al. to be made of a rigid material (metal) (column 8 lines 28-31).
Claim 3: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system as stated above, where each pickup housing further comprises a front wall, a rear wall, a left wall and a right wall as can be seen in Miyata et al. FIGS. 1 and 25. Each electromechanical transducer is located the same distance from the left wall and the right wall, as shown in FIG. 1, and further shown in FIG. 7 of Lazarus et al. to be centrally located within the pickup housing. Therefore each electromechanical transducer would be located the same distance from the front wall and the rear wall.
Claim 4: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system as stated above, but fails to disclose the left wall and right wall to be convex semi-circular in shape.
However Lazarus et al. teaches a transducer pickup system, where the pickup housing (cover 103) is circular, as shown in FIG. 7. A left wall and right wall of the pickup housing then would be convex semi-circular in shape.
Given the teachings of Lazarus et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer pickup system disclosed in Miyata et al. with providing the left wall and right wall to be convex semi-circular in shape. Doing so would ensure each pickup is small enough so as not to significantly interfere with soundwaves propagating within the instrument body.
Claims 5-7: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system as stated above, but fails to disclose a ratio of width, from front wall to rear wall, to length, from left wall to right wall, to be 1 to 1.5, with the width to be 0.525” and the length to be 0.800”, and the height to be 0.300”.
However it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a ratio of width, from front wall to rear wall, to length, from left wall to right wall, to be 1 to 1.5, with the width to be 0.525” and the length to be 0.800”, and the height to be 0.300”, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Doing so would ensure each pickup is small enough so as not to significantly interfere with soundwaves propagating within the instrument body.
Claim 9: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system as stated above, where at least one electromechanical transducer is disclosed in Miyata et al. to be a piezoelectric transducer (column 4 lines 39-40).
Claim 10: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system as stated above, where Miyata et al. is silent as to the pickup containing a printed circuit board. Therefore each piezoelectric transducer is not directly affixed to a printed circuit board (PCB).
Claim 15: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system as stated above, but fails to disclose each pickup to comprise a metallic shielding near the electromechanical transducer and in a direction of an open side of the pickup housing.
However Lazarus et al. teaches a transducer pickup system, where a pickup includes a conductive pickup housing (shell) near a transducer used for shielding (column 2 lines 43-46). Metallic materials are commonly used for conductive shielding, as is known in the art.
Given the teachings of Lazarus et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer pickup system disclosed in Miyata et al. with providing each pickup to comprise a metallic shielding near the electromechanical transducer as the pickup housing. Therefore the shielding would be in the direction of an open side of the pickup housing facing the bottom surface. Doing so would “produce a superior, relatively undistorted, sound” as taught in Lazarus et al. (column 2 lines 46-47).
Claim 17: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system as stated above, but fails to disclose a preamplifier configured to combine and amplify signals from the at least two pickups.
However Lazarus et al. teaches a transducer pickup system, where a preamplifier combines and amplifies signals from multiple sensors at different vibrating sources (column 2 line 56 through column 3 line 8).
Given the teachings of Lazarus et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer pickup system disclosed in Miyata et al. with providing a preamplifier configured to combine and amplify signals from the at least two pickups. Doing so would allow user defined adjustments to a sensed signal.
Claim 19: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system including at least two pickups, as stated above. The at least two pickups then would include at least a first pickup of the at least two pickups and a second pickup of the at least two pickups. The pickups are mounted under a soundboard of a stringed instrument at a bridge plate (133), as shown in FIGS. 24 and 25 of Miyata et al. These references fail to disclose the first pickup to be mounted across two highest strings of the stringed instrument, and the second pickup to be mounted across two lowest strings of the stringed instrument.
However it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first pickup to be mounted across two highest strings of the stringed instrument, and the second pickup to be mounted across two lowest strings of the stringed instrument, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Doing so would allow sensed signals to be output as a multi channel sound corresponding to at least a high and low frequency band.
Claim 20: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system as stated above, where the pickups are mounted to a bridge plate (133) of the acoustic stringed instrument, where the acoustic stringed instrument is an acoustic guitar, as shown in FIGS. 24 and 25 of Miyata et al.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al. (US 10,670,453 B2) in view of Baggs (US 4,314,495).
Claim 21: Miyata et al. discloses a transducer pickup system (sensor unit 1) for stringed instruments (121) (column 20 lines 46-54) as shown in FIG. 24, the system comprising: a pickup shown in FIG. 1 to comprise a pickup housing (first sound propagation sheet 3a) and a bottom surface (second sound propagation sheet 3b), the pickup housing having sides comprising at least a top wall. The pickup comprises piezoelectric transducer (piezoelectric element 2) shown to be surrounded by a solid material (unlabeled element immediately below and above the piezoelectric element) and located the same distance from the top wall and the bottom surface. The pickup housing further comprises a front wall, a rear wall, a left wall and a right wall as can be seen in FIGS. 1 and 25. The piezoelectric transducer is located the same distance from the left wall and the right wall, as shown in FIG. 1. This reference fails to disclose the system to comprise at least two pickups, the solid material to be epoxy potting, each piezoelectric transducer to be located the same distance from the front wall and the rear wall; and the ratio of width, from front wall to rear wall, to length, from left wall to right wall, to be 1 to 1.5.
However Baggs teaches a transducer pickup system, where a transducer is surrounded by a solid material described as epoxy potting (column 3 line 67 through column 4 line 4). Said transducer is shown in Fig. 4 to be centrally located between a front wall and rear wall.
Given the teachings of Baggs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer pickup system disclosed in Miyata et al. with providing the solid material to be epoxy potting, and the piezoelectric transducer to be located the same distance from the front wall and the rear wall. Doing so would “not only bond the [housing] and transducer together, but also forms the contact connecting the [housing] to ground” as taught in Baggs (column 7 lines 53-57). It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system to comprise at least two pickups, since it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Doing so would allow different pickups to be positioned at various locations on the soundboard so as to sense different harmonics and overtones generated from the soundboard. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a ratio of width, from front wall to rear wall, to length, from left wall to right wall, to be 1 to 1.5, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Doing so would ensure each pickup is small enough so as not to significantly interfere with soundwaves propagating within the instrument body.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al. (US 10,670,453 B2) modified by Lazarus et al. (US 7,034,218 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Osborne (US 2014/0202319 A1).
Claim 8: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system as stated above, but fails to disclose each pickup housing to be made of an electrically conductive plastic.
However Osborne teaches a transducer pickup system, where a pickup housing (pickup cover) includes a carbon coating and a second carbon coating (ground conductor) (page 1 paragraph [0005]) made of an electrically conductive plastic (page 7 paragraph [0089]).
Given the teachings of Osborne, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer pickup system disclosed in Miyata et al. as modified by Lazarus et al. with providing each pickup housing to be made of an electrically conductive plastic. Doing so would provide an inexpensive yet durable casing for the pickup, while still providing conducting capabilities to reduce audible electrostatic interference “noise in an audio output signal of the pickup” as taught in Osborne (page 1 paragraph [0005]).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al. (US 10,670,453 B2) modified by Lazarus et al. (US 7,034,218 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Baggs (US 4,314,495).
Claim 11: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system as stated above, but fails to disclose the solid non-conductive material to be epoxy potting.
However Baggs teaches a transducer pickup system, where a transducer is surrounded by a solid non-conductive material described as epoxy potting (column 3 line 67 through column 4 line 4).
Given the teachings of Baggs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer pickup system disclosed in Miyata et al. as modified by Lazarus et al. with providing the solid non-conductive material to be epoxy potting. Doing so would “not only bond the [housing] and transducer together, but also forms the contact connecting the [housing] to ground” as taught in Baggs (column 7 lines 53-57).
Claim 12: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. and Baggs discloses a transducer pickup system as stated above, where the epoxy potting is shown in Fig. 3 of Baggs to form a bottom surface.
Claim 13: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system as stated above, but fails to disclose the solid non-conductive material to be overmolded plastic that is unitary with the pickup housing.
However Baggs teaches a transducer pickup system, where a resinous plastic material surrounds transducer, and forms a pickup housing (outer body 12) (column 5 lines 21-22). The resinous plastic material is a solid non-conductive material and is therefore unitary with the pickup housing.
Given the teachings of Baggs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer pickup system disclosed in Miyata et al. as modified by Lazarus et al. with providing the solid non-conductive material to be overmolded plastic that is unitary with the pickup housing. Doing so would eliminate “undesired damping” “since there are no elastic or cantilever members which interact with the vibration of the [soundboard] to alter vibrational modes” as taught in Baggs (column 10 lines 9-17).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al. (US 10,670,453 B2) modified by Lazarus et al. (US 7,034,218 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Baggs (US 6,605,771 B1), herein referred to as Lloyd.
Claim 14: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system as stated above, but fails to disclose a strain relief portion to be formed separately from the pickup housing and to fit into each pickup housing to surround signal wires that lead from the electromechanical transducer.
However Lloyd teaches a transducer pickup system, where a strain relief portion (strain relief sleeve 62) is shown in Fig. 4 to be formed separately from a pickup housing (cap 66) and shown in Fig. 3 to fit into the pickup housing to surround signal wires of cables (60) that lead from a transducer (sensor 50a).
Given the teachings of Lloyd, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer pickup system disclosed in Miyata et al. as modified by Lazarus et al. with providing a strain relief portion to be formed separately from the pickup housing and to fit into each pickup housing to surround signal wires that lead from the electromechanical transducer. Doing so would provide additional strength to protect the signal wires during manufacturing of the transducer within the pickup housing.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al. (US 10,670,453 B2) modified by Lazarus et al. (US 7,034,218 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Kaneko (US 10,883,871 B2).
Claim 16: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system as stated above, but fails to disclose the adhesive to be acrylic foam adhesive.
However Kaneko teaches a transducer pickup system, where an adhesive to mount a pickup (sensor unit 1) to a vibrating body (101) is acrylic foam adhesive (column 6 lines 1-3).
Given the teachings of Kaneko, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer pickup system disclosed in Miyata et al. as modified by Lazarus et al. with providing the adhesive to be acrylic foam adhesive. Doing so would provide an adhesive with “less compressive deformation in the thickness direction … therefore, even when the vibrating body vibrates at a high frequency … the soft base material can transmit the vibration of the vibrating body to the [transducer] with high efficiency” as taught in Kaneko (column 6 lines 4-11).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al. (US 10,670,453 B2) modified by Lazarus et al. (US 7,034,218 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Fishman et al. (US 7,247,789 B2).
Claim 18: Miyata et al. modified by Lazarus et al. discloses a transducer pickup system as stated above, but fails to disclose the preamplifier to include circuitry for a band of compression in the 5 Khz range, a steep high pass filter, and/or a notch at 150 Hz.
However Fishman et al. teaches a transducer pickup system, where a preamplifier includes a notch filter (column 5 lines 20-26).
Given the teachings of Fishman et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer pickup system disclosed in Miyata et al. as modified by Lazarus et al. with providing the preamplifier to include a notch filter. It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the notch filter to be at 150 Hz, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Doing so would allow feedback suppression, as taught in Fishman et al. (column 5 lines 20-26).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al. (US 10,670,453 B2) in view of Osborne (US 2014/0202319 A1), further in view of Baggs (US 4,314,495) and Kaneko (US 10,883,871 B2).
Claim 22: Miyata et al. discloses a transducer pickup system (sensor unit 1) for stringed instruments (121) (column 20 lines 46-54) as shown in FIG. 24, the system comprising: a pickup shown in FIG. 1 to comprise a pickup housing (first sound propagation sheet 3a) and a bottom surface (second sound propagation sheet 3b), the pickup housing having sides comprising at least a top wall. The pickup comprises piezoelectric transducer (piezoelectric element 2) shown to be surrounded by a solid material (unlabeled element immediately below and above the piezoelectric element) and located the same distance from the top wall and the bottom surface. The pickup housing further comprises a front wall, a rear wall, a left wall and a right wall as can be seen in FIGS. 1 and 25. The piezoelectric transducer is located the same distance from the left wall and the right wall, as shown in FIG. 1. This reference fails to disclose the system to comprise at least two pickups, the pickup housing to be made of an electrically conductive plastic, the solid material to be epoxy potting, each pickup to comprise acrylic foam adhesive on one of the sides of the pickup housing, each piezoelectric transducer to be located the same distance from the front wall and the rear wall, the ratio of width, from front wall to rear wall, to length, from left wall to right wall, to be 1 to 1.5, the left wall and right wall to be convex semi-circular in shape, and the epoxy potting to form the bottom surface.
However Osborne teaches a transducer pickup system, where a pickup housing (pickup cover) includes a carbon coating and a second carbon coating (ground conductor) (page 1 paragraph [0005]) made of an electrically conductive plastic (page 7 paragraph [0089]).
Given the teachings of Osborne, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer pickup system disclosed in Miyata et al. with providing each pickup housing to be made of an electrically conductive plastic. Doing so would provide an inexpensive yet durable casing for the pickup, while still providing conducting capabilities to reduce audible electrostatic interference “noise in an audio output signal of the pickup” as taught in Osborne (page 1 paragraph [0005]). It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system to comprise at least two pickups, since it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Doing so would allow different pickups to be positioned at various locations on the soundboard so as to sense different harmonics and overtones generated from the soundboard. These references fail to disclose the solid material to be epoxy potting, each pickup to comprise acrylic foam adhesive on one of the sides of the pickup housing, each piezoelectric transducer to be located the same distance from the front wall and the rear wall, the ratio of width, from front wall to rear wall, to length, from left wall to right wall, to be 1 to 1.5, the left wall and right wall to be convex semi-circular in shape, and the epoxy potting to form the bottom surface.
However Baggs teaches a transducer pickup system, where a transducer is surrounded by a solid material described as epoxy potting (column 3 line 67 through column 4 line 4). Said transducer is shown in Fig. 4 to be centrally located between a front wall and rear wall, and the epoxy potting is shown in Fig. 3 of Baggs to form a bottom surface.
Given the teachings of Baggs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer pickup system disclosed in Miyata et al. as modified by Osborne with providing the solid material to be epoxy potting, the piezoelectric transducer to be located the same distance from the front wall and the rear wall, and the epoxy potting to form the bottom surface. Doing so would “not only bond the [housing] and transducer together, but also forms the contact connecting the [housing] to ground” as taught in Baggs (column 7 lines 53-57). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a ratio of width, from front wall to rear wall, to length, from left wall to right wall, to be 1 to 1.5, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Doing so would ensure each pickup is small enough so as not to significantly interfere with soundwaves propagating within the instrument body. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the left wall and right wall to be convex semi-circular in shape, since it has been held that a mere change in shape is generally within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Doing so would ensure each pickup is small enough so as not to significantly interfere with soundwaves propagating within the instrument body. These references fail to disclose each pickup to comprise acrylic foam adhesive on one of the sides of the pickup housing.
However Kaneko teaches a transducer pickup system, where an adhesive to mount a pickup (sensor unit 1) to a vibrating body (101) is acrylic foam adhesive (column 6 lines 1-3).
Given the teachings of Kaneko, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transducer pickup system disclosed in Miyata et al. as modified by Osborne and Baggs with providing the adhesive to be acrylic foam adhesive. Doing so would provide an adhesive with “less compressive deformation in the thickness direction … therefore, even when the vibrating body vibrates at a high frequency … the soft base material can transmit the vibration of the vibrating body to the [transducer] with high efficiency” as taught in Kaneko (column 6 lines 4-11). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the pickup housing to be against the soundboard instead of the bottom surface, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. The adhesive then would be on one of the sides of each pickup housing to mount the pickup. Doing so would allow each pickup to be more easily grasped if removed from the soundboard due to the sloped sides.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 23: Although the prior art (US 10,670,453 B2) teaches a transducer pickup system (sensor unit 1) for stringed instruments (121) (column 20 lines 46-54) as shown in FIG. 24, the system comprising: a pickup shown in FIG. 1 to comprise a pickup housing (first sound propagation sheet 3a) and a bottom surface (second sound propagation sheet 3b), the pickup housing having sides comprising at least a top wall. The pickup comprises piezoelectric transducer (piezoelectric element 2) shown to be surrounded by a solid material (unlabeled element immediately below and above the piezoelectric element), and additional prior art (US 4,314,495) teaches a transducer surrounded by a solid nonconductive material described as epoxy potting (column 3 line 67 through column 4 line 4), where said transducer is shown in Fig. 4 to be centrally located between a front wall and rear wall, and prior art (US 7,034,218 B1) teaches a conductive pickup housing (shell) used for shielding surrounding a nonconductive material (column 2 lines 43-46), where metallic materials are commonly used for conductive shielding, as is known in the art, the prior art does not teach nor suggest the metallic shielding to be surrounded by a block of epoxy potting comprising a front surface, a rear surface, a top surface, a bottom surface, a left side surface, and a right side surface; where each piezoelectric transducer is located the same distance from the top surface and the bottom surface of the block of epoxy potting; wherein each piezoelectric transducer is located the same distance from the front surface and the rear surface; wherein each piezoelectric transducer is located the same distance from the left side surface and the right side surface. The combinations of the claimed limitations are novel and found to be allowable over prior art. The cited references taken singly or in combination do not anticipate nor make obvious applicant's claimed invention.
Conclusion
/Christopher Uhlir/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 October 17, 2026