DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1 recites “storing the intra mode for the target block”, but the in the next claim limitation make storing the intra mode for the target block conditional on if the target block includes both inter predicted samples in an inter-coded sub-region and intra predicted samples in an intra-coded sub-region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 7 and 9 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kidani et al (US 2024/0205391, hereafter Kidani).
As per claim 1, Kidani discloses a method of video processing, comprising:
determining, during a conversion between a target block of a video and a bitstream of the target block, an intra mode for the target block (¶ 41), the target blocking being coded with a geometric partition mode (GPM) (¶ 100);
storing the intra mode for the target block (¶ 57, 111 and 214);
wherein if the target block includes both inter predicted samples in an inter-coded sub-region and intra predicted samples in an intra-coded sub-region, the intra mode for the target block is stored, and the intra mode for the target block is from the inter-coded sub-region or the intra mode of a subj-region in the target block is predefined (¶ 57, 111 and 214); and
performing the conversion based on the stored intra mode (¶ 214).
As per claim 3, Kidani discloses the method of claim 1, wherein if the target block includes both inter predicted samples in an inter-coded sub-region and intra predicted samples in an intra-coded sub-region, the intra mode for the target block is stored (¶ 104, 105, 107, 111).
As per claim 4, Kidani discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the intra mode for the target block is from the inter-coded sub-region, or wherein the intra mode for the target block is from the intra-coded sub-region, or wherein the intra mode of a sub-region in the target block is predefined (¶ 104, 105, 107, 111).
As per claim 5, Kidani discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the intra mode of a sub-region in the target block is derived from coded information of the target block (¶ 149 and 169).
As per claim 6, Kidani discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the coded information comprises intra mode information of a temporally collocated block, or wherein the intra mode information comprises an intra mode derived by a template-based intra- prediction mode derivation (TIMD) (¶ 169; the decoding unit 210 may be configured to determine whether or not to derive the intra prediction mode by decoding or estimating a flag for determining whether or not the TIMD is applicable.).
As per claim 7, Kidani discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the coded information comprises a generated intra mode from a decode area; or
wherein the coded information comprises coded information of neighbor samples, or wherein the coded information comprises an intra mode derived by a decoder intra-prediction mode derivation (DIMD) (¶ 149; the decoding unit 210 may be configured to determine whether or not to derive the intra prediction mode by decoding or estimating a flag for determining whether or not the DIMD is applicable.).
As per claim 9, Kidani discloses the method of claim 1, wherein whether to store the intra mode of an inter-coded sub-region or an intra-coded sub-region in the target block depends on coded information of the target block (¶ 149, 159, and 169).
As per claim 10, Kidani discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the coded information comprises at least one of:
splitting information of the target block, a weight index of the target block, a location of the target block, or dimension information of the target block; or wherein the coded information comprises usage of a decoder side mode derivation associated with the target block (¶ 149).
As per claim 11, Kidani discloses the method of claim 1, wherein if the target block comprises all intra predicted samples or inter predicted samples, the intra mode is stored for the target block (¶ 111).
As per claim 12, Kidani discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the intra mode of an inter-coded sub-region is equal to an intra mode derived from a temporally collocated block, or wherein the intra mode derived from the temporally collocated block comprises an intra mode derived by TIMD (¶ 169).
As per claim 13, Kidani discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the intra mode of an inter-coded sub-region is equal to a generated intra mode from a decoded area, or the intra mode of an intra-coded sub-region is equal to an intra mode derived from a temporally collocated block, or the intra mode of an intra-coded sub-region is equal to a generated intra mode from a decoded area, or the intra mode of the target block is predefined, or the intra mode comprises a propagated intra mode, or the propagated intra mode is inherited from an inter prediction block using a motion vector (¶ 111).
As per claim 14, Kidani discloses the method of claim 1, wherein motion information is stored for the target block, regardless of intra predicted samples or inter predicted samples include in the target block; or wherein for a first subblock with intra-prediction samples, motion information of a second subblock with inter-prediction samples is stored for the first subblock with intra-prediction samples (¶ 111).
As per claim 15, Kidani discloses the method of claim 1, wherein an indication of whether to and/or how to store the intra mode for the target block is indicated at one of the followings: sequence level, group of pictures level, picture level, slice level, or tile group level (¶ 73); or wherein an indication of whether to and/or how to store the intra mode for the target block is indicated in one of the following:
a sequence header, a picture header, a sequence parameter set (SPS), a video parameter set (VPS), a dependency parameter set (DPS), a decoding capability information (DCI), a picture parameter set (PPS), an adaptation parameter sets (APS), a slice header, or a tile group header; or wherein an indication of whether to and/or how to store the intra mode for the target block (¶ 73 and 85) is included in one of the following:
a prediction block (PB), a transform block (TB), a coding block (CB), a prediction unit (PU), a transform unit (TU), a coding unit (CU), a virtual pipeline data unit (VPDU), a coding tree unit (CTU), a CTU row, a slice, a tile, a sub-picture, or a region containing more than one sample or pixel (¶ 85).
As per claim 16, Kidani discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, based on coded information of the target block, whether to and/or how to store the intra mode for the target block, the coded information including at least one of: a block size, a colour format, a single and/or dual tree partitioning, a colour component, a slice type, or a picture type (¶ 212).
As per claim 17, Kidani discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the target block into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the target block from the bitstream (¶ 42; The image coding device 100 is configured to generate coded data by coding an input image signal (picture). The image decoding device 200 is configured to generate an output image signal by decoding the coded data.).
Regarding claim 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 21, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 21.
As per claim 22, Kidani discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the intra mode for the target block is target block is stored regardless of intra predicted samples or inter predicted samples included in the target block (¶ 57, 111 and 214).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kidani in view of Chen et al (US 2023/0073917, hereafter Chen).
As per claim 8, Kidani discloses the method of claim 5.
However, Kidani does not explicitly teach wherein the coded information comprises a propagated intra mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches wherein the coded information comprises a propagated intra mode (¶ 152; Thus, the stored intra mode information can be used as a propagated intra mode for the neighboring block which is IBC coded).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Kidani in view of Chen. The advantage is improving video coding.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487